Go

1998 Mercury Sable

Style:

Consumer Reviews & Ratings

Overall Rating
7.9
Out of 10

Based on 322 Ratings for the 1996 - 1999 models.

Review this car
more rating details
  • Value
    8.3/10
    Quality
    8.2/10
  • Reliability
    8.4/10
    Performance
    8.4/10
  • Comfort
    8.6/10
    Styling
    8.1/10
Sort Reviews by: 
Per Page:  5 | 10 | 25
Previous | 1 2 3 ... 65 | Next

solid performer

By on Wednesday, February 27, 2008

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
10/10

""I bought my 1997 sable in 2006, as a second vehicle for my son. . It has started without any problems on these cold mornings and the heater works awesome. It's roomy and comfortable and the ride is smooth. I was surprised at all the technical engineering that went into the car such as struts in the rear gives it a real solid road hugging feal. Inside is very quiet...cant hear the motor purring. Lots of power from the 3.0l v6 even at 2 valves. Very responsive steering. I would definitely buy another sable!""

10 people out of 10 found this review helpful

Very Reliable

By on Monday, March 10, 2008

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
9/10

"Purchased this 2000 Sable LS new in December of 1999 - now have 209,000 miles on it. Very dependable - reliable - nice driving car - changed oil/rotated tires every 5000 miles. Starting to need major repairs (need new front axles, low coolant light in on steady- pleanty of coolant) no complaints hope to have this much success with next car."

9 people out of 9 found this review helpful

Good Cars with bad Trans

By on Sunday, February 8, 2009

10 6.0
overall rating 6 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
6/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
5/10
Quality
8/10
Performance
7/10
Styling
7/10
Comfort
9/10

"I have owned two '99 sables. one was perfect through 150,000 till I sold it, and the other had a transmission problem at 115,000 miles. 2nd gear started shifting hard. Headlight lens get dull and work poorly. other than that I like the car."

8 people out of 8 found this review helpful

Long lasting, durable and not expensive to own.

By on Wednesday, March 30, 2011

10 7.0
overall rating 7 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
7/10
Value
7/10
Reliability
8/10
Quality
8/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
8/10
Comfort
8/10

"Have owned vehicle for 11 of it's 12 years. Other than standard maintenance ( tires, brakes, and shocks) have not really spent a ton of money on it."

6 people out of 6 found this review helpful

Best Car I've ever owned

By on Monday, October 13, 2008

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

"I bought my 1996 Sable in 1999 with 25,000 miles on it. I had it for 9 years then the motor failed last week with 230,003 miles. I got more than my money's worth. It serve me for 7 years and my college age son for 2. My largest maintenance was replacing the alternator about 2 yrs ago. Plenty of room. I have a tall family (5'10" +) never felt cramped. Smooth ride. 26mpg avg. Hope newer models are as good."

6 people out of 6 found this review helpful

Sort Reviews by: 
Per Page:  5 | 10 | 25
Previous | 1 2 3 ... 65 | Next
Find Deals Near You vehicles for sale matching Mercury Sable near Honolulu. See local deals
Advertisement