Advertisement

Why ads?
Go

1998 Mercury Sable

Style:

Consumer Reviews & Ratings

Overall Rating
7.9
Out of 10

Based on 319 Ratings for the 1996 - 1999 models.

Review this car
more rating details
  • Value
    8.3/10
    Quality
    8.2/10
  • Reliability
    8.4/10
    Performance
    8.4/10
  • Comfort
    8.6/10
    Styling
    8.1/10
Sort Reviews by: 
Per Page:  5 | 10 | 25
Previous | 1 2 3 ... 64 | Next

Lot of repairs for such low milage

By on Sunday, February 03, 2013

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 103,645

10 6.0
overall rating 6 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
6/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
7/10
Quality
8/10
Performance
8/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "great value, large interior, seats 6 people"

Cons: "no complaints"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 8

Personalized license plate

"When I purchased this car it had 96,000 miles on it. I have had it approx. 2 1/2 years. Since then I have had to have all 4 sensors replaced, the rack and pinion steering repaired, the catalitic converter replaced, the rearview mirror glued back on, the wiring repaired etc. All this before the odometer reached 100,000 miles. I love the interior of this car and it always starts right up but I didn't expect for so much to go wrong with it at such low milage. I am a big lady and this car fits me fine, much better than the bucket seats in my other cars."

9 people out of 9 found this review helpful

Personalized license plate

Very Reliable

By on Monday, March 10, 2008

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
9/10

"Purchased this 2000 Sable LS new in December of 1999 - now have 209,000 miles on it. Very dependable - reliable - nice driving car - changed oil/rotated tires every 5000 miles. Starting to need major repairs (need new front axles, low coolant light in on steady- pleanty of coolant) no complaints hope to have this much success with next car."

9 people out of 9 found this review helpful

solid performer

By on Wednesday, February 27, 2008

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
10/10

""I bought my 1997 sable in 2006, as a second vehicle for my son. . It has started without any problems on these cold mornings and the heater works awesome. It's roomy and comfortable and the ride is smooth. I was surprised at all the technical engineering that went into the car such as struts in the rear gives it a real solid road hugging feal. Inside is very quiet...cant hear the motor purring. Lots of power from the 3.0l v6 even at 2 valves. Very responsive steering. I would definitely buy another sable!""

9 people out of 9 found this review helpful

2nd sable wagon

By on Friday, February 01, 2008

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

"My first sable wagon lasted over 200,000 miles and I traded it in on a 2002 model. I have 188,000 miles on this car has and it has not required maintenance other than routine replacements of brakes, shocks. I used to drive camyry's and thought I would try an american car now that they have improved and I feel better about driving a US car."

9 people out of 9 found this review helpful

Surprised me! Dependable, comfortable car.

By on Wednesday, April 02, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 225,696

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
9/10

Pros: "Easy & comfortable to drive, dependable with power"

Cons: "No rear cup holders, only one console cup holder."

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"I have never been a fan of Ford or Mercury vehicles, so was very surprised and pleased to find that this car has been so dependable and comfortable to drive. I have had it for a little over a year with no mechanical problems. It has a very smooth ride no matter if I am on a major highway or a gravel road. The motor runs very strong and has required only minimal maintenance. I have driven it daily, as well as for several long trips around the State. As a single woman, it is nice to know that I can depend on my vehicle not to break down when I am traveling. I would recommend this car to anyone. Plenty of interior room. Comfortably fits a baby seat and two toddler (booster) seats in the rear seat at the same time."

6 people out of 6 found this review helpful

Sort Reviews by: 
Per Page:  5 | 10 | 25
Previous | 1 2 3 ... 64 | Next
Find Deals Near You vehicles for sale matching Mercury Sable near Honolulu. See local deals