Advertisement

Why ads?
Popular at KBB.com
  • 10 Best Sedans Under $25,000
  • 12 Best Family Cars of 2014
  • 10 Most Affordable Cars of 2014
  • 10 Best Luxury Cars Under $40,000
Go

1995 Mercury Sable

Style:

Consumer Reviews & Ratings

Overall Rating
7.2
Out of 10

Based on 65 Ratings for the 1992 - 1995 models.

Review this car
more rating details
  • Value
    7.9/10
    Quality
    7.7/10
  • Reliability
    7.8/10
    Performance
    7.6/10
  • Comfort
    7.9/10
    Styling
    6.9/10
Sort Reviews by: 
Per Page:  5 | 10 | 25
Previous | 1 2 3 ... 13 | Next

First car I ever bought, I've had it for two years

By on Saturday, April 26, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 190,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Fun to drive, more space than it looks like."

Cons: "Poor mileage when I hammer down."

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"Still driving it! I've put 40,000 miles on it in almost exactly two years and it still runs great. I bought it at about 150,000 and I'm up to 190,000. It's as comfortable as I could ask for and has a solid engine. No big problems with it other than routine maintenance, such as brakes and tires. Would highly recommend. The speakers aren't that bad either, especially for a '95."

1 person out of 2 found this review helpful

I wouldn't own it unless you're a mechanic.

By on Wednesday, January 01, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 250,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
8/10
Performance
6/10
Styling
5/10
Comfort
7/10

Pros: "It has lasted 250K miles with regular maintenance."

Cons: "If you aren't a Do-It-Yourselfer, i'd stay away."

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 9

"I bought this car with 95K miles in 1999. It runs like a top. I'm still driving it in 2014 with 250k miles. It has 3.0L engine which is solid with regular oil changes. (Run away from the 3.8L engine.) It has the AXOD transmission which has been solid, but you must perform transmission fluid and filter changes every 25K miles. Without regular transmission fluid changes, it will only last 100K miles. Radiators last about 100K miles. Change spark plugs every 25K miles. The biggest negative with the car is the high pressure coolant system. Coolant hoses have been leaking for the last 15 years even with double hose clamps. This is not a problem if you check the coolant level every couple of months. The good part about this is the coolant never needs flushing because it is always fresh."

5 people out of 6 found this review helpful

Been a great get-around for the past 16 years.

By on Wednesday, July 11, 2012

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 182,000

10 8.0
overall rating 8 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
8/10
Value
8/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
7/10
Styling
6/10
Comfort
9/10

Pros: "Easy to drive, good on gas."

Cons: "Too much understeer, hard to change spark plugs"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 8

"Bought this car in 1996 as a two year old with 21000 miles. Since then, I've put on over 160000 miles with very little gone wrong, such as heater core, a couple of leaks, two fuel pumps and a recall for the front sub frame bolts.Very comfortable seats, great 3.8 V-6 engine and smooth automatic box. Cannot complain about it; was way ahead of it's time back then. It also survived getting hit by an oil truck and being sideswiped by a red light/stop sign runner."

10 people out of 10 found this review helpful

Has been a very good car. Trouble free

By on Wednesday, February 08, 2012

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 130,000

10 7.0
overall rating 7 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
7/10
Value
8/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
8/10
Performance
7/10
Styling
7/10
Comfort
7/10

Cons: "Wife wants more and bigger cup holders."

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"Got me where I needed to go with out any problems. Good fuel economy. 3.0 engine not a power house but gets you down the road. 130,000 miles and still running like a top. Vehicle has been maintained all of its life."

6 people out of 6 found this review helpful

Unreliable and costly to repair

By on Tuesday, January 24, 2012

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 147,000

10 3.0
overall rating 3 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
3/10
Value
5/10
Reliability
2/10
Quality
4/10
Performance
4/10
Styling
4/10
Comfort
4/10

Pros: "Cheap"

Cons: "Cheap, unreliable"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 2

"This car has had constant problems since we bought it around 10 years ago including a worsening transmission, having blown a head gasket, leaks all fluids, back windows went out some time ago, heater is broken, etc. Due to the way it's built (parts tightly packed together) it can cost twice what your average car will for manual labor should you need a repair. This car is best suited for short drives around town."

2 people out of 3 found this review helpful

Sort Reviews by: 
Per Page:  5 | 10 | 25
Previous | 1 2 3 ... 13 | Next
Find Deals Near You vehicles for sale matching Mercury Sable near Honolulu. See local deals