Advertisement

Why ads?
Popular at KBB.com
  • 10 Best Sedans Under $25,000
  • 10 Most Affordable Cars of 2014
  • The 40 MPG Cars of 2014
  • Class of 2015: New Vehicles Ready to Roll
Go

2002 Mercury Cougar

Style:

Consumer Reviews & Ratings

Overall Rating
7.4
Out of 10

Based on 413 Ratings for the 1999 - 2002 models.

Review this car
more rating details
  • Value
    7.8/10
    Quality
    7.6/10
  • Reliability
    7.8/10
    Performance
    8.0/10
  • Comfort
    7.7/10
    Styling
    8.5/10
Sort Reviews by: 
Per Page:  5 | 10 | 25
Previous | 1 2 3 ... 83 | Next

Now outdated, bought it new

By on Friday, November 28, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 90,000

10 7.0
overall rating 7 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
7/10
Value
4/10
Reliability
8/10
Quality
5/10
Performance
3/10
Styling
6/10
Comfort
2/10

Pros: "body holding up well"

Cons: "seats hard"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 5

"Just ok car, rear struts or something banging around, had to replace wheels and tires frequently, got to be a uncomfortable car down the road, It's old now like me."

2 people out of 3 found this review helpful

Very good looking car that has a lot of power

By on Saturday, October 18, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 156,000

10 8.0
overall rating 8 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
8/10
Value
7/10
Reliability
6/10
Quality
6/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
8/10
Comfort
8/10

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 6

"Nearly impossible to work on. After 90,000 miles, things started needing repair regularly. Engine has a problem with oil returning to pan causing oil light to come on. This problem was pretty much taken care of by switching to a full synthetic oil. It was hard to locate parts to replace struts and brake hoses. The sun roof mechanism broke, leaving it inoperable. Did I mention it is really hard to work on anything in the engine compartment.......There is not a large selection of tires available for the cougar. It is a very good looking car that was fun to drive. It had a lot of power and andled very nicely."

8 people out of 10 found this review helpful

great car if you like a sport one

By on Monday, September 08, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 167,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
9/10

Pros: "Enjoyed for 15 yrs and was great to drive."

Cons: "Got older and need something bigger- 4 doors"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 9

"I purchased this car back in 1999 brand new. I have enjoyed it very much, and took care like a little baby. Still driving and now changing to get a 4 door Fusion. Drives very well, and never had any problem. repaired things for normal maintenance and nothing else."

2 people out of 3 found this review helpful

Small,fun to drive,gets great mileage,always garag

By on Tuesday, June 03, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 60,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
9/10

Cons: "Only drawback is the frt cup holder."

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"60,000 miles,always garaged,waxed on a 6 month schedule.average mileage overall 25.6.all accessories except chrome wheels,and leather seats,as offered in 1999."

2 people out of 7 found this review helpful

2002 Cougar 35th Anniversary ...last Cougar ever!

By on Monday, May 19, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 120,000

10 8.0
overall rating 8 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
8/10
Value
7/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
8/10
Performance
8/10
Styling
8/10
Comfort
9/10

Pros: "Fun to Drive, 6cd player, good gadgets"

Cons: "Bad turning Circle, need more cup holders/storage"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 8

2002 35th Anniversary Mercury Cougar

"The last of the Mohicans!! I bought the car used in 2007 with 70000 miles on it, in 2014 has 120000 miles. Today for reasons of economics, I am restoring the transmission, oil leaks and check engine lights for about $2400. Why,? Because the car was well kept, never garaged, but still looks like a 3 year old car even though it is 12 years old !! I still get compliments on the cars appearance. I put fake chrome on it and ' 67 Cougar Emblems on it ! My idea looks better than what Ford's ''better idea" was, especially when it is supposed to be celebrating the anniversary of an old muscle car!! When it's working well, it's fun to drive with the exception of a too wide turning circle. Inside it lacks more compartments for storage but the lift back trunk can get a 2x4 in it as well as an old boxy 32inch TV. I hope someday it will be worth more, because it's too good to be parted out!!!"

2002 35th Anniversary Mercury Cougar

Sort Reviews by: 
Per Page:  5 | 10 | 25
Previous | 1 2 3 ... 83 | Next
Find Deals Near You vehicles for sale matching Mercury Cougar near Honolulu. See local deals