Advertisement

Why ads?
Popular at KBB.com
  • 10 Best SUVs Under $25,000
  • 10 Best Sedans Under $25,000
  • The 40 MPG Cars of 2014
  • 10 Most Affordable Cars of 2014
Go

2003 Mercedes-Benz SLK-Class

Style:

Consumer Reviews & Ratings

Overall Rating
8.8
Out of 10

Based on 158 Ratings for the 1998 - 2003 models.

Review this car
more rating details
  • Value
    8.9/10
    Quality
    9.1/10
  • Reliability
    9.1/10
    Performance
    9.3/10
  • Comfort
    8.7/10
    Styling
    9.3/10
Sort Reviews by: 
Per Page:  5 | 10 | 25
Previous | 1 2 3 ... 32 | Next

Owned since new. Never stranded.Always fun to driv

By on Wednesday, September 24, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 66,000

10 8.0
overall rating 8 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
8/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
8/10
Performance
8/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
9/10

Pros: "Hard top convertible. great gas mileage."

Cons: "Slightly under powered."

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 9

"This car has been a joy to own. No major problems. Always ready to go. One computer fault affecting the convertible top, replaced and all is fine. Reason for selling. Bought a Lotus Evora."

Relaxed commuter or boy racer

By on Friday, July 25, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 103,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Handling and a creation."

Cons: "CD player skips."

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 9

"An all round practical daily car which transforms to a capable sports car with a push of an accelerator"

5 people out of 8 found this review helpful

Great car!

By on Wednesday, June 25, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 124,500

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"I've had this car for over 12 years and have loved it. No problems with anything mechanical and drives great."

3 people out of 6 found this review helpful

Sportcar

By on Tuesday, June 17, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 44,590

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "see Complete review"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"Sportcar qualities. Hardtop convertable. Excelent handling, new tires. Paint in top condition. cup holder, Cassete holder"

3 people out of 8 found this review helpful

Great Sports Car for the Money!!!

By on Monday, March 31, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 180,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Reliability, Fun, timeless look, Value for money."

Cons: "none"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"I absolute love these cars! I've owned 3 (98,99 and now a 2001 230 Kompressor) and will continue to buy them as long as I am living and Mercedes continues to make SLK's. All three SLK 230's I've owned had been extremely reliable! If you don't believe it, Google the top 100 reliable cars of the last decade, and the SLK will be number 25 on the list. One thing to keep in mind is that the car is relatively small, so there is not much to go wrong. Also there aren't many unnecessary electronic gizmos that typically go wrong when they get old. Now, I am not saying that these cars never have problems, but never has this car, or my previous SLK's left me stranded. I've only had the Mass Air Flow Sensor go out, and that's typical when these cars get higher mileage on them. Bottom line is take care of the car, and it will take care of you. Next the Performance is great for a 4 cylinder. Its supercharged (Kompressor) so the pick is good. Don't expect to take on V8 mustangs, nissan 350/370Z and Infiniti G's and so forth. I not one that is a show off, but This car gets a lot of attention and compliments from people even though its over 10 years old. It's funny, I've owned BMW's Volvo's and never got strangers to approach me and ask me questions like they do with the SLK. If your need a lot of space don't buy this car as a daily driver. The truck is big for it's size, but the car is still small. If you are looking for a hardcore sports car then look elsewhere. This car handles and drives great, but don't expect to have the driving dynamics of a Porsche or Ferrari. Over all, its a terrific car to own. If you buy one, make sure it was loved and taken care of."

17 people out of 18 found this review helpful

Sort Reviews by: 
Per Page:  5 | 10 | 25
Previous | 1 2 3 ... 32 | Next
Find Deals Near You vehicles for sale matching Mercedes-Benz SLK-Class near Honolulu. See local deals