Advertisement

Why ads?
Popular at KBB.com
  • 10 Best SUVs Under $25,000
  • 10 Best Sedans Under $25,000
  • The 40 MPG Cars of 2014
  • 10 Most Affordable Cars of 2014
Go

2000 Mercedes-Benz SLK-Class

Style:

Consumer Reviews & Ratings

Overall Rating
8.8
Out of 10

Based on 158 Ratings for the 1998 - 2003 models.

Review this car
more rating details
  • Value
    8.9/10
    Quality
    9.1/10
  • Reliability
    9.1/10
    Performance
    9.3/10
  • Comfort
    8.7/10
    Styling
    9.3/10
Sort Reviews by: 
Per Page:  5 | 10 | 25
Previous | 1 2 3 ... 7 | Next

By on Saturday, January 29, 2011

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

This customer did not provide a text review.

1 person out of 1 found this review helpful

By on Wednesday, January 19, 2011

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
9/10

This customer did not provide a text review.

1 person out of 1 found this review helpful

GREAT Little machine

By on Wednesday, January 05, 2011

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
8/10

"I bought my 2003 SLK230 (second one) in 2006 with 25K miles on it and just love to drive it. I'm 70 now and decided to get it as my last car. It is everything I need in a car; small, economical, sharp looker, and a cool convertible! But beware of two things; First, maintenance is expensive at the dealership (they are always upselling service) and Mercedes wiggled out of the extended warranty that came with the car because I bought it from a non-approved (non MB) dealer. Why that should degrade the car is beyond me????"

4 people out of 4 found this review helpful

By on Saturday, January 01, 2011

10 8.0
overall rating 8 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
8/10
Value
8/10
Reliability
8/10
Quality
8/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
9/10

This customer did not provide a text review.

1 person out of 1 found this review helpful

Fun, fun, fun - and reliable

By on Saturday, November 27, 2010

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

"I've had my 2003 SLK230 for five years and have loved every minute of driving this car. It's responsive - I can easily merge at highway speeds from a short entrance ramp or quickly stop when traffic is unpredictable during rush hour. And the car looks good doing it. Putting the top down is easy and always intrigues bystanders when I'm in a parking lot. Getting 25 mpg city and 34 hiway is a bonus. It's had routine maintenance which I think has kept it in top running condition, no surprises or unexpected repairs to date."

1 person out of 1 found this review helpful

Beautifully Engineered and Fun to Drive

By on Tuesday, September 07, 2010

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
8/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

"I always had practical cars...until this one! It's solidly engineered, accelerates fast when you need to, rides well, and great fun with the top down. The pop shift is a nice option but the only thing this car lacks is a clutch! I am surprised they didn't spend more time designing the cd player, but the Bose speakers are fine."

1 person out of 2 found this review helpful

Cool Little Hot Rod!

By on Thursday, September 02, 2010

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

"Bought a 2002 (1st year) in 2003 SLK 32 AMG. Silver with Black Leather Interior. Only 6000 miles when purchased now has 33000. What a hoot! I'm 5'6" so car fits well, any taller and you might have problems getting in and out! This auto is Rock Solid! I plan to keep for quite a while. Not into Ragtops, but this hard top is awsome. Very Very fast! 349 HP, 332 FP'S with Supercharger! Corners well, road is velvet at 80 MPH. Addictive, problem is it only holds 2 and very little else, which is why it is a great weekend car. I'd Buy again in a heart beat! Just Know a 2 seater is aToy!"

2 people out of 2 found this review helpful

By on Wednesday, September 01, 2010

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
9/10

This customer did not provide a text review.

By on Thursday, August 05, 2010

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
9/10

This customer did not provide a text review.

Road Hugger

By on Thursday, July 15, 2010

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
9/10

"I recently purchased a SLK 230 from the original owner. It had over 200K miles on it but, it was still tight and did not leak a drop of oil. This is an amazing vehicle."

4 people out of 4 found this review helpful

Fun car

By on Thursday, May 13, 2010

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
9/10

"Great to take rides on the weekend around the shore."

By on Wednesday, April 14, 2010

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

This customer did not provide a text review.

Fun Car

By on Wednesday, March 31, 2010

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
9/10

"I bought my SLK 230 as a pre-owned certified vehicle in 2005. One of the best cars I've ever had. It's a fun car to drive, even more when the top is down. The car has been running without major mechanical problems for the past 5 years.. The only downside to the car is getting into it when the door cannot be open fully (e.g. in a parking lot next to other cars)."

1 person out of 1 found this review helpful

By on Monday, March 22, 2010

10 4.0
overall rating 4 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
4/10
Value
5/10
Reliability
5/10
Quality
5/10
Performance
5/10
Styling
6/10
Comfort
6/10

"Heavy mechanical problems as the car has aged including a wipe out of the PSE system which runs all the electrical and remote control features of the car."

1 person out of 2 found this review helpful

High Depreciation

By on Saturday, February 20, 2010

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
8/10

"Fast; looks good with top down; poor resale value considering it is amg VERSION"

Great Benz

By on Monday, November 23, 2009

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
9/10

"I have had my 230 for a few years now. Great and fun car. Minimal problems with maintenance kept up. I would highly recommend this car. The 320 is much faster for not much more. If I had it to do over I would get the 320."

3 people out of 3 found this review helpful

Very Fun Vehicle

By on Thursday, October 29, 2009

10 7.0
overall rating 7 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
7/10
Value
8/10
Reliability
8/10
Quality
8/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
8/10

"Bought a 2001 model in 2005 and have enjoyed every minute with the exception of the few repairs to the ABS system. Repairs are expensive so make sure that you get the extended warranty."

5 people out of 6 found this review helpful

By on Sunday, October 18, 2009

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

This customer did not provide a text review.

Still looks great!

By on Wednesday, August 26, 2009

10 7.0
overall rating 7 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
7/10
Value
8/10
Reliability
8/10
Quality
8/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
8/10

"I bought my 2001 SLK in 2005 with 40K miles. Currently I'm at 150K miles commuting approx. 100 miles daily. No maintenance until I went just over 100K miles (when warranty expried, of course). That year I had two $2K repairs plus the 12K mile maintenance which I always have the dealer take care of. Although a bit on the expensive side for maintenance and it hasn't held value real well, I would still recommend this fun little car. I drive mountain freeways and have to compete with large freight trucks. There is plenty of power (even uphill) to get out of the way of a big truck. And, even though she's 8 yrs old, most people think she's new. The body style is still very good looking and except for the console (finish is flaking) the interior is also in great shape. I hope to own her for a good long time."

4 people out of 4 found this review helpful

By on Wednesday, July 15, 2009

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
9/10

This customer did not provide a text review.

Wonderful but expensive to maintain

By on Tuesday, June 23, 2009

10 5.0
overall rating 5 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
5/10
Value
7/10
Reliability
5/10
Quality
6/10
Performance
8/10
Styling
8/10
Comfort
7/10

"This is a beautiful car that I adore driving. Love how it handles, and the responsiveness. The repair costs are really high every time - the least I have spent on any single maintenance is $500 and the most was about $5000."

5 people out of 5 found this review helpful

Honest recommendation.

By on Wednesday, June 03, 2009

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

"I have owned my '98 SLK230 since 2000. I bought it with 20k on the odometer and it now has 75K so I believe that I can offer an accurate opinion on the reliability and cost of operating this vehicle as the owner for 9 of it's 11 years. Yes, I would highly recommend it, even though I don't really want to see more of them on the roads (a sign of their reliability). Maintenance and repairs for any Benz is expensive but luckily, this one has proven to be pretty reliable. I would say that I have spent an average of $500.00 - 1000.00 per year on maintenance and repairs (Mostly maintenance at the dealership). I have owned almost a dozen cars (including Corvettes) in my 30+ years of driving and must say that this one has proven to be my favorite car. It has enough power with it's 190hp for me and handling is excellent. For a 2 seater, it has plenty of leg room and trunk space. I still get frequent compliments, mostly for the car :o) and people still believe that I must be wealthy to afford a nice car like this. The auto hard top takes exactly 20 seconds to open (or close) into position. The exhilaration, fun, and compliments increase in convertable mode. I will keep this car until it, or I, stop running."

18 people out of 19 found this review helpful

Sooo Much Fun

By on Wednesday, May 27, 2009

10 7.0
overall rating 7 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
7/10
Value
8/10
Reliability
8/10
Quality
8/10
Performance
7/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
8/10

"I bought this car with about 20k on the odo. I currently have 42k. This car is soo much fun. It feels very solid. I get compliments on this car every day and people think it cost way more than I paid for it. Their is little wind noise with the top and the windows down. The car handles well and is very comfortable for long trips. I amazed at how much trunk space this car has when the top is down or up. The new 3 series convert trunk can't match this one. I love the car and it puts a smile on my face every time I drive. I have the 230 wish it had a little more power."

2 people out of 2 found this review helpful

Great car

By on Thursday, May 14, 2009

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
9/10

"This is the 3rd convertible I have owned and first hard-top. Love the fact that I can be protected in rough weather. Quiet on freeway with top up. Love driving back roads with the top down. Great mileage - 25 mpg with the 320 V-6. I have the same engine in my 1998 ML320 and have 140K trouble-free miles. Yes, it is small but the handling is great. Wife loves the tip-tronic automatic. Would definitely buy another."

6 people out of 6 found this review helpful

Sweet little cruiser

By on Wednesday, April 15, 2009

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
9/10

"This is my second (2001 SLK320), my first one had to be traded in when I married (instant family...). Love the looks (hate the 2005+ editions). Love the 320 V6 - much stronger than my original 230 Kompressor, with not much difference in mileage. Repairs are expensive (had to have a rear quarterlight window regulator replaced - $800), but it hasn't needed much for an older car. Insurance is reasonable (personal injury and liability cheaper than our van, comprehensive more expensive.) I wonder if the people complaining of a harsh ride have the sport option - mine doesn't, and my only complaint is getting in and out (but I'm fat and 50+, so...) Drives fast and firm, lots of fun on an open road, and a reasonably agile street fighter in the city. More trunk room w/ the top down than an MX-5 does any time. Plenty of leg room, but there is no (0) room behind the seats, just a solid bulkhead. Mileage s reasonable (22-24 in town). If you can do a 2 seater, great car!"

11 people out of 11 found this review helpful

Sort Reviews by: 
Per Page:  5 | 10 | 25
Previous | 1 2 3 ... 7 | Next
Find Deals Near You vehicles for sale matching Mercedes-Benz SLK-Class near Honolulu. See local deals