Advertisement

Why ads?
Popular at KBB.com
  • 10 Best Luxury Cars Under $40,000
  • Small Luxury Sedan Buyer's Guide
  • Class of 2015: New Vehicles Ready to Roll
  • 10 Best Midsize SUVs
Go

2012 Mercedes-Benz SL-Class

Style:

Consumer Reviews & Ratings

Overall Rating
8.9
Out of 10

Based on 144 Ratings for the 2003 - 2012 models.

Review this car
more rating details
  • Value
    8.7/10
    Quality
    9.2/10
  • Reliability
    8.9/10
    Performance
    9.4/10
  • Comfort
    9.2/10
    Styling
    9.4/10
Sort Reviews by: 
Per Page:  5 | 10 | 25
Previous | 1 2 3 ... 6 | Next

Solid clasic sports car

By on Tuesday, December 29, 2009

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

"Mose solid fun car I have ever owned..."

1 person out of 1 found this review helpful

By on Tuesday, November 17, 2009

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

This customer did not provide a text review.

1 person out of 1 found this review helpful

By on Sunday, December 07, 2008

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

This customer did not provide a text review.

1 person out of 1 found this review helpful

2007 model

By on Monday, December 01, 2008

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
9/10

"A very well made, reliable vehicle with outstanding performance. Mechanically it's a dream, fun to drive. The GPS interface is poor, my American car has a better interface and screen, but that's the only negative I've found in two years and 14,000 miles."

1 person out of 1 found this review helpful

By on Monday, November 17, 2008

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

This customer did not provide a text review.

1 person out of 1 found this review helpful

Best MB yet.....

By on Saturday, November 15, 2008

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

"Excellent car sofar...... Also, MB could stand to review the quality of the sun shade for the Pano-roof, some of the plastics (clips, trays..etc), and see if they can make the door sill plate more scratch resistant."

1 person out of 1 found this review helpful

Well Made Personal Sports Car

By on Sunday, September 21, 2008

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

"Excellent performance with better than expected mileage; fine workmanship on interior. A pleasure to drive."

1 person out of 1 found this review helpful

A true 'hardtop convertible" that delivers.

By on Sunday, May 12, 2013

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 39,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
8/10
Reliability
6/10
Quality
8/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Great ride. Lives well in the city."

Cons: "Once your warranty is over sell it or extend it."

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"I own the Designo Launch edition. The unique paint color, the hardtop convertible, and the ageless styling makes this car one of the best of the best. There are faster cars (Ferrarri) or better interiors (Lambo) but dollar for dollar this is a great car that combines a reasonable size trunk, eye stopping design, and a killer stereo. It's a car for someone that needs a 'practical' car that doubles as a sports car. I love this car because I can drive in the city and cruise on the highway. The trunk is large enough for golf clubs, the seats are comfortable for long trips, and the front hood design allows for vision for painless parking. Don't buy it new. Let someone else take the hit on the first year or two. The owners are fussy and take care of these cars. True is trust funders buy it, drive it for a year, and move on to the next version."

18 people out of 19 found this review helpful

Fantastic Value - 1/3 $ for low mile like new car.

By on Wednesday, August 29, 2012

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 50,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
8/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Comfort, Acceleration, Handling and High Style"

Cons: "Nav system but easily resolved with a phone or GPS"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 9

"This is the car Top Gear's Jeremy Clarkson owns and loves. I highly recommend this car with the same caveat the salesman made when he sold it - Make sure you get the warranty. I've had several cost free repairs on this CPO car since I purchased it with extended factory warranty at 35,000 mi. Two years later we are now at 50,000 and still have a year left on the warranty. My repairs - the roof operating mechanism and motor mounts (which are surprisingly sophisticated). The things that make this car so fun to own and drive are the same ones that make it less reliable than say a vanilla Toyota Corolla. The Mercedes dealerships always treat you like royalty so sometimes I look for things to have checked out just to visit. My biggest surprise has been the gas mileage. I get 24 MPG on long trips with the cruise set at ten over the limit. My Honda Insight Hybrid gets 32 on trips and isn't half as fun, safe or relaxing to drive. The biggest problem I have with this car is that I can't stop driving it. I'm putting more miles on it than I planned. Meanwhile the 24-32 MPG Honda sits collecting dust in the driveway."

25 people out of 27 found this review helpful

Looks likes it's flying while sitting still

By on Saturday, April 28, 2012

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 39,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
9/10

Pros: "Retractable roof"

Cons: "Nav system"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"I have owned this car for 4 years now. I am the 2nd owner. I absolutely love it. It is quick, handles like a dream, dependable and has a timeless look of quality and class. It has maintained it's value like I cannot even believe. I have owned everything from a corvette to an Audi and this car is by far my most favorite. Being a female I have turned a lot of heads driving this car... :) It gets great gas mileage Hwy:25 and City:17 mpg. The only thing I am not fond of is the navigation system. I would rather use a GPS. I use my IPhone now. Another issue I have had with this car is the AC having a musty smell. The dealership cannot seem to fix it. :( Overall I am the PROUD owner of a chromed out Silver 2006 SL500 AMG Mercedes."

12 people out of 13 found this review helpful

Poor electronics and cosmetics

By on Sunday, May 08, 2011

10 4.0
overall rating 4 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
4/10
Value
4/10
Reliability
4/10
Quality
2/10
Performance
8/10
Styling
8/10
Comfort
8/10

"Almost Every thing besides the drive train had been replaced. Sensores, covers , cupholders, buttons , controls, trunk hinges, seat controls, windows controls, radio A/C control, you name it malfunctioned or stoped working one way or another but the engine and the rest of the drive train nothing, never any problems with them, it has been four years since we purchased this vehicle for over $98,000.00 I guess we expectedit to last a little bit better"

9 people out of 10 found this review helpful

Plan on replacing major parts

By on Tuesday, August 23, 2011

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 63,000

10 3.0
overall rating 3 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
3/10
Value
2/10
Reliability
2/10
Quality
2/10
Performance
6/10
Styling
5/10
Comfort
5/10

Pros: "Great to drive and love the styling."

Cons: "way too high expense to repair and something always breaks down."

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 6

"Love this car, fun to drive and gets noticed by most. Very high maintinance with expensive parts. Every year something breaks and cost no less than $1500 for parts and service. Brakes = 1000 Power stearing pump= 2500 Air conditioner evaporator $1500 Just for a few reparis over the psst 2 years. I have yet to have a repair bill < 1000 and at least once a year. This is a summer car only!!"

32 people out of 36 found this review helpful

Excellent hobby car

By on Sunday, July 08, 2012

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 67,000

10 7.0
overall rating 7 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
7/10
Value
8/10
Reliability
6/10
Quality
7/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Superb ride, superb engine"

Cons: "Costly to maintain"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 7

Great styling

"Fun car to drive, especially in summer with the top down. Maintenance is costly. Mileage is not great, but reasonable for a 4200 lb car with 490 hp. Bought used for about 1/4 the original sticker."

14 people out of 16 found this review helpful

Great styling

Excellent design and drive

By on Monday, December 10, 2012

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 24,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
9/10

Pros: "great classic design, fun to drive, massaging seat"

Cons: "none"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"I purchased this '07 CPO with only 23000 miles and it is a sweet ride and a beautiful design. With the heavy weight this car does not handle like a small car. I also get good mileage on the hwy and get positive stares and very favorable comments regarding the design of the car. It has every feature imaginable and I also purchased a 5-yr extended warranty for $5K through the dealer."

7 people out of 8 found this review helpful

SL-600 W/RENN-TECH PREFORMANCE PACKAGE, 635HP,

By on Friday, April 04, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 12,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
Not Rated
Reliability
Not Rated
Quality
Not Rated
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"low miles, 635 HP, 700 FT LBS toque, only driven on sunny days, garage kept. excellent condition. retractable top. built in front and rear radar detection system"

6 people out of 7 found this review helpful

Coolest vehicle I ever owned and love it !!

By on Thursday, March 22, 2012

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 42,590

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Fast Cool Looking and a looker"

Cons: "Not as roomy as my E class but it does its job"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

Top down and ready to drive !!!!!

"This vehicle demands attention when it is around. I love the convertible top, the monster motor, and fresh white interior. It has every option immaginable and I use all of them. Fun and comfortable car in the city or short trips."

6 people out of 7 found this review helpful

Top down and ready to drive !!!!!

Good Choice (oif you can afford)

By on Wednesday, July 18, 2007

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

"With all options and such vehicle came out to a little over 150K, which is extreme given what it is, but well worth it. I love the car, drives amazing, great power, and... its a huge head turn-er, which is nice but quite annoying at times."

6 people out of 7 found this review helpful

really sharp fun!

By on Monday, September 24, 2012

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 15,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
8/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 9

"great all around car really fast comfitable great looking gas hog!"

5 people out of 6 found this review helpful

Worst Braking System Ever!!!!

By on Sunday, April 06, 2014

I owned and sold this car
Reason: Horible braking system

10 3.0
overall rating 3 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
3/10
Value
3/10
Reliability
3/10
Quality
8/10
Performance
8/10
Styling
5/10
Comfort
5/10

Pros: "cool looking"

Cons: "expensive, overcomplicated,"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 3

"Wow you know a car has problems when MB gives owners a 10yr unlimited mileage warranty on a $2000 failure prone SBC/EBTCM, other than the SBC, the SL has descent acceleration, more note worthy on the highway."

8 people out of 10 found this review helpful

WORST MERCEDES IVE OWNED

By on Tuesday, February 24, 2009

10 3.0
overall rating 3 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
3/10
Value
4/10
Reliability
2/10
Quality
4/10
Performance
6/10
Styling
6/10
Comfort
6/10

"THIS VEHICAL IS IN THE SHOP AT LEAST ONCE A MONTH, ALWAYS 500 -1000 DOLLARS EACH TIME... RUN FROM THIS CAR"

8 people out of 10 found this review helpful

Fun car you can be proud to drive.

By on Tuesday, February 07, 2012

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 72,000

10 7.0
overall rating 7 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
7/10
Value
8/10
Reliability
8/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
4/10

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 8

"I love the car and don't rally mind putting in premium gas but whenever you need a repair, it cost you $1000 on up to $6,000. The dealers charge a fortune and cannot be trusted. I love driving this car and it's very powerful. If I drive for more than an hour or so, my low back starts hurting from the position having your legs extended out in front of you. I have a friend who owned the same car and had the same problem. Other than that, I'm proud of it and I get many comments from people on the street. It's a hot looking car and proud to drive it."

4 people out of 5 found this review helpful

Super Car

By on Wednesday, September 05, 2007

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

"If you search the USA you can always find a good buy on the W230 the 2003-2007 SL500. The prices run seasonally so you can always save money buying in the Fall and Winter."

4 people out of 5 found this review helpful

Fun car but hugely expensive to maintain

By on Monday, April 20, 2015

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 75,000

10 4.0
overall rating 4 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
4/10
Value
5/10
Reliability
2/10
Quality
5/10
Performance
7/10
Styling
8/10
Comfort
7/10

Pros: "Good looking car and fun to drive"

Cons: "Extremely expensive to maintain. Many problems."

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 1

"Great looking car and fun to drive, particularly in the summer with the roof down. However, in four years of ownership (from 30k miles to 75k miles) I've had around $15k in repairs. A set of shock absorbers will set you back $7.5k - although fortunately I only had to get the rear ones done for a mere $4k. Various problems with the ABC system have cost me around $6k. Three problems with the electical/computer system another $3k. Various other issues bring the total up to $15k. I will not be buying another Mercedes and do not recommend this car unless you have money to throw away."

10 people out of 13 found this review helpful

I am old, but I am FAST!

By on Wednesday, April 29, 2015

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 11,600

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
7/10
Reliability
7/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Fun to drive and handles great."

Cons: "To powerful for strong take offs."

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

My 2005 SL65 AMG & 600 Coup

"I have owned a lot of exotics. This is the only one that is everyday driving friendly. Actually I have to laugh as it only has 11,600 miles on it. I have several cars and drive a BMW 750LI most of the time. I plan to drive it a lot more this year. Mine has built in radar detector which I just love. It is sporty, fast, and fun to drive in any conditions. Not driving it is a sin as the turbo needs action. I kept it at my Lake Home for a couple of years and due to not driving had a $6K turbo repair. I now keep it here and drive it 20 to 30 miles a week. New ones are around $220K. If you can get a low mileage older one...Grab it, enjoy it, and never look back."

3 people out of 4 found this review helpful

My 2005 SL65 AMG & 600 Coup

My favorite sport car/ convertible

By on Saturday, July 07, 2012

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 66,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Get great gas miles 28 on the byway at 80 miles"

Cons: "My model has cup holders on the dash works great"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 9

"great car. I love to drive it."

3 people out of 4 found this review helpful

Sort Reviews by: 
Per Page:  5 | 10 | 25
Previous | 1 2 3 ... 6 | Next
Find Deals Near You vehicles for sale matching Mercedes-Benz SL-Class near Honolulu. See local deals