Advertisement

Why ads?
Popular at KBB.com
  • 10 Best Luxury Cars Under $40,000
  • 2014 Small Luxury Sedan Buyer's Guide
  • Class of 2015: New Vehicles Ready to Roll
  • 10 Best Midsize SUVs
Go

2012 Mercedes-Benz SL-Class

Style:

Consumer Reviews & Ratings

Overall Rating
8.9
Out of 10

Based on 131 Ratings for the 2003 - 2012 models.

Review this car
more rating details
  • Value
    8.7/10
    Quality
    9.2/10
  • Reliability
    8.9/10
    Performance
    9.4/10
  • Comfort
    9.2/10
    Styling
    9.4/10
Sort Reviews by: 
Per Page:  5 | 10 | 25
Previous | 1 2 3 ... 27 | Next

Worst Braking System Ever!!!!

By on Sunday, April 06, 2014

I owned and sold this car
Reason: Horible braking system

10 3.0
overall rating 3 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
3/10
Value
3/10
Reliability
3/10
Quality
8/10
Performance
8/10
Styling
5/10
Comfort
5/10

Pros: "cool looking"

Cons: "expensive, overcomplicated,"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 3

"Wow you know a car has problems when MB gives owners a 10yr unlimited mileage warranty on a $2000 failure prone SBC/EBTCM, other than the SBC, the SL has descent acceleration, more note worthy on the highway."

1 person out of 3 found this review helpful

SL-600 W/RENN-TECH PREFORMANCE PACKAGE, 635HP,

By on Friday, April 04, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 12,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
Not Rated
Reliability
Not Rated
Quality
Not Rated
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"low miles, 635 HP, 700 FT LBS toque, only driven on sunny days, garage kept. excellent condition. retractable top. built in front and rear radar detection system"

5 people out of 6 found this review helpful

Better than I expected

By on Sunday, March 30, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 50,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
9/10

Pros: "very fun to drive, great with the top down or up"

Cons: "cup holders are just in a strange place for me"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"This car is a real joy to drive on long trips of short jaunts around town. Its been a real gem for me over the first 18 months, with no issues to report, other than the turbo "chirp" noise that was fixed after adding some stop squeak. I What's funny is this is the first real sports car I have owned that my wife also loves. I have owned Vettes, a 911 and Boxster S and she wasn't crazy about the ride for anything other than a quick trip to the store. But she loves this thing, going to Aspen, or shopping or down the the Springs and back. Everyone loves this car. I love the throaty sound. Its so much different than a typical Mercedes purrr and makes you really appreciate the ride more. Get this if: If you are looking for the best bang for your shopping dollar in the luxury performance arena. You love the balance of precision, power and cruise comfort. You don't mind people staring. You love to sometimes rocket to the speed limit. You are tired of ragtops and want something that feels like a sedan when the top is up."

10 people out of 10 found this review helpful

A rocket ship with forgiveness

By on Wednesday, March 12, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 79,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
8/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Very well engineered, fun to drive"

Cons: "Expensive to repair"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"A rocket ship, well engineered, well built, a joy to drive. Put the top down a night and listen to the engineer roar."

6 people out of 9 found this review helpful

SL's Rule, especikally AMG V-8's

By on Monday, March 03, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 55,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
9/10

Pros: "Gets stares all the time, very powerful and stable"

Cons: "$$"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"All black, came with their 1 year owner protection plan plus I did buy some MB damage replacement policies as everything about the car is expensive to replace. Had it to an indicated 160 on a Plumas County, CA, back road straightaway, then the limiter kicked in."

1 person out of 1 found this review helpful

Sort Reviews by: 
Per Page:  5 | 10 | 25
Previous | 1 2 3 ... 27 | Next
Find Deals Near You vehicles for sale matching Mercedes-Benz SL-Class near Honolulu. See local deals