Advertisement

Why ads?
Popular at KBB.com
  • 10 Best Luxury Cars Under $40,000
  • Small Luxury Sedan Buyer's Guide
  • Class of 2015: New Vehicles Ready to Roll
  • 10 Best Midsize SUVs
Go

2012 Mercedes-Benz SL-Class

Style:

Consumer Reviews & Ratings

Overall Rating
8.9
Out of 10

Based on 142 Ratings for the 2003 - 2012 models.

Review this car
more rating details
  • Value
    8.7/10
    Quality
    9.2/10
  • Reliability
    8.9/10
    Performance
    9.4/10
  • Comfort
    9.2/10
    Styling
    9.4/10
Sort Reviews by: 
Per Page:  5 | 10 | 25
Previous | 1 2 3 ... 6 | Next

One of Many Fine Examples

By on Sunday, July 25, 2010

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

"I have owned more than a dozen MB products over the years and certainly they had their problems in the late 80's and early 90's. The latest S and SL class cars are light years ahead in quality and reliability. This SL55 is substantially better than even the earlier example of the lesser powered brother of just 3 years ago. Pricey but always a thrill to drive!"

4 people out of 4 found this review helpful

It's Hard to beat

By on Saturday, December 29, 2007

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
9/10

"The MB SL500 is as good as it gets, in my opinion. The car is a style icon and the MB reliability and quality are well known. I have owned three SL's and all have been excellent. If you opt for the SL600 (V12 version) you have more money than good sense. Priced at more than $40K over the SL500 you are literally paying that for 4 cylinders. I know, I have been there and done that."

4 people out of 4 found this review helpful

Looks good, has issues

By on Tuesday, January 21, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 8,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
8/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Looks good, comfortable to drive"

Cons: "Expensive TPM problem"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 6

"Biggest problem I have had is with tire pressure monitors-optional in 2003 and I wish the original owner had not selected this option. They have not worked properly since I bought the car, several trips to dealer under warranty with no results. Got tired of taking to the dealer. Later learned it will cost $350-400 per wheel to fix!! Would love to simply disable tpm but cannot. Its "illegal" even though tpm was not mandatory on 2003 models."

3 people out of 3 found this review helpful

Very fun car

By on Tuesday, December 06, 2011

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 62,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Plenty of power, great handling, nice exhaust roar"

Cons: "None yet"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"Owned for almost 4 years - love the car!"

3 people out of 3 found this review helpful

GREAT CAR

By on Saturday, November 05, 2011

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 58,800

10 7.0
overall rating 7 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
7/10
Value
7/10
Reliability
7/10
Quality
8/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
9/10

Pros: "see above"

Cons: "see above"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 4

"I love this car, I bought it in January and it is a fun summer car.It is a eye catcher, where ever you go, people will tell you how much they like your car. It suppose to get 23 mpg on the highway but I got 26 doing 75-79. What I don't like about it is for a car that cost what it cost new, bluetooth phone and satelite radio should have been standard equipment. My tire sensors were fine with bad tires but when I put all new tires on them, I've had nothing but problems with them when there is nothing wrong. I come to the conclusion that this is a rich mans car and a average guy can't afford the maintance."

3 people out of 3 found this review helpful

Luxury and Performance

By on Sunday, June 15, 2008

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

"This car is the perfect combination of performance and comfort with a hard top convertible. No other vehicle in it's league offers all three in the same package; and did I mention you can have a full body massage while you are driving! This car looks amazing w/the top up or down and the panaroma room makes it even sexier. Best high performance/luxury/convertible/sportscar ever made!"

3 people out of 3 found this review helpful

Best Vehicle Ever with smootie

By on Friday, September 07, 2007

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

"Nice and fast just like riding on the motorcycle. Its simply is that nice riding thats all i can say."

3 people out of 3 found this review helpful

Great car

By on Wednesday, January 18, 2012

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 41,000

10 7.0
overall rating 7 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
7/10
Value
8/10
Reliability
7/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
9/10

Pros: "great looking car"

Cons: "navigation system poor"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"Ilove how it performs on the highway and on back roads,smooth ride and very fast."

2 people out of 2 found this review helpful

Total joy to drive

By on Sunday, December 04, 2011

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 50,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
8/10

Pros: "Awesome power,great looks,FUN FACTOR"

Cons: "Very stiff"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"I owned many cars and this one is the most fun all around car ever."

2 people out of 2 found this review helpful

Beautiful Ride!

By on Wednesday, March 30, 2011

10 8.0
overall rating 8 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
8/10
Value
8/10
Reliability
8/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
8/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
9/10

"Bought my 2003 used in 2007 with only 7000 miles on the odometer for 1/2 the list price, and have driven it only sparingly since. Had multiple trips to the dealer for, of all things, the tire pressure monitor! They never did get that fixed, and now that the warranty is expired I find the little monitors are @ $300 each, and all four should be replaced. Also the strut that is supposed to hold the trunk lid upright now needs to be replaced. Having said that, the car overall is a pleasure to drive, and as good looking as they come!"

2 people out of 2 found this review helpful

SL55 WILL make your wife jealous

By on Sunday, September 26, 2010

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

"This car combines unbelievable performace with Merceedes quality, and a truk that can acrry two sets of golf clubs with the top down!"

2 people out of 2 found this review helpful

A really great car.

By on Sunday, January 17, 2010

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

"The only things I do not like about this car are the squeaky brakes and the poor quality and difficult to use GPS. Has great styling, handling and power. It is a real joy to drive and show off."

2 people out of 2 found this review helpful

Top of the Line

By on Monday, January 26, 2009

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

"This rocket is as comfortable and sporty as it gets while turning all heads as it zooms by!"

2 people out of 2 found this review helpful

Should be Better

By on Wednesday, January 07, 2009

10 8.0
overall rating 8 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
8/10
Value
8/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
8/10

"This car impresses everyone that knows me. But the sound system and navigation are better in my 2008 Toyota Avalon, the seats are not very comfortable, and the outside mirrors should fold-in when you lock up like in the S550. I was drying the car off with a towel one day and it caught the plastic vent spears on the cowl and one snapped off. All too easily."

2 people out of 2 found this review helpful

Present & Future Classic

By on Sunday, March 09, 2008

10 8.0
overall rating 8 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
8/10
Value
7/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
8/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
8/10

"Beautiful execution in style. Will be a timeless model, just like its W129 predecessor. Smaller inside than predecessor. 5L V8 is a tad underpowered. 1-2year value drops like a stone. For 2, is more useful than a 911."

2 people out of 2 found this review helpful

By on Thursday, December 06, 2007

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

"Very expensive, but a phenominal engine, and quite comfortable"

2 people out of 2 found this review helpful

best vehicle ever

By on Thursday, December 29, 2011

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 23,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "fun to drive, gorgeous"

Cons: "none"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"this car is gorgeous, comfortable,easy and fun to drive, lots of room, lots of trunk space, love everything about it, not one complaint!"

1 person out of 1 found this review helpful

expsnsive upkeep

By on Monday, November 14, 2011

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 58,000

10 6.0
overall rating 6 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
6/10
Value
5/10
Reliability
5/10
Quality
7/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
9/10

Pros: "great looking fun to drive"

Cons: "expensive maintenance"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 9

"A lot of fun to drive but hard on the wallet for upkeep"

1 person out of 1 found this review helpful

By on Wednesday, January 26, 2011

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

"This is the best car on the Roads right now!"

1 person out of 1 found this review helpful

MY SL500

By on Wednesday, October 13, 2010

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

"Great car have a lot of fun the only one thing I hate, I have to go to work and leave it in the garage :)"

1 person out of 1 found this review helpful

A very quick comfortable high end car

By on Friday, August 20, 2010

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

"The only late model used car I ever bought that jumped 10k in value 30 days after my purchase - values from kbb.com. The key - rarity, low miles and a CPO which is fully transferable to the next owner - a must have for these high end hand assembled MBs. Do I take the 10k or keep the car? Never had a ride like it - I'll keep it for now and drive it sparingly."

1 person out of 1 found this review helpful

GREAT CAR

By on Tuesday, August 17, 2010

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

"GREAT CAR GREAT STYLING GREAT PERFORMANCE"

1 person out of 1 found this review helpful

Beautiful

By on Monday, August 02, 2010

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

"Got an '07 SL 550 on 4/30/10. Recent cars have been an '09 Mustang GT, and an '05 Corvette. The Mercedes is the best looking and most refined car that I have ever driven. It handles better than the Corvette. Not the brute power of the Vette, but much more refined, and the quality of materials, engineering, and workmanship is top notch. Love the rain sensing wipers, and the air suspension. It even has a spare tire (I hated that the Vette had none)."

1 person out of 1 found this review helpful

Beastly Luxury

By on Saturday, April 17, 2010

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

"Superb balance between supercar performance and luxury Grand tourer. The supercharged V-8 makes beautiful music and is docile enough to drive every day. Easily best car of 18 I've ever owned."

1 person out of 1 found this review helpful

Very Hot Car

By on Thursday, February 11, 2010

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
9/10

"I put new Sumitomo's on it recently and it runs like a spotted ape (this is good). Better hold on when you hit the accelerator, the AMG package is awesome. It is definitely a head turner and lots of fun to drive...loves the curves and hills, loves the long straight-aways...just loves to run, mostly fast. I will probably keep it forever."

1 person out of 1 found this review helpful

Sort Reviews by: 
Per Page:  5 | 10 | 25
Previous | 1 2 3 ... 6 | Next
Find Deals Near You vehicles for sale matching Mercedes-Benz SL-Class near Honolulu. See local deals