Advertisement

Why ads?
Popular at KBB.com
  • 10 Best SUVs Under $25,000
  • 10 Best Sedans Under $25,000
  • The 40 MPG Cars of 2014
  • 10 Most Affordable Cars of 2014
Go

2012 Mercedes-Benz SL-Class

Style:

Consumer Reviews & Ratings

Overall Rating
8.9
Out of 10

Based on 131 Ratings for the 2003 - 2012 models.

Review this car
more rating details
  • Value
    8.7/10
    Quality
    9.2/10
  • Reliability
    8.9/10
    Performance
    9.4/10
  • Comfort
    9.2/10
    Styling
    9.4/10
Sort Reviews by: 
Per Page:  5 | 10 | 25
Previous | 1 2 3 ... 27 | Next

Practical yet high performance

By on Tuesday, February 18, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 23,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
Not Rated
Reliability
Not Rated
Quality
Not Rated
Performance
Not Rated
Styling
Not Rated
Comfort
Not Rated

Pros: "Luxury, elegant appearance and high performance"

Cons: "Expensive"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 9

"I had to decide between Porsche 911 or Mercedes SL. In contrast to Porsche, this is a heavy car. Ultimately, however, I opted for Mercedes SL instead because, unlike Porsche 911, its luxury interior and hardtop makes this car a practical and very comfortable luxury daily automobile. Yet, it is also a high performance sport car. Plus, stylistically it is ageless; a true head turner. Excellent for cruising down PCH with the top down. My car is very low mileage and it is in flawless condition. I have not had any mechanical issue. That said, maintenance and repair can be very expensive. Therefore, either buy very low mileage and keep annual driving to 10 K or less for the first 40 - 50 K; alternately if you are buying a used high mileage SLin that case concomitantly buy warranty."

5 people out of 5 found this review helpful

5.5 years, 64K miles, reliable as a Honda

By on Thursday, February 13, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 64,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Fun to drive; get one if you can"

Cons: "None"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"No squeaks, rattles, smooth, great road car, fast, solid, corners well, quality throughout, great to look at"

Looks good, has issues

By on Tuesday, January 21, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 8,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
8/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Looks good, comfortable to drive"

Cons: "Expensive TPM problem"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 6

"Biggest problem I have had is with tire pressure monitors-optional in 2003 and I wish the original owner had not selected this option. They have not worked properly since I bought the car, several trips to dealer under warranty with no results. Got tired of taking to the dealer. Later learned it will cost $350-400 per wheel to fix!! Would love to simply disable tpm but cannot. Its "illegal" even though tpm was not mandatory on 2003 models."

3 people out of 3 found this review helpful

Drives like a dream.

By on Thursday, January 09, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 27,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
8/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Recommend"

Cons: "None"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"Drives like a dream, lots of power (acceleration). Very comfortable car to ride in."

4 people out of 8 found this review helpful

AWESOME MERCEDES

By on Sunday, September 01, 2013

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 8,723

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "HIGH QUALITY, FUN TO DRIVE, SOLID & SAFE"

Cons: "NOT CHEAP TO PURCHASE NEW!"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"ORDERED NEW, AWESOME LOOKS, HANDLING, PERFORMANCE OUR VERY SPECIAL SPORTS CAR THAT WE WILL OWN 'FOREVER' HAVE OWNED OVER 50 CARS SINCE MY 'EARLY' DAYS, REBUILT MANY. THIS SL55 IS TRUELY A VERY HIGH QUALITY & FUN VEHICLE TO OWN & QUALIFIES TO BE A LIFETIME 'KEEPER'"

Sort Reviews by: 
Per Page:  5 | 10 | 25
Previous | 1 2 3 ... 27 | Next
Find Deals Near You vehicles for sale matching Mercedes-Benz SL-Class near Honolulu. See local deals
See if you qualify for
up
to
Cash Back
on a new
Details