Advertisement

Why ads?
Popular at KBB.com
  • 10 Best Luxury Cars Under $40,000
  • 2014 Small Luxury Sedan Buyer's Guide
  • Class of 2015: New Vehicles Ready to Roll
  • 10 Best Midsize SUVs
Go

2009 Mercedes-Benz SL-Class

Style:

Consumer Reviews & Ratings

Overall Rating
8.9
Out of 10

Based on 131 Ratings for the 2003 - 2012 models.

Review this car
more rating details
  • Value
    8.7/10
    Quality
    9.2/10
  • Reliability
    8.9/10
    Performance
    9.4/10
  • Comfort
    9.2/10
    Styling
    9.4/10
Sort Reviews by: 
Per Page:  5 | 10 | 25
Previous | 1 2 3 ... 6 | Next

good car

By on Tuesday, June 10, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 51,000

10 7.0
overall rating 7 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
7/10
Value
6/10
Reliability
6/10
Quality
8/10
Performance
7/10
Styling
7/10
Comfort
7/10

Pros: "fun to drive"

Cons: "nice"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 9

"nice driving car"

15 people out of 26 found this review helpful

Just an awesome car, very fast and handle great

By on Wednesday, May 21, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 17,500

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
8/10

Pros: "Same as above good touring car but lots of pep"

Cons: "low to ground and the navigation hard to use"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"Overall awesome car with lots of bells and whistles. Car is very fast so no need for the SL550. I drove this car to Az about a month ago and it was a blast."

13 people out of 16 found this review helpful

Excellent vehicle, hard on tires, very reliable

By on Wednesday, May 14, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 36,200

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
8/10
Comfort
9/10

Pros: "Price is right for the auto, and driving is fun."

Cons: "Old tech controls to system, small dvd display"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"The longer I have this vehicle and drive it, the more I appreciate the finer things of the vehicle. Handling is A+, acceleration is to be realized, and the reliability with the standard maintenance package is excellent. I will be considering a trade soon, either for the SLS or SLC or the larger SUV M550. The dealer and service have been excellent and one would wish all dealers were so thorough."

4 people out of 7 found this review helpful

excellent cond w/ v v low mileage

By on Saturday, April 12, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 35,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
Not Rated
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"excellent car excellent condition"

excellent cond w/ v v low mileage

By on Saturday, April 12, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 35,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
Not Rated
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"excellent car excellent condition"

2 people out of 3 found this review helpful

Worst Braking System Ever!!!!

By on Sunday, April 06, 2014

I owned and sold this car
Reason: Horible braking system

10 3.0
overall rating 3 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
3/10
Value
3/10
Reliability
3/10
Quality
8/10
Performance
8/10
Styling
5/10
Comfort
5/10

Pros: "cool looking"

Cons: "expensive, overcomplicated,"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 3

"Wow you know a car has problems when MB gives owners a 10yr unlimited mileage warranty on a $2000 failure prone SBC/EBTCM, other than the SBC, the SL has descent acceleration, more note worthy on the highway."

1 person out of 3 found this review helpful

SL-600 W/RENN-TECH PREFORMANCE PACKAGE, 635HP,

By on Friday, April 04, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 12,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
Not Rated
Reliability
Not Rated
Quality
Not Rated
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"low miles, 635 HP, 700 FT LBS toque, only driven on sunny days, garage kept. excellent condition. retractable top. built in front and rear radar detection system"

5 people out of 6 found this review helpful

Better than I expected

By on Sunday, March 30, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 50,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
9/10

Pros: "very fun to drive, great with the top down or up"

Cons: "cup holders are just in a strange place for me"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"This car is a real joy to drive on long trips of short jaunts around town. Its been a real gem for me over the first 18 months, with no issues to report, other than the turbo "chirp" noise that was fixed after adding some stop squeak. I What's funny is this is the first real sports car I have owned that my wife also loves. I have owned Vettes, a 911 and Boxster S and she wasn't crazy about the ride for anything other than a quick trip to the store. But she loves this thing, going to Aspen, or shopping or down the the Springs and back. Everyone loves this car. I love the throaty sound. Its so much different than a typical Mercedes purrr and makes you really appreciate the ride more. Get this if: If you are looking for the best bang for your shopping dollar in the luxury performance arena. You love the balance of precision, power and cruise comfort. You don't mind people staring. You love to sometimes rocket to the speed limit. You are tired of ragtops and want something that feels like a sedan when the top is up."

9 people out of 9 found this review helpful

A rocket ship with forgiveness

By on Wednesday, March 12, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 79,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
8/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Very well engineered, fun to drive"

Cons: "Expensive to repair"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"A rocket ship, well engineered, well built, a joy to drive. Put the top down a night and listen to the engineer roar."

6 people out of 9 found this review helpful

SL's Rule, especikally AMG V-8's

By on Monday, March 03, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 55,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
9/10

Pros: "Gets stares all the time, very powerful and stable"

Cons: "$$"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"All black, came with their 1 year owner protection plan plus I did buy some MB damage replacement policies as everything about the car is expensive to replace. Had it to an indicated 160 on a Plumas County, CA, back road straightaway, then the limiter kicked in."

1 person out of 1 found this review helpful

Practical yet high performance

By on Tuesday, February 18, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 23,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
Not Rated
Reliability
Not Rated
Quality
Not Rated
Performance
Not Rated
Styling
Not Rated
Comfort
Not Rated

Pros: "Luxury, elegant appearance and high performance"

Cons: "Expensive"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 9

"I had to decide between Porsche 911 or Mercedes SL. In contrast to Porsche, this is a heavy car. Ultimately, however, I opted for Mercedes SL instead because, unlike Porsche 911, its luxury interior and hardtop makes this car a practical and very comfortable luxury daily automobile. Yet, it is also a high performance sport car. Plus, stylistically it is ageless; a true head turner. Excellent for cruising down PCH with the top down. My car is very low mileage and it is in flawless condition. I have not had any mechanical issue. That said, maintenance and repair can be very expensive. Therefore, either buy very low mileage and keep annual driving to 10 K or less for the first 40 - 50 K; alternately if you are buying a used high mileage SLin that case concomitantly buy warranty."

5 people out of 5 found this review helpful

5.5 years, 64K miles, reliable as a Honda

By on Thursday, February 13, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 64,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Fun to drive; get one if you can"

Cons: "None"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"No squeaks, rattles, smooth, great road car, fast, solid, corners well, quality throughout, great to look at"

Looks good, has issues

By on Tuesday, January 21, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 8,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
8/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Looks good, comfortable to drive"

Cons: "Expensive TPM problem"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 6

"Biggest problem I have had is with tire pressure monitors-optional in 2003 and I wish the original owner had not selected this option. They have not worked properly since I bought the car, several trips to dealer under warranty with no results. Got tired of taking to the dealer. Later learned it will cost $350-400 per wheel to fix!! Would love to simply disable tpm but cannot. Its "illegal" even though tpm was not mandatory on 2003 models."

3 people out of 3 found this review helpful

Drives like a dream.

By on Thursday, January 09, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 27,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
8/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Recommend"

Cons: "None"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"Drives like a dream, lots of power (acceleration). Very comfortable car to ride in."

4 people out of 8 found this review helpful

AWESOME MERCEDES

By on Sunday, September 01, 2013

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 8,723

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "HIGH QUALITY, FUN TO DRIVE, SOLID & SAFE"

Cons: "NOT CHEAP TO PURCHASE NEW!"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"ORDERED NEW, AWESOME LOOKS, HANDLING, PERFORMANCE OUR VERY SPECIAL SPORTS CAR THAT WE WILL OWN 'FOREVER' HAVE OWNED OVER 50 CARS SINCE MY 'EARLY' DAYS, REBUILT MANY. THIS SL55 IS TRUELY A VERY HIGH QUALITY & FUN VEHICLE TO OWN & QUALIFIES TO BE A LIFETIME 'KEEPER'"

A true 'hardtop convertible" that delivers.

By on Sunday, May 12, 2013

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 39,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
8/10
Reliability
6/10
Quality
8/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Great ride. Lives well in the city."

Cons: "Once your warranty is over sell it or extend it."

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"I own the Designo Launch edition. The unique paint color, the hardtop convertible, and the ageless styling makes this car one of the best of the best. There are faster cars (Ferrarri) or better interiors (Lambo) but dollar for dollar this is a great car that combines a reasonable size trunk, eye stopping design, and a killer stereo. It's a car for someone that needs a 'practical' car that doubles as a sports car. I love this car because I can drive in the city and cruise on the highway. The trunk is large enough for golf clubs, the seats are comfortable for long trips, and the front hood design allows for vision for painless parking. Don't buy it new. Let someone else take the hit on the first year or two. The owners are fussy and take care of these cars. True is trust funders buy it, drive it for a year, and move on to the next version."

17 people out of 18 found this review helpful

Excellent design and drive

By on Monday, December 10, 2012

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 24,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
9/10

Pros: "great classic design, fun to drive, massaging seat"

Cons: "none"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"I purchased this '07 CPO with only 23000 miles and it is a sweet ride and a beautiful design. With the heavy weight this car does not handle like a small car. I also get good mileage on the hwy and get positive stares and very favorable comments regarding the design of the car. It has every feature imaginable and I also purchased a 5-yr extended warranty for $5K through the dealer."

7 people out of 8 found this review helpful

05 Merc SL65AMG awesome value

By on Saturday, November 10, 2012

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 32,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
Not Rated
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
9/10

Pros: "super quick, great price, warranty, low miles"

Cons: "only 2 seats, doesn't go 300 mph...."

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"This car is much quicker then the BMW M6 I had, it's beautiful, sounds great but not quite as sweet as BMW and I paid less then 25% of sticker price with only 32k miles on it ! It is classy/sporty looking with a beast for an engine. Buy a used 1 so u don't get nailed w/price and 30 month warranty for $3k and u can't go wrong. Love this car !"

5 people out of 8 found this review helpful

really sharp fun!

By on Monday, September 24, 2012

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 15,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
8/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 9

"great all around car really fast comfitable great looking gas hog!"

4 people out of 5 found this review helpful

Fantastic Value - 1/3 $ for low mile like new car.

By on Wednesday, August 29, 2012

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 50,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
8/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Comfort, Acceleration, Handling and High Style"

Cons: "Nav system but easily resolved with a phone or GPS"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 9

"This is the car Top Gear's Jeremy Clarkson owns and loves. I highly recommend this car with the same caveat the salesman made when he sold it - Make sure you get the warranty. I've had several cost free repairs on this CPO car since I purchased it with extended factory warranty at 35,000 mi. Two years later we are now at 50,000 and still have a year left on the warranty. My repairs - the roof operating mechanism and motor mounts (which are surprisingly sophisticated). The things that make this car so fun to own and drive are the same ones that make it less reliable than say a vanilla Toyota Corolla. The Mercedes dealerships always treat you like royalty so sometimes I look for things to have checked out just to visit. My biggest surprise has been the gas mileage. I get 24 MPG on long trips with the cruise set at ten over the limit. My Honda Insight Hybrid gets 32 on trips and isn't half as fun, safe or relaxing to drive. The biggest problem I have with this car is that I can't stop driving it. I'm putting more miles on it than I planned. Meanwhile the 24-32 MPG Honda sits collecting dust in the driveway."

24 people out of 26 found this review helpful

Excellent hobby car

By on Sunday, July 08, 2012

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 67,000

10 7.0
overall rating 7 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
7/10
Value
8/10
Reliability
6/10
Quality
7/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Superb ride, superb engine"

Cons: "Costly to maintain"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 7

Great styling

"Fun car to drive, especially in summer with the top down. Maintenance is costly. Mileage is not great, but reasonable for a 4200 lb car with 490 hp. Bought used for about 1/4 the original sticker."

14 people out of 16 found this review helpful

Great styling

My favorite sport car/ convertible

By on Saturday, July 07, 2012

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 66,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Get great gas miles 28 on the byway at 80 miles"

Cons: "My model has cup holders on the dash works great"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 9

"great car. I love to drive it."

3 people out of 4 found this review helpful

Looks likes it's flying while sitting still

By on Saturday, April 28, 2012

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 39,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
9/10

Pros: "Retractable roof"

Cons: "Nav system"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"I have owned this car for 4 years now. I am the 2nd owner. I absolutely love it. It is quick, handles like a dream, dependable and has a timeless look of quality and class. It has maintained it's value like I cannot even believe. I have owned everything from a corvette to an Audi and this car is by far my most favorite. Being a female I have turned a lot of heads driving this car... :) It gets great gas mileage Hwy:25 and City:17 mpg. The only thing I am not fond of is the navigation system. I would rather use a GPS. I use my IPhone now. Another issue I have had with this car is the AC having a musty smell. The dealership cannot seem to fix it. :( Overall I am the PROUD owner of a chromed out Silver 2006 SL500 AMG Mercedes."

12 people out of 13 found this review helpful

A Beautiful Machine

By on Friday, March 30, 2012

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 9,500

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
7/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"Luxury and massive power. You will never drive anything less."

2 people out of 3 found this review helpful

Coolest vehicle I ever owned and love it !!

By on Thursday, March 22, 2012

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 42,590

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Fast Cool Looking and a looker"

Cons: "Not as roomy as my E class but it does its job"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

Top down and ready to drive !!!!!

"This vehicle demands attention when it is around. I love the convertible top, the monster motor, and fresh white interior. It has every option immaginable and I use all of them. Fun and comfortable car in the city or short trips."

6 people out of 7 found this review helpful

Top down and ready to drive !!!!!

Sort Reviews by: 
Per Page:  5 | 10 | 25
Previous | 1 2 3 ... 6 | Next
Find Deals Near You vehicles for sale matching Mercedes-Benz SL-Class near Honolulu. See local deals