Advertisement

Why ads?
Popular at KBB.com
  • 10 Best Luxury Cars Under $40,000
  • Small Luxury Sedan Buyer's Guide
  • Class of 2015: New Vehicles Ready to Roll
  • 10 Best Midsize SUVs
Go

2009 Mercedes-Benz SL-Class

Style:

Consumer Reviews & Ratings

Overall Rating
8.9
Out of 10

Based on 140 Ratings for the 2003 - 2012 models.

Review this car
more rating details
  • Value
    8.7/10
    Quality
    9.2/10
  • Reliability
    8.9/10
    Performance
    9.4/10
  • Comfort
    9.1/10
    Styling
    9.4/10
Sort Reviews by: 
Per Page:  5 | 10 | 25
Previous | 1 2 3 ... 14 | Next

Fun car but hugely expensive to maintain

By on Monday, April 20, 2015

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 75,000

10 4.0
overall rating 4 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
4/10
Value
5/10
Reliability
2/10
Quality
5/10
Performance
7/10
Styling
8/10
Comfort
7/10

Pros: "Good looking car and fun to drive"

Cons: "Extremely expensive to maintain. Many problems."

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 1

"Great looking car and fun to drive, particularly in the summer with the roof down. However, in four years of ownership (from 30k miles to 75k miles) I've had around $15k in repairs. A set of shock absorbers will set you back $7.5k - although fortunately I only had to get the rear ones done for a mere $4k. Various problems with the ABC system have cost me around $6k. Three problems with the electical/computer system another $3k. Various other issues bring the total up to $15k. I will not be buying another Mercedes and do not recommend this car unless you have money to throw away."

1 person out of 1 found this review helpful

great car - super 8 engine adult driven

By on Wednesday, April 15, 2015

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 73,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
9/10

Pros: "fun car, attractive, super car"

Cons: "none"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"never smoked in garage kept. Mercedes maintained"

weekend car never on salt never out in winter

By on Saturday, April 04, 2015

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 20,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
9/10

Pros: "car new 113k"

Cons: "low to ground"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"one of a kind"

1 person out of 2 found this review helpful

Beautiful 09 Mercedes SL550

By on Saturday, January 03, 2015

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 32,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Beautiful, great to drive, excellent condidtion"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"This Diamond White Mercedes SL550 is loaded with an extended warranty. Heated and cooled seats, keyless go beautiful."

8 people out of 16 found this review helpful

Very high quality

By on Tuesday, December 16, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 100,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "A real driving experience"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"I have driven about every car made and this is certainly right at the very top"

7 people out of 13 found this review helpful

Superb engineering, performance, and luxury

By on Friday, December 12, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 77,500

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Fast, smooth, superb quality"

Cons: "None"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"Purchased thru European delivery August 2008, 2100 miles on autobahn; no squeaks or rattles after 6+ years on bad roads; room for luggage on trips; remarkable gas mileage considering performance (mid 20s on highway); fast, smooth, corners well, built like a vault, and still stunning to look at. Get one before they take your license away."

9 people out of 12 found this review helpful

Great

By on Monday, December 08, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 18,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
8/10
Quality
8/10
Performance
7/10
Styling
8/10
Comfort
7/10

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 2

"Great"

2 people out of 9 found this review helpful

Best car I have ever had.

By on Tuesday, November 11, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 94,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Bose stereo is just fantastic, fun to drive"

Cons: "None"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"Bought it new. Black- shines like a mirror. Ride is smooth and solid. Very quick. Stereo best I've heard (I'm a stereo person). I still love it!"

15 people out of 25 found this review helpful

Very. Nice for Cruising but not reliable

By on Wednesday, September 17, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 36,800

10 7.0
overall rating 7 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
7/10
Value
3/10
Reliability
3/10
Quality
8/10
Performance
7/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
8/10

Pros: "Great convertible, very comfortable, nice stereo"

Cons: "Not reliable, expensive to maintain and insure"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 6

"I have owned the car for almost two years now. It is great to drive with the top down and my wife loves the car. It is a little heavy to be considered a true sports car, but does well with giving you a balance of luxury and sport. On the freeway it feels so smooth, like you are driving an airplane when you accelerate. Through the canyons the car feels comfortable with the adaptive ride control, mine has the performance package. I am disappointed with the depreciation value and reliability issues. Don't buy new and when you buy used make sure you buy an extended warranty if you plan on keeping the car."

32 people out of 44 found this review helpful

good car

By on Tuesday, June 10, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 51,000

10 7.0
overall rating 7 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
7/10
Value
6/10
Reliability
6/10
Quality
8/10
Performance
7/10
Styling
7/10
Comfort
7/10

Pros: "fun to drive"

Cons: "nice"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 9

"nice driving car"

17 people out of 29 found this review helpful

Sort Reviews by: 
Per Page:  5 | 10 | 25
Previous | 1 2 3 ... 14 | Next
Find Deals Near You vehicles for sale matching Mercedes-Benz SL-Class near Honolulu. See local deals