Advertisement

Why ads?
Go

2005 Mercedes-Benz SL-Class

Style:

Consumer Reviews & Ratings

Overall Rating
8.9
Out of 10

Based on 145 Ratings for the 2003 - 2012 models.

Review this car
more rating details
  • Value
    8.7/10
    Quality
    9.2/10
  • Reliability
    8.9/10
    Performance
    9.4/10
  • Comfort
    9.2/10
    Styling
    9.4/10
Sort Reviews by: 
Per Page:  5 | 10 | 25
Previous | 1 2 3 ... 29 | Next

Top Roadster

By on Saturday, August 23, 2008

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
8/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
9/10

"Pick the SL500(550). Unless you are trained as a driver, you have no business with the AMG or V-12 unless you have a death wish. Even the stability programme engaged these cars are overwrought by the massive torque produced by these magnificent engines. A superb car, best mix of performance and utility out there and it's not very fussy. Ridiculously easy to drive in the standard setup, comfortable and the only car resembling a convertible sports car for a 6'5" driver like me."

6 people out of 6 found this review helpful

Great Car

By on Wednesday, February 15, 2012

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 65,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "retractable hard top"

Cons: "none"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"Great car that is fun to drive and styling is pretty much timeless. Decent performance and mileage in ultimate luxury and class. Love the convertible hardtop that eliminates the soft top issues of noise, wind and make them easy targets for theft. Seats are great and the options to move them are almost unlimited. Love the heat and ventilation. Highly recommend, especially if you can find a good used one for a fraction of the price."

5 people out of 5 found this review helpful

Amazing car and more fun than should be legal

By on Friday, November 18, 2011

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 27,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Fun to drive, sporty, convertable or hardtop"

Cons: "Trunk is on small side."

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"Great car, sporty, powerful and fun to drive. Flip the switch, put the top down and enjoy. The technology in this car is truly amazing. It's a "head turner" wherever I go. Decent on gas, low maintenance, typical Mercedes, fantastic value for the money. Trunk storage is the same with the top up or down, not huge but who cares when you're having this much fun! Amazingly quiet with the top down."

5 people out of 5 found this review helpful

03 SL500

By on Tuesday, May 03, 2011

10 6.0
overall rating 6 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
6/10
Value
8/10
Reliability
7/10
Quality
7/10
Performance
8/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
8/10

"Beautiful car but buy a warranty and keep it. Batteries replaced 4 times, engine gaskets, leaks, glove box, locks, engine mounts,seat computers, windows always out of sync. This car is a rolling computer and something is always wrong with it even with regualr dealer service and low milage. It has alot of eletrical problems. i would buy this model again. Have had other Mercedes that were great for years. This is not one of them. Plan of 5k annual fixes plus routine maintenance."

5 people out of 5 found this review helpful

UNBELIEVABLE IN EVERY WAY

By on Monday, March 08, 2010

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

"I BOUGHT THE 2007- SL600- PEWTER WITH STONE INTERIOR. THERE WAS NOTHING ELSE TO COMPARE IT TO AND I DROVE EVERY OTHER HIGH END CONVERTIBLE BEFORE I CHOSE THE SL600. THE AMG PACKAGE ENHANCES THE LOOK OF THE CAR AND EVERYWHERE I TAKE IT, PEOPLE JUST STAND AND ADMIRE IT. MY WIFE LOVES HER XKR JAGUAR CONVERTIBLE BUT EACH MORNING THE SL600 IS ALWAYS HER CHOICE FOR THE DAY. I GUESS I NEED TO BUY ANOTHER ONE FOR ME TO USE. WE LOVE THE CAR MORE EVERY DAY AND NOT ONE PROBLEM OTHER THAN REGULAR SERVICES-EVERY 10,000 MILES. WITH 510 HORSE POWER AND 612 LB-FT OF TORQUE, I HAVE HAD NO TROUBLE PULLING AWAY FROM ANY OTHER CAR. AT 65 YEARS OF AGE, I FEEL LIKE I AM 25 AGAIN BEHIND THE WHEEL AND I HATE TO GET OUT OF THE CAR."

5 people out of 5 found this review helpful

Sort Reviews by: 
Per Page:  5 | 10 | 25
Previous | 1 2 3 ... 29 | Next
Find Deals Near You vehicles for sale matching Mercedes-Benz SL-Class near Honolulu. See local deals