Advertisement

Why ads?
Go

2002 Mercedes-Benz SL-Class

Style:

Consumer Reviews & Ratings

Overall Rating
9.0
Out of 10

Based on 160 Ratings for the 1994 - 2002 models.

Review this car
more rating details
  • Value
    9.1/10
    Quality
    9.3/10
  • Reliability
    9.2/10
    Performance
    9.4/10
  • Comfort
    9.1/10
    Styling
    9.4/10
Sort Reviews by: 
Per Page:  5 | 10 | 25
Previous | 1 2 3 ... 16 | Next

the ultimate!

By on Monday, June 02, 2008

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

"Thought I had the best with my 1998 SL500 with panorama roof. Then saw the 2003 red SL500 with panorama roof and I knew it would have to be mine. Both models are the top of the pecking order, with few vehicles that compare to them. The advantage to the '03 is the folding hard top. It can't get better than that. I never took the roof off the '98, so open air touring was not as easy as it is with the '03. The comments from friends and strangers on the '03 are always positive and complementary, especially now that the new 18"AMG chrome wheels are on it. Its like the whole package just snaps! I enjoy all the conveience features of the '03, the build quality, performance, and comfort. I just love getting in it and taking off on a whim. Here in the northwest, the mountains are just a half hour away, the ocean an hour, and eastern Washington's wide open spaces just an hour and a half. I see myself owning this one for a long time, and a lot of miles. Its red, its fast, its awesome!!!"

3 people out of 3 found this review helpful

MOST ENJOYABLE CAR EVER

By on Friday, April 04, 2008

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
9/10

"INTERIOR SPACE IS A BIT LIMITED, BUT ONCE YOU'RE IN AND READY TO DRIVE, IT'S THE MOST ENJOYABLE VEHICLE I HAVE EVER OWNED. IT RIDES LIKE A PORSCHE BUT IS COMFORTABLE LIKE A CADDY. THE SERVICE HAS BEEN FIRST CLASS. OWNING THIS CAR HAS BEEN A GREAT EXPERIENCE."

3 people out of 3 found this review helpful

What a fabulous car!

By on Sunday, February 24, 2008

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

"I bought my 1995 SL500 in 1999 and still love it in 2008. It's the most fun you can have on the road. The car has speed, style, and comfort. All my friends love it too!"

3 people out of 3 found this review helpful

Love adiction

By on Thursday, December 27, 2007

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

"Now driving my 2nd SL500, bought new in '00; now I am shopping for a replacement SL55. My 1st SL500 was a white/blue 1992; It was everything and more than I ever expected; hense when I retired in '00 I replaced it with a new White/tan SL500 "sports" life became even better! With 34,000 miles of driving it has been almost trouble free! My only disapointment is my current '00 is only worth $28-30k ($95k new inc. tx, etc) so.. now looking at used SL 55; let someone else take the innitial 2-3 year hit. Wife tells me this is the last vehicle I will own and that is OK with me, JUST LOVE THE VEHICLE!!!"

3 people out of 3 found this review helpful

Nice Ride

By on Saturday, December 15, 2007

10 8.0
overall rating 8 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
8/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
8/10
Quality
8/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
8/10

"I have owned a 1999 SL 500 for 16 months. Only 58k miles when I purchased this super clean beauty. It was a goal of mine to purchase one of these for about 10 years. I have had a couple unexpected issues pop up. The first being a sensor that went bad and stranded me one evening. $600 all is well. The latest problem was when I was putting the top up and fluid (oil ) came gushing out of the area where the roof clamps down. It was a mess. All over me and the seat. The dealer quoted me $2,300 to repair the front cylinders. Then told me to do it right ( all of the cylinders) it would be $7,900. I tossed the hard top back on. I'll take it to a different place thank you. Inspite of these two problems, I must say the car is still great. Handles like a dream and has a STRONG engine. This is a luxury sports car."

3 people out of 3 found this review helpful

Good machine overall

By on Sunday, December 08, 2013

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 104,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
8/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
7/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Holds it own with Porsche 911 turbo."

Cons: "Gas mileage, scary on wet roads at speed."

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 9

"Car is a blast to drive, however it is bad on gas. 17 mpg highway at a constant 80 MPH. Adding aftermarket chip did much for performance but noticed very little in gas savings."

2 people out of 2 found this review helpful

Masterful car

By on Thursday, December 11, 2008

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
10/10

"This is the epitome of engineering technology of the automobile industry. You gotta adopt one of your own to appreciate this marvelous machine. I love mine....even though gently used, it is electrifing to drive and admire."

2 people out of 2 found this review helpful

An absolute pleasure to drive, 1999 SL500

By on Sunday, August 31, 2008

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
8/10

"I only gave "4 stars" under the heading of "Value" due to the rather pricey sticker price. Under the heading "Comfort" I only gave 3 stars due to the fact that my better half and I are 6'2" each - yeah, she's a tall girl! The car is as solid as a rock and handles exceptionally well for a car that weight (I have the AMG Sport Package - not for everyone, as it rides pretty firm). I've had it up to 140mph with the top off and the motor was really starting to come on...had to shut it down - girlfriend got scared. Anyway, don't wait until you're too old to enjoy this car. Live rich don't die rich."

2 people out of 2 found this review helpful

style is great

By on Thursday, July 24, 2008

10 8.0
overall rating 8 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
8/10
Value
8/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
8/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
8/10

"I have a 07 Lexus,along with this SL,there is a great difference between the two,On a sunny day the Lexus stays parked. The car is expensive to own,Just paid 5000 dollars to get the hydrolic for the top fixed,and 800 dollars for a 60000 mile service.All I can say is that it"s worth it"

2 people out of 2 found this review helpful

By on Wednesday, July 02, 2008

10 7.0
overall rating 7 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
7/10
Value
7/10
Reliability
8/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
8/10

"I OWN A 2003 SL 500 AND THE FIRST THREE YEARS IT WAS IN AND OUT OF THE GARAGE AND NOW THE LAST THREE YEARS NO PROBLEMS. THE STYLING IS 100 PERCENT BETTER THAN THE LEXUS SC430"

2 people out of 2 found this review helpful

Sort Reviews by: 
Per Page:  5 | 10 | 25
Previous | 1 2 3 ... 16 | Next
Find Deals Near You vehicles for sale matching Mercedes-Benz SL-Class near Honolulu. See local deals