Go

1998 Mercedes-Benz SL-Class

Style:

Consumer Reviews & Ratings

Overall Rating
9.0
Out of 10

Based on 163 Ratings for the 1994 - 2002 models.

Review this car
more rating details
  • Value
    9.1/10
    Quality
    9.3/10
  • Reliability
    9.2/10
    Performance
    9.4/10
  • Comfort
    9.1/10
    Styling
    9.5/10
Sort Reviews by: 
Per Page:  5 | 10 | 25
Previous | 1 2 3 ... 17 | Next

MOST ENJOYABLE CAR EVER

By on Friday, April 4, 2008

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
9/10

"INTERIOR SPACE IS A BIT LIMITED, BUT ONCE YOU'RE IN AND READY TO DRIVE, IT'S THE MOST ENJOYABLE VEHICLE I HAVE EVER OWNED. IT RIDES LIKE A PORSCHE BUT IS COMFORTABLE LIKE A CADDY. THE SERVICE HAS BEEN FIRST CLASS. OWNING THIS CAR HAS BEEN A GREAT EXPERIENCE."

3 people out of 3 found this review helpful

What a fabulous car!

By on Sunday, February 24, 2008

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

"I bought my 1995 SL500 in 1999 and still love it in 2008. It's the most fun you can have on the road. The car has speed, style, and comfort. All my friends love it too!"

3 people out of 3 found this review helpful

Love adiction

By on Thursday, December 27, 2007

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

"Now driving my 2nd SL500, bought new in '00; now I am shopping for a replacement SL55. My 1st SL500 was a white/blue 1992; It was everything and more than I ever expected; hense when I retired in '00 I replaced it with a new White/tan SL500 "sports" life became even better! With 34,000 miles of driving it has been almost trouble free! My only disapointment is my current '00 is only worth $28-30k ($95k new inc. tx, etc) so.. now looking at used SL 55; let someone else take the innitial 2-3 year hit. Wife tells me this is the last vehicle I will own and that is OK with me, JUST LOVE THE VEHICLE!!!"

3 people out of 3 found this review helpful

Nice Ride

By on Saturday, December 15, 2007

10 8.0
overall rating 8 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
8/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
8/10
Quality
8/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
8/10

"I have owned a 1999 SL 500 for 16 months. Only 58k miles when I purchased this super clean beauty. It was a goal of mine to purchase one of these for about 10 years. I have had a couple unexpected issues pop up. The first being a sensor that went bad and stranded me one evening. $600 all is well. The latest problem was when I was putting the top up and fluid (oil ) came gushing out of the area where the roof clamps down. It was a mess. All over me and the seat. The dealer quoted me $2,300 to repair the front cylinders. Then told me to do it right ( all of the cylinders) it would be $7,900. I tossed the hard top back on. I'll take it to a different place thank you. Inspite of these two problems, I must say the car is still great. Handles like a dream and has a STRONG engine. This is a luxury sports car."

3 people out of 3 found this review helpful

Great value for the price

By on Thursday, September 13, 2007

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

"With the near 100,000.00 price tag, most owners properly maintained these cars. At ten and fifteen years old, the SL 500s can be found in almost pristine condition and at a fraction of their initial costs. A buyer is afforded the opportunity to own a quality German sports roadster at a smaller price than a new Kia or Hyundai."

3 people out of 3 found this review helpful

Love My 97 SL 500

By on Thursday, April 21, 2016

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 66,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Excellent MPG's - Great design - Powerful Engine"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"The 97 SL 500 is great for a daily. I avg 20 mpg in LA traffic and highway. This is way better than I thought I'd get. One thing I want to mention: Do NOT get a transmission FLUSH if you get the service. My mechanic did a flush accidentally and ruined my tranny within 4k miles. It skips and it'll cost $2k to fix. Heads up on this! It's not the car's fault so I won't hold it against her. Overall, I love my SL. It's so much fun to drive and everyone always comments on how nice it is, especially when I'm in the convertible mode."

2 people out of 2 found this review helpful

Masterful car

By on Thursday, December 11, 2008

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
10/10

"This is the epitome of engineering technology of the automobile industry. You gotta adopt one of your own to appreciate this marvelous machine. I love mine....even though gently used, it is electrifing to drive and admire."

2 people out of 2 found this review helpful

style is great

By on Thursday, July 24, 2008

10 8.0
overall rating 8 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
8/10
Value
8/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
8/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
8/10

"I have a 07 Lexus,along with this SL,there is a great difference between the two,On a sunny day the Lexus stays parked. The car is expensive to own,Just paid 5000 dollars to get the hydrolic for the top fixed,and 800 dollars for a 60000 mile service.All I can say is that it"s worth it"

2 people out of 2 found this review helpful

By on Wednesday, July 2, 2008

10 7.0
overall rating 7 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
7/10
Value
7/10
Reliability
8/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
8/10

"I OWN A 2003 SL 500 AND THE FIRST THREE YEARS IT WAS IN AND OUT OF THE GARAGE AND NOW THE LAST THREE YEARS NO PROBLEMS. THE STYLING IS 100 PERCENT BETTER THAN THE LEXUS SC430"

2 people out of 2 found this review helpful

Pride and Joy!

By on Friday, May 23, 2008

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
9/10

"My 1995 SL 500 is a treasure. The quality, performance and styling are amazing. I purchased the car two years ago and have replaced the soft top, water pump, a door hinge and I've had to invest in some normal maintenance that can only be expected of a car this age. The cost of maintenance and replacement parts is unbelievably high but you get what you pay for. I'm 59 and I have never had a new or used car that satisfies me more. It's a pleasure to drive, a pleasure to maintain and a pleasure to think about when I'm at work. It's like a fine piece of art."

2 people out of 2 found this review helpful

Sort Reviews by: 
Per Page:  5 | 10 | 25
Previous | 1 2 3 ... 17 | Next
Find Deals Near You vehicles for sale matching Mercedes-Benz SL-Class near Honolulu. See local deals
Advertisement