Advertisement

Why ads?
Popular at KBB.com
  • 10 Best Luxury Cars Under $40,000
  • Small Luxury Sedan Buyer's Guide
  • Class of 2015: New Vehicles Ready to Roll
  • 10 Best Midsize SUVs
Go

1998 Mercedes-Benz SL-Class

Style:

Consumer Reviews & Ratings

Overall Rating
9.0
Out of 10

Based on 158 Ratings for the 1994 - 2002 models.

Review this car
more rating details
  • Value
    9.1/10
    Quality
    9.3/10
  • Reliability
    9.2/10
    Performance
    9.4/10
  • Comfort
    9.1/10
    Styling
    9.5/10
Sort Reviews by: 
Per Page:  5 | 10 | 25
Previous | 1 2 3 ... 7 | Next

None

By on Tuesday, August 04, 2009

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

"This is the last of the 2 tops SL MBZ. Mercedes Benz produced a great car."

1 person out of 1 found this review helpful

By on Wednesday, June 24, 2009

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

"This vehicle has to be one of the fun driving cars with power on command. And a fresh look no matter about the year ."

1 person out of 1 found this review helpful

By on Thursday, February 19, 2009

10 7.0
overall rating 7 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
7/10
Value
8/10
Reliability
8/10
Quality
8/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
8/10
Comfort
8/10

This customer did not provide a text review.

1 person out of 1 found this review helpful

Can't beat the rush

By on Saturday, January 31, 2009

10 7.0
overall rating 7 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
7/10
Value
8/10
Reliability
8/10
Quality
8/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
8/10
Comfort
8/10

"Have a 98 SL600 and there's no comparision when it comes to wow factor. 0-60 is now and push the accelerator at 70 and it comes alive. must admit the repair bills are steep if something fails, but well worth it."

1 person out of 1 found this review helpful

excellent "USED" value now

By on Thursday, December 18, 2008

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

"I've had my 2003 SL500 for a couple years now. I like the 2003-2008 body styles the best. Used car prices for these fine cars are now at a excellent value considering new it was a $100,000+ car. This SL is a keeper for me. I've driven lots of high end performance cars but this SL is for me the most satisfying over all for it's style, comfort, convience, dependability and FUN. The retractable hard top is great! The car is quiet, not much wind noise or buffetting on the freeway when the top is down. As a caroholic I have nearly lost my desire to car shop since I've owned this SL I'm satisfied."

1 person out of 1 found this review helpful

SL500

By on Monday, June 16, 2008

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

"Excellent Car - Some minor glitches after I bought it. But, for styling, power, look and feel for the road you can't beat it. Convenient hard top convertible in 20 secs. Mine has a Panoramic Glass Top. Highly recommend this car!"

1 person out of 1 found this review helpful

Buyer Beware

By on Sunday, June 01, 2008

10 4.0
overall rating 4 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
4/10
Value
3/10
Reliability
3/10
Quality
3/10
Performance
8/10
Styling
8/10
Comfort
7/10

"The top won't open, the trunk won't quite close, the central locking system won't unlock, the electric consumers randomly go offline, the alarm malfunctions, it is one thing after another after another. Even when the repairs are covered by the warranty, you are inconvenienced by having to "DRIVE TO WORKSHOP" so often. On the flip side, you will get to test drive a lot of Mercedes loaner cars."

1 person out of 1 found this review helpful

2004 SL55: Great all round car

By on Saturday, March 08, 2008

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

"I bought a Mocha Black/Tan Designo SL55 new. I do wish that I didn't have to pay $7,000 extra just to get tan seats when a Bentley Continental GT for the same price gives you infinite color choices for no extra money. Having said that, the car is comfortable around town and on the highway. (How can it not be with seats that massage, heat & cool?). When needed, the car is ferociously fast, especially from 55-100, and much more limber on twisty roads than some reviewers say. The engine sound is Wagnerian and addictive, especially with the top down. Three times the car has been in the shop for a roof rattle that remains annoying. But having said that, I may keep this car for the rest of my life. What's not to like? It is the Swiss Army knife of cars."

1 person out of 1 found this review helpful

Car I loved the most

By on Sunday, February 24, 2008

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

"Fast, sexy, easy to drive a true icon one of a kind"

1 person out of 1 found this review helpful

its a good car

By on Friday, December 21, 2007

10 8.0
overall rating 8 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
8/10
Value
8/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
8/10
Performance
8/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
8/10

"i like the car for the top & the stareo the ride nice car"

1 person out of 1 found this review helpful

By on Saturday, November 24, 2007

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
9/10

This customer did not provide a text review.

1 person out of 1 found this review helpful

great sports car

By on Saturday, November 03, 2007

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
9/10

"This car (Mercedes Benz 500 SLR) is an excellent two seater, great handling and performance. This vehicle is very reliable and requires only routine maintenance. I would strongly recommend this car to anyone who would like a powerful, fast car with excellent handling and cornering ability. This car rides a little stiff, but thats expected for this type of sports car."

1 person out of 1 found this review helpful

2003 SL500

By on Sunday, October 21, 2007

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

"I bought a clean pre-owned SL500 and I am so impressed...I have had alot of cars but this is this best car I have ever driven...the styling, smooth ride shifting acceleration...even the way the hard top roof goes into the trunk WITH suitcases in the trunk is a work of art. My wife mentioned today while I drove on the freeway with the top down...there was less noise than other cars we have even with the top down. Fast, smooth, reliable...this car is a keeper. I like everything about this car."

1 person out of 1 found this review helpful

Best car ever made

By on Saturday, September 29, 2007

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

"What a joy to drive with the top down or up. Beautiful, stylish, comfortable, excellent handling and power. Best car I have had, a real and true car. Once you drive a SL500 you are hooked for life, never get tired or bored driving this beauty, just love it."

1 person out of 1 found this review helpful

best car on the road

By on Thursday, September 20, 2007

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

"Once you've driven one, you will be hooked for life. Best V8 ever made. The car has some things overengineered but not nearly as complicated and over the top as newer mercedes models are with newer features. You haven't lived until you own one of these."

1 person out of 1 found this review helpful

Excellent

By on Thursday, August 16, 2007

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

"Great car. Stylish, easy driving, power and low maintenance. In 3 years no major issues and all issues resolved in short time frame."

1 person out of 1 found this review helpful

Benz joon

By on Sunday, July 15, 2007

10 8.0
overall rating 8 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
8/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
8/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
8/10
Styling
8/10
Comfort
8/10

"The car is fast, stable, material quality is high, you get all of the bells and whistles but no MP3 or extra unneccessary bells in this year model. Gas mileage is about 15-16mpg under hard driving and about 22-24mpg on a straight line freeway driving. It comes with 2 tops. Hard top gets released with the push of a button and can be lifted by 2 person of with a help of a lift-strap sold separately for about $250. The same button lifts the soft top over and pulls it off. This car is reliable and almost hugs you and protects you on the road but expect to pay good labor charge to have it maintained and it'll need 1-2 parts exchanged once in a while as all cars do. Parts prices are just slightly higher priced than other cars and they obviously are much better quality to make up for the extra cost. For example Remote/key costs $188, starter costs $185, radiator costs $580 and so on. Insurance must be full cover and it costs me about $500/6months. The best part about this car is that you can now (2007) get a 1996 model with under 100k miles in nice condition for about $14000. You'll save $76000 over new one but still get a near new condition car with convertible and a super 315HP engine with 160MPH speed and Mercedes style. That's pure unbeatable."

15 people out of 16 found this review helpful

ride in style

By on Wednesday, September 18, 2013

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 249,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
8/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
9/10

Pros: "stylish,low maintenance, easy to repair"

Cons: "hard to get in and out of, premium fuel"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 9

a quarter of a million miles and still going

"I bought this car 5 years ago with 217,000 miles sight-unseen off the internet. I always wanted a mid-90s SL but Im not made of money. Since the milage was high, I got it for a bargain. This is truely a gentlemans sports car. I get upto 22mpg in town. The only issue I have is getting in and out of it. Once in, its rides like a dream. Mechanically I have had very few issues and most I can fix myself (new starter, new ignition coils). Until 240,000 miles, that was it. Then the engine control module fried, but that was only $400. Dont fret high mileage on this car. Everything (except the heated seats) still work."

10 people out of 11 found this review helpful

a quarter of a million miles and still going

2nd best vech. I have ever owned.

By on Thursday, October 08, 2009

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
9/10

"Ihave a 1995 SL bought it 3 yrs ago with 3922 mles on it. It now has 41500. Love the car. My complaint is when I am looking for a review I want to know the exact year of the auto or the review has no value. A 5 or 8 yr. spread is bull, does not even beginn to tell you what you are trying to research.You have done nothing but waist my time and hurt your credibility."

9 people out of 10 found this review helpful

Great value on a roadster BUT!!!!!

By on Friday, January 10, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 75,000

10 8.0
overall rating 8 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
8/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
8/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "great value"

Cons: "check the engine wire harness and convert top cyl"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 8

94 SL500 top off

"I have been driving Mercedes for the past 30 years, i have owned several S-class mercedes. this is a great driving roadster. Mercedes did a few stupid things in the design of this car. There is a engine harness problem that can be corrected with an after market harness that was made to correct the problem with the 1993-1995 models. the vendor that made the original harness us a bio-degradable insulation on the wirers, so when they get a worn they will break down and cause your car to idle rough or turn off. if you are welling to purchase the harness from $250-$1,000.00 dollar depending on were you go, it is a great value for a used one. Remember this was a 100K car when it was new.One other thing i forgot to mention, the convertible to cylinders seals will leak when they get old, you will need to have the rebuilted watch cost more money if you have the dealer replace; it will cost $500.00 if you're handy with taking them off your self."

16 people out of 18 found this review helpful

94 SL500 top off

Market may be at bottom-a great buying opportunity

By on Monday, August 12, 2013

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 125,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
8/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
8/10
Styling
8/10
Comfort
8/10

Pros: "styling price build quality"

Cons: "cost of servicing (if you don't do it yourself)"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 9

"I bought this car - a 1996 SL500 - in January and it is now August 2013. It was a 1 owner but in the last 3-4 years the car was neglected other than maybe oil changes. So I have had to fix things I didn't think would need repairing - but I am still happy with the car. I think the styling is better than the subsequent SLs - it is a head turner. Within the 12 years of production were a lot of changes. For this year they used a radio made by Alpine - and the LCD screen is known to get black after just a few years. Replaced it with the Becker unit used in the equivalent SL - it looks identical and plugs right in. The M119 V8 - used until 6-98 when the M113 was substituted, is a hot rod. I get 20 in town and 23 on the road, the same as my old 6 cylinder 300E. Tap the accelerator to pass on the freeway and you are going 90. 1996 was the first year of OBD II - they got rid of the distributors and went electronic (cylinders have individual ignitors) As someone else mentioned though if you have to pay a shop to do everything it can be expensive. One thing I just replaced were some plastic "oiler tubes" that plug into the heads and feed the lifters of (I presume) the intake cams. The factory went cheap - substituted plastic for aluminum in 1993 and the plastic will break over time. The aftermarket has aluminum ones - I went to a junk yard and pulled 16 aluminum ones from a 1992 E420. The mirror - one of the first to incorporate electronics (rear view) keeps tension with a flimsy plastic clip that is known to break and become wobbly. Mercedes doesn't sell just the clip - the mirror is $1K. But there are DIY solutions on the net. My engine, the M119 (the earlier V8) still uses less than a qt of oil in (so far) 6,000 miles. I could go on and on but I would recommend the V8 for value (gets about the same performance as the V12 but easier to service) - the I6 had a known problem of head gasket failures due to the oil passage being to close to the coolant - and it gets only negligibly better mileage The roof hydraulic system has 12 cylinders whose O-Rings tend to leak over time - the Aftermarket (Top Hydraulics) designed a better material - 1996 was also the first year of their 722.6 automatic transmission - 5 speeds - it has a special ATF that the factory thought would never need changing. Although experience in the field showed that clutch packs still wear and if not changed in 100,000 miles or so th3 transmission is shot - so even though this isn't on the factory's official service schedule, change it every 60,000 miles (costs $200-$300). I get comments on this car all the time - the last of the classic SLs with the removable hardtop. But shop carefully and use Carfax - because many are so cheap a lot have been "ridden hard and put away wet""

8 people out of 9 found this review helpful

1998 SL 500

By on Thursday, April 21, 2011

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

"The 98 was one of the best years of the R129 model. My car is now going on 13 years old, and has 71K miles on it. Starts every time, literally no other maintenance than an oil change. A big, safe, heavy, classy roadster, and a pleasure to drive. I have owned Mercedes for years because of the quality and reliability"

14 people out of 16 found this review helpful

great reliable car

By on Thursday, February 26, 2009

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
9/10

"I have owned mercedes for the past 24 years. The 1999 SL500 is one of the best. I had 3 S class from 92 to 97 and was not pleased with the reliability. This one is reliable, and still sharp as the day it was purchased."

7 people out of 8 found this review helpful

Buy Used if you Buy at all

By on Monday, September 01, 2008

10 3.0
overall rating 3 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
3/10
Value
2/10
Reliability
4/10
Quality
2/10
Performance
5/10
Styling
8/10
Comfort
6/10

"Spent $95k. Beautiful car, very nice ride! Temperature control LCD flakes out, had it replaced, flakes out again but now off warranty. Built-in garage door opener has no range (practically have to ram the door to get close enough). CD changer stopped working. If you pull into a parking spot too far, the plastic bumper literally rips apart as you scrape away from the curb (plastic insterts pop out too, so you leave parts of the car behind). Console lights burn out so you can't see portions of the display at night. Had issues with the brakes that Mercedes couldn't/wouldn't fix, ultimately had to go to independent shop and they fixed brakes right away. Received a Recall Notice from Mercedes regarding the Timing Belt being bad, took it to the Mercedes shop and they said mine wasn't one of the bad belts so there's nothing they can do (even though I described that the motor runs really rough at times, which is the described symptom of a belt going bad, Mercedes said for a fee they would fix the problem but not as part of the Recall). What started out as a great ride has turned into a major waste of $$. All of these cheap annoyances ruins the experience of owning a Mercedes. If you must own one, buy used for less than $20k, and plan on spending a lot more than that on maintenance."

7 people out of 8 found this review helpful

Still an awesome car

By on Tuesday, February 26, 2013

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 74,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Classic look, smooth ride."

Cons: "Repair cost"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 8

"Fun car top up or top down' down preferably. Though a little long in the tooth, she still draws lots of attention. Has been the most dependable car I've ever owned."

6 people out of 7 found this review helpful

Sort Reviews by: 
Per Page:  5 | 10 | 25
Previous | 1 2 3 ... 7 | Next
Find Deals Near You vehicles for sale matching Mercedes-Benz SL-Class near Honolulu. See local deals