Advertisement

Why ads?
Go

1998 Mercedes-Benz SL-Class

Style:

Consumer Reviews & Ratings

Overall Rating
9.0
Out of 10

Based on 160 Ratings for the 1994 - 2002 models.

Review this car
more rating details
  • Value
    9.1/10
    Quality
    9.3/10
  • Reliability
    9.2/10
    Performance
    9.4/10
  • Comfort
    9.1/10
    Styling
    9.4/10
Sort Reviews by: 
Per Page:  5 | 10 | 25
Previous | 1 2 3 ... 7 | Next

Good machine overall

By on Sunday, December 08, 2013

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 104,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
8/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
7/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Holds it own with Porsche 911 turbo."

Cons: "Gas mileage, scary on wet roads at speed."

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 9

"Car is a blast to drive, however it is bad on gas. 17 mpg highway at a constant 80 MPH. Adding aftermarket chip did much for performance but noticed very little in gas savings."

2 people out of 2 found this review helpful

Masterful car

By on Thursday, December 11, 2008

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
10/10

"This is the epitome of engineering technology of the automobile industry. You gotta adopt one of your own to appreciate this marvelous machine. I love mine....even though gently used, it is electrifing to drive and admire."

2 people out of 2 found this review helpful

An absolute pleasure to drive, 1999 SL500

By on Sunday, August 31, 2008

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
8/10

"I only gave "4 stars" under the heading of "Value" due to the rather pricey sticker price. Under the heading "Comfort" I only gave 3 stars due to the fact that my better half and I are 6'2" each - yeah, she's a tall girl! The car is as solid as a rock and handles exceptionally well for a car that weight (I have the AMG Sport Package - not for everyone, as it rides pretty firm). I've had it up to 140mph with the top off and the motor was really starting to come on...had to shut it down - girlfriend got scared. Anyway, don't wait until you're too old to enjoy this car. Live rich don't die rich."

2 people out of 2 found this review helpful

style is great

By on Thursday, July 24, 2008

10 8.0
overall rating 8 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
8/10
Value
8/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
8/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
8/10

"I have a 07 Lexus,along with this SL,there is a great difference between the two,On a sunny day the Lexus stays parked. The car is expensive to own,Just paid 5000 dollars to get the hydrolic for the top fixed,and 800 dollars for a 60000 mile service.All I can say is that it"s worth it"

2 people out of 2 found this review helpful

By on Wednesday, July 02, 2008

10 7.0
overall rating 7 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
7/10
Value
7/10
Reliability
8/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
8/10

"I OWN A 2003 SL 500 AND THE FIRST THREE YEARS IT WAS IN AND OUT OF THE GARAGE AND NOW THE LAST THREE YEARS NO PROBLEMS. THE STYLING IS 100 PERCENT BETTER THAN THE LEXUS SC430"

2 people out of 2 found this review helpful

Pride and Joy!

By on Friday, May 23, 2008

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
9/10

"My 1995 SL 500 is a treasure. The quality, performance and styling are amazing. I purchased the car two years ago and have replaced the soft top, water pump, a door hinge and I've had to invest in some normal maintenance that can only be expected of a car this age. The cost of maintenance and replacement parts is unbelievably high but you get what you pay for. I'm 59 and I have never had a new or used car that satisfies me more. It's a pleasure to drive, a pleasure to maintain and a pleasure to think about when I'm at work. It's like a fine piece of art."

2 people out of 2 found this review helpful

A good car, some quibbles...

By on Saturday, December 29, 2007

10 6.0
overall rating 6 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
6/10
Value
7/10
Reliability
8/10
Quality
5/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
8/10
Comfort
9/10

"All in all I enjoy this car, but the Sport Package means knowing NOT to park too close to those cement parking barriers. I'm on my 3rd lower front bumper, they crack very easily. Another thing is break squeak in cold, humid weather! MBZ told me this is normal, as the brake pads are 'soft'. Uh, ok!"

2 people out of 2 found this review helpful

exhirating performance and very predictable handli

By on Tuesday, October 23, 2007

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

"Bopught at 60K miles. Looked and drove like a showroom car. No wear, no imperfectrons. a dream to drive. Having tons of fun with it, but only driving a little as I want to keep this beauty looking new for a long, long time. Lines are clasic and distinctive. There is no other car like. Acceleration is straight and agile. Handling is superb. Everything works pefectly. Looking for many wears of babying this fine automobile"

2 people out of 2 found this review helpful

Great value for the price

By on Thursday, September 13, 2007

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

"With the near 100,000.00 price tag, most owners properly maintained these cars. At ten and fifteen years old, the SL 500s can be found in almost pristine condition and at a fraction of their initial costs. A buyer is afforded the opportunity to own a quality German sports roadster at a smaller price than a new Kia or Hyundai."

2 people out of 2 found this review helpful

Electical issues abound

By on Friday, September 07, 2007

10 6.0
overall rating 6 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
6/10
Value
7/10
Reliability
7/10
Quality
8/10
Performance
7/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
8/10

"I love this car, but have had many issues with the electronics, which shouldn't be a problem in a car that cost a $100,000. Everything that failed was under warranty, and was been taken care of by the dealer, but it's been in the shop several time s in the last year - problems with the retractable top motors, dash electronics, power door lock problems etc. Still, despite all the problems its a fun car to drive, and would recommend it to others."

2 people out of 2 found this review helpful

Fantasmagorical

By on Thursday, August 30, 2007

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

"Drives like a true roadster- low to the ground, great cornering and the real feel of a real german sports car."

2 people out of 2 found this review helpful

1998 Mercedes SL500 SPORT

By on Sunday, July 29, 2007

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

"THIS IS A SOLID RELIABLE CAR no surprise whne MB made same car for 50+ years now BUY IT is you can find one with SPORT package"

2 people out of 2 found this review helpful

Great car, less then 25000 miles.

By on Monday, March 03, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 25,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
9/10

Pros: "great sports car with 12 cycliners hard to beat."

Cons: "It is a 1996 so not all the latest stuff"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 9

"Car is in perfect condition, no accidents. Has all the extras. Beautiful red color with high end chrome wheels. Interior is very clean, like new."

1 person out of 1 found this review helpful

Great power , cant drive in winter

By on Monday, February 20, 2012

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 80,000

10 8.0
overall rating 8 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
8/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
8/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
7/10

Pros: "315 horse power rwd"

Cons: "premium fuel"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"nice car but seats are to flat for long trips, sticker price was 99,975 in 1994 1300 just for being a gas hog."

1 person out of 1 found this review helpful

Super cool and fun to drive!

By on Tuesday, January 03, 2012

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 225,000

10 8.0
overall rating 8 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
8/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
8/10
Quality
8/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
8/10

Pros: "Feel the power!"

Cons: "$2,500 per year to keep it running."

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"Great vehicle to drive - excellent power curve. 60 to 100 in a flash! Down side is that it's not a cruiser - comfort level drops on a long road trip and you've got to put $2,500 a year into it to keep it on the road. But the upside is, it's so much fun to drive and looks great. It's the best car I've ever owned."

1 person out of 1 found this review helpful

What a ride!

By on Thursday, November 10, 2011

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 70,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Awesome power, extremely reliable and gorgeous~"

Cons: "none"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

1997 SL600

"I have the 1997 SL600 with the Panoramic roof, uses less fuel than our pickup (5.7). It moves about effortlessly with the V12. Superb passing power and a joy to drive. Secret is find someone who can service it that you trust. You will never have to use the dealer and life will be GOOD!"

1 person out of 1 found this review helpful

1997 SL600

CLASS AND STYLE!

By on Sunday, October 30, 2011

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 83,000

10 7.0
overall rating 7 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
7/10
Value
8/10
Reliability
8/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
8/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
5/10

Pros: "Fast-sporty-eye-catcher, convertible, trunk space"

Cons: "Low to the ground, hard seats"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

Driving with the wind in my hair!

"Pure elegance. The sleek look gives it grace. Powerful V8 runs smooth and the car seems to float."

1 person out of 1 found this review helpful

Driving with the wind in my hair!

Class, Styling, and Value

By on Tuesday, May 18, 2010

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

"My 1999 SL-500 AMG is a superb car in most every respect. Yeah...I wish it had more than 302 hp. I wish mine had the xenon headlamps. Other than that, my silver beauty with the pano top is perfect for me, and might never be for sale again....unless I upgrade to the SL-600 AMG and more power. In short, here's a car than corners like a vette, takes speedbumps like a caddy, and turns more heads than either. So smooth, so competent, so fun. Go topless, convertible top, or pano hardtop (awesome). What you don't experience is typical depreciation. Mine will hold it's value far better than most anything else. Cha-ching!"

1 person out of 1 found this review helpful

Best vehicle ever

By on Wednesday, April 28, 2010

10 8.0
overall rating 8 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
8/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
9/10

"I have had this vehicle for approx. 8yrs. & it has been a joy to drive every time I get behind the wheel."

1 person out of 1 found this review helpful

No brainer...

By on Friday, February 12, 2010

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
9/10

"Simply put, this is a fantastic automobile and if you're fortunate to get one....new or used...you're in for a thrill. Features and benefits list much too long for a quick review here, but check the car out. In closing, remember...when you turn on your car, it should return the favor...this car will!!!"

1 person out of 1 found this review helpful

Too much fun

By on Tuesday, September 15, 2009

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

"This is the most comfortable, stable and fun to drive vehicle I have ever owned. I purchased used 2 1/2 yrs ago. It has been perfect and a joy to own. I keep my vehicles clean and shiny. This one is well worth the effort."

1 person out of 1 found this review helpful

None

By on Tuesday, August 04, 2009

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

"This is the last of the 2 tops SL MBZ. Mercedes Benz produced a great car."

1 person out of 1 found this review helpful

By on Wednesday, June 24, 2009

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

"This vehicle has to be one of the fun driving cars with power on command. And a fresh look no matter about the year ."

1 person out of 1 found this review helpful

By on Thursday, February 19, 2009

10 7.0
overall rating 7 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
7/10
Value
8/10
Reliability
8/10
Quality
8/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
8/10
Comfort
8/10

This customer did not provide a text review.

1 person out of 1 found this review helpful

Can't beat the rush

By on Saturday, January 31, 2009

10 7.0
overall rating 7 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
7/10
Value
8/10
Reliability
8/10
Quality
8/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
8/10
Comfort
8/10

"Have a 98 SL600 and there's no comparision when it comes to wow factor. 0-60 is now and push the accelerator at 70 and it comes alive. must admit the repair bills are steep if something fails, but well worth it."

1 person out of 1 found this review helpful

Sort Reviews by: 
Per Page:  5 | 10 | 25
Previous | 1 2 3 ... 7 | Next
Find Deals Near You vehicles for sale matching Mercedes-Benz SL-Class near Honolulu. See local deals