Advertisement

Why ads?
Popular at KBB.com
  • 10 Best Luxury Cars Under $40,000
  • 2014 Small Luxury Sedan Buyer's Guide
  • Class of 2015: New Vehicles Ready to Roll
  • 10 Best Midsize SUVs
Go

1998 Mercedes-Benz SL-Class

Style:

Consumer Reviews & Ratings

Overall Rating
9.0
Out of 10

Based on 154 Ratings for the 1994 - 2002 models.

Review this car
more rating details
  • Value
    9.1/10
    Quality
    9.3/10
  • Reliability
    9.2/10
    Performance
    9.4/10
  • Comfort
    9.1/10
    Styling
    9.5/10
Sort Reviews by: 
Per Page:  5 | 10 | 25
Previous | 1 2 3 ... 16 | Next

A great vehicle.

By on Sunday, July 13, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 34,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Cons: "None"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"I purchased this vehicle 3 years ago with 24,000 miles at a great price. Handles great, smooth ride. Low maintenance. Stylish."

2 people out of 3 found this review helpful

I love my coupe

By on Wednesday, July 09, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 51,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
7/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "great driving experience"

Cons: "Maintenance can be pricey"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"I bought this 3 years ago, only had 45,000 miles when I got it."

1 person out of 2 found this review helpful

Fun to drive.

By on Tuesday, June 03, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 58,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Everything"

Cons: "Nothing"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"I have had many cars in my life, but never as fun to drive as this one. It handles like a dream, fast and responsive. With the top down and the wind in your hair, it's as good as it gets."

6 people out of 10 found this review helpful

Most expensive and fun to drive vehicle I've owned

By on Thursday, May 29, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 55,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Runs great, fun to drive, a reall feeling of power"

Cons: "Your friends will love you!"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

Puch it to the floor and feel all 12 ponies at your command-start screaming!

"Very clean Mercedes Benz SL600 with V-12 engine and sports package. Panoramic roof with manual hoist. Previous owner-Dorothy Fenwick, 907 Skyline Dr.,Van Buren, AR. Very clean triple black. New soft-top roof. May need some minor repairs, depending upon buyers wishes. Originally priced at $133,000. Roll bar up or down. Comes with all manuals and service records."

Puch it to the floor and feel all 12 ponies at your command-start screaming!

Was my dream car. Getting too old for it,need SUV.

By on Thursday, March 20, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 60,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
8/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
9/10

Pros: "Very cool looking convertible, very nice condition"

Cons: "Carries only two people, but lots of storage."

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 9

"Brand new tires, less than 1,000 on the tires. Removable hardtop with a stand for storage. Added trailer hitch for bike rack. Added iPod connection to radio."

6 people out of 10 found this review helpful

nice vehicle

By on Friday, March 14, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 161,000

10 8.0
overall rating 8 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
8/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
5/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
5/10
Styling
8/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "stealer price"

Cons: "cup holder is in the back with emergency kit"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"it would be good for a menchanic lover want to sell as is for 2,500 it do not run had just got it out of the shop about a year ago. and it's been sitting up. keap up very well."

1 person out of 2 found this review helpful

Great car, less then 25000 miles.

By on Monday, March 03, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 25,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
9/10

Pros: "great sports car with 12 cycliners hard to beat."

Cons: "It is a 1996 so not all the latest stuff"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 9

"Car is in perfect condition, no accidents. Has all the extras. Beautiful red color with high end chrome wheels. Interior is very clean, like new."

1 person out of 1 found this review helpful

Absolutely Awesome

By on Sunday, February 16, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 120,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Fast, fun, convertible, reliable"

Cons: "Bad Gas Mileage, heavy car at nearly 4k lbs."

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 9

"Awesome... A $100,000 car for $5,000? This thing is awesome and is a dream to drive and will turn heads. Great flashy car for a steal of a price."

3 people out of 3 found this review helpful

Great value on a roadster BUT!!!!!

By on Friday, January 10, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 75,000

10 8.0
overall rating 8 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
8/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
8/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "great value"

Cons: "check the engine wire harness and convert top cyl"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 8

94 SL500 top off

"I have been driving Mercedes for the past 30 years, i have owned several S-class mercedes. this is a great driving roadster. Mercedes did a few stupid things in the design of this car. There is a engine harness problem that can be corrected with an after market harness that was made to correct the problem with the 1993-1995 models. the vendor that made the original harness us a bio-degradable insulation on the wirers, so when they get a worn they will break down and cause your car to idle rough or turn off. if you are welling to purchase the harness from $250-$1,000.00 dollar depending on were you go, it is a great value for a used one. Remember this was a 100K car when it was new.One other thing i forgot to mention, the convertible to cylinders seals will leak when they get old, you will need to have the rebuilted watch cost more money if you have the dealer replace; it will cost $500.00 if you're handy with taking them off your self."

15 people out of 17 found this review helpful

94 SL500 top off

Great class car.

By on Saturday, December 14, 2013

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 55,125

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
8/10
Reliability
7/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Great driving, great looking that does everything"

Cons: "Some parts expensive at dealer."

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 8

"Superb driving car at any speed. The Silver Arrow Edition still a great looking car, interior and exterior. The technology of this car is not intrusive and very intuitive to use."

5 people out of 8 found this review helpful

Sort Reviews by: 
Per Page:  5 | 10 | 25
Previous | 1 2 3 ... 16 | Next
Find Deals Near You vehicles for sale matching Mercedes-Benz SL-Class near Honolulu. See local deals