Advertisement

Why ads?
Popular at KBB.com
  • New Car Buyer's Guides
  • The 40+ MPG Cars of 2015
  • 10 Best Sedans Under $25,000
  • 10 Most Fuel-Efficient SUVs
Go

1996 Mercedes-Benz SL-Class

Style:

Consumer Reviews & Ratings

Overall Rating
9.0
Out of 10

Based on 158 Ratings for the 1994 - 2002 models.

Review this car
more rating details
  • Value
    9.1/10
    Quality
    9.3/10
  • Reliability
    9.2/10
    Performance
    9.4/10
  • Comfort
    9.1/10
    Styling
    9.5/10
Sort Reviews by: 
Per Page:  5 | 10 | 25
Previous | 1 2 3 ... 16 | Next

Beautiful yet not perfect automobile

By on Saturday, April 11, 2015

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 55,000

10 7.0
overall rating 7 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
7/10
Value
6/10
Reliability
8/10
Quality
8/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
7/10

Pros: "excellent acceleration, functional soft & hard top"

Cons: "Alarm system was "improved" the next year."

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 8

"gorgeous styling, real head-turner. The "safety features" turn out to be more troublesome than protective. Once "set," the alarm system keeps even the driver at arms length. More than several times have I accidentally "set" the alarm, then been unable to start the engine...all the while the horn beeps and lights blink incessantly. Dual distributor caps, each directing 4 spark plugs. Enigmatically, water accumulates in the caps leading to mis-fires."

2 people out of 3 found this review helpful

Classy and fun.

By on Wednesday, March 18, 2015

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 52,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"A true luxury sports car."

1 person out of 3 found this review helpful

Classic, low miles, panorama & Rag top, runs great

By on Sunday, January 18, 2015

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 188,800

10 6.0
overall rating 6 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
6/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
8/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
7/10
Styling
4/10
Comfort
4/10

Pros: "Timeless Body style, ideal f/ collector/enthusias"

Cons: "needs small TLC, upholstery, rag top, paint tch u"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 5

"Classic body style, peppy V6, very good on gas, runs great. Low miles for 1997. Panorama glass to and rag top. Owned since 2006. Needs TLC to upholstery, rag top, and paint touch up."

3 people out of 8 found this review helpful

incredable car. i love it. runs like a champ.

By on Friday, September 19, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 14,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
8/10

Pros: "500 sl worth every dime"

Cons: "very expensive to fix con. top. little.things cost"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 9

"Ive been driving mercedes since 1989. First the 560 sl. Then the 500 sl. The power this carhas is unbelievable. It might be expensive to repair , however, they really dont break toooften. My car is 14 years old and gave me great performance. Needed breaks and tiresover the years and is now showing signs of ware. Con top plastic window a mess. Needs new air conditioner. I really dont want to give this car up. But how much $ do you put into a 14 year old car?"

12 people out of 26 found this review helpful

Excellent handling, leather interior, new top,hard

By on Monday, September 08, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 138,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
8/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
9/10

Pros: "Great mid to high speed handling solid road feel"

Cons: "Non critical electrical problems."

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"My car has a new radiator,new front suspension, new power steering box, new water to engine feed unit, new fuel injectors system, new parking break cables to all wheels, new high performance battery , new convertible top, like new hardtop, overall like new paint job,like new tires, excellent interior (leather and fabric ) auto memory seat, mirror adjustment, custom magnaflow exhaust system. Over-all Car condition great...Color white, gray trim; bumper's side"

8 people out of 13 found this review helpful

A great vehicle.

By on Sunday, July 13, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 34,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Cons: "None"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"I purchased this vehicle 3 years ago with 24,000 miles at a great price. Handles great, smooth ride. Low maintenance. Stylish."

6 people out of 11 found this review helpful

I love my coupe

By on Wednesday, July 09, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 51,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
7/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "great driving experience"

Cons: "Maintenance can be pricey"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"I bought this 3 years ago, only had 45,000 miles when I got it."

1 person out of 2 found this review helpful

Fun to drive.

By on Tuesday, June 03, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 58,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Everything"

Cons: "Nothing"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"I have had many cars in my life, but never as fun to drive as this one. It handles like a dream, fast and responsive. With the top down and the wind in your hair, it's as good as it gets."

8 people out of 13 found this review helpful

Was my dream car. Getting too old for it,need SUV.

By on Thursday, March 20, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 60,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
8/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
9/10

Pros: "Very cool looking convertible, very nice condition"

Cons: "Carries only two people, but lots of storage."

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 9

"Brand new tires, less than 1,000 on the tires. Removable hardtop with a stand for storage. Added trailer hitch for bike rack. Added iPod connection to radio."

7 people out of 12 found this review helpful

nice vehicle

By on Friday, March 14, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 161,000

10 8.0
overall rating 8 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
8/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
5/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
5/10
Styling
8/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "stealer price"

Cons: "cup holder is in the back with emergency kit"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"it would be good for a menchanic lover want to sell as is for 2,500 it do not run had just got it out of the shop about a year ago. and it's been sitting up. keap up very well."

1 person out of 2 found this review helpful

Sort Reviews by: 
Per Page:  5 | 10 | 25
Previous | 1 2 3 ... 16 | Next
Find Deals Near You vehicles for sale matching Mercedes-Benz SL-Class near Honolulu. See local deals