Advertisement

Why ads?
Popular at KBB.com
  • 10 Best Luxury Cars Under $40,000
  • 2014 Small Luxury Sedan Buyer's Guide
  • Class of 2015: New Vehicles Ready to Roll
  • 10 Best Midsize SUVs
Go

1994 Mercedes-Benz SL-Class

Style:

Consumer Reviews & Ratings

Overall Rating
9.0
Out of 10

Based on 154 Ratings for the 1994 - 2002 models.

Review this car
more rating details
  • Value
    9.1/10
    Quality
    9.3/10
  • Reliability
    9.2/10
    Performance
    9.4/10
  • Comfort
    9.1/10
    Styling
    9.5/10
Sort Reviews by: 
Per Page:  5 | 10 | 25
Previous | 1 2 3 ... 7 | Next

Classy, great driver!

By on Tuesday, November 22, 2011

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 78,000

10 8.0
overall rating 8 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
8/10
Value
8/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
8/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
8/10

Pros: "Handling, excellant value for $70k car when new!"

Cons: "Preimun gas Hi dealer prices-now parts avail net:)"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"Even the 6 cylinder SL320 there is plenty of power. If you are looking for something that has loud pipes to get attention, this is the wrong car for you. Quiet and smooth ride. A 4,000 pound car makes you fell like you are driving a large luxury car, but with great handling. You see these cars with 150,000 mile still on the road."

8 people out of 8 found this review helpful

What a ride!

By on Thursday, November 10, 2011

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 70,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Awesome power, extremely reliable and gorgeous~"

Cons: "none"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

1997 SL600

"I have the 1997 SL600 with the Panoramic roof, uses less fuel than our pickup (5.7). It moves about effortlessly with the V12. Superb passing power and a joy to drive. Secret is find someone who can service it that you trust. You will never have to use the dealer and life will be GOOD!"

1 person out of 1 found this review helpful

1997 SL600

CLASS AND STYLE!

By on Sunday, October 30, 2011

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 83,000

10 7.0
overall rating 7 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
7/10
Value
8/10
Reliability
8/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
8/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
5/10

Pros: "Fast-sporty-eye-catcher, convertible, trunk space"

Cons: "Low to the ground, hard seats"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

Driving with the wind in my hair!

"Pure elegance. The sleek look gives it grace. Powerful V8 runs smooth and the car seems to float."

1 person out of 1 found this review helpful

Driving with the wind in my hair!

1996 WAS A GREAT YEAR FOR A BENZ

By on Monday, October 24, 2011

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 195,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "A SHOW STOPPER"

Cons: "PREMIUM GAS ONLY"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"Best and most reliable car I've ever owned. Only negative is the dealers marked up charges on minor repairs."

2 people out of 3 found this review helpful

Love This Car

By on Thursday, October 20, 2011

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 101,000

10 8.0
overall rating 8 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
8/10
Value
8/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
8/10
Styling
8/10
Comfort
8/10

Pros: "This is the best car I have ever driven!"

Cons: "extra large doors"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"I have a 1999 SL500 with the AMG sport Package. This car is very reliable, stable on the road with a great feel and can really handle curvy roads. The instruments are laid out well, you can adjust things to your liking. Seriously...what a joy to drive. The only negative about the car is the large door, heavy and takes a lot space to open."

7 people out of 9 found this review helpful

I love this car, bought it from a dr.

By on Wednesday, October 19, 2011

I own this car

10 7.0
overall rating 7 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
7/10
Value
8/10
Reliability
8/10
Quality
8/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
8/10
Comfort
8/10

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"I'm the 2nd owner"

GOOD CAR

By on Sunday, October 09, 2011

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 132,000

10 4.0
overall rating 4 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
4/10
Value
5/10
Reliability
5/10
Quality
5/10
Performance
5/10
Styling
5/10
Comfort
5/10

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 8

"CAR HAS BEEN FINE BUT EXPENSIVE TO REPAIR"

great car low miles

By on Thursday, September 22, 2011

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 62,000

10 7.0
overall rating 7 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
7/10
Value
8/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
8/10
Performance
8/10
Styling
7/10
Comfort
8/10

Pros: "great car"

Cons: "slight tear in drivers seat, my need brakes soon"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"Front Drivers seat needs recover small split at seam"

1 person out of 2 found this review helpful

Sweet ride

By on Tuesday, August 16, 2011

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 65,000

10 8.0
overall rating 8 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
8/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
8/10
Performance
8/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
8/10

Pros: "Very fun to drive"

Cons: "No backseat"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"I love this car!"

great car fun but time to move on

By on Monday, August 15, 2011

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 44,000

10 7.0
overall rating 7 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
7/10
Value
8/10
Reliability
8/10
Quality
8/10
Performance
8/10
Styling
8/10
Comfort
8/10

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"every one knows the car,how clean i kept yhe car"

By on Saturday, May 07, 2011

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
9/10

This customer did not provide a text review.

1998 SL 500

By on Thursday, April 21, 2011

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

"The 98 was one of the best years of the R129 model. My car is now going on 13 years old, and has 71K miles on it. Starts every time, literally no other maintenance than an oil change. A big, safe, heavy, classy roadster, and a pleasure to drive. I have owned Mercedes for years because of the quality and reliability"

14 people out of 16 found this review helpful

By on Tuesday, April 19, 2011

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

This customer did not provide a text review.

very nice car

By on Sunday, April 17, 2011

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
9/10

"I've had my 94 for about 4 years. It is a great car. It's a shame what some have paid for simple repairs. The top hydraulics above windshield can be removed in 30 minutes with basic tools and sent out to be rebuilt and reinstalled total cost about 100 bucks, this is just one example. The MB forums are very useful for identifing and fixing common faults. My SL 500 now has about 150k on it and I plan on keeping it forever."

10 people out of 10 found this review helpful

By on Sunday, January 30, 2011

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

This customer did not provide a text review.

Reliable & Fun!

By on Thursday, December 30, 2010

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

"i bought this car 7 years ago and other than regular maint items it has been a charm. it's paid for now and i go years without repairs, just maint. take it easy on reverse because i am told that the car is actually too heavy for the transmission. i did replace that. but other than that it's great. i was turned on to two different performance mechanics that care for it with factory parts for very reasonable prices. no surprises except that they always come in under the estimate. this car is reliable and fun! Zoom, Zoom !"

4 people out of 4 found this review helpful

By on Friday, October 01, 2010

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
9/10

This customer did not provide a text review.

By on Thursday, September 30, 2010

10 7.0
overall rating 7 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
7/10
Value
8/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
8/10
Performance
8/10
Styling
8/10
Comfort
7/10

This customer did not provide a text review.

Great fun in droptop style

By on Wednesday, September 29, 2010

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

"The more you drive, the more you love. Not as sporty as some but a blast to drive as a pure touring car. Corners flat, runs fast, sounds great. A thrill everytime you touch the accelerator."

5 people out of 5 found this review helpful

Bad MF

By on Thursday, September 16, 2010

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

"Sick car with a ton of power!!!!"

Doesnt get sweeter than this

By on Sunday, September 12, 2010

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
9/10

"So, the 2-year lease is up on the redXan '08 New Beetle Convertible. Buy it for 16,400 + tax & DMV. Wait, I said, Lemme look around for something else. Howbout a cherry '94 SL320 with rechromed wheels and refurbished leather seats, 79K miles and tealXtan: 9000 incl tax and DMV = 7400-plus saved and I've got a car that wakes me up and says take me for a ride. BTW, the reason for my 4 of 5 in comfort is the extra inch I need to move the seat back: can't becuase the back of the seat goes verticle. Oh, yeah, no cup holders, so I have to hold the Starbux till it's finished. Life's tough, huh?"

1 person out of 2 found this review helpful

Nice Car for Money

By on Wednesday, August 25, 2010

10 7.0
overall rating 7 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
7/10
Value
8/10
Reliability
8/10
Quality
8/10
Performance
8/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
8/10

"140,000 new....used around 18K....great car to buy used."

Fine German Precision Sports car

By on Thursday, August 12, 2010

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

"The last of the German made sports cars before they turned a little wimpy. This tried and proven engine gives the car a real sporty feeling and feels more like an eight cylinder than a six. If you want it, it's got it. In copious quantities. This is the last link to the days of true sports cars. Sell yours and you will be deservedly sentenced to a staple diet of mediocrity and seller's remorse!"

4 people out of 4 found this review helpful

Super Fine Ride

By on Thursday, August 05, 2010

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
9/10

"They just don't make them like this any more! Very reliable, very very fast and very sleek looks!"

By on Sunday, August 01, 2010

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
9/10

This customer did not provide a text review.

Sort Reviews by: 
Per Page:  5 | 10 | 25
Previous | 1 2 3 ... 7 | Next
Find Deals Near You vehicles for sale matching Mercedes-Benz SL-Class near Honolulu. See local deals
See if you qualify for
up
to
Cash Back
on a new
Details