Advertisement

Why ads?
Popular at KBB.com
  • 10 Best Luxury Cars Under $40,000
  • Small Luxury Sedan Buyer's Guide
  • Class of 2015: New Vehicles Ready to Roll
  • 10 Best Midsize SUVs
Go

2005 Mercedes-Benz S-Class

Style:

Consumer Reviews & Ratings

Overall Rating
8.6
Out of 10

Based on 93 Ratings for the 2000 - 2006 models.

Review this car
more rating details
  • Value
    8.5/10
    Quality
    9.1/10
  • Reliability
    8.8/10
    Performance
    9.2/10
  • Comfort
    9.4/10
    Styling
    9.2/10
Sort Reviews by: 
Per Page:  5 | 10 | 25
Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next

BEST CAR I EVER OWNED

By on Monday, October 31, 2011

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 97,500

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
8/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"Depreation very high. Service can get expensive."

Lasts long, high maintenance, Comfy, fast

By on Sunday, October 30, 2011

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 85,000

10 7.0
overall rating 7 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
7/10
Value
5/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
8/10
Styling
8/10
Comfort
9/10

Pros: "Fun to drive, big, its a Benz, Beautiful, FAST"

Cons: "Vehicle repair warnings NEVER turn off"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"I love this car because ive had it for 11 years now, but it is cheaply built, very expensive to maintain, the drive feels heavy,it was overpriced(thats ok because all Mercedez Benzes are)Has bad resale value, ugly interior, and is completely BASIC and STANDARD. However, its Gorgeous from the outside, it has navigation, the drive is smooth, its HUGE on the inside, its fast with low end torque and high end horsepower so youll get to high speeds without even feeling it. I love this car but its too much of a hassle to keep."

3 people out of 4 found this review helpful

shes a looker

By on Wednesday, October 19, 2011

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 100,200

10 8.0
overall rating 8 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
8/10
Value
8/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
7/10
Styling
7/10
Comfort
9/10

Pros: "beautiful when done right and maintained"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"great car spacious reliable sedan. only problem is the cost of maintance.."

wonderful, safe car

By on Wednesday, October 19, 2011

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 50,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "safe comfortable"

Cons: "not 4 wheel drive"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"very comfortable on long trips"

5th S class I hv had

By on Tuesday, October 18, 2011

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 61,000

10 8.0
overall rating 8 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
8/10
Value
8/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
8/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
9/10

Pros: "Drive it, ride in or want the best benz here it is"

Cons: "only thing would be it is not a 2012 S Class"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

Nothing like an S Class always in style and a classic power, handling

"I have enjoyed this loaded S class the extra features such as ABC and upgraded leather and wood were just extra's on a beautiful car. I have always had a car with a warranty bought an extended warranty on this Benz. For peace of mind honestly I have not had any major things that I really needed the warranty. My suggestion would be make sure that the S Class you are looking at has had the ABC"

8 people out of 8 found this review helpful

Nothing like an S Class always in style and a classic power, handling

LOTS OF INTERIOR ROOM; SMOOTH RIDE; COMFORTABLE

By on Wednesday, October 05, 2011

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 98,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Safe built car."

Cons: "repair cost"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"The S500 has a very smooth ride. It drives like a dream and handles great! Looking from the outside of the car fools you about the interior room. The interior provides you with plenty of leg room in the front and back seats. Very comfortable, especially on trips. The only negative comment I have is the expense when something breaks. I had always taken my car back to the dealership but I have found a local repair shop that works only on Mercedes and that saves on cost."

8 people out of 9 found this review helpful

Best car I've owned but watch repair cost.

By on Friday, September 30, 2011

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 112,600

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Fit and finish, the seats are comfortable on long trips. Car still looks like showroom."

Cons: "Cost of dealer repairs. Naviagation system is a pain to use."

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"Bought this car 4 years ago with 50k on the clock....now have 112K. Great Ride, Quiet and quality. Dealer cost repair can be expensive. If you are have any mechanical skills you can save a small fortune. Only had 3 issues with this car. Catalytic Converter was warrantied by Mercedes for 8 years...failed after 8 year 2 months. Mercedes Dealer wanted $1200 to repair..Mercedes does not manufacture converters, took it to a muffler shop...replaced for $250. Dash Display was warrantied by Mercedes for 10 years....failed after 10 years 2 months. Dealer wanted $950 for the display and 128 Labor to fix, all replacement display units are re-manufactured. Located a re-manufacturer in Mass. Took less than 30 sec to remove display...shipped unit to them, it was returned in 3 days. Cost of repair $165 included free shipping. Took 15 seconds to reinstall. Electric cooling fan started making noise at 110K. Dealer wanted $1100 to $1200 to fix($750 to 900 for the part)...located a new fan assembly online for $349 including shipping...ordered and had it the next day. Three bolts to remove old unit. Total of 10 minutes.."

39 people out of 39 found this review helpful

excellent

By on Friday, September 30, 2011

I own this car

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"excellent"

Outstanding ride quality.

By on Wednesday, September 28, 2011

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 318,600

10 8.0
overall rating 8 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
8/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
8/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
9/10

Pros: "Outstanding ride quality, in and out design, ubeatable comfort, great power."

Cons: "Price, cost of maintenance, reliability."

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

Mercedes Benz S430, sport package.

"This car is every serious driver or demanding passenger dream. Can you imagine diplomatic missioner or head of the state in BMW, Audi, or Porsche? Sure you not. But you can clearly see those people in Mercedes Benz flagman S class. Would it be Pakistanian Prime Minister or Bolivian Dictator, German Cansler or Russian mobster - choice will be the same: Mercedes Benz S class. So if you in this category or close to it, that's the way to go. Otherwise, you have to be very creative to keep this car on the road. Quality ride requires quality maintenance and parts, which leads you to another huge expense besides your hefty car payment."

4 people out of 6 found this review helpful

Mercedes Benz S430, sport package.

Too Many Repairs

By on Thursday, September 22, 2011

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 170,000

10 2.0
overall rating 2 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
2/10
Value
3/10
Reliability
1/10
Quality
1/10
Performance
6/10
Styling
3/10
Comfort
7/10

Pros: "When working nice drive"

Cons: "Always broken!"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 1

"Too Many Repairs"

2 people out of 3 found this review helpful

my s430

By on Wednesday, September 21, 2011

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 230,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
8/10
Comfort
10/10

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"i have a s43 fully loaded car runs great very comfortable for travel it was a gift to me for graduating its my very first car took a few trips in it its a good car for being my first car the speed meteor just went out it got light dent on passenger side over all the car is in very good condition took care of it since it was my first car never had any any trouble always got very nice compliments its very sporty for a cruise a trip and a night out on the town i took trips in it and never felt smashed or uncomfortable has all the space so you will never feel uncomfortable"

4 people out of 9 found this review helpful

One Of The Best Cars I Have Owned

By on Sunday, September 04, 2011

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 354,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Great Road Car"

Cons: "Repairs Cost More than Than A Chevy"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"Bought This Car Used 5 Years Ago Just Normal Repairs Brakes Oil Changes I Do Change The Oil Like Every 3 To 4 Thousand Miles Bought The Car With 160,000 on it Have Over 300,000 Now Still Runs Great No problems Just A great Car I Get 20 To 22 In the City And 29 30 On The open Road You Get What you Pay For Just A Well Built Car That Lasts"

6 people out of 10 found this review helpful

SHOULD HAVE BOUGHT ONE SOONER

By on Friday, September 02, 2011

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 113,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "RIDES GREAT LOOKS GOOD VERY CONFORTABLE"

Cons: "GAS OF COURSE, BUT NOT THE BAD"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"GREAT LOOKING GET A LOT OF COMPLEMENTS, JUST RECENTLY PURCHASED, PUT ON HIGHWAY DRIVES LIKE A DREAM. PUT 20INCH TIRES AND RIMS ON IT THE RIDE IS SUPERB."

3 people out of 5 found this review helpful

Great car!

By on Monday, August 29, 2011

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 45,000

10 7.0
overall rating 7 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
7/10
Value
8/10
Reliability
8/10
Quality
8/10
Performance
8/10
Styling
7/10
Comfort
8/10

Pros: "great price"

Cons: "small cup holders / ac not the best compared to new cars"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"For the mileage when I purchased...great value!"

Love this car

By on Wednesday, August 17, 2011

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 146,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "good on gas to be a V8, smooth ride"

Cons: "navigation system is outdated"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"Even though this car is almost ten years old, it still looks good. It handles way better than you would think a used car with 146,000 miles should. I love how much leg room it has on the back seat. The trunk is roomy and it has been wonderful on long trips. This has been an excellen!!!!!!!!! car."

11 people out of 11 found this review helpful

Great value if purchased as a lease return

By on Wednesday, August 03, 2011

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 125,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Quiet, safe, fast. On multiple hour trips this car keeps you fresh"

Cons: "few. Parts are more costly than a run of the mill car - but they last longer."

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"I have had this car for car for 6 years and it has provided good value, first class comfort, amazing handling, plenty of power, and it keeps me safe. If I had to use the local Mercedes dealership to maintain the car, my rating would certainly be lower. The car is great when you have someone good maintaining it, or rather not screwing it up. The local Mercedes dealership garage would likely sabotage anything they get their hands on and then charge you an arm and a leg. They are clueless and suggest repairs that my trusted mechanic laughs about. My S430 runs like a top and has only had one flaw - something (a compressor?) in the emission system that only affects exhaust quality if it does not work. I have replaced a suspension pump, brake pads and rotors, spark plugs, battery, filters and tires - all ordinary stuff for a 9 year old car, a car that drives like it was new. These cars depreciate in their first few years, but if you buy a good used one, you get an amazing car for the same price as a cheap new car. My S430 has proved itself a value, even if it stopped working tomorrow. But I am sure, that with a honest and capable mechanic doing preventative maintenance, this car will drive like new for years to come."

20 people out of 21 found this review helpful

great car

By on Saturday, July 23, 2011

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 354,987

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "great car good on gas great road car"

Cons: "parts are high but you get what you pay for"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"bought this car with 130000 miles 4 years ago now have almost 400000 on it never any problems just normal ware just a great road car and i get on highway 29 mpg city 20 not bad for a big car use marvel oil at each oil change which i do at 3000 miles or 3 months also add marvel to gas car runs great would buy another one this one is so good dont want to give it up"

4 people out of 6 found this review helpful

too expensive to maintain

By on Tuesday, July 12, 2011

I owned and sold this car
Reason: costly repairs expensive parts

10 4.0
overall rating 4 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
4/10
Value
4/10
Reliability
5/10
Quality
5/10
Performance
4/10
Styling
8/10
Comfort
6/10

Pros: "Low price for a used one"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 4

"Here is my prob with this car... i brought one used with 130k on it. Everytime there was a prob I had to pay 200.00 just for the shop to look at it.. The parts were really expensive and if it wasn't for the junk yard i would've been in trouble. The values are so low on this car now anybody can buy one. It's a cool car just buy it with low miles. My friend has one too, and we both had problems with the air suspension,electrical problems, among other issues."

4 people out of 4 found this review helpful

Mercedes In Court? 2004 S430 gone bad

By on Saturday, July 02, 2011

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 54,000

10 7.0
overall rating 7 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
7/10
Value
7/10
Reliability
8/10
Quality
8/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
9/10

Pros: "Great if they're good"

Cons: "Dump it NOW if problems start. It won't get better, only expensive"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 9

"Let me preface this by saying I enjoy driving MB products. There are few equals to their luxury lineup. I try others, it's just not the same combo of luxury and ability to get it on. Street or track. Anyway.... I had a 2001 430S, Trans and drive train were great. Outstanding acceleration and response. Too bad it started rusting through... Got the 2004 430S. Four times vehicle would not move away from a stop light normally. Trans would go into limp mode, and not go over 10 mph. Each time, Dealer: "There aren't any codes, even if there were, doesn't mean anything is wrong" Huhh? Finally got sick and tired. Asked four very aggressive attorneys for the best lemon law guy. All recommended same guy. Called him. Told him it was a Benz. "Ohhh". He says something like... MB doesn't settle. This will go to court. Look, I can get you the value of the car, but here's the thing, if you ever spit on the side walk, MB will trot that out in court. Ever not smile at a neighbor's kid, they'll ask why. Ever smiled at a little girl? They'll probably have a suggestion for that too. OK then. MB did eventually find a meaningful error code for the trans... about a month after warranty expiration. Oh, and I forget the other problem with the 2004, where one day the engine started running rough. Dealer had car for two months. "We had to order a part ALL THE WAY FROM GERMANY..." Gee, I said, Toyota ordered a part for my Avalon from Japan on Tuesday. On Friday Toyota called and said car was ready with new part, and please accept apologies for the unacceptable long delay. Thank God it didn't have to come from GERMANY. So, why did I rate the car so high? When it's good, it's without peer."

1 person out of 1 found this review helpful

best car I've bought.

By on Saturday, June 25, 2011

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 169,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
10/10

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"Excellent car. road/highway. Minimal repairs,mostly computer chip"

Best Car

By on Thursday, June 16, 2011

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 452,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
8/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Just A Great Car"

Cons: "Parts Are High"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"Had This Car Since New Never Had Any Problems Still Rides Great Dont Burn Oil Just Normal Repairs Tires Brakes Oil Changes Drive Cross Country A lot Get 29 MPG Not Bad For A Big Car You Get What You Pay For"

s 430

By on Saturday, May 21, 2011

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

"Great car espically the 4-matic"

By on Saturday, April 09, 2011

10 5.0
overall rating 5 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
5/10
Value
5/10
Reliability
5/10
Quality
6/10
Performance
7/10
Styling
7/10
Comfort
7/10

This customer did not provide a text review.

By on Tuesday, March 08, 2011

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

This customer did not provide a text review.

By on Friday, March 04, 2011

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

This customer did not provide a text review.

Sort Reviews by: 
Per Page:  5 | 10 | 25
Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next
Find Deals Near You vehicles for sale matching Mercedes-Benz S-Class near Honolulu. See local deals