Advertisement

Why ads?
Go

2003 Mercedes-Benz S-Class

Style:

Consumer Reviews & Ratings

Overall Rating
8.6
Out of 10

Based on 99 Ratings for the 2000 - 2006 models.

Review this car
more rating details
  • Value
    8.4/10
    Quality
    9.1/10
  • Reliability
    8.8/10
    Performance
    9.2/10
  • Comfort
    9.4/10
    Styling
    9.2/10
Sort Reviews by: 
Per Page:  5 | 10 | 25
Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next

Mercedes always has and continues to set the bar

By on Sunday, March 01, 2015

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 114,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Superior drivetrain. Majaradjah comfort / class"

Cons: "Price"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"Purchased my '06 350S in 2013 with 94k miles. Wanted the 6 cylinder for mileage purposes. The engine is typical German - bulletproof and, if maintained according to factory specs, good for 500,000 miles. The S-class stands for Superior, Sumptuous, Safe, Swift. Designed for the autobahns of Deutschland, where cars are expected to be able to cruise comfortably and effortlessly at 120mph+ for hours, the S350 performs admirably. A soccer-dad's answer to the mini van."

6 people out of 8 found this review helpful

I've owned it 10 years and plan on keeping it.

By on Wednesday, January 04, 2012

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 62,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Smooth, Quiet, great mpg, classy ride"

Cons: "outdated analog systems, NAV expensive to update"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"Bought it new in 2002. Smoooth, quiet, solid machine. We have gotten up to 27.3 mpg on a trip, but average 26.2 loaded to the max at 70 mph. Other than the fact the original integrated phone was analog and they changed to digital a number of years back, it performs like new. The NAV system disc update cost is obscene so our maps are 5 years old. A new Garmin is much better than paying over $300 for updated discs. It still looks current and is a wonderful, classy ride."

3 people out of 4 found this review helpful

Lasts long, high maintenance, Comfy, fast

By on Sunday, October 30, 2011

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 85,000

10 7.0
overall rating 7 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
7/10
Value
5/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
8/10
Styling
8/10
Comfort
9/10

Pros: "Fun to drive, big, its a Benz, Beautiful, FAST"

Cons: "Vehicle repair warnings NEVER turn off"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"I love this car because ive had it for 11 years now, but it is cheaply built, very expensive to maintain, the drive feels heavy,it was overpriced(thats ok because all Mercedez Benzes are)Has bad resale value, ugly interior, and is completely BASIC and STANDARD. However, its Gorgeous from the outside, it has navigation, the drive is smooth, its HUGE on the inside, its fast with low end torque and high end horsepower so youll get to high speeds without even feeling it. I love this car but its too much of a hassle to keep."

3 people out of 4 found this review helpful

Too Many Repairs

By on Thursday, September 22, 2011

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 170,000

10 2.0
overall rating 2 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
2/10
Value
3/10
Reliability
1/10
Quality
1/10
Performance
6/10
Styling
3/10
Comfort
7/10

Pros: "When working nice drive"

Cons: "Always broken!"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 1

"Too Many Repairs"

3 people out of 4 found this review helpful

Will offer 1 year warranty

By on Thursday, May 01, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 44,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
5/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Very low mileage, never been in weather, spoiled"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

Clean as they come

"This car is a must see. Purchased new for 90K straight off the showroom floor. It has all the bells and whistles, nothing missing. It is in such great condition, I am offering a warranty at full price. One owner, must see to believe. AMG wheels"

12 people out of 17 found this review helpful

Clean as they come

430-s

By on Sunday, January 19, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 86,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
8/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "great to drive"

Cons: "be a big dog or stay on the porch"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"great car, selectable suspension, ride like a pillow or sport it out. 3 settings, all power everything great technology, space galore, like a limo"

5 people out of 7 found this review helpful

Great Car

By on Wednesday, February 22, 2012

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 91,000

10 7.0
overall rating 7 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
7/10
Value
7/10
Reliability
8/10
Quality
8/10
Performance
8/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
9/10

Pros: "Good value"

Cons: "High cost of maintenance"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

In a road Rally

"S430 4Matic is a great package. A pleasure to drive, Great long distance car, comfortable seats. Lots of room. Good bluetooth. No AUX audio input"

4 people out of 6 found this review helpful

In a road Rally

Outstanding ride quality.

By on Wednesday, September 28, 2011

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 318,600

10 8.0
overall rating 8 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
8/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
8/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
9/10

Pros: "Outstanding ride quality, in and out design, ubeatable comfort, great power."

Cons: "Price, cost of maintenance, reliability."

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

Mercedes Benz S430, sport package.

"This car is every serious driver or demanding passenger dream. Can you imagine diplomatic missioner or head of the state in BMW, Audi, or Porsche? Sure you not. But you can clearly see those people in Mercedes Benz flagman S class. Would it be Pakistanian Prime Minister or Bolivian Dictator, German Cansler or Russian mobster - choice will be the same: Mercedes Benz S class. So if you in this category or close to it, that's the way to go. Otherwise, you have to be very creative to keep this car on the road. Quality ride requires quality maintenance and parts, which leads you to another huge expense besides your hefty car payment."

4 people out of 6 found this review helpful

Mercedes Benz S430, sport package.

great car

By on Saturday, July 23, 2011

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 354,987

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "great car good on gas great road car"

Cons: "parts are high but you get what you pay for"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"bought this car with 130000 miles 4 years ago now have almost 400000 on it never any problems just normal ware just a great road car and i get on highway 29 mpg city 20 not bad for a big car use marvel oil at each oil change which i do at 3000 miles or 3 months also add marvel to gas car runs great would buy another one this one is so good dont want to give it up"

4 people out of 6 found this review helpful

Super Riding Experience in Comfort, Uncomparable!!

By on Thursday, May 15, 2014

I owned and sold this car
Reason: Wanted the new technology offered today.

10 8.0
overall rating 8 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
8/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
7/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Comfort, Style, gas mileage"

Cons: "Repair cost w/out warrant"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 9

"Such an awesome riding experience, probably the most comfortable riding automobile I have had the pleasure of operating. Without a warrant, you will be dishing out big bills for repairs so I recommend an extended warrant contract if you can get one. This vehicle also goes through tires relatively fast when used on the highway (which is why I purchased it). If I had the lastest technology in this vehicle I would still own it but new gadgets got the better of me and I traded it."

13 people out of 20 found this review helpful

The best car I drove

By on Tuesday, October 14, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 109,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"S-class, especially the S55, is the perfect combination between comfort and sportivity. I can transform this palace into a race car with two buttons. At this price, with all the safety equipments included, the high level of equipment, I am glad to find my beloved every morning in the garage! My wife also loves the safety feeling and those gigantic cooled seats..."

13 people out of 21 found this review helpful

ONWED 2 OF THE SAME, BOTH ARE IN VERY GOOD CONDIT

By on Friday, August 08, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 86,500

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"GREAT CAR--- HAS BEEN VERY REIABLE AND WE KEPT IT INGOOD CONDITION. SERVICED AT MB DEALER. ONE OF THE 2 IS GONE."

6 people out of 10 found this review helpful

One Of The Best Cars I Have Owned

By on Sunday, September 04, 2011

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 354,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Great Road Car"

Cons: "Repairs Cost More than Than A Chevy"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"Bought This Car Used 5 Years Ago Just Normal Repairs Brakes Oil Changes I Do Change The Oil Like Every 3 To 4 Thousand Miles Bought The Car With 160,000 on it Have Over 300,000 Now Still Runs Great No problems Just A great Car I Get 20 To 22 In the City And 29 30 On The open Road You Get What you Pay For Just A Well Built Car That Lasts"

6 people out of 10 found this review helpful

beat car ever like a space ship with lots of room

By on Wednesday, March 14, 2012

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 97,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "25mpg cost less to repair than a caddy"

Cons: "they dont hold there vaule"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"everyone should own one"

3 people out of 5 found this review helpful

SHOULD HAVE BOUGHT ONE SOONER

By on Friday, September 02, 2011

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 113,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "RIDES GREAT LOOKS GOOD VERY CONFORTABLE"

Cons: "GAS OF COURSE, BUT NOT THE BAD"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"GREAT LOOKING GET A LOT OF COMPLEMENTS, JUST RECENTLY PURCHASED, PUT ON HIGHWAY DRIVES LIKE A DREAM. PUT 20INCH TIRES AND RIMS ON IT THE RIDE IS SUPERB."

3 people out of 5 found this review helpful

JUST LIKE NEW

By on Thursday, June 25, 2015

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 50,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"Car has never been in snow and was stored every winter in my garage. Looks like the day I drove it out of the dealership in 2000."

6 people out of 11 found this review helpful

Great comfort, ride, power for a large sedan.

By on Monday, January 12, 2015

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 104,000

10 7.0
overall rating 7 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
7/10
Value
7/10
Reliability
7/10
Quality
8/10
Performance
8/10
Styling
8/10
Comfort
9/10

Pros: "Power, style , comfort, amenities."

Cons: "Maintenance and repair cost, upgrade navigation."

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 5

"Mercedes S-Class is a great vehicle to own and drive. The S600 has all the gadgets you would ever need or want in a luxury sedan. Comfortable ride, comfortable interior, heated multi function steering wheel, heated and cooled front/rear leather seats, power reclining rear seats, side and rear privacy shades, 18" AMG wheels, dual exhaust, power trunk open and close. Bottom line: luxury and power."

12 people out of 23 found this review helpful

An absolutely fantastic automobile.

By on Wednesday, April 08, 2015

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 57,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
Not Rated
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "All around wonderful driving experience!"

Cons: "None"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"I'm fortunate enough to be able to buy a newer (2011) model for my wife who needs a back up camera and the additional safety items such as collision avoidance systems etc. that are not on her current car. I always buy MB 3-4 yrs. old, AMG. The performance is fantastic and the handling, comfort, reliability top notch. I purchase with MB warranty followed with aftermarket warranty. Parts and MX are as you would expect - expensive - but worth it."

4 people out of 8 found this review helpful

There are too many electrical problems.

By on Wednesday, November 30, 2011

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 130,000

10 3.0
overall rating 3 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
3/10
Value
5/10
Reliability
4/10
Quality
4/10
Performance
5/10
Styling
5/10
Comfort
4/10

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 6

"Absolutely do not buy in the future."

3 people out of 6 found this review helpful

very good value

By on Tuesday, November 23, 2010

10 7.0
overall rating 7 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
7/10
Value
8/10
Reliability
8/10
Quality
8/10
Performance
8/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
9/10

"the car is a great machine. worth to buy used clean one for 10-15 grand and it looks like a 100,000 grand, drives and performs great with good power"

3 people out of 6 found this review helpful

love the car, very expense to fix if breaks down.

By on Saturday, November 10, 2012

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 150,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "i look good in my s430 beige seat beautiful"

Cons: "should give coupons for mercedes merchandise"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"i would buy another mercedes any day, love these cars"

1 person out of 2 found this review helpful

Powerfull, But not the quality of an old Benz

By on Thursday, December 22, 2011

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 66,900

10 7.0
overall rating 7 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
7/10
Value
8/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
7/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
7/10
Comfort
8/10

Pros: "0-60 in 4.6s"

Cons: "Not the best quality"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"Its surprisingly fast for such a heavy vehicle and the exhaust note is awesome, drivetrain qaulity is excellent, interior quality is lacking though, some cheap plastic here and there and there are a few rattles, the ride is rather rough for a benz due to the performance handling from AMG, but it does handle well for a car this size. For the money I paid for it I think its not a bad deal but if I had paid it's original price when it was new I would be disapointed with the quality for that much money. The styling of the car isn't really my taste, the exterior is OK but the intereior is not what I like at all, its to curvey, I prefer straight lines."

1 person out of 2 found this review helpful

Very solid car-dash design fair

By on Saturday, January 22, 2011

10 8.0
overall rating 8 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
8/10
Value
8/10
Reliability
8/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
8/10

"Very poor in snow. Too light in rear. Dash confiuration and appeal just fair. Other wise very good car."

1 person out of 2 found this review helpful

By on Wednesday, December 01, 2010

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

This customer did not provide a text review.

1 person out of 2 found this review helpful

Most comfortable car ever

By on Sunday, July 27, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 137,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
8/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"Most comfortable car ever. Has suffered too many mechanical breakdowns, compared to what you would expect from a Mercedes with this mileage. Nevertheless, it is so comfortable that it is worth the hassle"

10 people out of 21 found this review helpful

Sort Reviews by: 
Per Page:  5 | 10 | 25
Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next
Find Deals Near You vehicles for sale matching Mercedes-Benz S-Class near Honolulu. See local deals