Advertisement

Why ads?
Popular at KBB.com
  • 10 Best Luxury Cars Under $40,000
  • Small Luxury Sedan Buyer's Guide
  • Class of 2015: New Vehicles Ready to Roll
  • 10 Best Midsize SUVs
Go

2003 Mercedes-Benz S-Class

Style:

Consumer Reviews & Ratings

Overall Rating
8.6
Out of 10

Based on 93 Ratings for the 2000 - 2006 models.

Review this car
more rating details
  • Value
    8.5/10
    Quality
    9.1/10
  • Reliability
    8.8/10
    Performance
    9.2/10
  • Comfort
    9.4/10
    Styling
    9.2/10
Sort Reviews by: 
Per Page:  5 | 10 | 25
Previous | 1 2 3 ... 10 | Next

Fully loaded S430. Over $71,000 new. Runs strong,

By on Sunday, December 16, 2012

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 101,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "20 mpg in town and 26-27 on highway"

Cons: "drivers seat starting to show wear."

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"Fully loaded S430. Over $71,000 new. Runs strong, new tires, battery and always serviced on time and immaculate. Very plush Mercedes ride"

9 people out of 10 found this review helpful

love the car, very expense to fix if breaks down.

By on Saturday, November 10, 2012

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 150,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "i look good in my s430 beige seat beautiful"

Cons: "should give coupons for mercedes merchandise"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"i would buy another mercedes any day, love these cars"

1 person out of 2 found this review helpful

GREAT HANDLING, SMOOTH RIDE, LOTS OF LEG ROOM

By on Friday, August 24, 2012

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 100,000

10 1.0
overall rating 1 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
1/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "HEAVY CAR, FEEL SAFE"

Cons: "REPAIRS EXPENSIVE, USES PREMIUM GAS"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 8

"REPAIRS CAN BE EXPENSIVE"

7 people out of 9 found this review helpful

So it could have been cuter.

By on Wednesday, May 16, 2012

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 105,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
8/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
7/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "great price, fun to drive, prestigous in nature"

Cons: "thirsty for high-dollar fuel, not a head-turner"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"What a fun car to drive in this size class! It's roomy enough for all the folks you really want in the car and nimble enough to be treated like a sports car with all five of them in there."

16 people out of 17 found this review helpful

Fantastic car, and a real joy to drive

By on Thursday, April 05, 2012

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 55,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
6/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Speed, comfort, amenities"

Cons: "Price, costly repairs"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"One word sums up this car, AMAZING. Only problem with it is the price new. Wait a few years and pick up a used one to truly enjoy this one of a kind car. Elegance, style, quality and size, this one has it all. On a side note, its quicker than a vette to boot. Make sure to have a warranty, as repairs can be VERY costly."

16 people out of 17 found this review helpful

best of best

By on Tuesday, April 03, 2012

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 55,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Luxury, driving safe audio system"

Cons: "navigation should be more user friendly."

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"This is exactly what a man expect from a car. It gives both luxury and secure drive experience. I strongly suggest this car for the one who wants to feel life :)"

5 people out of 6 found this review helpful

Comfort, class, and performance

By on Sunday, April 01, 2012

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 87,750

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
4/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Comfort and performance"

Cons: "Cost of maintenance"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 9

"Got this car used 2 years ago and it's handling, comfort and responsiveness are unmatched. I am in the process of shopping for a new vehicle and am unable to find one that compares - the sole reason I'm looking is due to the only downfall of this vehicle, which is the cost of maintenance. All in all, it is the best vehicle that I have ever owned."

11 people out of 11 found this review helpful

very expensive for maintenance

By on Saturday, March 31, 2012

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 119,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
8/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "handling style comfort durability"

Cons: "overall high cost to maintain"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 9

"Have had the S55 for 10 years---terrific car fast great handling only real downside is that it's a very high maintenance car--parts are really high/limited production and due to the complex engineering--labor is also high---I have followed the MBZ guide and for normal maintenance plus things that just break I have averaged about $4500 a year in expenses----my brother has one and he has averaged about $5700 a year so have your budget set for repairs--for example the front ABS shock went bad last month $2800 to repair versus probably $450 for a Camry--if you can't set that aside you will be very soory/and shouldn't buy a S55"

18 people out of 19 found this review helpful

Best Car I Have Ever Owned

By on Friday, March 30, 2012

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 98,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Great looking, fun to drive, built like a tank."

Cons: "Gas mileage and need a good radar detector"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"I purchase this car used with 50K miles. Now have 98k. I have to say this car has been impressive in every respect except fuel mileage. It is powerful and quick and handles remarkably well for a car this size. With the ABC sport mode active it is virtually impossible for the car to lose grip on tight corners at high speeds. The luxuries and amenities are incredible. Seating is super comfortable and back seat leg room is like a limo. There are so many luxuries incorporated into this car that it take two volumes of instructions just to cover them all. This car is super quiet and a blast to drive on long trips. This car was built for the autobahn and was made to go fast and be safe. Its a blast to drive! The only down side is the gas mileage but what do you expect in a car of this size and power? Also, this car was built to last. Repairs have been modest although one has to find a good independent Mercedes mechanic otherwise the dealerships will crucify you. Never-the-less this is one great car which will likely become a classic. I would highly recommend this car."

9 people out of 9 found this review helpful

beat car ever like a space ship with lots of room

By on Wednesday, March 14, 2012

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 97,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "25mpg cost less to repair than a caddy"

Cons: "they dont hold there vaule"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"everyone should own one"

3 people out of 5 found this review helpful

Sort Reviews by: 
Per Page:  5 | 10 | 25
Previous | 1 2 3 ... 10 | Next
Find Deals Near You vehicles for sale matching Mercedes-Benz S-Class near Honolulu. See local deals