Advertisement

Why ads?
Popular at KBB.com
  • 10 Best Luxury Cars Under $40,000
  • 2014 Small Luxury Sedan Buyer's Guide
  • Class of 2015: New Vehicles Ready to Roll
  • 10 Best Midsize SUVs
Go

2003 Mercedes-Benz S-Class

Style:

Consumer Reviews & Ratings

Overall Rating
8.6
Out of 10

Based on 91 Ratings for the 2000 - 2006 models.

Review this car
more rating details
  • Value
    8.5/10
    Quality
    9.0/10
  • Reliability
    8.8/10
    Performance
    9.2/10
  • Comfort
    9.4/10
    Styling
    9.2/10
Sort Reviews by: 
Per Page:  5 | 10 | 25
Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next

very expensive for maintenance

By on Saturday, March 31, 2012

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 119,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
8/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "handling style comfort durability"

Cons: "overall high cost to maintain"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 9

"Have had the S55 for 10 years---terrific car fast great handling only real downside is that it's a very high maintenance car--parts are really high/limited production and due to the complex engineering--labor is also high---I have followed the MBZ guide and for normal maintenance plus things that just break I have averaged about $4500 a year in expenses----my brother has one and he has averaged about $5700 a year so have your budget set for repairs--for example the front ABS shock went bad last month $2800 to repair versus probably $450 for a Camry--if you can't set that aside you will be very soory/and shouldn't buy a S55"

16 people out of 17 found this review helpful

Best Car I Have Ever Owned

By on Friday, March 30, 2012

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 98,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Great looking, fun to drive, built like a tank."

Cons: "Gas mileage and need a good radar detector"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"I purchase this car used with 50K miles. Now have 98k. I have to say this car has been impressive in every respect except fuel mileage. It is powerful and quick and handles remarkably well for a car this size. With the ABC sport mode active it is virtually impossible for the car to lose grip on tight corners at high speeds. The luxuries and amenities are incredible. Seating is super comfortable and back seat leg room is like a limo. There are so many luxuries incorporated into this car that it take two volumes of instructions just to cover them all. This car is super quiet and a blast to drive on long trips. This car was built for the autobahn and was made to go fast and be safe. Its a blast to drive! The only down side is the gas mileage but what do you expect in a car of this size and power? Also, this car was built to last. Repairs have been modest although one has to find a good independent Mercedes mechanic otherwise the dealerships will crucify you. Never-the-less this is one great car which will likely become a classic. I would highly recommend this car."

9 people out of 9 found this review helpful

beat car ever like a space ship with lots of room

By on Wednesday, March 14, 2012

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 97,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "25mpg cost less to repair than a caddy"

Cons: "they dont hold there vaule"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"everyone should own one"

3 people out of 5 found this review helpful

Great Car

By on Wednesday, February 22, 2012

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 91,000

10 7.0
overall rating 7 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
7/10
Value
7/10
Reliability
8/10
Quality
8/10
Performance
8/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
9/10

Pros: "Good value"

Cons: "High cost of maintenance"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

In a road Rally

"S430 4Matic is a great package. A pleasure to drive, Great long distance car, comfortable seats. Lots of room. Good bluetooth. No AUX audio input"

3 people out of 4 found this review helpful

In a road Rally

Love this car!

By on Sunday, February 19, 2012

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 120,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Quality, drive, comfortable, reliable, beautiful"

Cons: "None"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"Quality in all aspects, very comfortable - Lots of leg room in front and back, superb drive with total control and braking, we love everything about this car. We have maintained (oil, check-ups, etc) according to MB's recommendations and expect this car to go for 300K miles or more. Another good point for these cars is that MB does not alter the style dramatically year to year so even after several years, they are not "dated"."

4 people out of 4 found this review helpful

Love this car

By on Wednesday, February 15, 2012

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 84,000

10 8.0
overall rating 8 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
8/10
Value
8/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
9/10

Pros: "Safe"

Cons: "Clear coat on roof is bubbling"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"Great car. Interior like new. Great family car--Spacious interior"

I've loved this car!

By on Friday, February 10, 2012

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 112,000

10 8.0
overall rating 8 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
8/10
Value
8/10
Reliability
8/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
8/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
9/10

Pros: "Nice, solid, heavy car. Drives smooth and quiet"

Cons: "Maintenance Cost!"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"Nice, solid car with plenty of room. Has been a delight to own except for when needing maintenace. Every time you take it in it's about $2000 in repairs. If you can get past that, it drives beautifully!"

1 person out of 1 found this review helpful

The high mark in German engineering

By on Thursday, February 09, 2012

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 75,500

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Ride, handling, low key looks, quickness"

Cons: "Weak cup holder, gas mileage, 2 tire choices"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"I bought a 2004 AMG 55 8 months ago with 64,000 miles. To be honest, I was expecting something expensive to pop up shortly after purchase, because this is what happened when I bought a used BMW 740il, as well as when I purchased a used 911 cabriolet. I expect to spend about $2000.00 to $2500.00 when I purchase a used German vehicle. It's just the nature of beast in my eyes. But after 8 months and 11,000 miles, I haven't spent a nickel on this car yet beyond gas. I drove it from TX to Phoenix and back 2 days after I bought it. I always knew I would eventually get an 04 to an 06, because the 07 looks horrible to me and I am throughly pleased with this car. I am due for it's Service B soon and it will need new ball joints, but the way I drive it, yeah, I'm not surprised. I don't see me ever getting rid of it minus it getting totalled in an accident. I can never go back to a BMW now and I used to be a die hard Bimmer lover. I am a MB man now."

3 people out of 3 found this review helpful

This car is terribly unreliable.

By on Tuesday, January 10, 2012

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 95,000

10 2.0
overall rating 2 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
2/10
Value
1/10
Reliability
1/10
Quality
1/10
Performance
6/10
Styling
6/10
Comfort
6/10

Pros: "NIce, comfortable, roomy and elegant car."

Cons: "Diverse electrical problems requiring specialists."

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 1

"Way too many electrical and mechanical problems. My warranty expired and I am paying more for repairs than banknote. Everything is electronic thus requiring specialists who spend time troubleshooting and repairing rather than maintaining my car. At only 95k mi I have spent well over $14,000 in repairs alone, needless to say routine maintenance as well."

3 people out of 3 found this review helpful

Rock Solid

By on Friday, January 06, 2012

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 40,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Comfort, acceleration and overall ride."

Cons: "Cost of repairs."

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"Best car I've owned and/or driven. Bought it used in 2011. Aside from an electrical issue w/ the battery, and automatic trunk, this car has been perfect. Acceleration, ride and comfort are best in class. Need to pass on the highway, 60mph to 80 with no hesitation or downshift. Smooth. Tons of interior room (i'm 6'4"), even w/ 3 kids in rear. 4-matic performs fine in snow, even w/ performance tires."

3 people out of 3 found this review helpful

I've owned it 10 years and plan on keeping it.

By on Wednesday, January 04, 2012

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 62,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Smooth, Quiet, great mpg, classy ride"

Cons: "outdated analog systems, NAV expensive to update"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"Bought it new in 2002. Smoooth, quiet, solid machine. We have gotten up to 27.3 mpg on a trip, but average 26.2 loaded to the max at 70 mph. Other than the fact the original integrated phone was analog and they changed to digital a number of years back, it performs like new. The NAV system disc update cost is obscene so our maps are 5 years old. A new Garmin is much better than paying over $300 for updated discs. It still looks current and is a wonderful, classy ride."

3 people out of 4 found this review helpful

ONE OF THE BEST VEHICLES I OWNED

By on Tuesday, January 03, 2012

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 350,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "GREAT CAR"

Cons: "REPAIRS ARE HIGH BUT DONE RIGHT AT MERCEDES DEALER"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"I GET 21 MPG IN THE CITY AND 28 TO 31 ON THE OPEN ROAD I CANT SAY ENOUGHT GOOD THINGS ABOUT THIS CAR YOU TAKE CARE OF IT AND IT TAKES CARE OF YOU I CHANGE THE OIL EVERY 3000 MILES EVEN THO THEY TELL ME I DONT HAVE TO KEEP UP ON EVERY THING AND MY CAR RUNS LIKE NEW ITS WORTH EVERY PENNY I PAYED AND THEN SOME I GOT IT ALL BACK AS ITS GOING ON 13 YEARS YOUNG AND STILL LOOKS NEW"

4 people out of 4 found this review helpful

Love this car

By on Monday, January 02, 2012

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 58,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Lays rubber for 50 feet"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"I have owned the car since 2008. It is the coolest, best looking car I have ever driven and since I have owned it have not had one thing go wrong with it. If Mercedes had not changed the body style I would have already traded it for a newer model."

Best Car I've ever drove

By on Sunday, January 01, 2012

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 112,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"You feel like a king driving this car"

1 person out of 1 found this review helpful

Outstanding raod car.

By on Sunday, December 25, 2011

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 76,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Outstanding integration of Mercedes engineering."

Cons: "none, I knew what I wanted in a car."

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

2005 S430 V

"I have owned this for many years and this 2005 S430 has proven to be an outstanding road car. Travel from the the West Coast to the East Coast I adveraged 27 mpg mixed driving. I save the numbers and ran the math after 3,700 mile trips of mixed driving and the average was always 27 MPG. This car runs like the 280 SE I had. Point it down the road and all of the engineering comes into play. The integration of the engineering is outstanding. I found a 2006 S430 4matic and shipped it to my brother in South Carolina. He told me that he would not purchase another car unless it was a Mercedes S Class. I like preventive maintenance so at 50,000 miles I replace the brakes on both axles, replaced the transmission fulid, the differential oil, the radiator fluid, new fuel filter, new transmission fliter, rocker panels that run under the doors, new battery, the best Michelin tires I can place on this car (including spare) and the B Service. I always ask for an oil sample and send it to the Blackstone Labs for oil analysis. The oil reports have always come back as perfect. My main area of driving is in the high altitude deserts of Utah, Arizona, Colorado, and New Mexico. I have my car detailed twice a year at the Mercedes. I use to commute to work at an average of 180 miles per day. This car has not diappointed me. I expected the best in engineering and the integration of that engineering and this car continues to provide that satisfaction."

6 people out of 6 found this review helpful

2005 S430 V

Powerfull, But not the quality of an old Benz

By on Thursday, December 22, 2011

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 66,900

10 7.0
overall rating 7 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
7/10
Value
8/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
7/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
7/10
Comfort
8/10

Pros: "0-60 in 4.6s"

Cons: "Not the best quality"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"Its surprisingly fast for such a heavy vehicle and the exhaust note is awesome, drivetrain qaulity is excellent, interior quality is lacking though, some cheap plastic here and there and there are a few rattles, the ride is rather rough for a benz due to the performance handling from AMG, but it does handle well for a car this size. For the money I paid for it I think its not a bad deal but if I had paid it's original price when it was new I would be disapointed with the quality for that much money. The styling of the car isn't really my taste, the exterior is OK but the intereior is not what I like at all, its to curvey, I prefer straight lines."

1 person out of 2 found this review helpful

My best Car ever

By on Saturday, December 10, 2011

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 199,950

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Great ride, beautiful body, low maintenance."

Cons: "Body rusting"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"Beautiful, dependable, drives smoothly,relatively low maintenance"

outstanding vehicle People think it is still new

By on Saturday, December 10, 2011

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 113,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"outstanding"

1 person out of 1 found this review helpful

great vehicle

By on Friday, December 02, 2011

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 116,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "great price, have really enjoyed driving this car"

Cons: "no cupholder"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"Great vehicle. No mechanical issues. Just painted a month ago."

There are too many electrical problems.

By on Wednesday, November 30, 2011

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 130,000

10 3.0
overall rating 3 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
3/10
Value
5/10
Reliability
4/10
Quality
4/10
Performance
5/10
Styling
5/10
Comfort
4/10

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 6

"Absolutely do not buy in the future."

2 people out of 5 found this review helpful

Love it

By on Monday, November 21, 2011

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 86,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Everything"

Cons: "nothing"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"I have owned two 7 series BMW's in the past and this is my second S430 and this time I got one with the DVD and the 4matic drive train. Having lived in cold weather climates, the 4matic is perfect! And the DVD allows for additional entertainment. Don't let mileage scare you away from one of these...because you really don't start to break it in until you reach 100,000 miles!"

12 people out of 13 found this review helpful

GORGEOUS CAR, AND STILL FUN TO DRIVE AND LOOK AT!

By on Sunday, November 13, 2011

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 53,400

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Superior handling and ride, just a great!"

Cons: "Resale value"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"I purchased my White with tan interior S430 with the Sports option, premium wheels, with Parktronic, keyless entry, heated"

10 people out of 12 found this review helpful

S55 AMG, Inspires confidence when driving.

By on Saturday, November 05, 2011

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 59,000

10 7.0
overall rating 7 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
7/10
Value
8/10
Reliability
7/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
9/10

Pros: "Comfort, Power, Handling"

Cons: "Cost of ownership, reliability"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"Well built car with amazing comfort. I love driving this car but it is expensive to service. Brakes and tires, -kaa'ching. As with all Mercs, use only super unleaded fuel. Nearly 500 HP is intoxicating, did I mention the brakes and tires. This car is an engineering marvel."

4 people out of 10 found this review helpful

BEST CAR I EVER OWNED

By on Monday, October 31, 2011

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 97,500

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
8/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"Depreation very high. Service can get expensive."

Lasts long, high maintenance, Comfy, fast

By on Sunday, October 30, 2011

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 85,000

10 7.0
overall rating 7 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
7/10
Value
5/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
8/10
Styling
8/10
Comfort
9/10

Pros: "Fun to drive, big, its a Benz, Beautiful, FAST"

Cons: "Vehicle repair warnings NEVER turn off"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"I love this car because ive had it for 11 years now, but it is cheaply built, very expensive to maintain, the drive feels heavy,it was overpriced(thats ok because all Mercedez Benzes are)Has bad resale value, ugly interior, and is completely BASIC and STANDARD. However, its Gorgeous from the outside, it has navigation, the drive is smooth, its HUGE on the inside, its fast with low end torque and high end horsepower so youll get to high speeds without even feeling it. I love this car but its too much of a hassle to keep."

3 people out of 4 found this review helpful

Sort Reviews by: 
Per Page:  5 | 10 | 25
Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next
Find Deals Near You vehicles for sale matching Mercedes-Benz S-Class near Honolulu. See local deals
See if you qualify for
up
to
Cash Back
on a new
Details