Go

2002 Mercedes-Benz S-Class

Style:

Consumer Reviews & Ratings

Overall Rating
8.7
Out of 10

Based on 103 Ratings for the 2000 - 2006 models.

Review this car
more rating details
  • Value
    8.5/10
    Quality
    9.1/10
  • Reliability
    8.8/10
    Performance
    9.3/10
  • Comfort
    9.5/10
    Styling
    9.2/10
Sort Reviews by: 
Per Page:  5 | 10 | 25
Previous | 1 2 3 ... 5 | Next

Best Car I Have Owned To Date!

By on Saturday, April 9, 2016

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 114,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Can be purchased at present for $10K - $15K."

Cons: "Repairs (if you ever need any) can be a bit pricey"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"I just sold my 2006 S500 and purchased a much newer S63 AMG Mercedes. After driving the new S63 for about a week, I already miss my 2006 S-Class. Not that there is anything wrong with or disappointing about my new ride, but clearly, my 2006 S-Class was more of a "driver's car" than the new S-63 is. I am a former professional race car driver, (formula cars), and my 2006 S-500 gave me far better feel of the road than the newer car does. Yes, the S-63 is way quieter, smoother riding and has better overall fit and finish, but it lacks the connection with the road that my 2006 S-Class, (with AMG Sport Package), seemed to have. My 2006 S-Class was the best all around road car that I had ever owned and I now truly miss the wonderful "feel" of the road that it had, as opposed to the greatly dampened and subdued ride of the newer S-63. If you are considering the purchase of a used Mercedes S-Class, please consider a 2003 thru 2006 S-Class, (an S-55 if possible), as they presently are an absolute GREAT VALUE for the prices that they are going for presently. I would gladly spend $10,000.00 to $15,000.00 for a used 2003 thru 2006 S-Class, as opposed to paying at least twice that for a new mid-sized sedan or even late model used BMW 7 Series. A gently used 2003 - 2006 Mercedes S-Class is by far the most bang for the buck on the road today."

9 people out of 11 found this review helpful

GREAT HANDLING, SMOOTH RIDE, LOTS OF LEG ROOM

By on Friday, August 24, 2012

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 100,000

10 1.0
overall rating 1 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
1/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "HEAVY CAR, FEEL SAFE"

Cons: "REPAIRS EXPENSIVE, USES PREMIUM GAS"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 8

"REPAIRS CAN BE EXPENSIVE"

8 people out of 10 found this review helpful

Benz S-Class!! Practically Perfect In Every Way!!!

By on Saturday, September 5, 2015

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 100,500

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"Mercedes-Benz always has and continues to lead the way as to what a luxury car should be!! Top notch Quality, Elegant Design, Extra Comfort with Plenty of Leg room. Value, in the long run is unbeatable! After 13 years my car drives like show room new! Extremely economical as larger vehicles go. The driving dynamics & reliability is impeccable. Smooth, Comfortable, Quiet ride & She has never let me down!! Always warned when a service is due & if maintenance is followed there will be not problems!!! Not to mention the WOW factor of being an owner of one of these beauties is PRICELESS!!!!"

10 people out of 13 found this review helpful

I've owned it 10 years and plan on keeping it.

By on Wednesday, January 4, 2012

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 62,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Smooth, Quiet, great mpg, classy ride"

Cons: "outdated analog systems, NAV expensive to update"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"Bought it new in 2002. Smoooth, quiet, solid machine. We have gotten up to 27.3 mpg on a trip, but average 26.2 loaded to the max at 70 mph. Other than the fact the original integrated phone was analog and they changed to digital a number of years back, it performs like new. The NAV system disc update cost is obscene so our maps are 5 years old. A new Garmin is much better than paying over $300 for updated discs. It still looks current and is a wonderful, classy ride."

3 people out of 4 found this review helpful

Lasts long, high maintenance, Comfy, fast

By on Sunday, October 30, 2011

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 85,000

10 7.0
overall rating 7 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
7/10
Value
5/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
8/10
Styling
8/10
Comfort
9/10

Pros: "Fun to drive, big, its a Benz, Beautiful, FAST"

Cons: "Vehicle repair warnings NEVER turn off"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"I love this car because ive had it for 11 years now, but it is cheaply built, very expensive to maintain, the drive feels heavy,it was overpriced(thats ok because all Mercedez Benzes are)Has bad resale value, ugly interior, and is completely BASIC and STANDARD. However, its Gorgeous from the outside, it has navigation, the drive is smooth, its HUGE on the inside, its fast with low end torque and high end horsepower so youll get to high speeds without even feeling it. I love this car but its too much of a hassle to keep."

3 people out of 4 found this review helpful

Too Many Repairs

By on Thursday, September 22, 2011

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 170,000

10 2.0
overall rating 2 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
2/10
Value
3/10
Reliability
1/10
Quality
1/10
Performance
6/10
Styling
3/10
Comfort
7/10

Pros: "When working nice drive"

Cons: "Always broken!"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 1

"Too Many Repairs"

3 people out of 4 found this review helpful

Best and most comfortable and safest car I owned

By on Friday, January 30, 2015

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 125,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
3/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
9/10

Pros: "Solid car, dependable, safe, and comfortable"

Cons: "Car is worth more to us than present value reflect"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"The most reliable and comfortable car I have ever owned. Bought used, 65K miles. Have maintained as needed, local privately owned shop. Spend 2-3 K a year to keep up. Love the car! Disappointed the value is what it is. So far, will keep it till the end. Can't afford to replace it, and wouldn't do it anyway. Love it !!!"

17 people out of 23 found this review helpful

Will offer 1 year warranty

By on Thursday, May 1, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 44,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
5/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Very low mileage, never been in weather, spoiled"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

Clean as they come

"This car is a must see. Purchased new for 90K straight off the showroom floor. It has all the bells and whistles, nothing missing. It is in such great condition, I am offering a warranty at full price. One owner, must see to believe. AMG wheels"

12 people out of 17 found this review helpful

Clean as they come

430-s

By on Sunday, January 19, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 86,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
8/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "great to drive"

Cons: "be a big dog or stay on the porch"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"great car, selectable suspension, ride like a pillow or sport it out. 3 settings, all power everything great technology, space galore, like a limo"

5 people out of 7 found this review helpful

JUST LIKE NEW

By on Thursday, June 25, 2015

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 50,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"Car has never been in snow and was stored every winter in my garage. Looks like the day I drove it out of the dealership in 2000."

27 people out of 40 found this review helpful

Great Car

By on Wednesday, February 22, 2012

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 91,000

10 7.0
overall rating 7 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
7/10
Value
7/10
Reliability
8/10
Quality
8/10
Performance
8/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
9/10

Pros: "Good value"

Cons: "High cost of maintenance"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

In a road Rally

"S430 4Matic is a great package. A pleasure to drive, Great long distance car, comfortable seats. Lots of room. Good bluetooth. No AUX audio input"

4 people out of 6 found this review helpful

In a road Rally

Outstanding ride quality.

By on Wednesday, September 28, 2011

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 318,600

10 8.0
overall rating 8 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
8/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
8/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
9/10

Pros: "Outstanding ride quality, in and out design, ubeatable comfort, great power."

Cons: "Price, cost of maintenance, reliability."

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

Mercedes Benz S430, sport package.

"This car is every serious driver or demanding passenger dream. Can you imagine diplomatic missioner or head of the state in BMW, Audi, or Porsche? Sure you not. But you can clearly see those people in Mercedes Benz flagman S class. Would it be Pakistanian Prime Minister or Bolivian Dictator, German Cansler or Russian mobster - choice will be the same: Mercedes Benz S class. So if you in this category or close to it, that's the way to go. Otherwise, you have to be very creative to keep this car on the road. Quality ride requires quality maintenance and parts, which leads you to another huge expense besides your hefty car payment."

4 people out of 6 found this review helpful

Mercedes Benz S430, sport package.

great car

By on Saturday, July 23, 2011

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 354,987

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "great car good on gas great road car"

Cons: "parts are high but you get what you pay for"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"bought this car with 130000 miles 4 years ago now have almost 400000 on it never any problems just normal ware just a great road car and i get on highway 29 mpg city 20 not bad for a big car use marvel oil at each oil change which i do at 3000 miles or 3 months also add marvel to gas car runs great would buy another one this one is so good dont want to give it up"

4 people out of 6 found this review helpful

Super Riding Experience in Comfort, Uncomparable!!

By on Thursday, May 15, 2014

I owned and sold this car
Reason: Wanted the new technology offered today.

10 8.0
overall rating 8 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
8/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
7/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Comfort, Style, gas mileage"

Cons: "Repair cost w/out warrant"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 9

"Such an awesome riding experience, probably the most comfortable riding automobile I have had the pleasure of operating. Without a warrant, you will be dishing out big bills for repairs so I recommend an extended warrant contract if you can get one. This vehicle also goes through tires relatively fast when used on the highway (which is why I purchased it). If I had the lastest technology in this vehicle I would still own it but new gadgets got the better of me and I traded it."

13 people out of 20 found this review helpful

Mercedes always has and continues to set the bar

By on Sunday, March 1, 2015

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 114,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Superior drivetrain. Majaradjah comfort / class"

Cons: "Price"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"Purchased my '06 350S in 2013 with 94k miles. Wanted the 6 cylinder for mileage purposes. The engine is typical German - bulletproof and, if maintained according to factory specs, good for 500,000 miles. The S-class stands for Superior, Sumptuous, Safe, Swift. Designed for the autobahns of Deutschland, where cars are expected to be able to cruise comfortably and effortlessly at 120mph+ for hours, the S350 performs admirably. A soccer-dad's answer to the mini van."

7 people out of 11 found this review helpful

The best car I drove

By on Tuesday, October 14, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 109,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"S-class, especially the S55, is the perfect combination between comfort and sportivity. I can transform this palace into a race car with two buttons. At this price, with all the safety equipments included, the high level of equipment, I am glad to find my beloved every morning in the garage! My wife also loves the safety feeling and those gigantic cooled seats..."

14 people out of 23 found this review helpful

ONWED 2 OF THE SAME, BOTH ARE IN VERY GOOD CONDIT

By on Friday, August 8, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 86,500

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"GREAT CAR--- HAS BEEN VERY REIABLE AND WE KEPT IT INGOOD CONDITION. SERVICED AT MB DEALER. ONE OF THE 2 IS GONE."

6 people out of 10 found this review helpful

One Of The Best Cars I Have Owned

By on Sunday, September 4, 2011

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 354,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Great Road Car"

Cons: "Repairs Cost More than Than A Chevy"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"Bought This Car Used 5 Years Ago Just Normal Repairs Brakes Oil Changes I Do Change The Oil Like Every 3 To 4 Thousand Miles Bought The Car With 160,000 on it Have Over 300,000 Now Still Runs Great No problems Just A great Car I Get 20 To 22 In the City And 29 30 On The open Road You Get What you Pay For Just A Well Built Car That Lasts"

6 people out of 10 found this review helpful

beat car ever like a space ship with lots of room

By on Wednesday, March 14, 2012

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 97,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "25mpg cost less to repair than a caddy"

Cons: "they dont hold there vaule"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"everyone should own one"

3 people out of 5 found this review helpful

SHOULD HAVE BOUGHT ONE SOONER

By on Friday, September 2, 2011

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 113,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "RIDES GREAT LOOKS GOOD VERY CONFORTABLE"

Cons: "GAS OF COURSE, BUT NOT THE BAD"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"GREAT LOOKING GET A LOT OF COMPLEMENTS, JUST RECENTLY PURCHASED, PUT ON HIGHWAY DRIVES LIKE A DREAM. PUT 20INCH TIRES AND RIMS ON IT THE RIDE IS SUPERB."

3 people out of 5 found this review helpful

Great comfort, ride, power for a large sedan.

By on Monday, January 12, 2015

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 104,000

10 7.0
overall rating 7 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
7/10
Value
7/10
Reliability
7/10
Quality
8/10
Performance
8/10
Styling
8/10
Comfort
9/10

Pros: "Power, style , comfort, amenities."

Cons: "Maintenance and repair cost, upgrade navigation."

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 5

"Mercedes S-Class is a great vehicle to own and drive. The S600 has all the gadgets you would ever need or want in a luxury sedan. Comfortable ride, comfortable interior, heated multi function steering wheel, heated and cooled front/rear leather seats, power reclining rear seats, side and rear privacy shades, 18" AMG wheels, dual exhaust, power trunk open and close. Bottom line: luxury and power."

17 people out of 31 found this review helpful

An absolutely fantastic automobile.

By on Wednesday, April 8, 2015

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 57,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
Not Rated
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "All around wonderful driving experience!"

Cons: "None"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"I'm fortunate enough to be able to buy a newer (2011) model for my wife who needs a back up camera and the additional safety items such as collision avoidance systems etc. that are not on her current car. I always buy MB 3-4 yrs. old, AMG. The performance is fantastic and the handling, comfort, reliability top notch. I purchase with MB warranty followed with aftermarket warranty. Parts and MX are as you would expect - expensive - but worth it."

12 people out of 23 found this review helpful

There are too many electrical problems.

By on Wednesday, November 30, 2011

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 130,000

10 3.0
overall rating 3 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
3/10
Value
5/10
Reliability
4/10
Quality
4/10
Performance
5/10
Styling
5/10
Comfort
4/10

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 6

"Absolutely do not buy in the future."

3 people out of 6 found this review helpful

very good value

By on Tuesday, November 23, 2010

10 7.0
overall rating 7 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
7/10
Value
8/10
Reliability
8/10
Quality
8/10
Performance
8/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
9/10

"the car is a great machine. worth to buy used clean one for 10-15 grand and it looks like a 100,000 grand, drives and performs great with good power"

3 people out of 6 found this review helpful

love the car, very expense to fix if breaks down.

By on Saturday, November 10, 2012

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 150,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "i look good in my s430 beige seat beautiful"

Cons: "should give coupons for mercedes merchandise"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"i would buy another mercedes any day, love these cars"

1 person out of 2 found this review helpful

Sort Reviews by: 
Per Page:  5 | 10 | 25
Previous | 1 2 3 ... 5 | Next
Find Deals Near You vehicles for sale matching Mercedes-Benz S-Class near Honolulu. See local deals
Advertisement