Advertisement

Why ads?
Popular at KBB.com
  • 10 Best Luxury Cars Under $40,000
  • Small Luxury Sedan Buyer's Guide
  • Class of 2015: New Vehicles Ready to Roll
  • 10 Best Midsize SUVs
Go

2002 Mercedes-Benz S-Class

Style:

Consumer Reviews & Ratings

Overall Rating
8.6
Out of 10

Based on 99 Ratings for the 2000 - 2006 models.

Review this car
more rating details
  • Value
    8.4/10
    Quality
    9.1/10
  • Reliability
    8.8/10
    Performance
    9.2/10
  • Comfort
    9.4/10
    Styling
    9.2/10
Sort Reviews by: 
Per Page:  5 | 10 | 25
Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next

Had a Lexus before my S350 no comparison

By on Thursday, February 17, 2011

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
9/10

"This car has been great. No major problems in the two years I've owned it. It is comfortible but could use a little more leg room in the front and back. Lacks a few simple comforts such as a quality drink holder and driver storage areas. The car rides very smooth and quiet. I've owned four Mercedes over the years and this is number 1 I did have a problem with the sattelite radio but Mercedes finaly found the problem and fixed it. I get compliments on the car almost evrytime I hit the road. Plenty of power. Not great in the winter RWD but I grew up in cars that only had RWD. I love this car!"

4 people out of 5 found this review helpful

Best and most comfortable and safest car I owned

By on Friday, January 30, 2015

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 125,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
3/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
9/10

Pros: "Solid car, dependable, safe, and comfortable"

Cons: "Car is worth more to us than present value reflect"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"The most reliable and comfortable car I have ever owned. Bought used, 65K miles. Have maintained as needed, local privately owned shop. Spend 2-3 K a year to keep up. Love the car! Disappointed the value is what it is. So far, will keep it till the end. Can't afford to replace it, and wouldn't do it anyway. Love it !!!"

9 people out of 12 found this review helpful

I've owned it 10 years and plan on keeping it.

By on Wednesday, January 04, 2012

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 62,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Smooth, Quiet, great mpg, classy ride"

Cons: "outdated analog systems, NAV expensive to update"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"Bought it new in 2002. Smoooth, quiet, solid machine. We have gotten up to 27.3 mpg on a trip, but average 26.2 loaded to the max at 70 mph. Other than the fact the original integrated phone was analog and they changed to digital a number of years back, it performs like new. The NAV system disc update cost is obscene so our maps are 5 years old. A new Garmin is much better than paying over $300 for updated discs. It still looks current and is a wonderful, classy ride."

3 people out of 4 found this review helpful

Lasts long, high maintenance, Comfy, fast

By on Sunday, October 30, 2011

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 85,000

10 7.0
overall rating 7 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
7/10
Value
5/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
8/10
Styling
8/10
Comfort
9/10

Pros: "Fun to drive, big, its a Benz, Beautiful, FAST"

Cons: "Vehicle repair warnings NEVER turn off"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"I love this car because ive had it for 11 years now, but it is cheaply built, very expensive to maintain, the drive feels heavy,it was overpriced(thats ok because all Mercedez Benzes are)Has bad resale value, ugly interior, and is completely BASIC and STANDARD. However, its Gorgeous from the outside, it has navigation, the drive is smooth, its HUGE on the inside, its fast with low end torque and high end horsepower so youll get to high speeds without even feeling it. I love this car but its too much of a hassle to keep."

3 people out of 4 found this review helpful

Will offer 1 year warranty

By on Thursday, May 01, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 44,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
5/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Very low mileage, never been in weather, spoiled"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

Clean as they come

"This car is a must see. Purchased new for 90K straight off the showroom floor. It has all the bells and whistles, nothing missing. It is in such great condition, I am offering a warranty at full price. One owner, must see to believe. AMG wheels"

12 people out of 17 found this review helpful

Clean as they come

430-s

By on Sunday, January 19, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 86,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
8/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "great to drive"

Cons: "be a big dog or stay on the porch"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"great car, selectable suspension, ride like a pillow or sport it out. 3 settings, all power everything great technology, space galore, like a limo"

5 people out of 7 found this review helpful

Outstanding ride quality.

By on Wednesday, September 28, 2011

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 318,600

10 8.0
overall rating 8 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
8/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
8/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
9/10

Pros: "Outstanding ride quality, in and out design, ubeatable comfort, great power."

Cons: "Price, cost of maintenance, reliability."

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

Mercedes Benz S430, sport package.

"This car is every serious driver or demanding passenger dream. Can you imagine diplomatic missioner or head of the state in BMW, Audi, or Porsche? Sure you not. But you can clearly see those people in Mercedes Benz flagman S class. Would it be Pakistanian Prime Minister or Bolivian Dictator, German Cansler or Russian mobster - choice will be the same: Mercedes Benz S class. So if you in this category or close to it, that's the way to go. Otherwise, you have to be very creative to keep this car on the road. Quality ride requires quality maintenance and parts, which leads you to another huge expense besides your hefty car payment."

4 people out of 6 found this review helpful

Mercedes Benz S430, sport package.

great car

By on Saturday, July 23, 2011

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 354,987

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "great car good on gas great road car"

Cons: "parts are high but you get what you pay for"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"bought this car with 130000 miles 4 years ago now have almost 400000 on it never any problems just normal ware just a great road car and i get on highway 29 mpg city 20 not bad for a big car use marvel oil at each oil change which i do at 3000 miles or 3 months also add marvel to gas car runs great would buy another one this one is so good dont want to give it up"

4 people out of 6 found this review helpful

They are the best

By on Monday, April 20, 2015

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 92,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Great price the best to diversos"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"Amg are the Best driving machine ever build"

2 people out of 3 found this review helpful

Too Many Repairs

By on Thursday, September 22, 2011

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 170,000

10 2.0
overall rating 2 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
2/10
Value
3/10
Reliability
1/10
Quality
1/10
Performance
6/10
Styling
3/10
Comfort
7/10

Pros: "When working nice drive"

Cons: "Always broken!"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 1

"Too Many Repairs"

2 people out of 3 found this review helpful

Super Riding Experience in Comfort, Uncomparable!!

By on Thursday, May 15, 2014

I owned and sold this car
Reason: Wanted the new technology offered today.

10 8.0
overall rating 8 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
8/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
7/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Comfort, Style, gas mileage"

Cons: "Repair cost w/out warrant"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 9

"Such an awesome riding experience, probably the most comfortable riding automobile I have had the pleasure of operating. Without a warrant, you will be dishing out big bills for repairs so I recommend an extended warrant contract if you can get one. This vehicle also goes through tires relatively fast when used on the highway (which is why I purchased it). If I had the lastest technology in this vehicle I would still own it but new gadgets got the better of me and I traded it."

13 people out of 20 found this review helpful

ONWED 2 OF THE SAME, BOTH ARE IN VERY GOOD CONDIT

By on Friday, August 08, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 86,500

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"GREAT CAR--- HAS BEEN VERY REIABLE AND WE KEPT IT INGOOD CONDITION. SERVICED AT MB DEALER. ONE OF THE 2 IS GONE."

6 people out of 10 found this review helpful

One Of The Best Cars I Have Owned

By on Sunday, September 04, 2011

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 354,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Great Road Car"

Cons: "Repairs Cost More than Than A Chevy"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"Bought This Car Used 5 Years Ago Just Normal Repairs Brakes Oil Changes I Do Change The Oil Like Every 3 To 4 Thousand Miles Bought The Car With 160,000 on it Have Over 300,000 Now Still Runs Great No problems Just A great Car I Get 20 To 22 In the City And 29 30 On The open Road You Get What you Pay For Just A Well Built Car That Lasts"

6 people out of 10 found this review helpful

beat car ever like a space ship with lots of room

By on Wednesday, March 14, 2012

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 97,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "25mpg cost less to repair than a caddy"

Cons: "they dont hold there vaule"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"everyone should own one"

3 people out of 5 found this review helpful

SHOULD HAVE BOUGHT ONE SOONER

By on Friday, September 02, 2011

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 113,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "RIDES GREAT LOOKS GOOD VERY CONFORTABLE"

Cons: "GAS OF COURSE, BUT NOT THE BAD"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"GREAT LOOKING GET A LOT OF COMPLEMENTS, JUST RECENTLY PURCHASED, PUT ON HIGHWAY DRIVES LIKE A DREAM. PUT 20INCH TIRES AND RIMS ON IT THE RIDE IS SUPERB."

3 people out of 5 found this review helpful

very good value

By on Tuesday, November 23, 2010

10 7.0
overall rating 7 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
7/10
Value
8/10
Reliability
8/10
Quality
8/10
Performance
8/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
9/10

"the car is a great machine. worth to buy used clean one for 10-15 grand and it looks like a 100,000 grand, drives and performs great with good power"

3 people out of 5 found this review helpful

The best car I drove

By on Tuesday, October 14, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 109,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"S-class, especially the S55, is the perfect combination between comfort and sportivity. I can transform this palace into a race car with two buttons. At this price, with all the safety equipments included, the high level of equipment, I am glad to find my beloved every morning in the garage! My wife also loves the safety feeling and those gigantic cooled seats..."

8 people out of 14 found this review helpful

Great comfort, ride, power for a large sedan.

By on Monday, January 12, 2015

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 104,000

10 7.0
overall rating 7 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
7/10
Value
7/10
Reliability
7/10
Quality
8/10
Performance
8/10
Styling
8/10
Comfort
9/10

Pros: "Power, style , comfort, amenities."

Cons: "Maintenance and repair cost, upgrade navigation."

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 5

"Mercedes S-Class is a great vehicle to own and drive. The S600 has all the gadgets you would ever need or want in a luxury sedan. Comfortable ride, comfortable interior, heated multi function steering wheel, heated and cooled front/rear leather seats, power reclining rear seats, side and rear privacy shades, 18" AMG wheels, dual exhaust, power trunk open and close. Bottom line: luxury and power."

11 people out of 21 found this review helpful

love the car, very expense to fix if breaks down.

By on Saturday, November 10, 2012

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 150,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "i look good in my s430 beige seat beautiful"

Cons: "should give coupons for mercedes merchandise"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"i would buy another mercedes any day, love these cars"

1 person out of 2 found this review helpful

Powerfull, But not the quality of an old Benz

By on Thursday, December 22, 2011

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 66,900

10 7.0
overall rating 7 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
7/10
Value
8/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
7/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
7/10
Comfort
8/10

Pros: "0-60 in 4.6s"

Cons: "Not the best quality"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"Its surprisingly fast for such a heavy vehicle and the exhaust note is awesome, drivetrain qaulity is excellent, interior quality is lacking though, some cheap plastic here and there and there are a few rattles, the ride is rather rough for a benz due to the performance handling from AMG, but it does handle well for a car this size. For the money I paid for it I think its not a bad deal but if I had paid it's original price when it was new I would be disapointed with the quality for that much money. The styling of the car isn't really my taste, the exterior is OK but the intereior is not what I like at all, its to curvey, I prefer straight lines."

1 person out of 2 found this review helpful

Very solid car-dash design fair

By on Saturday, January 22, 2011

10 8.0
overall rating 8 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
8/10
Value
8/10
Reliability
8/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
8/10

"Very poor in snow. Too light in rear. Dash confiuration and appeal just fair. Other wise very good car."

1 person out of 2 found this review helpful

By on Wednesday, December 01, 2010

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

This customer did not provide a text review.

1 person out of 2 found this review helpful

Most comfortable car ever

By on Sunday, July 27, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 137,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
8/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"Most comfortable car ever. Has suffered too many mechanical breakdowns, compared to what you would expect from a Mercedes with this mileage. Nevertheless, it is so comfortable that it is worth the hassle"

10 people out of 21 found this review helpful

my s430

By on Wednesday, September 21, 2011

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 230,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
8/10
Comfort
10/10

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"i have a s43 fully loaded car runs great very comfortable for travel it was a gift to me for graduating its my very first car took a few trips in it its a good car for being my first car the speed meteor just went out it got light dent on passenger side over all the car is in very good condition took care of it since it was my first car never had any any trouble always got very nice compliments its very sporty for a cruise a trip and a night out on the town i took trips in it and never felt smashed or uncomfortable has all the space so you will never feel uncomfortable"

4 people out of 9 found this review helpful

Gorgeous '00 S500 Mercedes Benz Sedan EXC conditi

By on Tuesday, June 17, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 105,600

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Great price, $100K bought new...still worth $$$$."

Cons: "VEry few, if any, can't think of 1 now"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"This is a beautiful vehicle. From the outside white to the inside light gray, one would know it has been cared for immaculately. The interior burlwood has no scratches, it handles like a dream, it sits so comfy. The interior of the car looks almost brand new...no tears, scratches, etc. Rugs are in great condition, trunk looks new, spare tire on one time for about 2 miles. The stereo sound is great. It has all the upgrades available in 2000, including an integrated phone. Tires are good, under hood, clean, new $200 battery last year. It is a dream car, must sell due to seniors health"

6 people out of 15 found this review helpful

Sort Reviews by: 
Per Page:  5 | 10 | 25
Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next
Find Deals Near You vehicles for sale matching Mercedes-Benz S-Class near Honolulu. See local deals