Advertisement

Why ads?
Popular at KBB.com
  • 10 Best Luxury Cars Under $40,000
  • 2014 Small Luxury Sedan Buyer's Guide
  • Class of 2015: New Vehicles Ready to Roll
  • 10 Best Midsize SUVs
Go

1996 Mercedes-Benz S-Class

Style:

Consumer Reviews & Ratings

Overall Rating
8.9
Out of 10

Based on 120 Ratings for the 1992 - 1999 models.

Review this car
more rating details
  • Value
    8.8/10
    Quality
    9.2/10
  • Reliability
    9.1/10
    Performance
    9.1/10
  • Comfort
    9.3/10
    Styling
    9.3/10
Sort Reviews by: 
Per Page:  5 | 10 | 25
Previous | 1 2 3 ... 12 | Next

best benz mercedes makes.

By on Friday, July 06, 2012

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 160,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
8/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
9/10

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 9

"very good car built very well solid,also a very safe car,built like a tank."

2 people out of 2 found this review helpful

The best S Klasse ever

By on Sunday, June 24, 2012

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 175,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
7/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "corners good"

Cons: "weak stock rims will bend easy"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"I bought my car used,pretty quick for a six.But wanting to beat GTs,I installed a nitrous 125 hp shot.1/4 mile times went from 17.5 stock,to 15.1.When you want to save fuel she will get 29 mpg highway."

9 people out of 14 found this review helpful

have my car 9year dive well keep the oil change

By on Monday, April 16, 2012

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 145,000

10 8.0
overall rating 8 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
8/10
Value
7/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
7/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
8/10

Pros: "take care it will drive way pass 400,000 or more"

Cons: "it will drink gas and window relay go bad at time"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 7

"overall nice ride great on the long road, engine is nice.look is before it time 500 sel is the real thing! 1993"

8 people out of 8 found this review helpful

One of the Best vehicles I have ever driven

By on Thursday, April 05, 2012

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 100,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "fit and finish royal look turbo diesel engine"

Cons: "None!"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"This Mercedes 300sd is a wonderful machine Overengineered in every way. Rides down the road great excellent fuel economy even though weight is close to 5000L/b. Fit and finish superb. A great vehicle if you can find one. Owners refuse to get rid of them."

4 people out of 4 found this review helpful

This is a great car it needs work front end, air c

By on Monday, February 20, 2012

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 152,000

10 6.0
overall rating 6 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
6/10
Value
8/10
Reliability
8/10
Quality
7/10
Performance
5/10
Styling
5/10
Comfort
8/10

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"This is a great car it needs work front end, air conditioner"

Body and Chasis remains impressive inspite of age

By on Monday, February 20, 2012

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 207,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Durable, dependable, and well maintained"

Cons: "no cup holders indeed. Germans loathe to drink."

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"The 300 SE still maintains the prestige of a Mercedes Benz. On several occasions, a by passer would place a note on my windshield. The note would convey a message either "Want to sell this vehicle, " or "What would it take to initiate a deal."

3 people out of 3 found this review helpful

99 s500 the last of the big s class flagships.

By on Wednesday, February 01, 2012

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 119,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "engineering at its best"

Cons: "expensive parts,insurance"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"looked for this exact vehicle for over 7 years.Many of the grand editions were shipped overseas..Soon to be a collector luxury car."

4 people out of 5 found this review helpful

WILL NEVER LET GO!

By on Friday, January 20, 2012

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 228,000

10 8.0
overall rating 8 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
8/10
Value
8/10
Reliability
8/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
8/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
9/10

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"PURCHASED IN 2000 WITH 78000, I THINK THE BEST FULL SIZE SEDAN EVER BUILT, LIKE A TANK. I HAD IT REPAINTED, AND EVERYBODY LOVES IT SEEING IT. VERY DEPENDABLE, QUEIT RIDE,"

6 people out of 6 found this review helpful

great car

By on Wednesday, January 18, 2012

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 100,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"Solid, elegant, comfortable,"

2 people out of 3 found this review helpful

One of our generations greatest cars

By on Tuesday, January 17, 2012

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 111,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Extremely comfy Great Power"

Cons: "Pricey maintenance"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"I bought this dream car in 2003 with 59k miles. It is not my first MB. It has been a great car and worth every penny of the very high maintenance cost. I warn you though not to buy one if you are not prepared to spend money to maintain it. Even at 16 years old it is a head turner and my friends love riding in it. I recently took it on a 2400 mile road trip and it was a pleasure. Got good fuel economy @22Hwy using Premium. This car enthusiasts biggest problem is where do I go from here. Nothing will make me as happy and this one won't be a daily driver forever. Or will it? Just awesome!"

4 people out of 4 found this review helpful

Sort Reviews by: 
Per Page:  5 | 10 | 25
Previous | 1 2 3 ... 12 | Next
Find Deals Near You vehicles for sale matching Mercedes-Benz S-Class near Honolulu. See local deals