Advertisement

Why ads?
Popular at KBB.com
  • 10 Best SUVs Under $25,000
  • 10 Best Midsize SUVs
  • 10 Best AWD Cars & SUVs Under $25,000
  • 2014 Compact SUV Buyer's Guide
Go

2011 Mercedes-Benz R-Class

Style:

Consumer Reviews & Ratings

Overall Rating
7.6
Out of 10

Based on 176 Ratings for the 2006 - 2012 models.

Review this car
more rating details
  • Value
    7.8/10
    Quality
    8.0/10
  • Reliability
    7.8/10
    Performance
    8.3/10
  • Comfort
    9.0/10
    Styling
    8.7/10
Sort Reviews by: 
Per Page:  5 | 10 | 25
Previous | 1 2 3 ... 18 | Next

Your mechanic will love you.

By on Wednesday, October 01, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 128,000

10 3.0
overall rating 3 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
3/10
Value
5/10
Reliability
2/10
Quality
2/10
Performance
5/10
Styling
7/10
Comfort
7/10

Pros: "Like the hill assist and thats it."

Cons: "Spending too much money keeping this car running."

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 1

"I have owned the car for over 6 years and drove over 128,000 miles and I don't feel comfortable driving long distances. A faulty Engine Gas Exhaust Temp Sensor will kill the motor and your stranded on the side of the freeway until it cools down. There is some stray electrical issues and I am always replacing light bulbs. Bought it brand new, the sun roof window shade broke the first week (2 days to fix, thank God it was still under warranty). 40,000 EGT Sensor failed ($260 for Diagnostic, $220 part and $199 labor). 60,000 steering rack developed a serious leak ($4600). Replaced front headlights because of hazing plastic ($650). Transmission issues started 100,000 miles ($740). Whats next? I am completely disappointed and will never buy another Mercedes again."

1 person out of 3 found this review helpful

Very Comfortable

By on Wednesday, August 27, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 59,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
8/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Great for long road trips."

Cons: "Spare tire is an inflatable"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 9

"Since the R-class styling was not very popular, I felt I got a lot of car for my money, especially since I very much like the practical, aerodynamic style. I had one $800 repair in 3 years. The interior is sedate, comfortable, and very quiet. The car handles well, and gets up to 30 mpg cruising at 75."

3 people out of 4 found this review helpful

best safe car and rides grate

By on Saturday, August 16, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 55,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
9/10

Pros: "grate car feel safe joy to drive"

Cons: "extra seats in rear are kids or small people"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 9

"love the ride and convience loading door."

1 person out of 1 found this review helpful

caveat emptor

By on Wednesday, July 30, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 88,000

10 6.0
overall rating 6 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
6/10
Value
2/10
Reliability
4/10
Quality
8/10
Performance
8/10
Styling
5/10
Comfort
5/10

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 5

"This is my first Mercedes, and I love it, but was amazed at how much work was required. When I bought it at 60,000.00 miles it immediately needed shocks, suspension air bags, and new rack and pinion. Also the mechanical opener for the hatch had to be replaced. The seats are a pain to adjust for the cargo space."

5 people out of 5 found this review helpful

Fits my use completely

By on Tuesday, April 29, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 18,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
8/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
8/10
Styling
8/10
Comfort
8/10

Pros: "Love the vehicle"

Cons: "Love it, but do not trust the servicing dealer."

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"Exactly what I require, however, my servicing dealer's maint personnel have not performed some very elemental repairs, in OKC. The vehicle has been in for service for the same thing 4 times. The service has never been correctly performed. It is in for service at this time and am dealing with a different service person. Hopefully will be satisfactory."

6 people out of 9 found this review helpful

Beware of the $6,000 Balance Shaft Gear Repair...

By on Saturday, April 19, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 130,000

10 1.0
overall rating 1 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
1/10
Value
1/10
Reliability
1/10
Quality
1/10
Performance
1/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
1/10

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 1

"I liked this car until this issue came up-"

3 people out of 3 found this review helpful

Love this car!! Excellent value and very reliable!

By on Tuesday, April 01, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 48,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"I have never had to make any repairs and it is so comfortable for the family!"

4 people out of 6 found this review helpful

Great layout, but many, many problems. ($$$)

By on Thursday, February 27, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 65,000

10 3.0
overall rating 3 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
3/10
Value
1/10
Reliability
2/10
Quality
2/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
9/10

Pros: "Ride, amenities, cargo space, interior"

Cons: "Poor quality, expensive to repair, unreliable"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 1

"This is a great layout for a family car. It rides like a dream, and with all of the seats folded down, there's little that can't be carried in it. If I could keep the build, and replace everything mechanical about it, I would. At only 65K on a babied, well-maintained car, I have had to replace both rear air struts within 6 months of each other (approx $700 each). Also, the manifold is currently being replaced due to a bad flap ($1600 total repair). The tailgate back sensor has never worked properly, nor have the parking sensors (they go off randomly when driving down the road). I am now being told that the thermostat and cam sensors need to be replaced as well. Even with the car paid off, the repairs are no longer worth keeping the vehicle, which is a real shame. I love the R-Class body, and it is amazing in so many other ways. But it is the most unreliable car I have ever owned."

21 people out of 21 found this review helpful

Great car and great value.

By on Friday, January 31, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 72,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
8/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
8/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Huge interior. Luxury finish. Fast acceleration !"

Cons: "Low MPG. Dealer service rates are high."

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 9

"I have had my 206 R500 for 6 years and it has been a very reliable car. Only issue was rear air shocks. Great fun in sport mode. Lousy MPG, but expected. Dealer service prices are a joke but local shops servicing MBs are very reasonable. Interior room is outstanding. Good build and finish. Because of the loaf shape of the car, estimating your front and rear points is difficult when parking. I spent $250 on an aftermarket park assist system and it was well worth it!"

11 people out of 14 found this review helpful

I really enjoy it!

By on Thursday, January 30, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 100,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
8/10
Reliability
8/10
Quality
8/10
Performance
8/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Cargo space, comfortability and appearance"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 9

"I had my mercedes R350 for 3 years now and I have enjoyed it thus far. I had to replace the air shocks, but other than that I have not had any problems with the car. When I replaced the air shocks I found the part online, which was cost efficient compared to the dealership. They cost $300 for the pair!"

7 people out of 8 found this review helpful

Sort Reviews by: 
Per Page:  5 | 10 | 25
Previous | 1 2 3 ... 18 | Next
Find Deals Near You vehicles for sale matching Mercedes-Benz R-Class near Honolulu. See local deals