Advertisement

Why ads?
Popular at KBB.com
  • 10 Best Luxury Cars Under $40,000
  • Small Luxury Sedan Buyer's Guide
  • Class of 2015: New Vehicles Ready to Roll
  • 10 Best Midsize SUVs
Go

2011 Mercedes-Benz M-Class

Style:

Consumer Reviews & Ratings

Overall Rating
8.4
Out of 10

Based on 209 Ratings for the 2006 - 2011 models.

Review this car
more rating details
  • Value
    8.3/10
    Quality
    8.8/10
  • Reliability
    8.7/10
    Performance
    8.8/10
  • Comfort
    8.9/10
    Styling
    8.9/10
Sort Reviews by: 
Per Page:  5 | 10 | 25
Previous | 1 2 3 ... 9 | Next

Safe, reliable and economical!!

By on Saturday, February 18, 2012

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 43,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Does everything well."

Cons: "None."

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"Great car!!!"

1 person out of 2 found this review helpful

Great Car!

By on Thursday, February 16, 2012

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 9,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
8/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Confort, reliability, safety"

Cons: "15 mpg in town, Nav system could be better"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"I liked my leased ML so much, I bought the next one. The power lift gate is golf club friendly, the cabin is comfortable for passengers and the all wheel drive can handle any driving conditions. I'd recommend this car to anyone that wants an SUV that will last and can handle the price tag and poor fuel economy."

1 person out of 2 found this review helpful

LOVE THE POWER AND HANDELING

By on Friday, February 10, 2012

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 24,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "LOVE IT!! BETTER THAT MY LAST MERCEDES"

Cons: "NONE"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"BEST MERCEDES EVER"

1 person out of 1 found this review helpful

I love the way this car drives

By on Thursday, February 09, 2012

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 18,500

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "fun to drive"

Cons: "premium fuel"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"I have owned this car for two years and have greatly enjoyed driving it. It is as advertised"

1 person out of 1 found this review helpful

Best MB I have ever owned!

By on Wednesday, February 08, 2012

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 16,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "For the serious driver."

Cons: "Local dealer"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"If it made coffee... Fantastic automobile; you take care of it and it will take of you. My only concern is with the dealership."

great car

By on Wednesday, February 08, 2012

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 34,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
9/10

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"would buy another"

Best SUV

By on Sunday, January 29, 2012

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 37,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "great all around vehicle"

Cons: "Not crazy about transmission shifter at first"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"Before the ML500 I had a BMW X5 4.4 and the ML blows it away. It out handles and rides like you are on a cloud. Better looking vehicle too, and much better MPG with 7 speed auto transmission."

4 people out of 4 found this review helpful

Just as a Mercedes Benz should be!

By on Friday, January 27, 2012

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 18,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
9/10

Pros: "Purchased at aggressive price, so cost ok."

Cons: "Seats get hard for boney people."

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"The faster you drive it, the better it performs. At slow speeds, the over-sized 19" wheel/tire package is a little like fat skiis, you can feel them working, and steering is a bit light - good for parking lots. At very high speeds, the tires track like glued on rails and the steering feels grand prix. Worth the trade-off when driving faster than 55 mph and at 90 mph (say, emergency passing or blasting away from packs of morons hogging the left lane at 60 mph), you're driving the Starship Enterprise at warp speed, totally secure. This is an Authobahn SUV for sure."

1 person out of 1 found this review helpful

absolutely hate it

By on Tuesday, January 24, 2012

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 40,000

10 3.0
overall rating 3 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
3/10
Value
3/10
Reliability
6/10
Quality
6/10
Performance
5/10
Styling
3/10
Comfort
3/10

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 1

"i just dont like it, dont even know why"

Perfect all round everyday ride.

By on Friday, January 20, 2012

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 37,060

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Classy-Great Leather-Perfect service-Love this SUV"

Cons: "Back seats should recline some"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"Great SUV-Fun to drive-Love it"

Best of my 5 Mercedes Benz cars

By on Wednesday, January 18, 2012

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 51,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Reliable and durable"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

A love note from my husband...of course I knew he loved me when he bought me a Mercedes!

"This has been the most dependable Mercedes, by far the best German branded auto I have ever owned including BMW. The all wheel drive is efficient and strong and has taken my family on ski trips through snow and ice. The maintenance has been a breeze! The reliability, refreshing!"

1 person out of 1 found this review helpful

A love note from my husband...of course I knew he loved me when he bought me a Mercedes!

Hard to Drive

By on Wednesday, January 18, 2012

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 65,000

10 6.0
overall rating 6 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
6/10
Value
7/10
Reliability
8/10
Quality
7/10
Performance
6/10
Styling
5/10
Comfort
7/10

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 3

"I can drive anything. A sports car, a dump truck, an 18 wheeler (once), you name it. But after owning this car for 6 years, I still can not get the "fit" of the car. I never know if I'm going to pull in to something or reverse into something. The VISIBILITY out of the truck is awful. I think this problem is the main reason I find this car tiresome to drive."

Overall disappointed

By on Friday, January 13, 2012

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 54,000

10 5.0
overall rating 5 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
5/10
Value
5/10
Reliability
6/10
Quality
7/10
Performance
7/10
Styling
5/10
Comfort
3/10

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 3

"Nav system very difficult to operate as other dash components. Multiple small problems which required taking in to service department. Limited leg room in back seat and small storage area."

I am not recommend this car to anybody.

By on Thursday, January 05, 2012

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 80,000

10 3.0
overall rating 3 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
3/10
Value
6/10
Reliability
3/10
Quality
1/10
Performance
5/10
Styling
5/10
Comfort
5/10

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 1

"I have this car for 4 years and I am not recommend this car to anybody, you always be paying for Repairs"

1 person out of 5 found this review helpful

Not Worth The Money

By on Monday, January 02, 2012

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 23,000

10 4.0
overall rating 4 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
4/10
Value
6/10
Reliability
6/10
Quality
5/10
Performance
3/10
Styling
3/10
Comfort
7/10

Pros: "good storage."

Cons: "Poor Build Quality, Bad Nav System"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 3

"We own a 2010 ML350 and have had numerous small problems. We have had the car in for repair multiple times under warranty which does not make sense for a car of this price. We actually had the windshield wipers brake off of the car while driving in the rain on a highway. We also had to have steering column repaired as the coupler was broken. The fit and finish in the interior is that of a ford. The Navigation system/infotainment system is very clunky to use and requires you to take your eyes off of the road constantly. After owning this car, it is unlikely we will buy another Mercedes in the future."

1 person out of 2 found this review helpful

On - off road, towing--excellent driving dynamics

By on Monday, January 02, 2012

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 17,500

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "It does everything exceptionally well"

Cons: "Nav/Stereo controls"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"We are really surprised at how much we love to drive this car. It's extremely comfortable and capable in every situation we have encountered. It covers miles easily and is nimble and fun to drive on our Colorado mountain roads. It puts my Land Cruiser to shame with its off road capabilities, and it pulls our 26' Travel Trailer with unbelievable strength and stability. And it gets 28 mpg in mixed country driving! What's not to like? - The "Command" system, which is the interface with the Nav/Phone/Sound system could use some modernization, but once you get used to its quirks it works well."

1 person out of 2 found this review helpful

Well Built car, great Mileage, still feels tight.

By on Tuesday, December 27, 2011

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 88,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Great Mileage, strong resale, nice ride"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"Just a great car"

Very nice vehicle overall but a bit expensive

By on Tuesday, December 27, 2011

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 38,000

10 7.0
overall rating 7 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
7/10
Value
7/10
Reliability
8/10
Quality
8/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
8/10
Comfort
8/10

Pros: "outstanding handling, great transmission"

Cons: "Cost of driving"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"Outstanding handling, great transmission and looks new after every wash (best paint job I've ever seen). Everything about the car is expensive"

1 person out of 2 found this review helpful

Exceeded expectations

By on Friday, December 23, 2011

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 94,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Quality, quiet cruise, mileage, versatility."

Cons: "Some electronic glitches (German stuff)."

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"Fantastic vehicle! Great low end power, quiet 80 MPH cruise, good fuel mileage and great versatility. Rides and feels like it just came off the showroom floor, the ML's quality is a real plus. Tight turning circle is critical for my city domain, while the ability to quietly cruise 600 miles in one day makes this SUV a must for my varied life."

Very comfortable, reliable, great in snow

By on Wednesday, December 21, 2011

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 74,000

10 7.0
overall rating 7 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
7/10
Value
8/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
8/10
Performance
7/10
Styling
8/10
Comfort
8/10

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"Had this 2008 model since new. Still has original brakes(74000 mi.)very few problems( none malor). Car is driven mostly in town(60/40 local v hwy)averages 19.5 mpg.Very comfortable and user freindly.Engine has good torque and good responce.Only dislike is that the handling could be a little crisper with less body roll. This a great car in snowy conditions, If you get stuck driving this, everyone else will be too! When I trade it will be another ML350."

Great mid SUV

By on Friday, December 16, 2011

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 65,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "comfortable, handles well, great long-distance car"

Cons: "cargo bay will not accommodate 4x8 plywood"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"This car handles and rides very well. It's a great long-distance car. I can haul most everything I need to. Only drawback is the cargo bay will not accommodate a 4 ft wide piece of plywood. Otherwise, no complaints. Gas mileage is ok for a car of this size. Handles well on ice and snow in North Dakota."

Masterpiece of comfort, safety, efficiency

By on Friday, December 16, 2011

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 56,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
8/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "handling, safety, reliability, comfort"

Cons: "strange transmission glitches, bad mileage,"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"$63,000MSRP Fully loaded incld air suspension, camera, heated seats, MP3, telephone, Nav, etc. The only repair in 56k miles was power steering pump at 45k miles. Very comfortable seats and controls, good visibility, turning radius. Abundant V8power, quiet, and a good stopper. Best Hwy mileage, using extreme care, under 70MPH was 21MPG. Pure city only 13MPG and my typical blended is 16-17MPG. Weaknesses: The 7speed transmission is indecisive about downshifting for accelleration when D. It's annoying. Best way to optimize gears for weaving and traffic is to use the manual numbered gears. Or, just leave it in 6, which eliminates the lag in downshifting. This has been fixed in 2009 models with 8speed. There's one dangerous transmission issue: it goes into the so called, "safe mode" when rapidly ascending and stopping. It takes a rest break at the top of a hill. Dealer says this isn't a defect, which I think is crazy. Takes some getting used to. I only rate Value as 3/5 because you can get everything in Acura MDX for $10k less. Previous car was '01 BMW X5-V8 that I used for 95k miles. I'm 68 and have had more cars than I can remember. It was the most unreliable, problem prone car of my life and that includes 1950's Fords and Chevvys!"

Love this car.

By on Friday, December 09, 2011

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 16,000

10 8.0
overall rating 8 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
8/10
Value
8/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
9/10

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"Great car. Handles well, tight turn radius, good visibility, lots cargo space and seats 5 adults comfortably."

Will Always own a Mercedes ML

By on Monday, November 21, 2011

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 80,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Solid, drives like a dream for a big SUV"

Cons: "2008 had DVD based Navi"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"Have owned vehicles by Volkswagen, Volvo, and Mercedes. This is by far the best vehicle I have owned yet. Bought it new, and it will only get replaced by another new one. Only thing i did not like was that in 2008 the Nav was DVD based. that has been replaced with real time sat Nav so other than that annoying quirk, it has been a dream to own. I bought the Mercedes wrap warranty to 100K with no deductible thinking that once out of warranty it would be tons of dough to fix but it has never ever needed any repair ever. Nothing like a good Benz."

4 people out of 4 found this review helpful

Drives good, quality less than I expected

By on Friday, November 11, 2011

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 26,000

10 4.0
overall rating 4 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
4/10
Value
5/10
Reliability
5/10
Quality
6/10
Performance
7/10
Styling
5/10
Comfort
6/10

Pros: "drives good"

Cons: "quality, service, value"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 3

"Car drives good, excellent acceleration and handling. Turn signal has wipers,etc. on it. The steering wheel design makes it impossible to see the different functions located on the turn signal and also makes it difficult to see some of the other controls on the left of the dash (lights for example). Navigation system is not user friendly nor is the sound system. Have never been able to download MP3 to system even tho I follow the directions to the letter. Navigation system does not take you in a direct route sometimes and you cannot try to locate a specific establishment when you are in a strange town. Asking for POIs near your location can get you stuff that is 500 miles away. Does not hold it's value as well as a Lexus (I have owned 2 Lexus and my next csr will be a Lexus. Seat belt quit working twice within the first 6 months of owning it (it was new car). Dealer service was unacceptable until I compared their car to a Toyota. Complained to MB corporate and got no response."

5 people out of 6 found this review helpful

Sort Reviews by: 
Per Page:  5 | 10 | 25
Previous | 1 2 3 ... 9 | Next
Find Deals Near You vehicles for sale matching Mercedes-Benz M-Class near Honolulu. See local deals