Go

2005 Mercedes-Benz M-Class

Style:

Consumer Reviews & Ratings

Overall Rating
7.8
Out of 10

Based on 393 Ratings for the 1998 - 2005 models.

Review this car
more rating details
  • Value
    7.8/10
    Quality
    8.1/10
  • Reliability
    8.1/10
    Performance
    8.3/10
  • Comfort
    8.4/10
    Styling
    8.3/10
Sort Reviews by: 
Per Page:  5 | 10 | 25
Previous | 1 2 3 ... 16 | Next

I Love my car!!

By on Friday, August 17, 2007

10 7.0
overall rating 7 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
7/10
Value
7/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
7/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
9/10

"But I must admit that the value for a Mercedes-Benz !! (all that plastic inside and out) just does not seem right. My car need servicing badly but it still runs smooth. My car is paid off! Will I buy another one? YES"

3 people out of 3 found this review helpful

By on Thursday, July 26, 2007

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

"Excellant car, value, ride, comfort, speed. I would buy another one!"

3 people out of 3 found this review helpful

great car

By on Thursday, July 19, 2007

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
8/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

"But doesn`t keep the value on the market very well.Sells under the KBB price.Anyway, I see lots of them in the street everyday!Otherwise, the greatest car I`ve ever had, so spacious, and still extremely easy to handle.It`s a Mercedes!"

3 people out of 3 found this review helpful

beautiful investment

By on Saturday, July 14, 2007

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
9/10

"I purchased this vehicle yesterday and am so happy and content with it. This vehicle has so much too offer! She is so pretty and yet fast! It is definitely a fun, pretty and very stylish suv with class. Would recommend this vehicle to all that can afford the insurance and gas. Well worth the financial investment."

3 people out of 3 found this review helpful

Best vehicle ever, I want a new one!

By on Saturday, February 4, 2012

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 183,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Excellent"

Cons: "It's not a 500SL"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"Drives like a sedan, quick, responsive, comfortable, stylish, beautiful vehicle."

2 people out of 2 found this review helpful

WOW! 300000 Miles and Still Powering that V8!

By on Saturday, December 31, 2011

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 300,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Fun To Drive! Power. And Comfortability and Design"

Cons: "Absolutely Nothing!"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"This is still a Great Looking Car. Reliability was great until around 275000 Miles. But Planning on getting a 2012 ML550 because of what a great car this has been. Very comfortable!"

2 people out of 2 found this review helpful

I love this car.

By on Saturday, November 26, 2011

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 150,000

10 8.0
overall rating 8 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
8/10
Value
8/10
Reliability
8/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
9/10

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"This is the nicest car I ever owned. It is a dream to drive and is super reliable; and it never gets stuck in snow...I can plow through just about anything. I just wish it got better gas mileage."

2 people out of 2 found this review helpful

Best vehicle ever!

By on Wednesday, November 23, 2011

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 150,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"It is beautiful, comfortable, reliable and safe! I wish I didn't have to sell it. It will be greatly missed. When I buy a new vehicle again, it will definitely be Mercedes-Benz M class."

2 people out of 2 found this review helpful

Great driving experience

By on Tuesday, November 8, 2011

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 135,000

10 5.0
overall rating 5 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
5/10
Value
5/10
Reliability
6/10
Quality
7/10
Performance
5/10
Styling
7/10
Comfort
6/10

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"This is a great car with costly repairs. This a great car but one of the issues it the costly repairs. Gas wise not very good on gas. Reliability I would give a 5 star."

2 people out of 2 found this review helpful

My ML is a very good auto.

By on Sunday, November 6, 2011

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 67,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
10/10

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"I have only had to keep up with the scheduled maintenance. I have had no significant problems although because of the weight it may need brakes more frequently."

2 people out of 2 found this review helpful

The Best

By on Tuesday, January 11, 2011

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

"I bought a used 1999 ML320 with 70,000 miles on it and loved it. It was the best car I ever owned. Gas mileage is not the best but what do you expect for an AWD SUV! Wrecked the car at 205,000 miles on it and am looking for another one to replace it. Very reliable (contrary to alot of reviews). Had to replace the window cluster twice and put tires and brakes on it . THATS IT!!!!"

2 people out of 2 found this review helpful

02 Benz

By on Tuesday, August 24, 2010

10 8.0
overall rating 8 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
8/10
Value
8/10
Reliability
8/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
8/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
9/10

"I have owned my Benz since new. No issues the first 100K but a few nagging issues post 100K. A very reliable and safe vehicle. The AWD is fantastic in wet/snowy conditions. Find a good mechanic besides your Benz dealer for service. The cost of having Mercedes do anything outside of warranty is astronomical."

2 people out of 2 found this review helpful

Longest I ever owned a vehicle

By on Sunday, February 21, 2010

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
9/10

"I've reached 175,000+ on my 430 and it is still a great vehicle. Strong engine with lots of power. If you cannot afford the cost of repairs, I'd stay away from Mercedes. It seems everytime I took it in for anything the line was always "well it is a Mercedes....it won't be cheap" Aside from the costly maintenance the downside seems to be the effectiveness of the heating and cooling system. I prefer a more powerful output and have heard this is common on the ML."

2 people out of 2 found this review helpful

Will Buy This Car Again

By on Wednesday, November 25, 2009

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

"I've owned this vehicle for 6 yrs, with never a problem. I look forward to buying a new one as soon as I sell my current one."

2 people out of 2 found this review helpful

1998 ML320 Transmission

By on Monday, November 2, 2009

10 5.0
overall rating 5 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
5/10
Value
6/10
Reliability
3/10
Quality
6/10
Performance
7/10
Styling
7/10
Comfort
7/10

"The only problem with the 1998 and 1999 ML's is the transmission is junk. If you own one and the transmission hasn't gone out yet, count yourself fortunate because it will go out on you."

2 people out of 2 found this review helpful

ml320

By on Tuesday, September 1, 2009

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

"i love this car . is realy save / the fuel pump need to be beter performance. save my life and my daugther in a car accident is the most safet suv i cut ever had"

2 people out of 2 found this review helpful

Vibrating front End

By on Friday, July 24, 2009

10 4.0
overall rating 4 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
4/10
Value
4/10
Reliability
8/10
Quality
5/10
Performance
6/10
Styling
4/10
Comfort
4/10

"This vehicle fails to live up to expectation. It is a shame that Benz did not pay attention to a lot of detail on this car!"

2 people out of 2 found this review helpful

tough SUV

By on Thursday, February 26, 2009

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
8/10

"lots of power,MB class,i have 70k on it ,brakes and rotors replaced twice.18hwy 14town.no problems"

2 people out of 2 found this review helpful

Okay SUV

By on Sunday, February 8, 2009

10 5.0
overall rating 5 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
5/10
Value
6/10
Reliability
7/10
Quality
7/10
Performance
5/10
Styling
6/10
Comfort
3/10

"I have a 1999 ML 430 with 108,000 miles and it has worked well for me. Very safe vehicle. My wife has been hit several times in it and each time she walked away with no injuries. After each body repair, the car continued to run like new. The only major problem I've ever had was to replace the the power steering pump @ 75,000 miles ($800). Although this car is great for local driving but long trips are very tiresome. It's a bit uncomfortable after a while and you'll feel every bump on a rough road. But please be reminded that it's a SUV."

2 people out of 2 found this review helpful

After 2.5 Years

By on Thursday, February 5, 2009

10 7.0
overall rating 7 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
7/10
Value
7/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
8/10
Performance
8/10
Styling
8/10
Comfort
8/10

"After 2 and 1/2 years, I am still happy that I purchased this car, It has been one of the most reliable cars that I have driven, only been to the shop for maintenance, which when only every 10K miles, is not that bad, except for brakes which can be around 5-700 each front/back, Things loved: Tiptronics(Manual Mode), Bose DSP, Free Roadside, TeleAid, 10 Airbags. Things Missed, Heated Seats, Navigation, ability to roll up the windows from Outside Key Activated Memory Recall. But for someone that needs a car that will get them from Point A to Point B, without worrying about breakdowns, and wants to get something that will stand out while blinding in, this is a safe car to purchase. But to include some of the missed item really consider purchasing the ML500/ML55."

2 people out of 2 found this review helpful

reliable vehicle

By on Tuesday, December 16, 2008

10 8.0
overall rating 8 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
8/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
8/10
Quality
8/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
8/10

"I have owned many vehicles over the years including 9 mercedes benz models. Quality of these vehicles is not quite as good as previous models concerning trim. I have owned an ML55 for close to 5 years and I have had very little problems other than hose failures (some covered under recall). Most consumable parts are relatively inexpensive if you shop around a bit compared to other brands, american or otherwise. I would not hesitate to take this vehicle on a 10000 mile roadtrip and would recommend this model to a friend ( not the first year of MLproduction). Find one that has been maintained properly... it is a bargain over the long term as resale remains strong after the large drop the first couple of years."

2 people out of 2 found this review helpful

Owed this Merc for 4 years

By on Friday, November 14, 2008

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
10/10

"A lot of SUV for the money. You can pick-up a ML430 8 - 10k. Thos engine will be good for 500,000k. There taxi's in Europe (workhorses)"

2 people out of 2 found this review helpful

my mL 500 amg

By on Wednesday, August 27, 2008

10 8.0
overall rating 8 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
8/10
Value
8/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
8/10

"I love my ML, but the ride is very stiff. The ML also does not hold it's resale very well. But it never brakes down. I have owned my ML for the past 2 years and only had to do the standard maintenance. But Maintenance cost are a little pricie."

2 people out of 2 found this review helpful

Best Car I Ever Owned

By on Saturday, August 2, 2008

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

"A school bus recently hit my E420, and I was distraught. I thought I would NEVER find a vehicle as dependable, smooth, comfortable as my E420. Well, I was wrong. I am truly HAPPY with the SUV, and it is a dream to drive. I have driven 3K miles since March without a hitch. The navigation system is complicated, but so what--I don't need to use it. I can read a map--especially with the excellent lighting in the SUV. I am truly blessed to be an owner of this vehicle. I have owned 2 other mercedes: SL and E420--in my opinion, MB is the best vehicle on the planet!! PS: I also had an ACURA Legend, Ford Mustang, '56 Chevy and Montego, Chevy truck, Pontiac Firebird, Villager(LS), DodgeStrattus...(kid's cars) so I KNOW what I am talking about. If I had only purchased Mercedes cars, I would have probably never needed but half the cars I have had."

2 people out of 2 found this review helpful

MOST DEPENDABLE CAR EVER

By on Saturday, July 5, 2008

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

"I have enjoyed this vehicle for over 100K mile and look now to buy another. One of the most comfortable and dependable vehicles ever. Even though it is 8 years old, the general puble still make comments like it is a "shiny new mercedes" It offers many features and maintenance is not as bad as the reputation."

2 people out of 2 found this review helpful

Sort Reviews by: 
Per Page:  5 | 10 | 25
Previous | 1 2 3 ... 16 | Next
Find Deals Near You vehicles for sale matching Mercedes-Benz M-Class near Honolulu. See local deals
Advertisement