Advertisement

Why ads?
Popular at KBB.com
  • 10 Best SUVs Under $25,000
  • 12 Best Family Cars of 2014
  • 10 Best Midsize SUVs
  • 10 Best AWD Cars & SUVs Under $25,000
Go

2005 Mercedes-Benz M-Class

Style:

Consumer Reviews & Ratings

Overall Rating
7.8
Out of 10

Based on 381 Ratings for the 1998 - 2005 models.

Review this car
more rating details
  • Value
    7.8/10
    Quality
    8.1/10
  • Reliability
    8.1/10
    Performance
    8.3/10
  • Comfort
    8.4/10
    Styling
    8.3/10
Sort Reviews by: 
Per Page:  5 | 10 | 25
Previous | 1 2 3 ... 77 | Next

single owner, well maintained, excellent working

By on Monday, May 12, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 58,500

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
8/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "can't say anything bad.Best seats for long drive"

Cons: "takes premium gas less than 20 miles /gal"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 9

"Drove only in summer months. We were in Florida in winter months car was stored in the garage..Every thing is working Ie: air conditioning, CD player, gps ,heated car seats etc"

2 people out of 5 found this review helpful

$th ML and the best one

By on Saturday, March 01, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 96,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
9/10

Pros: "Blast of a rig"

Cons: "very stiff suspension"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 9

"This is my 4th ML and 3rd ML55 AMG. I ordered a new ML550 for 2008 and then found my current 2003 ML55 with only 9,800 miles. After driving the 2008 which was more quiet and smooth, it just didn't have the character that the 55 has. And with 2003 being the last year with only 170 built, I decided to keep the 2003. You take care of these cars and they last forever. Only real "fixes" needed were the gas level & pump (typical), leaking power steering reservoir and that's about it. The 9 ratings are really only in comparison to newer cars, which is really a testament to how well these do handle. They are brutes and real sleepers!!"

6 people out of 7 found this review helpful

Should of never purchased this vehicle

By on Wednesday, February 12, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 103,000

10 2.0
overall rating 2 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
2/10
Value
3/10
Reliability
4/10
Quality
2/10
Performance
2/10
Styling
4/10
Comfort
1/10

Pros: "Great acceleration and really fast"

Cons: "Rough ride Hard seats Poor quality Repairs $$$$$$$"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 1

"I ordered this ML500 new at San francisco Mercedes. Paid $70,000.00 for this SUV. What a mistake that was. It has been nothing but trouble with oil leaks, transmission leak, head light washer mechanism broke, water pump went out at 70,000 miles. Drivers side power window track went out, plastic sides of both front seats cracked and broke. Tires are odd sized and you can only get Michelins or Dunlops. Vehicle rides really stiff and the seats are very uncomfortable on long trips. I'll never own a Mercedes again. I had way better experience and comfort with my 2000 Chevrolet."

10 people out of 13 found this review helpful

I didn't expect this - best car ever!

By on Wednesday, February 05, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 140,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
9/10

Pros: "Great price; great intro to Mercedes engineering"

Cons: "Gas filter causes car to start slowly"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"I love this car. I have driven Fords & Lincoln's for 30 years, always leasing new vehicles. Obviously I liked them but I never loved them, and tired of the cost of leasing and the bureaucracy of Ford Credit. So, after much deliberation I bought the 2004 ML 350 in December 2010. I also bought a $100 deductible warranty. I compared the combined cost, after factoring in the not so great mileage and the added cost of premium gas and concluded that the buy was worth the risk associated with a used car. In the 3 years since I bought it, I have driven it over 60,000 miles without any major repairs. My initial warranty was two years / 24,000 miles. When I approached the mileage limit, I bought a new warranty that is assumable and covers it for another 100,000 miles, up to 205,000 miles. In more than three years of relatively high mileage driving, I have had warranty claims of less than 1/2 the cost of the warranties. That notwithstanding, peace of mind..."

10 people out of 10 found this review helpful

80000 very happy, totally trouble free miles

By on Wednesday, January 29, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 80,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
9/10

Pros: "Like a true blue friend - super reliable, 22 mpg"

Cons: "a few design kinks, a bit under powered"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"repairs over the 11 years - 80000 miles >>> electronic circuit board replaced $ 900.00 (MB dealer $ 1200 !) >>> one rear corner lucite/plexiglass window panel got loose my cost $ 8.00 for special cement, MB dealer's quote $ 1100.00 !!!) >>> sliding roof hinge (MB dealer 250.00) I never replaced it >>> sticking gas pedal. My car guy fixed it for free what the MB dealer couldn't.?!? Very capable long distance runner, a bit underpowered in city traffic, otherwise just a very, very nice car, loved it for 11 years, just traded it in for a M-320 BlueTec. Lesson learned above, - find yourself a honest reliable Benz Mechanic (not easy) and live happily ever after."

6 people out of 7 found this review helpful

Sort Reviews by: 
Per Page:  5 | 10 | 25
Previous | 1 2 3 ... 77 | Next
Find Deals Near You vehicles for sale matching Mercedes-Benz M-Class near Honolulu. See local deals