Advertisement

Why ads?
Popular at KBB.com
  • Midsize SUV Buyer's Guide
  • 15 Best Family Cars of 2015
  • Compact SUV Buyer's Guide
  • 10 Most Fuel-Efficient SUVs
Go

2004 Mercedes-Benz M-Class

Style:

Consumer Reviews & Ratings

Overall Rating
7.8
Out of 10

Based on 385 Ratings for the 1998 - 2005 models.

Review this car
more rating details
  • Value
    7.8/10
    Quality
    8.1/10
  • Reliability
    8.1/10
    Performance
    8.4/10
  • Comfort
    8.4/10
    Styling
    8.4/10
Sort Reviews by: 
Per Page:  5 | 10 | 25
Previous | 1 2 3 ... 39 | Next

ML500 Black w/ Black Leather

By on Tuesday, March 10, 2015

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 66,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Great reliable , good looking and comfortable"

Cons: "Gas mileage not great @ 16mpg --8 cyclinder--"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"Great vehicle that i bought about 15 months ago. Brand new tires, updated transmission box to standard (required at 60k miles) Great condition--rides beautiful---I have three Mercedes and believe in the quality of the product. Selling only due to having too many vehicles. ALL SERVICE UP TO DATE BY DEALER!"

5 people out of 6 found this review helpful

Nice SUV

By on Tuesday, February 10, 2015

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 80,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Fun to drive and feels safe"

Cons: "Tires do not last long on this heavy vehicle"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"I have the 2005 Special Edition first MB. Wife drives it and still looks and drives well after 10 years. Planning to drive it another 5 years and passing it on to the kids since it is a very safe vehicle. Still like the truck like feel but planning on buying the 2020 ML350, unibody frame. I had to change the tires after every 22K miles but great wheels. Keep up with the maintenance and this vehicle will go another 10+ years. Other luxury SUV may be better but we are comfortable with Mercedes Benz."

5 people out of 7 found this review helpful

Safe Ride for Kids/Teens

By on Tuesday, February 03, 2015

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 133,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
8/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
8/10
Styling
8/10
Comfort
9/10

Pros: "Big Easy to handle Heavy car. Good for snow/hills"

Cons: "Expensive"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"Thisis a FABULOUS car to pass on to your teen or young adult driver. Very sturdy and safe. Drives slow and steady."

7 people out of 10 found this review helpful

Easy to drive. Lots of options. Great car!

By on Monday, December 29, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 160,000

10 7.0
overall rating 7 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
7/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
9/10

Pros: "Easy to drive and park in town. Beautiful interior"

Cons: "Wear and tear of 1998 vehicle"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 5

"Leather, heated seats. Leather steering wheel, gear shift, burled walnut interior. Sunroof. Bose radio and 6-CD changer. Top of the line Michelin tires. Battery one week old."

7 people out of 16 found this review helpful

Safe reliable seven passenger SUV. Good Towing!

By on Sunday, December 14, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 196,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
8/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
9/10

Pros: "reliable, Great towing, good traction control."

Cons: "Trim, AC poor, heated seats marginal."

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 9

"We purchased the ML 320 new in 2000 and have driven it 196000 miles. It has been very reliable and a pleasure to drive. Great traction control for snow and mud. Low range 4 wheel drive is a plus. Good towing capacity, a real workhorse! Top scores on the mechanical. Negatives; Poor AC and marginal heated seats. trip and accessories not as high quality as the rest."

13 people out of 17 found this review helpful

Great suv well worth the money

By on Thursday, November 06, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 89,900

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
8/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
8/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
9/10

Pros: "Good tight handling and good gas mileage"

Cons: "Repairs and parts expensive"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 9

"I wish I could afford to buy another mercedes"

3 people out of 8 found this review helpful

Love my ML430

By on Wednesday, November 05, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 248,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
8/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
8/10
Comfort
9/10

Pros: "Fun to Drive, Reliable, Plenty of Power, and Roomy"

Cons: "Gas Gas Gas (14/19) when everyone else is above 20"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"I purchased my car used back in 2006 and it has been nothing but excellent over the last 8 going on 9 years. When I purchased the vehicle, it had about 80k miles. This car has never let me down and maintenance isn't as bad as everyone thinks. It now has a couple of issues here and there but the car is 15 years old with almost 250k. Spent 7 years in Ohio with the car and it has never left me stuck in snow nor stranded on the side of the road. The power it has is great. Good pulling torque and great power for passing and highway driving. Gas mileage isn't the best but that is what you can expect with an AWD 4.3L V8 engine in a heavy SUV. I would highly recommend this car to anyone (ML430) but I cannot speak on the other ML models."

7 people out of 9 found this review helpful

The funnest and most loved vehicle I have owned!

By on Friday, October 24, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 94,584

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
5/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
9/10

Pros: "Fun to drive, Safe, Reliable, Beautiful design."

Cons: "Gas hog, tires are expensive and wear out quick."

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"I bought this truck used in 2008. She is lovingly named "Honey Benz." I bought a Toyota Rav 4 for the new factor, but have been putting everyone through it for a week as I get passed my emotional withdrawels from my ML500. At this point, I don't think I will ever get the ML out of my system! In my opinion, the ML500 is the only vehicle I would consider purchasing from Mercedes. If I could justify the payment and cost to run another, I would have been at Mercedes Benz instead of Toyota. They are tanks. Because of this, I was at the pump more. But, they give you a confidence on the freeway nowadays with all of the huge trucks out there, without being the size that is overwhelming to drive. This is truly an awesome truck and I will miss her. The buyer is picking her up tonight. :("

13 people out of 18 found this review helpful

Reluctant but wife will kill me if I don't sell.

By on Monday, October 13, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 228,000

10 7.0
overall rating 7 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
7/10
Value
3/10
Reliability
7/10
Quality
7/10
Performance
5/10
Styling
6/10
Comfort
8/10

Pros: "roof"

Cons: "began to feel a little unstable about 5 years ago."

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 7

Photo does not show the color well. Dark Blue.

"Purchased this car in 2000 and am a second owner. The kids loved this car while growing up as the roof goes all the way back --- One of the reasons I still have it. I had her fixed the right way every time she needed it. A number of small things that I no longer want to spend the money on. Tires are not as good as I would like. I do not feel confident with her on the road any longer as I now prefer much newer cars with low milage. Mercedes cars are expensive to fix! Check out what they cost to fix before you inquire as you may change your mind once you realize this. I had my kids using it for college as she is a TANK! If ever in an accident, I knew they would probably not be hurt. That said, low milage. 17 mpg but I have a heavy foot. Wife got much higher. I had the rear bumper completely rebuilt after an accident pushed it in a bit. I then backed up and broke the plastic cover over the bumper. I LOVE this car!!! Serious separation anxiety."

4 people out of 6 found this review helpful

Photo does not show the color well. Dark Blue.

i loved this car never had any major problems with

By on Monday, October 06, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 200,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
6/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
8/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "they dont make this model anymore"

Cons: "they changed the body type mine was the last batch"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 2

"with it ever i have traveled round the world driving this car now it is considered old i love it. so why fix something that is not broken i can always maintain what i have."

3 people out of 5 found this review helpful

Sort Reviews by: 
Per Page:  5 | 10 | 25
Previous | 1 2 3 ... 39 | Next
Find Deals Near You vehicles for sale matching Mercedes-Benz M-Class near Honolulu. See local deals