Advertisement

Why ads?
Popular at KBB.com
  • 10 Best SUVs Under $25,000
  • 10 Best Midsize SUVs
  • 10 Best AWD Cars & SUVs Under $25,000
  • 2014 Compact SUV Buyer's Guide
Go

2002 Mercedes-Benz M-Class

Style:

Consumer Reviews & Ratings

Overall Rating
7.7
Out of 10

Based on 373 Ratings for the 1998 - 2005 models.

Review this car
more rating details
  • Value
    7.8/10
    Quality
    8.1/10
  • Reliability
    8.1/10
    Performance
    8.3/10
  • Comfort
    8.4/10
    Styling
    8.3/10
Sort Reviews by: 
Per Page:  5 | 10 | 25
Previous | 1 2 3 ... 15 | Next

Kept it for 12 years - best car I've owned.

By on Saturday, March 24, 2012

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 85,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
8/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
9/10

Pros: "A comfortable work horse."

Cons: "Air conditioning went out after 11 years."

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 9

"This is the longest I've ever owned a vehicle. Drove it from San Francisco to Alaska"

6 people out of 7 found this review helpful

This car last forever

By on Friday, March 23, 2012

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 250,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
9/10

Pros: "You will get money out this car"

Cons: "Oil consomssion"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"I haven't had any problem with this car in 12 yrs all the org parts with over 250k miles. I will buy another ML"

13 people out of 13 found this review helpful

Frequent expensive repairs

By on Wednesday, March 21, 2012

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 167,000

10 5.0
overall rating 5 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
5/10
Value
4/10
Reliability
6/10
Quality
6/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
6/10
Comfort
9/10

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 1

"Mercedes Benz seems to have put the ML320 together with a bunch of ideas that didn't quite have the bugs worked out. Funky things large and small routinely go wrong, and fixing them is super expensive. Brakes, for example, are out of sight. The rear cross member on ours has all but rusted off, which is a problem because that's what the trailer hitch is bolted to. And you can't get it aligned without a $$dealer$$, who, of course, has proprietary part$ and machine$, and, in my case, is 90 minutes away. When it's working, it's a great car- drives and handles great-lots of power and lots of interior space. It sports some ingenious seat stowage. The AWD is nice. The driver ergonomics are well-done. I'd be much more inclined to get another one if it wasn't so expensive to keep in good repair."

6 people out of 6 found this review helpful

comfort, handling and safety

By on Tuesday, February 21, 2012

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 101,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "safety, handling and comfort."

Cons: "gas milage"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"wonderful car. Drives so fantastic in the snow and ice. I have been off road, best ride every. really beautiful car"

9 people out of 10 found this review helpful

A wonderful car, but repairs if needed are $$.

By on Sunday, February 12, 2012

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 155

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
6/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: ""Expensive, but reliable, safe,"

Cons: "Dealers need to decrease repair cost!!!!!"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"This issue may be my only deterrent from purchasing another Mercedes Bens, which is the car, that l truly happy to own!"

3 people out of 3 found this review helpful

Best SUV

By on Saturday, February 11, 2012

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 201,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
8/10
Comfort
9/10

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"In 6 years has never left me stuck or stranded. I have the best mechanic, but have never had an issue. I will drive this anywhere."

3 people out of 4 found this review helpful

best and practical car ever

By on Saturday, February 11, 2012

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 140,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "reliability, performance, style, comfort"

Cons: "none"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"140,000 miles withot any major repair other than brakes, fluids changes and maintenances requirements, with long trips around the country including Canada. Extremely reliable, lot of power and traction, great performance, very safe/secure, all amenities,comfort and requirements for long winter or summers trips."

4 people out of 4 found this review helpful

Best vehicle ever, I want a new one!

By on Saturday, February 04, 2012

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 183,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Excellent"

Cons: "It's not a 500SL"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"Drives like a sedan, quick, responsive, comfortable, stylish, beautiful vehicle."

2 people out of 2 found this review helpful

GOOD CAR BUT A FEW PROBLEMS

By on Friday, January 27, 2012

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 131,000

10 6.0
overall rating 6 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
6/10
Value
6/10
Reliability
8/10
Quality
6/10
Performance
6/10
Styling
6/10
Comfort
8/10

Pros: "GOOD IN SNOW, COMFORTABLE FOR LONG TRIPS"

Cons: "RUST, POOR GAS MILEAGE"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 8

"I HAVE OWNED THIS CAR SINCE 2008 AND BOUGHT IT WITH 80,000 MILES ON IT. I HAVE REPAIRED A FEW THINGS LIKE 2 OXYGEN SENSORS AND REPLACED THE BRAKE PEDAL SWITCH TWICE, BUT OVERALL WITH RELIABILITY I HAVE NOT HAD ANY PROBLEMS. IT IS A GREAT CAR. AT AROUND 100,000 MILES, RUST STARTED SHOWING UP BY THE WHEELS. IT IS AWD, SO IT DOES WASTE MORE GAS. I AM GETTING ABOUT 14 CITY AND 19-20 HWY. IT IS A 13 YEAR OLD CAR, SO THINK ABOUT THAT. IT IS GREAT IN THE SNOW, NEVER GOT STUCK ANYWHERE. GREAT PERFORMANCE FOR A 3.2 LITER. TREAT THE CAR WITH FULLY SYNTHETIC OIL AND PREMIUM GAS, WHICH I ALWAYS HAVE. AND THIS CAR WILL LAST YOU A LONG TIME. I HAVE TO CHANGE SOME TIE ROD ENDS RIGHT NOW, BUT I MEAN THE CAR HAS 130,000 MILES AND THEY ARE ORIGINAL."

5 people out of 5 found this review helpful

Goes Through Anything

By on Thursday, January 19, 2012

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 116,630

10 8.0
overall rating 8 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
8/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
8/10
Styling
7/10
Comfort
7/10

Pros: "Decent gas mileage, goes through snow like a dream"

Cons: "No cup holders"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"I bought this car, not because I wanted a fancy brand name but because I wanted an SUV and thanks to the Cash For Clunkers program, there just weren't any good used ones available at the time. Except for Mercedes. I was leery of buying this brand but am so glad that I did. For a 98, it's in remarkable condition which is a testament, I think, to the way it was built. It drives like a dream, is reliable and comfortable."

1 person out of 1 found this review helpful

Love these cars! I have 2 of them over 100K miles

By on Wednesday, January 18, 2012

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 116,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Run for ever and easy to maintain."

Cons: "Wish it had a third row seating option"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

Love this car!

"Great cars that are simple to maintain. The ML350 engine is strong and the AWD is amazing in bad weather. Never been stranded! They are comfy and family friendly with air bags around the whole car making them ultra safe!"

3 people out of 3 found this review helpful

Love this car!

looks beautiful

By on Monday, January 16, 2012

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 75,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"Driver"

Love this car. Great capacity/mileage/comfort.

By on Saturday, January 07, 2012

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 135,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
6/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Cons: "Cup holders are awkward. Repairs expensive."

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"This is my second ML320. I love it. It's alot of car, but I need it to haul a trailer on a regular basis and it does this, keeping very close to its 20 mpg I get on our winding roads (not alot of superhighway on a regular basis). It becomes my family car and is very comfortable and reliable (esp. in the snow)."

1 person out of 1 found this review helpful

Best car I have ever owned.

By on Saturday, January 07, 2012

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 120,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Reliable, beautiful."

Cons: "Gas mileage"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"I love this car. I am the only owner and will probably drive it until it won't drive any more."

Love it

By on Friday, January 06, 2012

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 150,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Large interior, very practical and luxurious"

Cons: "It' s getting old"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"This the best car I have ever owned. I have no interest in getting a new car unless I can get another M class. I still think it will go another 50 k! It is extremly versatile. It is luxury and durability in one. I can't tell you what I have hauled in this car."

1 person out of 1 found this review helpful

Best vehicle I have ever owned

By on Tuesday, January 03, 2012

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 200,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Cons: "gas mileage 18 to 24"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"Like mercedes, love cadillac --- so very much want to always have an ML in my stable."

WOW! 300000 Miles and Still Powering that V8!

By on Saturday, December 31, 2011

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 300,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Fun To Drive! Power. And Comfortability and Design"

Cons: "Absolutely Nothing!"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"This is still a Great Looking Car. Reliability was great until around 275000 Miles. But Planning on getting a 2012 ML550 because of what a great car this has been. Very comfortable!"

2 people out of 2 found this review helpful

upgraded from ml320 to ml55

By on Wednesday, November 30, 2011

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 100,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
9/10

Pros: "sharp look, fast, safe"

Cons: "the 5.5L engine takes a lot of gas (go figure)"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"the ml is simply an amazing vehicle. i can not get a similarly performing vehicle with such a sexy design for this price. having said that if you can not perform basic maintenance yourself you are in for a pricey surprise bringing it to the dealer...."

6 people out of 7 found this review helpful

I love this car.

By on Saturday, November 26, 2011

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 150,000

10 8.0
overall rating 8 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
8/10
Value
8/10
Reliability
8/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
9/10

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"This is the nicest car I ever owned. It is a dream to drive and is super reliable; and it never gets stuck in snow...I can plow through just about anything. I just wish it got better gas mileage."

2 people out of 2 found this review helpful

Best vehicle ever!

By on Wednesday, November 23, 2011

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 150,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"It is beautiful, comfortable, reliable and safe! I wish I didn't have to sell it. It will be greatly missed. When I buy a new vehicle again, it will definitely be Mercedes-Benz M class."

2 people out of 2 found this review helpful

Great car....still runs and performs with 125K

By on Thursday, November 17, 2011

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 127,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
9/10

Pros: "stylish, reliable"

Cons: "could be batter on gas"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"Great car at the present market value....built to run forever...still looks like new....like all SUVs, it could be a lot better with MPG"

5 people out of 6 found this review helpful

Good car just expensive to maintain and fix!

By on Wednesday, November 16, 2011

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 156,000

10 7.0
overall rating 7 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
7/10
Value
8/10
Reliability
8/10
Quality
8/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
8/10
Comfort
9/10

Pros: "Good price, great looks, comfort"

Cons: "gas mileage, costly repairs"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"I am the second owner of the vehicle and it has only left me stranded twice in four years, and those were not because the engine stopped. One was from a broken coolant tank causing overheating and the other was a powersteering pully. Other things that have been wrong with the vehicle have been mostly regular maintenance items except for the drive shaft problem that was just fixed in the last two weeks. This car is driven quite a bit and I was told that this was a major problem for this vehicle because of the power it has and not having a single way drive shaft. Mercedes decided to put a dual drive shaft in with a converter box that does not handle the power of the 268hp engine. If you want a not so expensive mercedes that looks great this is the car for you as long as you know that there will be some money spent on the repairs."

7 people out of 7 found this review helpful

good car for family

By on Sunday, November 13, 2011

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 110,000

10 5.0
overall rating 5 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
5/10
Value
6/10
Reliability
7/10
Quality
7/10
Performance
6/10
Styling
7/10
Comfort
6/10

Pros: "reliable,easy to handle, original paint"

Cons: "gas mileage, shallow cup holders"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"good car, reliable"

1st SUV that handles like a sports car

By on Friday, November 11, 2011

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 60,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"1st SUV that handles like a sports car"

reliable and safe

By on Friday, November 11, 2011

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 107,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "fun to drive, my wife loves it.."

Cons: "gas guzzler"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"good reliable and safe car specially in winter time. powerful engine"

Sort Reviews by: 
Per Page:  5 | 10 | 25
Previous | 1 2 3 ... 15 | Next
Find Deals Near You vehicles for sale matching Mercedes-Benz M-Class near Honolulu. See local deals