Advertisement

Why ads?
Popular at KBB.com
  • 10 Best SUVs Under $25,000
  • 10 Best Midsize SUVs
  • 10 Best AWD Cars & SUVs Under $25,000
  • Compact SUV Buyer's Guide
Go

2002 Mercedes-Benz M-Class

Style:

Consumer Reviews & Ratings

Overall Rating
7.8
Out of 10

Based on 381 Ratings for the 1998 - 2005 models.

Review this car
more rating details
  • Value
    7.8/10
    Quality
    8.1/10
  • Reliability
    8.1/10
    Performance
    8.3/10
  • Comfort
    8.4/10
    Styling
    8.3/10
Sort Reviews by: 
Per Page:  5 | 10 | 25
Previous | 1 2 3 ... 16 | Next

One of poorest engineered vehicles in relibility

By on Tuesday, July 02, 2013

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 162,000

10 2.0
overall rating 2 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
2/10
Value
3/10
Reliability
1/10
Quality
2/10
Performance
6/10
Styling
4/10
Comfort
7/10

Pros: "comfortable and handles well"

Cons: "electronic nightmare and very expensive to fix."

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 1

"2000 Ml320 is the a real disappointment. this in terms of safety and in upkeep. Constant failure of electronics, door locks, rear lift gate lock etc and etc. Have owned varies other MB series. All very long lived. Very reliable. Not this class and can't wait to get rid of once my mechanic is done with present fixes."

1 person out of 2 found this review helpful

My third ML...

By on Thursday, April 18, 2013

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 159,600

10 7.0
overall rating 7 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
7/10
Value
6/10
Reliability
5/10
Quality
5/10
Performance
6/10
Styling
7/10
Comfort
9/10

Pros: "Comfortable, safe and good-looking"

Cons: "Brake switches, window switches, CD changer"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 5

Nice-looking ML320, but the flaws are too many to mention at one sitting.

"I'm sure you have heard of the phrase "nothing runs like a (John) Deere when it runs..." Well, that's how I feel about my 2000 ML320. Very comfortable vehicle; very utilitarian, and my dogs love the freedom of having the entire rear seat area to themselves! Still, I purchased the vehicle (now my third ML) with 99,900 miles and ever since I seem to sink about $500 to $1,500 in repair bills into this beast each year, now my 4th. Some of it, like brakes and batteries I can understand. However, the never-ending brake switch issues and window switch problems drive me nuts! They're both good for about a year before you're heading back to the mechanic for new ones. They're either poorly designed or simply cheap parts ... probably both. It's imperative that you find a mechanic who isn't employed by a Mercedes-Benz dealership if you're going to own the vehicle beyond its warranty period. The repair bills are real and they will give pause to why anyone would own such an SUV. But, as I noted in the outset of this review, when my ML320 runs, I truly enjoy driving it. My bank account, however, would beg to differ."

9 people out of 9 found this review helpful

Nice-looking ML320, but the flaws are too many to mention at one sitting.

Built like a tank

By on Tuesday, April 16, 2013

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 112,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Build quality, reliability, power, ride comfort"

Cons: "Dealer service backup and costs."

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"ML500. This is one of the best cars I have owned. Solidly built. Excellent reliability and performance. I have owned it for almost 6 years and has been my workhorse. I wish all cars were built like this."

3 people out of 3 found this review helpful

Runs better than when purchased.

By on Saturday, November 10, 2012

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 165,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Drive to Maine from Florida each year, great ride"

Cons: "CD player location"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"I have never used anything but synthetic oil. I get 23-25 MPG. No oil consumption between 7,000 mile oil changes. 18 mpg around town. There is definitly an advantage to using 93 octane fuel. Only fault I have, is I wish the CD player could hold more than 6 discs or the player was more accessable. Only major repair happened a few weeks ago, that was a water pump."

20 people out of 21 found this review helpful

A long lasting vehicle

By on Saturday, October 13, 2012

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 230,000

10 6.0
overall rating 6 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
6/10
Value
8/10
Reliability
7/10
Quality
8/10
Performance
7/10
Styling
7/10
Comfort
7/10

Pros: "Good off road. Good on road. Sunrood does'nt leak."

Cons: "Brakes, AC, window switches, door locks."

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 3

"Where do I start? I got this car used from my mom who then purchased a ML350. I tried to get her to buy a Lexus RX350, which by all accounts is a more reliable car. But she sticks to her Mercedes regardless of information. While she owned what is now my ML320, every flaw that this car is known for came to pass. And, as has been the case with many other ML owners, the dealerships did not back up the part failures. Many people have sued their dealerships and MB for this reason (check out the blogs). Right from the outset, the fuel gauge sending unit did not work properly. The dealership was able to talk her out of getting this repaired as it is so expensive to do. So I inherited that problem. All 4 brake rotors had to be replaced along with pads before 25K miles. I understand this is usually the case as the rotors are very soft. Then the whole ac system had to be replaced before 40K miles. Another common problem. Then the door locks. Then some electronic fuel device failed leaving her stranded. Then she sold the car to me cheap at about 125000 miles. She got a ML350 and has already replaced the entire ac system and the brake rotors, all before 25K miles. Since I have owned the car the door locks have failed, the window switches have failed (front and rear). Mercedes should give away the window switches due to common failures, but they try to even get out of warranty service. I now have 230,000 miles on the car. I used it to commute 80 miles a day. Runs perfectly. Many cars would be worn out at this point. No rattles or squeaks. Motor very strong. I no longer off-road it because there is a loud clunk in the transfer case upon hard acceleration. It could be the beginning of the end, as I will not repair it. WE usually get about 300K out of our MBs. Mom has had several expensive issues with her ML350 such as worn out wheel bearings, AC, breaks. Needless to say, I think the ML series is one of the worst products MB ever made. My dad was a collector of MB, so I have seen more than my share, most of them being very long lasting and well built cars. MB missed the boat with this SUV, and sent them out to market in a hurry without outfitting them with quality parts."

32 people out of 35 found this review helpful

After 11 years 183000 Miles, excellent. I love it!

By on Tuesday, October 02, 2012

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 183,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
8/10

Pros: "Powerful, mechanically reliable, spacious, comfy."

Cons: "17 MPG with 5.0 L engine."

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 8

"Other than the high gas consumption of this 5 liter monster, it is still driving and as comfy as new. Very mechanically reliable, and very powerful. I also love the space inside and the 3rd raw seats option. I'll keep it for as long as it runs!"

9 people out of 9 found this review helpful

Loved this car!

By on Saturday, September 08, 2012

I owned and sold this car
Reason: traded on a new one

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
8/10
Comfort
8/10

Pros: "Nothing stops this car; rain, snow or off roading"

Cons: "Didn't have the options of the new ones."

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"This car was what I expected a Mercedes to be; quiet, incredible in snow, mechanically reliable, luxurious, easy to clean carpet - just wipe it out the door with a microfibre cloth. The only issues we had were a dead battery and dead regulator. The service was incredible with free service to 40,000 miles - covered everything from wipers to oil and filters. This car made me feel special every time I got into it."

9 people out of 10 found this review helpful

Best and Safest Car I've ever owned!!

By on Sunday, April 22, 2012

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 94,366

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "safe, reliable, lots of perks"

Cons: "takes premium gas only"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"I was most impressed with my car when taking it in for a tune up the German mechanic was raving about how great and safe the car was. This only made me that much more proud about my car. I also found out that despite what I thought my car with normal tune ups can run FOREVER!! I later found out that a lot of ML320 owners have well over 200,000 miles on their car. I love the room, how safe I feel while driving my kids, and the classiness this car brings!"

22 people out of 22 found this review helpful

Kept it for 12 years - best car I've owned.

By on Saturday, March 24, 2012

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 85,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
8/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
9/10

Pros: "A comfortable work horse."

Cons: "Air conditioning went out after 11 years."

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 9

"This is the longest I've ever owned a vehicle. Drove it from San Francisco to Alaska"

6 people out of 7 found this review helpful

This car last forever

By on Friday, March 23, 2012

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 250,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
9/10

Pros: "You will get money out this car"

Cons: "Oil consomssion"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"I haven't had any problem with this car in 12 yrs all the org parts with over 250k miles. I will buy another ML"

14 people out of 14 found this review helpful

Frequent expensive repairs

By on Wednesday, March 21, 2012

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 167,000

10 5.0
overall rating 5 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
5/10
Value
4/10
Reliability
6/10
Quality
6/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
6/10
Comfort
9/10

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 1

"Mercedes Benz seems to have put the ML320 together with a bunch of ideas that didn't quite have the bugs worked out. Funky things large and small routinely go wrong, and fixing them is super expensive. Brakes, for example, are out of sight. The rear cross member on ours has all but rusted off, which is a problem because that's what the trailer hitch is bolted to. And you can't get it aligned without a $$dealer$$, who, of course, has proprietary part$ and machine$, and, in my case, is 90 minutes away. When it's working, it's a great car- drives and handles great-lots of power and lots of interior space. It sports some ingenious seat stowage. The AWD is nice. The driver ergonomics are well-done. I'd be much more inclined to get another one if it wasn't so expensive to keep in good repair."

6 people out of 6 found this review helpful

comfort, handling and safety

By on Tuesday, February 21, 2012

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 101,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "safety, handling and comfort."

Cons: "gas milage"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"wonderful car. Drives so fantastic in the snow and ice. I have been off road, best ride every. really beautiful car"

9 people out of 10 found this review helpful

A wonderful car, but repairs if needed are $$.

By on Sunday, February 12, 2012

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 155

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
6/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: ""Expensive, but reliable, safe,"

Cons: "Dealers need to decrease repair cost!!!!!"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"This issue may be my only deterrent from purchasing another Mercedes Bens, which is the car, that l truly happy to own!"

3 people out of 3 found this review helpful

Best SUV

By on Saturday, February 11, 2012

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 201,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
8/10
Comfort
9/10

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"In 6 years has never left me stuck or stranded. I have the best mechanic, but have never had an issue. I will drive this anywhere."

3 people out of 4 found this review helpful

best and practical car ever

By on Saturday, February 11, 2012

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 140,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "reliability, performance, style, comfort"

Cons: "none"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"140,000 miles withot any major repair other than brakes, fluids changes and maintenances requirements, with long trips around the country including Canada. Extremely reliable, lot of power and traction, great performance, very safe/secure, all amenities,comfort and requirements for long winter or summers trips."

4 people out of 4 found this review helpful

Best vehicle ever, I want a new one!

By on Saturday, February 04, 2012

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 183,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Excellent"

Cons: "It's not a 500SL"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"Drives like a sedan, quick, responsive, comfortable, stylish, beautiful vehicle."

2 people out of 2 found this review helpful

GOOD CAR BUT A FEW PROBLEMS

By on Friday, January 27, 2012

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 131,000

10 6.0
overall rating 6 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
6/10
Value
6/10
Reliability
8/10
Quality
6/10
Performance
6/10
Styling
6/10
Comfort
8/10

Pros: "GOOD IN SNOW, COMFORTABLE FOR LONG TRIPS"

Cons: "RUST, POOR GAS MILEAGE"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 8

"I HAVE OWNED THIS CAR SINCE 2008 AND BOUGHT IT WITH 80,000 MILES ON IT. I HAVE REPAIRED A FEW THINGS LIKE 2 OXYGEN SENSORS AND REPLACED THE BRAKE PEDAL SWITCH TWICE, BUT OVERALL WITH RELIABILITY I HAVE NOT HAD ANY PROBLEMS. IT IS A GREAT CAR. AT AROUND 100,000 MILES, RUST STARTED SHOWING UP BY THE WHEELS. IT IS AWD, SO IT DOES WASTE MORE GAS. I AM GETTING ABOUT 14 CITY AND 19-20 HWY. IT IS A 13 YEAR OLD CAR, SO THINK ABOUT THAT. IT IS GREAT IN THE SNOW, NEVER GOT STUCK ANYWHERE. GREAT PERFORMANCE FOR A 3.2 LITER. TREAT THE CAR WITH FULLY SYNTHETIC OIL AND PREMIUM GAS, WHICH I ALWAYS HAVE. AND THIS CAR WILL LAST YOU A LONG TIME. I HAVE TO CHANGE SOME TIE ROD ENDS RIGHT NOW, BUT I MEAN THE CAR HAS 130,000 MILES AND THEY ARE ORIGINAL."

5 people out of 5 found this review helpful

Goes Through Anything

By on Thursday, January 19, 2012

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 116,630

10 8.0
overall rating 8 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
8/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
8/10
Styling
7/10
Comfort
7/10

Pros: "Decent gas mileage, goes through snow like a dream"

Cons: "No cup holders"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"I bought this car, not because I wanted a fancy brand name but because I wanted an SUV and thanks to the Cash For Clunkers program, there just weren't any good used ones available at the time. Except for Mercedes. I was leery of buying this brand but am so glad that I did. For a 98, it's in remarkable condition which is a testament, I think, to the way it was built. It drives like a dream, is reliable and comfortable."

1 person out of 1 found this review helpful

Love these cars! I have 2 of them over 100K miles

By on Wednesday, January 18, 2012

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 116,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Run for ever and easy to maintain."

Cons: "Wish it had a third row seating option"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

Love this car!

"Great cars that are simple to maintain. The ML350 engine is strong and the AWD is amazing in bad weather. Never been stranded! They are comfy and family friendly with air bags around the whole car making them ultra safe!"

3 people out of 3 found this review helpful

Love this car!

looks beautiful

By on Monday, January 16, 2012

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 75,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"Driver"

Love this car. Great capacity/mileage/comfort.

By on Saturday, January 07, 2012

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 135,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
6/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Cons: "Cup holders are awkward. Repairs expensive."

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"This is my second ML320. I love it. It's alot of car, but I need it to haul a trailer on a regular basis and it does this, keeping very close to its 20 mpg I get on our winding roads (not alot of superhighway on a regular basis). It becomes my family car and is very comfortable and reliable (esp. in the snow)."

1 person out of 1 found this review helpful

Best car I have ever owned.

By on Saturday, January 07, 2012

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 120,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Reliable, beautiful."

Cons: "Gas mileage"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"I love this car. I am the only owner and will probably drive it until it won't drive any more."

Love it

By on Friday, January 06, 2012

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 150,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Large interior, very practical and luxurious"

Cons: "It' s getting old"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"This the best car I have ever owned. I have no interest in getting a new car unless I can get another M class. I still think it will go another 50 k! It is extremly versatile. It is luxury and durability in one. I can't tell you what I have hauled in this car."

1 person out of 1 found this review helpful

Best vehicle I have ever owned

By on Tuesday, January 03, 2012

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 200,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Cons: "gas mileage 18 to 24"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"Like mercedes, love cadillac --- so very much want to always have an ML in my stable."

WOW! 300000 Miles and Still Powering that V8!

By on Saturday, December 31, 2011

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 300,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Fun To Drive! Power. And Comfortability and Design"

Cons: "Absolutely Nothing!"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"This is still a Great Looking Car. Reliability was great until around 275000 Miles. But Planning on getting a 2012 ML550 because of what a great car this has been. Very comfortable!"

2 people out of 2 found this review helpful

Sort Reviews by: 
Per Page:  5 | 10 | 25
Previous | 1 2 3 ... 16 | Next
Find Deals Near You vehicles for sale matching Mercedes-Benz M-Class near Honolulu. See local deals