Advertisement

Why ads?
Popular at KBB.com
  • 10 Best SUVs Under $25,000
  • 12 Best Family Cars of 2014
  • 10 Best Midsize SUVs
  • 10 Best AWD Cars & SUVs Under $25,000
Go

2002 Mercedes-Benz M-Class

Style:

Consumer Reviews & Ratings

Overall Rating
7.8
Out of 10

Based on 381 Ratings for the 1998 - 2005 models.

Review this car
more rating details
  • Value
    7.8/10
    Quality
    8.1/10
  • Reliability
    8.1/10
    Performance
    8.3/10
  • Comfort
    8.4/10
    Styling
    8.3/10
Sort Reviews by: 
Per Page:  5 | 10 | 25
Previous | 1 2 3 ... 39 | Next

Safe reliable seven passenger SUV. Good Towing!

By on Sunday, December 14, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 196,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
8/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
9/10

Pros: "reliable, Great towing, good traction control."

Cons: "Trim, AC poor, heated seats marginal."

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 9

"We purchased the ML 320 new in 2000 and have driven it 196000 miles. It has been very reliable and a pleasure to drive. Great traction control for snow and mud. Low range 4 wheel drive is a plus. Good towing capacity, a real workhorse! Top scores on the mechanical. Negatives; Poor AC and marginal heated seats. trip and accessories not as high quality as the rest."

3 people out of 6 found this review helpful

Great suv well worth the money

By on Thursday, November 06, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 89,900

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
8/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
8/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
9/10

Pros: "Good tight handling and good gas mileage"

Cons: "Repairs and parts expensive"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 9

"I wish I could afford to buy another mercedes"

2 people out of 5 found this review helpful

Love my ML430

By on Wednesday, November 05, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 248,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
8/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
8/10
Comfort
9/10

Pros: "Fun to Drive, Reliable, Plenty of Power, and Roomy"

Cons: "Gas Gas Gas (14/19) when everyone else is above 20"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"I purchased my car used back in 2006 and it has been nothing but excellent over the last 8 going on 9 years. When I purchased the vehicle, it had about 80k miles. This car has never let me down and maintenance isn't as bad as everyone thinks. It now has a couple of issues here and there but the car is 15 years old with almost 250k. Spent 7 years in Ohio with the car and it has never left me stuck in snow nor stranded on the side of the road. The power it has is great. Good pulling torque and great power for passing and highway driving. Gas mileage isn't the best but that is what you can expect with an AWD 4.3L V8 engine in a heavy SUV. I would highly recommend this car to anyone (ML430) but I cannot speak on the other ML models."

4 people out of 4 found this review helpful

The funnest and most loved vehicle I have owned!

By on Friday, October 24, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 94,584

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
5/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
9/10

Pros: "Fun to drive, Safe, Reliable, Beautiful design."

Cons: "Gas hog, tires are expensive and wear out quick."

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"I bought this truck used in 2008. She is lovingly named "Honey Benz." I bought a Toyota Rav 4 for the new factor, but have been putting everyone through it for a week as I get passed my emotional withdrawels from my ML500. At this point, I don't think I will ever get the ML out of my system! In my opinion, the ML500 is the only vehicle I would consider purchasing from Mercedes. If I could justify the payment and cost to run another, I would have been at Mercedes Benz instead of Toyota. They are tanks. Because of this, I was at the pump more. But, they give you a confidence on the freeway nowadays with all of the huge trucks out there, without being the size that is overwhelming to drive. This is truly an awesome truck and I will miss her. The buyer is picking her up tonight. :("

10 people out of 14 found this review helpful

Reluctant but wife will kill me if I don't sell.

By on Monday, October 13, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 228,000

10 7.0
overall rating 7 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
7/10
Value
3/10
Reliability
7/10
Quality
7/10
Performance
5/10
Styling
6/10
Comfort
8/10

Pros: "roof"

Cons: "began to feel a little unstable about 5 years ago."

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 7

Photo does not show the color well. Dark Blue.

"Purchased this car in 2000 and am a second owner. The kids loved this car while growing up as the roof goes all the way back --- One of the reasons I still have it. I had her fixed the right way every time she needed it. A number of small things that I no longer want to spend the money on. Tires are not as good as I would like. I do not feel confident with her on the road any longer as I now prefer much newer cars with low milage. Mercedes cars are expensive to fix! Check out what they cost to fix before you inquire as you may change your mind once you realize this. I had my kids using it for college as she is a TANK! If ever in an accident, I knew they would probably not be hurt. That said, low milage. 17 mpg but I have a heavy foot. Wife got much higher. I had the rear bumper completely rebuilt after an accident pushed it in a bit. I then backed up and broke the plastic cover over the bumper. I LOVE this car!!! Serious separation anxiety."

2 people out of 4 found this review helpful

Photo does not show the color well. Dark Blue.

i loved this car never had any major problems with

By on Monday, October 06, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 200,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
6/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
8/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "they dont make this model anymore"

Cons: "they changed the body type mine was the last batch"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 2

"with it ever i have traveled round the world driving this car now it is considered old i love it. so why fix something that is not broken i can always maintain what i have."

2 people out of 4 found this review helpful

Best vehicle I've EVER had and I've had many.

By on Monday, September 08, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 125,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
8/10

Pros: "Low maintainance. Lots of features"

Cons: "Trunk door does not close electrically."

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"Have used premium and done all services, brakes, tires, etc. Have had 2 "?major?"problems that were fixed for less than $1200 total. High Maintenance Woman needs to get a new mechanic. My M-B mech. is great. Gave it an 8 bec.the truck chassis ride is a harder suspension. I feel very safe and secure, as I drive alone most of the time. Love this car !"

7 people out of 10 found this review helpful

Best Vehicle ever

By on Thursday, August 21, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 128,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
8/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
8/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
8/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Nice to drive, very lux"

Cons: "Some repairs are costly."

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"This car is beautiful. Has a couple things that need to be fixed, but pretty cheap and easy. I would say about three things need to be fixed. Maybe cost would be $300.00 for all three."

4 people out of 8 found this review helpful

Still Running Strong

By on Friday, July 25, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 318,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Quality, reliability, luxury features,"

Cons: "cupholders are small, drivers seat seam ripped."

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 9

"Our dad bought this vehicle new, then passed it along to us three years ago. It had nearly 300,000 miles on it when we got it. It has never had the transmission or engine replaced and still running strong. There have been minor things to fix, tires, brakes, ignition switch. It could probably run for another 100,000 miles.."

6 people out of 13 found this review helpful

Best car ever

By on Monday, May 12, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 115,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
8/10
Reliability
8/10
Quality
8/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "drives like a dream"

Cons: "to costly to get fixed"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 7

"Great suv"

6 people out of 11 found this review helpful

Sort Reviews by: 
Per Page:  5 | 10 | 25
Previous | 1 2 3 ... 39 | Next
Find Deals Near You vehicles for sale matching Mercedes-Benz M-Class near Honolulu. See local deals