Advertisement

Why ads?
Popular at KBB.com
  • Midsize SUV Buyer's Guide
  • 10 Most Fuel-Efficient SUVs
  • Compact SUV Buyer's Guide
  • 15 Best Family Cars of 2015
Go

2001 Mercedes-Benz M-Class

Style:

Consumer Reviews & Ratings

Overall Rating
7.8
Out of 10

Based on 385 Ratings for the 1998 - 2005 models.

Review this car
more rating details
  • Value
    7.8/10
    Quality
    8.1/10
  • Reliability
    8.1/10
    Performance
    8.4/10
  • Comfort
    8.4/10
    Styling
    8.4/10
Sort Reviews by: 
Per Page:  5 | 10 | 25

ML500 Black w/ Black Leather

By on Tuesday, March 10, 2015

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 66,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Great reliable , good looking and comfortable"

Cons: "Gas mileage not great @ 16mpg --8 cyclinder--"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"Great vehicle that i bought about 15 months ago. Brand new tires, updated transmission box to standard (required at 60k miles) Great condition--rides beautiful---I have three Mercedes and believe in the quality of the product. Selling only due to having too many vehicles. ALL SERVICE UP TO DATE BY DEALER!"

5 people out of 6 found this review helpful

Nice SUV

By on Tuesday, February 10, 2015

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 80,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Fun to drive and feels safe"

Cons: "Tires do not last long on this heavy vehicle"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"I have the 2005 Special Edition first MB. Wife drives it and still looks and drives well after 10 years. Planning to drive it another 5 years and passing it on to the kids since it is a very safe vehicle. Still like the truck like feel but planning on buying the 2020 ML350, unibody frame. I had to change the tires after every 22K miles but great wheels. Keep up with the maintenance and this vehicle will go another 10+ years. Other luxury SUV may be better but we are comfortable with Mercedes Benz."

5 people out of 7 found this review helpful

Safe Ride for Kids/Teens

By on Tuesday, February 03, 2015

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 133,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
8/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
8/10
Styling
8/10
Comfort
9/10

Pros: "Big Easy to handle Heavy car. Good for snow/hills"

Cons: "Expensive"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"Thisis a FABULOUS car to pass on to your teen or young adult driver. Very sturdy and safe. Drives slow and steady."

7 people out of 10 found this review helpful

Easy to drive. Lots of options. Great car!

By on Monday, December 29, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 160,000

10 7.0
overall rating 7 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
7/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
9/10

Pros: "Easy to drive and park in town. Beautiful interior"

Cons: "Wear and tear of 1998 vehicle"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 5

"Leather, heated seats. Leather steering wheel, gear shift, burled walnut interior. Sunroof. Bose radio and 6-CD changer. Top of the line Michelin tires. Battery one week old."

7 people out of 16 found this review helpful

Safe reliable seven passenger SUV. Good Towing!

By on Sunday, December 14, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 196,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
8/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
9/10

Pros: "reliable, Great towing, good traction control."

Cons: "Trim, AC poor, heated seats marginal."

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 9

"We purchased the ML 320 new in 2000 and have driven it 196000 miles. It has been very reliable and a pleasure to drive. Great traction control for snow and mud. Low range 4 wheel drive is a plus. Good towing capacity, a real workhorse! Top scores on the mechanical. Negatives; Poor AC and marginal heated seats. trip and accessories not as high quality as the rest."

13 people out of 17 found this review helpful

Sort Reviews by: 
Per Page:  5 | 10 | 25
Find Deals Near You vehicles for sale matching Mercedes-Benz M-Class near Honolulu. See local deals