Advertisement

Why ads?
Popular at KBB.com
  • 10 Best SUVs Under $25,000
  • 12 Best Family Cars of 2014
  • 10 Best Midsize SUVs
  • 10 Best AWD Cars & SUVs Under $25,000
Go

2000 Mercedes-Benz M-Class

Style:

Consumer Reviews & Ratings

Overall Rating
7.7
Out of 10

Based on 375 Ratings for the 1998 - 2005 models.

Review this car
more rating details
  • Value
    7.9/10
    Quality
    8.1/10
  • Reliability
    8.1/10
    Performance
    8.3/10
  • Comfort
    8.4/10
    Styling
    8.3/10
Sort Reviews by: 
Per Page:  5 | 10 | 25
Previous | 1 2 3 ... 75 | Next

I love this ml350

By on Wednesday, December 18, 2013

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 77,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
3/10
Quality
8/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
9/10

Pros: "great soild car"

Cons: "cost a futune to get the oil changed takes 8.5 qts"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 8

2005 ML350 Mercedes Benz

"have this car for about 16months drives and handles like a charm big enough for everything good long distance ride very comfy. gas well it is okay after all its an SUV with get up n go power! the Bose sound system screams if you want it too! enjoy the sun roof and leather heated seats, but most of all just that great fact the it is a Benz!!"

2005 ML350 Mercedes Benz

It has been a great value and asset for us

By on Sunday, October 06, 2013

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 172,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "True to it's purpose"

Cons: "No cons from my perspective."

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"Special ordered new, it's been reliably serving our needs without failure or disappointment all these years. Comfortable ride, great safety features, vacation drives of 1,300 miles one way and non stop are not difficult at all with it. Also used as a daily work commuter. Still runs and looks like brand new, no breakdowns or failures only maintenance."

11 people out of 11 found this review helpful

Since new cost a bit to be safe

By on Tuesday, October 01, 2013

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 211,267

10 8.0
overall rating 8 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
8/10
Value
8/10
Reliability
7/10
Quality
8/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
6/10
Comfort
8/10

Pros: "Go anywhere safely."

Cons: "GPM Premium gas. Constant expensive service."

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 5

"This car has an amazing safe feeling and has proved itself over and over to be safe and reliable. Poor interior finish! Other than trim falling off, replacing door locks, seats that are in locked down position. Constant & Expensive non drive train services. This car went across country 4 round trips last year with out missing a beat. When it stops running it will be missed."

8 people out of 8 found this review helpful

My third Benz and the best

By on Tuesday, September 24, 2013

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 120,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
Not Rated
Reliability
10/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
9/10

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"Bought this used (it had been a lease)and here I am 6 years later, loving it still. Okay, it is expensive to fix but the comfort and the safety I feel is worth it. No major mechanical problems exccept one recall that I didn't pay for. Driving it in TX in the heat and it runs great. Towed a trailer from OR to TX w/o any problems and is the best car I have ever owned, altho my 1987 300D Turbo, still in the family, is running strong as well. Love, love, love my car. :)"

4 people out of 4 found this review helpful

Good long-term if you can handle the repairs.

By on Saturday, August 24, 2013

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 162,000

10 7.0
overall rating 7 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
7/10
Value
7/10
Reliability
6/10
Quality
7/10
Performance
7/10
Styling
7/10
Comfort
8/10

Pros: "Loads of features, built like a tank, capable."

Cons: "Less than stellar reliability, fuel economy."

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 6

"Bought this slightly used for less than 1/2 the sticker price the year it came out (the former owner actually kept the window sticker!). Knew about the reliability issues, so I purchased a 3/36 extended warranty. Boy, was that a great decision! I paid $1995 for the warranty and had well over $9000 in repairs in that 3 year period. Lots of other stupid issues (the biggest is the Crankshaft Position Sensor failures that are rampant throughout the Mercedes product line). My 1992 Ford Explorer (bought new) was bulletproof over that 20-year period. So I'm still scratching my head over the reliability issues. The Mercedes service adviser said that the ML class has gotten much more reliable in the years that have followed, but I definitely will check to confirm that before I buy another. In terms of value, once the big batch of repairs happened, the car has been fairly reliable. Strange, but true. If a repair item comes up, I just pay the $200 to $600 every year or so since the truck has a solid build and lots of features. Buying the current version of this truck would run over $65,000 (mine has loads of options). I drive it hard, and it has been rewarding. The V8 is thirsty (as you'd expect) and requires premium fuel. It needs at least another 50 horsepower, but it still blows off a lot of new vehicles, and the engine is bulletproof (Mercedes is known for that). The transmission is another item. Had it go around the 90,000 mile mark, and I put in a used one - which has held up since then. Lots of safety features and seating for 7 (I have the optional third row seats). I don't use the third [small] row much now since I am not hauling lots of little kids anymore, but the seats can pop right out of the truck (heavy!), or they can stay in place or pivot toward the left and right sides of the truck to give more room in the cargo area. One other thing. This truck EATS brakes! I buy the OEM rotors and pads myself (you can get even cheaper ones but I don't take chances with brakes) and have a local mechanic install them. A LOT cheaper than the $600-800 per end that the dealers charge. I pay more like $250 per end. If you are handy (or have a handy friend), you can buy the parts online and install them far more cheaply than the dealers. Spread across the 10 years I have had the truck, the repairs are not much given what you otherwise get. If the current models really ARE more reliable, I would advise you to consider them."

9 people out of 11 found this review helpful

Sort Reviews by: 
Per Page:  5 | 10 | 25
Previous | 1 2 3 ... 75 | Next
Find Deals Near You vehicles for sale matching Mercedes-Benz M-Class near Honolulu. See local deals