Advertisement

Why ads?
Popular at KBB.com
  • Midsize SUV Buyer's Guide
  • 10 Most Fuel-Efficient SUVs
  • Compact SUV Buyer's Guide
  • 15 Best Family Cars of 2015
Go

1999 Mercedes-Benz M-Class

Style:

Consumer Reviews & Ratings

Overall Rating
7.8
Out of 10

Based on 385 Ratings for the 1998 - 2005 models.

Review this car
more rating details
  • Value
    7.8/10
    Quality
    8.1/10
  • Reliability
    8.1/10
    Performance
    8.4/10
  • Comfort
    8.4/10
    Styling
    8.4/10
Sort Reviews by: 
Per Page:  5 | 10 | 25
Previous | 1 2 3 ... 77 | Next

Best and Safest Car I've ever owned!!

By on Sunday, April 22, 2012

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 94,366

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "safe, reliable, lots of perks"

Cons: "takes premium gas only"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"I was most impressed with my car when taking it in for a tune up the German mechanic was raving about how great and safe the car was. This only made me that much more proud about my car. I also found out that despite what I thought my car with normal tune ups can run FOREVER!! I later found out that a lot of ML320 owners have well over 200,000 miles on their car. I love the room, how safe I feel while driving my kids, and the classiness this car brings!"

22 people out of 22 found this review helpful

Talk about value

By on Thursday, October 02, 2008

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
9/10

"This is my 2nd ML320. I leased a 2002MY and liked it enough to buy a 1999. I have driven it 60k miles (just under 100k on the odo now) as the 2nd owner and had very few minor repairs. The balance between performance and economy is ideal. I average just under 20mpg regularly. That is much better then the 14-15mpg average I was getting in my 2004 Grand Cherokee 4.0L. The ride is a bit bouncy on rough roads compared to passenger cars, but it is quiet and composed. I have to remind myself that it is not a car and has proper off-road capability with the low-range transfer case. I have even taken it on a couple 4x4 runs with a local club. It tows my pop-up camper well and does great on slick or icy roads. Resale is not the best, but that has made my initial cost an amazing value! Other vehicles in the same price range I have found pale in ability, reliability and quality. Mercedes owners have cirticized the ML for it's materials, but it is a truck. The materials are more rigid and durable. I don't expect it to be as luxurious as my Mercedes coupe. I will buy another ML320 if this one ever wears out. It seems to be happy everywhere; camping, highway, grocery or at a Valet when headed to a classy dinner. I can't speak more highly of this car. I think Mercedes hit a home-run with this one."

20 people out of 20 found this review helpful

High maintenance woman?

By on Friday, June 06, 2008

10 7.0
overall rating 7 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
7/10
Value
7/10
Reliability
8/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
8/10
Comfort
9/10

"You might be wondering why I gave my car lots of stars and then said I would not recommend it. I have been happy with my ML since I bought it new in 2002. It drives beautifully, feels solid on the road, and makes me feel like my family is protected. Although it's on a truck chassis, and drives like a larger vehicle than it actually is, it's still a really, really nice truck. However, as with all Mercedes, maintenance is quite expensive. The car eats tires, brakes and gas. Each visit for service brings up some new issue that needs to be addressed so that it's always a big expense. So while I'm very happy with the car, it takes a certain car mentality to maintain this big baby, and that's why I wouldn't recommend it to a friend unless I know that they are prepared for the commitment."

15 people out of 15 found this review helpful

This car last forever

By on Friday, March 23, 2012

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 250,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
9/10

Pros: "You will get money out this car"

Cons: "Oil consomssion"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"I haven't had any problem with this car in 12 yrs all the org parts with over 250k miles. I will buy another ML"

14 people out of 14 found this review helpful

ML 430 - 2001

By on Thursday, December 04, 2008

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
9/10

"I have read some of the reviews and a few have been unlucky with their MB purchase, sorry. I have experienced problems with many different brands as well (on my 8th car). My MB has been very reliable and I have only changed minor part during normal sevice. The car is build to last and the engine can easily run 250,000+ miles. I really think you will get a lot of value if you buy a used MB +6 years and avoid the high price deduction as for new model."

11 people out of 11 found this review helpful

Sort Reviews by: 
Per Page:  5 | 10 | 25
Previous | 1 2 3 ... 77 | Next
Find Deals Near You vehicles for sale matching Mercedes-Benz M-Class near Honolulu. See local deals