Go

2013 Mercedes-Benz GL-Class

Style:

Consumer Reviews & Ratings

Overall Rating
8.8
Out of 10

Based on 21 Ratings for the 2013 - 2016 models.

Review this car
more rating details
  • Value
    7.9/10
    Quality
    9.4/10
  • Reliability
    9.5/10
    Performance
    9.4/10
  • Comfort
    9.4/10
    Styling
    9.0/10
Sort Reviews by: 
Per Page:  5 | 10 | 25
Previous | 1 2 3 ... 5 | Next

Great vehicle, not so much a great SUV

By on Wednesday, November 26, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 7,000

10 3.0
overall rating 3 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
3/10
Value
5/10
Reliability
7/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
5/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Ride, comfort, features"

Cons: "the Utility portion of Sport Utility Vehicle"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 2

"I had replaced and older SUV with this vehicle. I don't so much fault the vehicle as I fault my assessment for what I need. Storage................when I position the drivers seat for my comfort, I can't collapse the second seat behind the driver. The drivers seat has to be moved forward to collapse the 2nd seat behind drive. Rear access.......I frequently carry a canoe on the roof rack. When the canoe is on the roof, I can't get access to rear storage as the spoiler on top of lift gate inhibits opening. A pop open rear window could solve this but it doesn't exist. Traction.........The AWD is great for varying weather during normal driving. Off road, AWD inhibits control and traction. I've only owned the vehicle for one year, and as nice as it is, I am now looking to replace it to address the deficiencies above. Some simple improvements to this vehicle would make it a functional Sport Utility Vehicle. I've come to call mine an SMV vs. an SUV (Soccer Mom Vehicle)"

22 people out of 35 found this review helpful

The S class of the SUV's

By on Monday, November 4, 2013

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 3,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
7/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Everything"

Cons: "Nav screen too small, 360 Camera not good at night"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"Just traded in my 2011 S550 for my new 2014 GL550, I am much more satisfied in the GL. It has more than enough room in the driver seat for very tall man. Handling, technology, acceleration are amazing, more like a sport car. 7 inch NAV screen in not good enough with today's standard. 360 camera are not good at dark. definitely, if you can afford it, get it"

8 people out of 13 found this review helpful

Great Tow Vehicle

By on Monday, April 6, 2015

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 10,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Great SUV for towing"

Cons: "Extras add up fast!"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"Bought the GL to tow. We tow a 28ft Airstream with this truck and get about 17mpg towing. Torque of 455 beats most light trucks and the lower center of gravity makes towing safe and maneuverable. Of course, getting there is much more comfortable in the GL350 compared to a truck. When driving around town the handling and ride of the GL is wonderful. Great milage and I can't find a SUV that has more than 1CF of cargo capacity. Just a great vehicle so far."

30 people out of 49 found this review helpful

Amazing in Most Aspects but Some Glitches

By on Friday, January 16, 2015

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 1,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
7/10
Reliability
8/10
Quality
8/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Handling, Gizmos"

Cons: "Glitches"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 8

"I had a 2012 GL550 and recently bought a GL63 AMG. Very different from the GL550, in handling, ride and upgrades. GL550 I consider the Luxury version and GL63 the hotrod. It is loaded and still getting use to the Lane Keeping and Pre-Safe features that keep you almost too honest. Unfortunately some glitches have occurred in warning for hood being open (when on highway), keyless door not always responding and seat memory does not always return to settings at start up. Also some instrument cluster navigation annoyances. But it is quite the SUV hotrod. Still not sure if I like it better than GL550 but a heck of lot more money."

23 people out of 44 found this review helpful

Best car I have owned

By on Thursday, August 13, 2015

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 3,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
6/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
8/10
Comfort
9/10

Pros: "Drives wonderfully and luxurious"

Cons: "expensive, wish roof rack came with crossbars"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"Own the gl350 turbo diesel which I am very happy with that choice. the gas mileage is great, the pickup more than adequate. The GL series options are a bit like ordering at nice restaurant where all the sides are "al a carte." The main difference between the 350, 450, and 550 is the engines with only a few additional options included vs being addons. Mine is optioned up and is very nice. The ride is very smooth compared to other large SUVs including the escalade/yukon denali which is nice, but still rides like a truck. I highly recommend the GL series and in particularl the turbo diesel."

12 people out of 24 found this review helpful

Sort Reviews by: 
Per Page:  5 | 10 | 25
Previous | 1 2 3 ... 5 | Next
Find Deals Near You vehicles for sale matching Mercedes-Benz GL-Class near Honolulu. See local deals
Advertisement