Advertisement

Why ads?
Popular at KBB.com
  • 10 Best SUVs Under $25,000
  • 12 Best Family Cars of 2014
  • 10 Best Midsize SUVs
  • 10 Best AWD Cars & SUVs Under $25,000
Go

2002 Mercedes-Benz G-Class

Style:

Consumer Reviews & Ratings

Overall Rating
8.5
Out of 10

Based on 46 Ratings for the 2002 - 2015 models.

Review this car
more rating details
  • Value
    8.5/10
    Quality
    8.7/10
  • Reliability
    8.6/10
    Performance
    8.8/10
  • Comfort
    8.1/10
    Styling
    9.1/10
Sort Reviews by: 
Per Page:  5 | 10 | 25

lots of problems

By on Tuesday, December 16, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 145,000

10 7.0
overall rating 7 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
7/10
Value
4/10
Reliability
4/10
Quality
4/10
Performance
4/10
Styling
4/10
Comfort
3/10

Pros: "I liked driving it, but I like trucks...."

Cons: "to expensive to maintain...."

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 4

leaving for Florida....tears in my eyes...

"So...let's remember this is a truck. Mine was $70,000 when I bought it...I drove it for all these years...and now it is on its way down South for its 'golden years' Over the years I've put MUCHO money into it, which for that price of a car I shouldn't have had to do....The electric locks didn't work on some doors....the windows wouldn't go up and down on some windows...the underside had to be replaced...the windscreen wipers gave out during a rainstorm (not fun)....and inside the dash, when the temp. dropped below 25 degrees or so I was treated to a hum...yes, it sounded like a big bumblebee was in the car. I took it in numerous times but it was never solved...we 'think' it was the cables that got hard when it was cold and some air was rushing through, and it was like a gazoo. Getting in and out was a problem in the winter as the 'running board' is almost not there.(I'm not 76 so it was getting hard) ..so hold on when jumping up. Oh, and the transmission right now is in question....it is going down South, as I said, and my son-in-law wants to buy it....I will have him sign an 'as is' paper :) Soooo, now I'm driving a GLK Mercedes 2015 (which I would say is a women's Mercedes) ...which I do love, but there were tears in my eyes when they came to take my 500 G away..the man who delivered it to my daughter said he felt bad taking it as I was visibly upset..because even if I had all the problems I still loved it, as did my friends."

leaving for Florida....tears in my eyes...

Best Ever

By on Friday, July 25, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 90,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
8/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
8/10

Pros: "go any where, pull the boat, look"

Cons: "paint job"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"This is the 3rd G-wagen I have: 1994, 2004, 2009 G55AMG. Total mileage I had on 1994 - 120000 mi, 2004 - 212000 mi and on 2009 now is about 100000 mi. Only minor problems. This is really one of the most reliable and fun to drive truck."

13 people out of 28 found this review helpful

I've kept my G longer than any other car

By on Thursday, July 03, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 120,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
8/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
8/10
Performance
8/10
Styling
8/10
Comfort
8/10

Pros: "Performance, Style, Fun, Unique, great off-road"

Cons: "price, window regulators fail, ac weak in back"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 9

"I have a 2002 G wagon that I am just now finally going to be allowed to be pried away from me in order to get a newer one. The vehicle is among the most fun and satisfying to drive of any I have ever owned (a dozen plus cars so far) and I have kept it longer. Why? - Go anywhere, anytime any weather confidence in a vehicle that is perfectly acceptable for business meetings as well - Feels different from any other car I've driven, more solid and capable, and decent handling and pickup considering that its a massive SUV weighing over $5K pounds - Overall quality and reliability has been excellent, I have 120K miles on it with nothing more than regular dealer maintenance, no major failures - More capable off road with stock rims and tires than my friend's "built" off road vehicles - Distinct from all the other cookie cutter SUV's out there and UNLIKE a new rover, Escladade or GL is actually a hard-core off road vehicle - one trip on rough road in the others will blow out your poncey air suspension (speaking from experience) CONS - Rear AC is mediocre - looks bigger outside than it is inside but still big enough, I'm a size 3xl - Window regulators are a weak spot and often break, not ok in a $100K car - the G's don't get the state of the art electronics that the S and GL class do - this is stupid on the part of Mercedes HOW TO BUY By a used one (ideally a lease return) from the Benz dealer that qualifies for "certified" status then pay for the extra FACTORY (not aftermarket) warranty that adds up to 3 years and UNLiMITED MILES to the originally warranty, this both saves you 30% on the price of a new one and gets you a perfect car with a better than new car warranty. I'm VERY picky about what I buy and Mercedes has beautiful lease return cars that have been driven gently all the time - the smartest option dollar for dollar on any MB car."

8 people out of 13 found this review helpful

best benz ever made

By on Saturday, February 15, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 35,300

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
8/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
8/10

Pros: "fun to drive especially in the snow"

Cons: "not great cup holders"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"you get a lot of attention with this vehicle"

6 people out of 11 found this review helpful

My favorite vehicle so far

By on Wednesday, October 23, 2013

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 5,500

10 7.0
overall rating 7 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
7/10
Value
6/10
Reliability
8/10
Quality
8/10
Performance
7/10
Styling
8/10
Comfort
6/10

Pros: "Fun to drive, great off road"

Cons: "lack of cup holders, needs more back seat room"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"Great to drive, capable on any surface. I have the factory towing package and it pulls like my F350 when loaded below 7,000lbs. Great sound, great heritage rough but refined."

5 people out of 6 found this review helpful

My 5 th G wagon and the best yet!!!!

By on Sunday, January 06, 2013

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 560

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
9/10

Pros: "Lane change assist, paddle shifters, engine sounds"

Cons: "I cup holder. Dash storage"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"Just a great solid safe dependable ride"

2 people out of 3 found this review helpful

Awesome...

By on Monday, September 03, 2012

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 500

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
8/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
8/10
Comfort
8/10

Pros: "safe, fast, fun to drive"

Cons: "cup holders, keyless go not standard"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"A cut above the rest. in a world where range rover is at every corner the G really stands out. It is a great car for the family and in the city. I feel comfortable knowing my 5 year old is riding in the back of this tank. i have S550 as well. The G is luxorious but not luxory especially if you have an S class Benz."

8 people out of 13 found this review helpful

Love my G500

By on Tuesday, February 21, 2012

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 72,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "This truck is a monster that everyone looks at!"

Cons: "It gets a very robust 9 mpg!"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"I bought my G500 last June. I love it. Maintenance is expensive, and so is the fuel, but if you can afford a G, you shouldn't complain. I will be a loyal G owner only trading up to a silver G55 :)"

10 people out of 13 found this review helpful

Best

By on Tuesday, December 13, 2011

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 31,204

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Reliable!!!!!!!!!!!!"

Cons: "All the way down and driver's seat way too high!!"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"Reliable !!!!!!!!!!!!"

2 people out of 3 found this review helpful

Excellent !!!!!!!!!!!!!!

By on Sunday, November 27, 2011

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 12,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
8/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
9/10

Pros: "Look,power,reliability"

Cons: "Driving seat too high !!!!"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"So far very good truck !!!!"

2 people out of 3 found this review helpful

This truck rules

By on Friday, September 02, 2011

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 85,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "amazing in every way"

Cons: "cant upgrade the stereo to have ipod interface without going 3rd party"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"What more can i say. I own a few other cars and i never want to drive any of them more than i do this truck. Not to mention how well it tore up the 5 ft of snow we had last winter. best vehicle ever."

8 people out of 9 found this review helpful

Worst vehicle ever

By on Monday, May 16, 2011

10 2.0
overall rating 2 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
2/10
Value
1/10
Reliability
1/10
Quality
1/10
Performance
1/10
Styling
7/10
Comfort
6/10

"I had 2 weeks with this G550 and 900 miles,leaking oil!!!!!!!!! took it to the dealership and guess what!!!!!!!!!! This $106,000.00 needs the engine to be replaced!!!!!!!!!!! on a $100k car is unacceptable!!!!!!!!!! I WAS DRIVING A LEXUS AND NEVER HAD A PROBLEM WITH IT!!!! IF FEEL SO BAD FOR LETTING MY LEXUS GO TO GET THIS TRUCK!! BIG !!!!!!!!!!MISTAKE!!!!!!!!!!!!!"

13 people out of 39 found this review helpful

Miss my Lexus!!!!!!!!!!!!

By on Thursday, May 12, 2011

10 5.0
overall rating 5 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
5/10
Value
6/10
Reliability
3/10
Quality
5/10
Performance
8/10
Styling
8/10
Comfort
6/10

"Only 2 weeks and 900 miles with this 2011 GWagon and already is in the dealership for repair!!!!(leaking oil thru some seals).It is not accetable for a $100k plus vehicle .Hopefully it gets better with time,I already miss my Lexus GX460 that never had any problems with it!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!"

3 people out of 13 found this review helpful

My G500

By on Monday, May 02, 2011

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
8/10

"I have a 2004 G500 and i love everything about it. Yes it might seem a little expensive at first to maintain-but all of the part last a long time once you spend the money on it. The car is definitely built to last. I am still very happy with my g500 right now."

5 people out of 6 found this review helpful

By on Thursday, April 21, 2011

10 6.0
overall rating 6 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
6/10
Value
7/10
Reliability
7/10
Quality
7/10
Performance
7/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
7/10

This customer did not provide a text review.

By on Wednesday, January 26, 2011

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
9/10

This customer did not provide a text review.

By on Thursday, January 13, 2011

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

This customer did not provide a text review.

2 people out of 2 found this review helpful

By on Monday, July 12, 2010

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
9/10

This customer did not provide a text review.

By on Tuesday, April 20, 2010

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

This customer did not provide a text review.

Great G500

By on Monday, March 29, 2010

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
9/10

"This truck is the safest, sturdiest, most luxurious vehicle I've been in (that includes many 4 door trucks, hummers, range rovers etc. Built solid. I owned a 1960's era mercedes sports car and this is made with the same quality...no plastic or fiberglass here! I get the feeling this truck will last 40-50 years if maintained. Only downside is it does ride a little rough...but hey, it's a truck!"

4 people out of 5 found this review helpful

G500

By on Monday, January 04, 2010

10 7.0
overall rating 7 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
7/10
Value
8/10
Reliability
7/10
Quality
8/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
8/10
Comfort
7/10

"wonderful vehicle and head turner but the only complaint is that mercedes make a wonderful motor but everything else goes wrong small things malfunction like for example my window motors went out and now i am dealing with a right door modulator,but otherwise its a awesome brute beast"

2 people out of 2 found this review helpful

By on Monday, December 14, 2009

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
9/10

This customer did not provide a text review.

1 person out of 1 found this review helpful

My G-500

By on Tuesday, November 10, 2009

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
6/10

"I bought 04 Mercedes G500 in 2006. It has been a great car on the road and off the road for the power. I would say it is more luxuries and security car rather than convenience and comfortableness. First of all, no one can leave the car unless driver unlocks the car so it is kinda annoying. Before when I bought this car, I was dreamed about this car and planned to buy it for a long time. It didn't disappoint me at all but when I take it to the off road I can hear some raddling nose on the back door. I took it to the dealership for repair and I found out it makes that kind of nose often and other customers also noticed it because extra tire on the back is too heavy for the door and when people take it to the off road it just started making a noise. It didn't cost me allot, they just have to strengthen the back lock but it was annoying for me to go back to dealership for this situation once or twice a month because I take the car off road allot and finally I took off the extra tire on the back and it stopped making a noise but then it looks so on the back without extra tire. It is a strong car, lovely car, chick magnet car and I have had several SUVs like Landcruiser, Lexus and Range Rover. It was the best of all but I guess it is because I liked it so much. Also it is not a soft car when you take it on the road and if you drive on the road for long hours like me, you will get tired of driving it after several hours. Specially when you take it to the long off road trip, it is hard and uncomfortable. I believe G500 is the one of the best SUV that Mercedes produce but I don't know why they don't upgrade the suspension system and the back lock problem. I heard this problem is passed on to 2005 - 2008 but I heard 2009 has more soft suspension but I haven't tried it yet, if it is true I would like trade my car for it. For the gas mileage, this car is super. it is not comparable to the V6 or V4 but it is a best for V8 car. It is a powerful, super fast car but gas mileage is low for V8 car. Overall, I loved my G500 and I would like to buy new version if they fixed the suspension and back door lock problems. i would recommend this car to someone who loves to drive tough, fast, powerful SUVs but if you are looking for comfortable, convenience, inexpensive car, pls don't buy."

5 people out of 6 found this review helpful

Love my G Baby

By on Wednesday, September 16, 2009

10 8.0
overall rating 8 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
8/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
8/10
Quality
8/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
8/10

"I have owned my 2002 G-Wagon for 6 months now and I love it. It gets a lot of attention, its a real eye catcher! I have had the same problem as many have mentioned with the window regulator. But besides that I love it!"

2 people out of 2 found this review helpful

tt

By on Wednesday, May 13, 2009

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

"great car had it for 2 years ,..... best ever"

1 person out of 1 found this review helpful

Sort Reviews by: 
Per Page:  5 | 10 | 25
Find Deals Near You vehicles for sale matching Mercedes-Benz G-Class near Honolulu. See local deals