Advertisement

Why ads?
Popular at KBB.com
  • 10 Best Luxury Cars Under $40,000
  • 2014 Small Luxury Sedan Buyer's Guide
  • Class of 2015: New Vehicles Ready to Roll
  • 10 Best Midsize SUVs
Go

2009 Mercedes-Benz E-Class

Style:

Consumer Reviews & Ratings

Overall Rating
9.0
Out of 10

Based on 609 Ratings for the 2003 - 2009 models.

Review this car
more rating details
  • Value
    8.9/10
    Quality
    9.3/10
  • Reliability
    9.1/10
    Performance
    9.3/10
  • Comfort
    9.3/10
    Styling
    9.3/10
Sort Reviews by: 
Per Page:  5 | 10 | 25
Previous | 1 2 3 ... 25 | Next

Drives great, super solid, autobahn cruiser

By on Monday, June 24, 2013

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 98,000

10 8.0
overall rating 8 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
8/10
Value
8/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
8/10
Styling
8/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Drives great at speed"

Cons: "parts are expensive"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 9

"The car feels solid, drives great. At highway speeds you never feel like you are not in control. I have had this car over 100mph on dry highway and could change lanes with 1 finger. Great in the snow with 4 matic and good all season tires. Huge trunk, if you need it. Long drives are a pleasure, get out of car feeling fine. I thought heated steering wheel was stupid, now I love it."

2 people out of 3 found this review helpful

Great Diesel Driving

By on Friday, May 24, 2013

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 127,000

10 8.0
overall rating 8 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
8/10
Value
8/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
7/10
Comfort
9/10

Pros: "Quality: design, materials, paint, upholstery"

Cons: "can be expensive to maintain and repair"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 8

"My car is very nice after 127000 miles and 8 years: upholstery still looks new, paint still very shiny. Quality is all over this one. It is not a cheap car, but you get what you pay for. Well, sometimes, at least. These cars are somewhat expensive to maintain but, if you can afford it, they will stay with you for the long term. There are lower-cost alternatives to most dealer services; really this car has proven to not be more complex than about any upscale modern car. Example: dealer asked $534 parts and labor to replace two upper front ball joints. I bought them from a Mercedes-Benz dealer on-line, for $99, and it took me, an amateur mechanic, less than an hour and no special tools to install them. I also change my own oil, filter, and fuel and air filters. The oil is a special Mobil1, and it can cost $8 to $10 per quart, it takes 8 quarts, but it goes 12,000 miles between changes. I had occasion to remove the oil pan recently, and the engine was perfectly clean inside, so I trust the oil and the change interval. car has more then plenty of power, not slow at all like Mercedes Diesels used to be."

13 people out of 13 found this review helpful

I love this car.

By on Monday, May 20, 2013

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 71,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Very reliable, comfortable, excellent fuel economy"

Cons: "No driving lights, no program to avoid backing"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 9

"I have driven a Mercedes for many years. I always bought pre-owned and the certified used vehicles. This is a safe car, drives easy, excellent on fuel. I have driven the diesel autos for many years-love the cars. Going into Atlanta, my typical miles per gallon is 33-35. 4 new tires."

3 people out of 4 found this review helpful

Greatest Drives I had in years

By on Friday, May 10, 2013

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 77,500

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
8/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Dynamic, comfort, look, fast"

Cons: "It's a Mercedes, parts and repairs may be costly"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"This 2005 Mercedes E500 has been the nicest car I've owned. Comfort, speed, luxury. This car has it all. From the 5.0 V8 engine, to the comfortable leather seating. The dynamic suspension, at the push of a button you drive in comfort, and with the same button, you can lower the suspension to drive it like a sports car. This beauty really sticks to the road and I wouldn't feel safer in another car. I highly recommend this beauty."

4 people out of 4 found this review helpful

Incredible machine

By on Tuesday, April 23, 2013

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 77,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
8/10
Reliability
8/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Great road car, beautiful styling, brawn"

Cons: "none, really...enjoy!"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 8

"Love this car, great lines and is as solid as they come. Even with all the bells and whistles it has been reliable transportation (but suggest the extended warranty anyway). Great road car, which we use quite frequently on the highway...oh yeah, the highway. It is incredibly fast, once your at highway speeds, the 5.5 litre engine and 7 speed tranny pegs you to the seat when passing. Excessive speeds are difficult to avoid, so caution is a must. Great job MB."

7 people out of 9 found this review helpful

They Don't Get Any Better than THIS!

By on Monday, April 22, 2013

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 187,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
8/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
9/10

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"I have owned hundeds of cars in my lifetime and this one tops them all. Always bought S class and SL's. Have owned all of the BMW's and Jaguars. At age 58, decided to just buy a nice toy. I found this 2003 E320 with 180,000 miles a few months ago and have had nothing but pleasure. I had never owned a car with over 100K but was always aware of the E320 reliability. I'm SOLD!!! She drives as good as my 2007 S Class. Not one complaint. Just drove it from Chi to Vegas without any reservations. Sensational Ride. Plan to go at least another 180,000 miles. Haven't bought anything but gas (30 MPG)"

6 people out of 6 found this review helpful

Only vehicle I have ever been disappointed owning

By on Saturday, April 20, 2013

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 58,000

10 2.0
overall rating 2 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
2/10
Value
1/10
Reliability
1/10
Quality
1/10
Performance
5/10
Styling
2/10
Comfort
6/10

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 1

"Transmission went up 2000 miles after warranty. Benz said too bad. Cheap plastic parts. Only 58,000 miles on 08 purchased in 07 but quality is poor. Owned BMW 7 Series prior. Going back to BMW . I've never despised a car more. Mercedes has lost me forever based on my ownership and experience. From leather seats ripping to interior pieces chipping to cheap plastic parts on outside breaking, just a poor quality car."

5 people out of 11 found this review helpful

Smooth Ride

By on Thursday, April 18, 2013

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 97,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
9/10

Pros: "it's an aeroplane on the road"

Cons: "Doesn't make coffee"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"When I bought this car I had done my research and I knew this was the vehicle I wanted. For the value of the vehicle, this car is priceless. It was a major upgrade from what I was previously driving. The cruise is fabulous, the entertainment is classic, the Auto AC is out of this world. Did I mention the heater on the leather seats? Maintenance cost is lower than I had thought - once a year for $600 there's nothing like it, the navigation system, the phone system - honestly I think this is the best MB has ever made. I hope MB is considering a coffee maker in the next E350 model!"

4 people out of 5 found this review helpful

Smooth Ride

By on Thursday, April 18, 2013

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 97,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
9/10

Pros: "great price, it's like an aeroplane on the road"

Cons: "Does not make coffee!"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"When I bought this car I had done my research and I knew this was the vehicle I wanted. For the value of the vehicle, this car is priceless. It was a major upgrade from what I was previously driving. The cruise is fabulous, the entertainment is classic, the Auto AC is out of this world. Did I mention the heater on the leather seats? Maintenance cost is lower than I had thought - once a year for $600 there's nothing like it, the navigation system, the phone system - honestly I think this is the best MB has ever made. I'm hitting 97k miles on it now, and I'm stuck with it. I just love it. I hope MB is considering a coffee maker in the next E350 model!"

Smooth Ride

By on Thursday, April 18, 2013

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 97,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
9/10

Pros: "great price, it's like an aeroplane on the road"

Cons: "Does not make coffee!"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"When I bought this car I was not sure wqhat Iwas getting myself into. But as usual, I had done my research and I knew this was the vehicle I wanted. For the value of the vehicle, this car is priceless. It was a major upgrade from what I was previously used to. The cruise is fabulous, the entertainment is classic, the Auto AC is out of this world. Did I mention the heater on the leather seats? and the navigation system the phone system honestly I think this is the best MB ever made. I'm hitting 97k miles on it now, and I'm stuck with it. I just love it. Maintenance is lower than I had thought - once a year for $600 there's nothing like it. I hope MB is considering a coffee maker in the next E350 model!"

Smooth Ride

By on Thursday, April 18, 2013

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 97,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
9/10

Pros: "great price, it's like an aeroplane on the road"

Cons: "Does not make coffee!"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"When I bought this car I was not sure wqhat Iwas getting myself into. But as usual, I had done my research and I knew this was the vehicle I wanted. For the value of the vehicle, this car is priceless. It was a major upgrade from what I was previously used to. The cruise is fabulous, the entertainment is classic, the Auto AC is out of this world. Did I mention the heater on the leather seats? and the navigation system the phone system honestly I think this is the best MB ever made. I'm hitting 97k miles on it now, and I'm stuck with it. I just love it. Maintenance is lower than I had thought - once a year for $600 there's nothing like it. I hope MB is considering a coffee maker in the next E350 model!"

Best vehicle ever

By on Tuesday, April 09, 2013

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 65,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "radio and phone controls on the steering wheel"

Cons: "No cons"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"I bought this vehicle new from a dealership. The first 4 years it was under warranty, full warranty. I never went in for anything other than regular maintenance. NOTHING ever broke, or came apart or anything. 10 years later, this wonderful vehicle only requires regular maintenance. This is by far the best vehicle I have ever owned. I use it for long drives to L.A. or San Diego. (from the Bay Area). It is fantastic on gas. (30 mpg on the highway). It is supremely comfortable. It is quiet in the cab and on the road. In a rainstorm, driving on the freeway, feels like you're looking out at a movie screen of a rainstorm when you look out the windshield. The cab is quiet, temperature is custom set, noise is outside, not inside, ride is quiet and comfortable and safe. The world is outside, and inside this vehicle, you and your family are safe and comfortable. This vehicle is awesome. Buy one."

1 person out of 1 found this review helpful

Perfect design for me

By on Saturday, April 06, 2013

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 86,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
5/10

Pros: "Owning experience, dealer service always. Safe."

Cons: "Windshield wipers wear out quickly"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 8

"I've owned two MB after 30 other cars over the last 40+ years. This E350 4matic is the best balance of safety, dependability and prestige that I have found. When the new 2010 version came out I drove one. It was very nice but the styling changes were not for me. We have 86k now and I'm well aware of the increasing cost for replacement of suspension and drivetrain components, but have recently decided to budget for those costs and spend the money to keep this car. I'm anticipating about 10K will be required to maintain the mechanical and appearance for the next ten years so do the math. That's far less than it would cost to buy a new car of just about any brand and my Benz is still better than any other 65K or less new car in many ways. I really appreciate it's lack of gadgets and complicated technology. It's just a great car."

2 people out of 2 found this review helpful

Great Car

By on Thursday, March 28, 2013

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 98,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "dewqefedfc"

Cons: "wefew"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"just a such great car"

Its been the best car I ever owned

By on Saturday, March 23, 2013

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 42,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Comfort, class and no extra maintenance required."

Cons: "nothing to report"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"I do not drive often that's probably why I only have 42K miles on it. But this car drives nice, I've never had any problems with it since I've owned it. Everyone loves it and I can't bear the thought of trading it or selling it. It's been a dream car for me since I bought it in 2004."

3 people out of 3 found this review helpful

Pure Indulgence

By on Monday, January 07, 2013

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 174,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Classy, runs smooth, reliable"

Cons: "Expensive to fix."

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"I love, love, love my E320. I have had it for 7 years. It's the longest I have ever owned a vehicle and I NEVER want it to die. I will keep it for as long as it runs. It has NEVER let me down. Sure it needs a batterie(ies) or breaks or tires now and then, but it is class, style, substance and gorgeous. Driving this anywhere is pure elegance and grace. I am so fortunate to own this car!"

6 people out of 6 found this review helpful

Best and most enjoyable car I haver ever owned.

By on Friday, January 04, 2013

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 67,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
9/10

Pros: "Fun to drive"

Cons: "no cons"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"You can't get a better car for the money. Handles great and is very comfortable. Powerful, fuel efficient v-6 with v-8 power. I will buy another."

4 people out of 5 found this review helpful

terrific vehicle

By on Tuesday, December 25, 2012

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 34,697

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
8/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
9/10

Pros: "great quality, looks great"

Cons: "navigation system is a bit difficult to use."

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"No trouble, comfort and convenience. It is solid, reliable and terrific."

1 person out of 1 found this review helpful

One of the nicest cars to own for the money

By on Saturday, December 08, 2012

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 85,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Great price for a 4 door sports car"

Cons: "Goes thru tires about once every 15K miles"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"I remember back in 2003 I saw several commercials for this car. They had the monster coming out of the hood and the husband had to beat the monster back under the hood. I wanted this car. In 2007 I could afford one. I got it. This car drives very well with a hint of bad manners. It's a bit heavy in the front. I love the car. Unless you know what AMG is, you miss it. You get other sports cars get blown away by a sedan."

3 people out of 3 found this review helpful

Awesome

By on Sunday, November 11, 2012

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 14,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Comfort, powerful,fun"

Cons: "None yet"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"2009 e350 4 matic AMG package, a joy to drive, sports car and luxury car in one."

Quality of Greatness

By on Friday, November 02, 2012

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 62,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Fun to drive, head turner, fast, well built"

Cons: "I only wish I had two of them"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"Quality car, fun to drive super fast!!!"

Best car ever

By on Saturday, October 13, 2012

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 85,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
8/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Mileage comfort value"

Cons: "Expensive service and repairs"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"I have owned 320 Bluetec since new and consider it the best car I have ever owned, above the BMWs Lexus's etc. The MB seats are by far the best for a bad back. The diesel delivers 35 MPG at 70 mph. I can't figure why Americans don't get diesels. You can't tell except that you drive right past the gas stations with >700 mile range."

7 people out of 9 found this review helpful

The best car ever, buy one and see

By on Monday, September 10, 2012

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 54,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
8/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Build quality, safety in design, solid feel, fun"

Cons: "regular maintenance costs"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"We have owned this 2006 E350 since 'nearly new', it was a dealer 'demo'. Only one problem, a fuel sensor switch ($300.00). Even this didn't cause a problem we only new about it via a check engine light. A perfect family car that still looks and drives like new. If maintenance were a little less expensive, and if I liked the new interior design (yuk)we would buy a new one. We'll keep this until we get bored (never) of it. What a fantastic car (I'm already scared that writing this will jinx us)"

8 people out of 8 found this review helpful

The perfect driving machine (sorry BMW)

By on Sunday, July 15, 2012

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 46,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
8/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "All of aforementioned."

Cons: "As aforementioned"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"I love my car. I have driven up and down California in it, and across to Vegas from SF, all around the Bay Area including the seven steep hills within SF along with the dangerous inside city driving that includes bicycles, trams, busses, scooters, pedestrians etc where everyone seems to have right of way. This car is perfect. Stops on a dime, clear visibility out of all windows without blind spots, nimble steering and a transmission so smooth you forget it is working all the time. I have been surprised by gas mileage too, averaging 27-28 on my long haul trips and 19 in the city. Plenty of room in the backseat (we were five, with 4 nearly 6") on our last roadtrip (to Vegas). Massive trunk. And if music is your thing, this system (Harmon....) is as good as anything from Bose or B"

9 people out of 9 found this review helpful

excellent, luxurious and dependable

By on Friday, July 13, 2012

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 56,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
9/10

Pros: "design, luxurious interior and comfort"

Cons: "no lumbar support"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 9

"This car is a beautiful automobile. The luxurious interior, exterior design and beautiful ride are superior to almost any vehicle I test drove before purchasing it used from a new car dealer. The only drawback is the high cost of dealer maintenance. But, otherwise I highly recommend this car over any other luxury make in its class."

3 people out of 3 found this review helpful

Sort Reviews by: 
Per Page:  5 | 10 | 25
Previous | 1 2 3 ... 25 | Next
Find Deals Near You vehicles for sale matching Mercedes-Benz E-Class near Honolulu. See local deals