Advertisement

Why ads?
Popular at KBB.com
  • 10 Best Luxury Cars Under $40,000
  • 2014 Small Luxury Sedan Buyer's Guide
  • Class of 2015: New Vehicles Ready to Roll
  • 10 Best Midsize SUVs
Go

2009 Mercedes-Benz E-Class

Style:

Consumer Reviews & Ratings

Overall Rating
9.0
Out of 10

Based on 602 Ratings for the 2003 - 2009 models.

Review this car
more rating details
  • Value
    8.9/10
    Quality
    9.3/10
  • Reliability
    9.1/10
    Performance
    9.3/10
  • Comfort
    9.3/10
    Styling
    9.3/10
Sort Reviews by: 
Per Page:  5 | 10 | 25
Previous | 1 2 3 ... 25 | Next

tough on the keester if driving more than 30 miles

By on Saturday, August 30, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 37,000

10 5.0
overall rating 5 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
5/10
Value
8/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
8/10
Styling
8/10
Comfort
4/10

Pros: "prestigious appreance"

Cons: "actually not any better than a volvo"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 8

"love the car, hate the driver's seat cushion. not so wonderful on fuel economy but didn't really expect it to be.over rated but only those who actually own one will know, everyone else just envies it."

5 people out of 10 found this review helpful

This performance vehicle rocks

By on Sunday, August 10, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 107,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
8/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Awesome performance, very solid and safe."

Cons: "Mileage and expensive for bigger repairs"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"Driving this car is so fun. It has so much power and feels very solid. I have enough space for 3 teenagers and my 9 year old. It is terrific in the snow but it's worth it to put on very good tires as an extra layer of protection. Lots of trunk space too. Drawbacks are that it uses a lot of gas for a sedan because it has such a big engine. I also had to lay out $1100 to repair the suspension which was painful. I get regular servicing at a local shop but anything to do w/ the computer system goes to the dealer. Overall I really love this car and would highly recommend as a great car to drive. And I drive a lot."

12 people out of 18 found this review helpful

very clean, well maintained. 90% highway miles

By on Wednesday, July 16, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 270,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
8/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "very reliable"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"car maintained by dealership. excellent finish and exception interior"

6 people out of 9 found this review helpful

Best auto ever owned

By on Friday, June 20, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 97,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Dream to drive"

Cons: "Now getting a little behind the electronics."

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 9

"Difficult to overstate the pleasure I find in driving this fine automobile. The lines of this wagon endure, although now 10 years plus. Wagon is rarer in US , compared to Europe, but so useful."

6 people out of 13 found this review helpful

Had a few issues otherwise great vehicle

By on Thursday, June 12, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 106,000

10 7.0
overall rating 7 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
7/10
Value
8/10
Reliability
6/10
Quality
8/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
8/10

Pros: "Comfort and Performance"

Cons: "Expensive to maintain and repair"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 7

"This vehicle has been fairly reliable for this year Mercedes. There were issues with the braking system designed by Bosch and used in this vehicle however, Mercedes stepped up and fixed the problem. Car is a pleasure to drive and is very comfortable. It has plenty of power and gets fairly decent mileage. The one thing I would recommend to anyone in the market for a Mercedes is to have the vehicle serviced at the Mercedes Service Centers, due to the complexity of the vehicles and the training that the Mercedes Technicians receive coupled with the computer systems both on board the vehicle and the one the Technicians use which is specific to the Mercedes Service Centers it would be difficult for an independent shop to get to the specific problems that come up with these cars. Another bit of advice if you are looking for a vehicle that is economical to maintain and repair should you have a problem, Mercedes should not be your vehicle of choice. We have enjoyed the vehicle and it is hard to beat the comfort and performance of a Mercedes. Overall it has been a good vehicle."

12 people out of 17 found this review helpful

Great fuel economy and very comfortable

By on Wednesday, June 04, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 94,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
6/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"The only reason I want a newer Mercedes is because I want a voice activated GPS and phone. I am a realtor and use both of those functions constantly. It has 130,000 mile warranty on it. Has been consistently serviced at the proper intervals. Has 4 new tires since has service. It is silver"

1 person out of 5 found this review helpful

Best Mercedes I have ever owned - out of 17

By on Tuesday, May 27, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 83,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "fun to drive in either comfort mode or sport"

Cons: "wish I had mp3 player"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"Quick, low maintenance, solid, reliable, good looking, comfortable. This car is very cheap to own, gets great mileage (36 to 39 MPG), and allows you to feel fresh as a daisy after a very long trip. Both my wife and I love it. I only wish I had gotten keyless go and a light color (ours is black). Car is beautiful, but as with all black cars it is hard to keep clean."

11 people out of 16 found this review helpful

A MUST SEE!

By on Tuesday, May 20, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 90,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Great car"

Cons: "None"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

">Uses as a second vehicle. Sundays for church and special days.... > Maintenance kept up. > interior and exterior excellent condition."

6 people out of 9 found this review helpful

fantastic automobile

By on Sunday, May 18, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 72,000

10 8.0
overall rating 8 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
8/10
Value
8/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
9/10

Pros: "A really excellent car"

Cons: "none"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 9

"2005 Mercedes E320 sedan white/wbeige interior command navigation, harmon kardon sound system four new tires heated front seats all power elec/sunroof elec rear sunshade luxury edition excellent condition inside and out 72,000 miles clean title"

3 people out of 3 found this review helpful

MY GUILTY PLEASURE

By on Wednesday, May 07, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 112,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"I have 112k miles and have only dealt with normal wear and tear. I'm okay with premium gas, that the price you pay for luxury. This is my 4th or 5th Mercedes e-class and it has not failed me."

4 people out of 7 found this review helpful

Great driving car, but too many unusual repairs.

By on Wednesday, May 07, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 127,000

10 7.0
overall rating 7 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
7/10
Value
8/10
Reliability
7/10
Quality
8/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
8/10

Pros: "Great driving car, very comfortable front seats."

Cons: "Too many expensive repairs."

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 5

"Love driving the car, cross between sports car and luxury sedan. However, not having intermittent wipers you can control (rain sensors do not work), and not being able to control fan speed on defrosters strikes me engineers exerting control over drivers. Have also had repairs that have never occurred on other vehicles; broken front spring at three years, cam shaft sensors, and several other electronic part malfunctions, most occurring after the warranty was up."

4 people out of 6 found this review helpful

White beauty

By on Wednesday, May 07, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 61,150

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
9/10

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 9

"This car is a beauty White with beige interior runs and look like new. 4Matic made it very easy to get around this winter.It has Nav system and great stero."

1 person out of 2 found this review helpful

Very expensive to maintain & run

By on Wednesday, April 30, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 70,000

10 2.0
overall rating 2 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
2/10
Value
1/10
Reliability
1/10
Quality
5/10
Performance
5/10
Styling
5/10
Comfort
6/10

Pros: "Mercedes cachet"

Cons: "Everything when compared to a MAZDA 6"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 1

"Premiun oil, gas & $$$ maintenance. Tires last 25K miles only. very expensive to run. Dealers charge killer prices. Better get a Mazda for 25% of the price. This car will empty your wallet, all of it."

4 people out of 5 found this review helpful

Great Vehicle, feels like new!

By on Tuesday, April 29, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 50,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Elegant, but sporty, love driving it!"

Cons: "Wish rear headrest went up/down w/push of button"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"Just purchased a 2006 E500 with 49,000 miles, white, beige interior and panoramic roof. I am in love. Had a 1997 MB E420 made it to 252k miles and it could have gone further. This car rides so smooth and comfortable. Know I'm still 8 years behind but folks who see it don't know what year it is and many think it's a much newer model. Vehicle handles well, love the interior, everything is easy to access. It's new to me and I adore this car. Plan to keep it for a VERY LONG TIME!"

3 people out of 5 found this review helpful

Great balance of sport, comfort and space

By on Wednesday, April 23, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 77,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
9/10

Pros: "Classic look, handless well, roomy"

Cons: "Mediocre Navigation, pricey scheduled maintenance"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"Roomy for family, friends and luggage, Agile, handles well, but comfortable for trips. Nice features, has been rock solid in 5 years of daily use. Mercedes scheduled maintenance is pricey as expected, but infrequent at least."

3 people out of 4 found this review helpful

Best vehicle ever

By on Monday, April 21, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 130,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
9/10

Pros: "Repairs have been minimal."

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"This is a straight 6 diesel. My fuel average is over 31 mpg. Tracks on the roar extremely well. It's a pleasure to drive."

My forth E-Class

By on Monday, April 14, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 62,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
8/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
8/10
Styling
8/10
Comfort
9/10

Pros: "Very comfortable and fun to drive."

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 9

"This is the forth E-Class, second 4-Matic, I've owned. I've been nothing but impressed with my 2008 E4, with only 62K miles, the car still feels and drives like new. This is my first experience with the GPS system, and I love it, especially if I'm going out of town or to an unfamiliar destination. The 3.5 has more than enough power, even with four grown adults, and air conditioning. I love the cars setup, seats, and gas millage. I plan on driving this car for another four to five years. I'm sold!"

Outstanding in every way

By on Friday, April 11, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 49,999

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Has everthing a driver would ever wish for"

Cons: "none"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

Front & side view of silver beauty

"Two year owner of the E350 4 matic with AMG sport package. Great town and highway driver."

1 person out of 1 found this review helpful

Front & side view of silver beauty

Outstanding in every way

By on Friday, April 11, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 49,999

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Has everthing a driver would ever wish for"

Cons: "none"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

Front & side view of silver beauty

"Two year owner of the E350 4 matic with AMG sport package. Great town and highway driver."

Front & side view of silver beauty

Outstanding in every way

By on Friday, April 11, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 49,999

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Has everthing a driver would ever wish for"

Cons: "none"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

Front & side view of silver beauty

"Two year owner of the E350 4 matic with AMG sport package. Great town and highway driver."

Front & side view of silver beauty

Outstanding in every way

By on Friday, April 11, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 49,999

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Has everthing a driver would ever wish for"

Cons: "none"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

Front & side view of silver beauty

"Two year owner of the E350 4 matic with AMG sport package. Great town and highway driver."

Front & side view of silver beauty

Outstanding in every way

By on Friday, April 11, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 49,999

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Has everthing a driver would ever wish for"

Cons: "none"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

Front & side view of silver beauty

"Two year owner of the E350 4 matic with AMG sport package. Great town and highway driver."

1 person out of 1 found this review helpful

Front & side view of silver beauty

Color is white with beige interior, chrome wheels

By on Monday, April 07, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 94,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
Not Rated
Reliability
Not Rated
Quality
Not Rated
Performance
Not Rated
Styling
Not Rated
Comfort
Not Rated

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"Paint in excellent condition and interior looks new. Mileage is below average for year model. Car very well maintained and performs perfectly. Brand new battery."

Handles great; well-balanced

By on Friday, March 28, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 32,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
8/10
Reliability
8/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "well-engineered"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"I've owned my E350 for five years and still love it. I tend to drive fast and aggressively and it responds perfectly. It's well-balanced with steering and acceleration. The only flaw (and it's minor) is if you accidentally downshift with the steering wheel "paddles," to get back to automatic transmission you have to up-shift a whole bunch of times to get back to "D.""

2 people out of 2 found this review helpful

Very poor quality. Repairs frequent and costly

By on Friday, March 21, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 67,000

10 2.0
overall rating 2 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
2/10
Value
5/10
Reliability
1/10
Quality
1/10
Performance
Not Rated
Styling
Not Rated
Comfort
Not Rated

Cons: "High maintenance and costly parts and labor"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 1

"Spent over $4000 on this lemon only driving it 23.000 miles since buying it used from a private owner. Three pages of warranty work obtained via dealer print out. All my repairs were on me. Never ever buy a Mercedes again. For the cost they should run forever. Our 2005 Tahoe has had less than $400 in repairs in 9 years."

11 people out of 13 found this review helpful

Sort Reviews by: 
Per Page:  5 | 10 | 25
Previous | 1 2 3 ... 25 | Next
Find Deals Near You vehicles for sale matching Mercedes-Benz E-Class near Honolulu. See local deals