Advertisement

Why ads?
Popular at KBB.com
  • 10 Best Sedans Under $25,000
  • 12 Best Family Cars of 2014
  • 10 Most Affordable Cars of 2014
  • 10 Best Luxury Cars Under $40,000
Go

2009 Mercedes-Benz E-Class

Style:

Consumer Reviews & Ratings

Overall Rating
8.9
Out of 10

Based on 607 Ratings for the 2003 - 2009 models.

Review this car
more rating details
  • Value
    8.9/10
    Quality
    9.3/10
  • Reliability
    9.1/10
    Performance
    9.3/10
  • Comfort
    9.3/10
    Styling
    9.3/10
Sort Reviews by: 
Per Page:  5 | 10 | 25
Previous | 1 2 3 ... 61 | Next

A constant shop car

By on Tuesday, October 14, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 117,000

10 3.0
overall rating 3 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
3/10
Value
2/10
Reliability
1/10
Quality
7/10
Performance
7/10
Styling
8/10
Comfort
8/10

Pros: "great ride"

Cons: "breaks down constantly"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 1

"a month doesn't go by without having a repair shop bill....always $1,000.00 OR MORE.... not reliable"

4 people out of 6 found this review helpful

Best choice in an entry level near-luxury vehicle.

By on Friday, October 03, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 98,800

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
9/10

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 9

"I bought my '06 E320 just as soon as I could find a CDI. Having had an earlier vintage E-Class I knew what to expect but this time I wanted a diesel - and I wasn't disappointed. I have found the car to be highly reliable, extremely responsive, swift and agile and actually a lot of fun to drive. It may cost a bit more at the pump but, when it consistently averages >30 mpg around town and almost 40 on the highway traveling well over >700 miles on a tank, it proves to be a great value. The interior and amenities are high quality and ample, but lack the higher tech options that became available just a year or two later such as Blue Tooth, MP-3 and USB ports. The Nav and Harmon Kardon sound system are intuitive and easy to operate, even when driving and compliment the otherwise stillness of the quiet cabin. Road and tire noise is all but non-existent and the ride is smooth and comfortable. My only complaint is the automatic rain-sensing wipers. They are overly sensitive to the point of being annoying and my service manager tells me there is no way to adjust them. Next time I will opt for variable speed wipers and pass on the rain sensing feature."

3 people out of 5 found this review helpful

I absolutely LOVE my E500 !!!!

By on Monday, September 22, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 53,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"This car is a HOME RUN in EVERY possible way...the luxury, the engine, the sport package, and the handling make this a 10 all the way around."

2 people out of 4 found this review helpful

Mid-Sized comfort often gets 37 MPG on the highway

By on Saturday, September 20, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 108,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
8/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
8/10
Styling
8/10
Comfort
9/10

Pros: "Comfortable"

Cons: "In Nevada Diesel costs more than Super unleaded..."

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 9

"I have owned Mercedes Diesel cars going back into the 70's. This has proven to be the most reliable one I have ever owned. Overall cost of ownership is simple the recommended routine services... Very easy on tires & brakes... Super comfortable. This is a great touring car... Smooth shifting 7 speed automatic..."

1 person out of 2 found this review helpful

Simply the best value supercar on the planet

By on Tuesday, September 16, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 30,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"No where can you find 500 hp in a luxury car for 30 grand. Mine has 30k miles and it basically mint. It's is simply the best."

3 people out of 6 found this review helpful

tough on the keester if driving more than 30 miles

By on Saturday, August 30, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 37,000

10 5.0
overall rating 5 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
5/10
Value
8/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
8/10
Styling
8/10
Comfort
4/10

Pros: "prestigious appreance"

Cons: "actually not any better than a volvo"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 8

"love the car, hate the driver's seat cushion. not so wonderful on fuel economy but didn't really expect it to be.over rated but only those who actually own one will know, everyone else just envies it."

6 people out of 12 found this review helpful

This performance vehicle rocks

By on Sunday, August 10, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 107,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
8/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Awesome performance, very solid and safe."

Cons: "Mileage and expensive for bigger repairs"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"Driving this car is so fun. It has so much power and feels very solid. I have enough space for 3 teenagers and my 9 year old. It is terrific in the snow but it's worth it to put on very good tires as an extra layer of protection. Lots of trunk space too. Drawbacks are that it uses a lot of gas for a sedan because it has such a big engine. I also had to lay out $1100 to repair the suspension which was painful. I get regular servicing at a local shop but anything to do w/ the computer system goes to the dealer. Overall I really love this car and would highly recommend as a great car to drive. And I drive a lot."

12 people out of 18 found this review helpful

very clean, well maintained. 90% highway miles

By on Wednesday, July 16, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 270,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
8/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "very reliable"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"car maintained by dealership. excellent finish and exception interior"

8 people out of 11 found this review helpful

Best auto ever owned

By on Friday, June 20, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 97,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Dream to drive"

Cons: "Now getting a little behind the electronics."

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 9

"Difficult to overstate the pleasure I find in driving this fine automobile. The lines of this wagon endure, although now 10 years plus. Wagon is rarer in US , compared to Europe, but so useful."

6 people out of 13 found this review helpful

Had a few issues otherwise great vehicle

By on Thursday, June 12, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 106,000

10 7.0
overall rating 7 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
7/10
Value
8/10
Reliability
6/10
Quality
8/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
8/10

Pros: "Comfort and Performance"

Cons: "Expensive to maintain and repair"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 7

"This vehicle has been fairly reliable for this year Mercedes. There were issues with the braking system designed by Bosch and used in this vehicle however, Mercedes stepped up and fixed the problem. Car is a pleasure to drive and is very comfortable. It has plenty of power and gets fairly decent mileage. The one thing I would recommend to anyone in the market for a Mercedes is to have the vehicle serviced at the Mercedes Service Centers, due to the complexity of the vehicles and the training that the Mercedes Technicians receive coupled with the computer systems both on board the vehicle and the one the Technicians use which is specific to the Mercedes Service Centers it would be difficult for an independent shop to get to the specific problems that come up with these cars. Another bit of advice if you are looking for a vehicle that is economical to maintain and repair should you have a problem, Mercedes should not be your vehicle of choice. We have enjoyed the vehicle and it is hard to beat the comfort and performance of a Mercedes. Overall it has been a good vehicle."

14 people out of 19 found this review helpful

Sort Reviews by: 
Per Page:  5 | 10 | 25
Previous | 1 2 3 ... 61 | Next
Find Deals Near You vehicles for sale matching Mercedes-Benz E-Class near Honolulu. See local deals