Advertisement

Why ads?
Popular at KBB.com
  • 10 Best Luxury Cars Under $40,000
  • Small Luxury Sedan Buyer's Guide
  • Class of 2015: New Vehicles Ready to Roll
  • 10 Best Midsize SUVs
Go

2008 Mercedes-Benz E-Class

Style:

Consumer Reviews & Ratings

Overall Rating
9.0
Out of 10

Based on 612 Ratings for the 2003 - 2009 models.

Review this car
more rating details
  • Value
    8.9/10
    Quality
    9.3/10
  • Reliability
    9.1/10
    Performance
    9.3/10
  • Comfort
    9.3/10
    Styling
    9.3/10
Sort Reviews by: 
Per Page:  5 | 10 | 25
Previous | 1 2 3 ... 25 | Next

Loving my Benz

By on Thursday, November 06, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 108,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
7/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Beautiful car"

Cons: "Premium gas is not cheap"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 9

"I've had my E class for just over a year, I bought it used and was told by several people not to buy this car because they can be expensive to repair. I love it more now than I did the day I got it! Yes, it is not cheap to maintain, however, proper maintenance will prevent problems."

7 people out of 13 found this review helpful

Best car I've owned.

By on Tuesday, November 04, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 110,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "A Pleasure to drive, especially on long road trips"

Cons: "No center arm rest, not much rear leg room."

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 9

"I purchased this 08 E320 Bluetec used with 60,000. I drive 45-50k per year and already have 110,000 on this, my first MB. I tend to buy used 20k-50k mileage cars and put the next 100k on them, but I already plan on keeping this much longer. My first 50k has been an excellent experience. After owning everything from Toyota, Volkswagen, Acura, Audi and BMW, this is my favorite. Currently getting 42+ in straight highway driving @ 55-60 mph. It drops to around 35-37 at 65-70. Overall mpg (70% highway) I'm at 35. This car has proven to be reliable (even in cold winter start ups)durable, excellent fit and finish, comfortable and a pleasure to drive. No problem getting through our Northern Indiana winter snow with regular all-season tires even though it's rear wheel drive. Would buy definitely buy this car again."

2 people out of 4 found this review helpful

Great value for the money.

By on Tuesday, October 28, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 118,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
7/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Very fast, comfortable, spacious"

Cons: "Maintenance cost."

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 9

"Bought this vehicle used 4 years ago. It had a complete and documented service history. Like other cars I have owned, if you take care of it and perform maintenance as scheduled, the car has been relatively trouble free. Other than regular service, here are the repairs it has needed over the past 4 years and 60,000 miles: 2 air struts (common, expensive problem with this car), battery control module, new battery and auxiliary battery, 2 cracked wheels (beware of potholes) and climate dampers. Figure on spending on average $1500 per year on maintenance. Great performance, reliability and comfort."

4 people out of 5 found this review helpful

very good safe car,with very good design

By on Monday, October 20, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 47,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
8/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
8/10
Styling
8/10
Comfort
10/10

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 9

"driving this car is exiting,very stable ,very powerful and loaded with all options"

5 people out of 9 found this review helpful

best car I've ever driven

By on Saturday, October 18, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 115,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"mercedes manufacturing at its best: safe, solid, luxurious and dependable"

1 person out of 2 found this review helpful

A constant shop car

By on Tuesday, October 14, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 117,000

10 3.0
overall rating 3 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
3/10
Value
2/10
Reliability
1/10
Quality
7/10
Performance
7/10
Styling
8/10
Comfort
8/10

Pros: "great ride"

Cons: "breaks down constantly"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 1

"a month doesn't go by without having a repair shop bill....always $1,000.00 OR MORE.... not reliable"

9 people out of 12 found this review helpful

Best choice in an entry level near-luxury vehicle.

By on Friday, October 03, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 98,800

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
9/10

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 9

"I bought my '06 E320 just as soon as I could find a CDI. Having had an earlier vintage E-Class I knew what to expect but this time I wanted a diesel - and I wasn't disappointed. I have found the car to be highly reliable, extremely responsive, swift and agile and actually a lot of fun to drive. It may cost a bit more at the pump but, when it consistently averages >30 mpg around town and almost 40 on the highway traveling well over >700 miles on a tank, it proves to be a great value. The interior and amenities are high quality and ample, but lack the higher tech options that became available just a year or two later such as Blue Tooth, MP-3 and USB ports. The Nav and Harmon Kardon sound system are intuitive and easy to operate, even when driving and compliment the otherwise stillness of the quiet cabin. Road and tire noise is all but non-existent and the ride is smooth and comfortable. My only complaint is the automatic rain-sensing wipers. They are overly sensitive to the point of being annoying and my service manager tells me there is no way to adjust them. Next time I will opt for variable speed wipers and pass on the rain sensing feature."

6 people out of 10 found this review helpful

I absolutely LOVE my E500 !!!!

By on Monday, September 22, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 53,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"This car is a HOME RUN in EVERY possible way...the luxury, the engine, the sport package, and the handling make this a 10 all the way around."

4 people out of 8 found this review helpful

Mid-Sized comfort often gets 37 MPG on the highway

By on Saturday, September 20, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 108,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
8/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
8/10
Styling
8/10
Comfort
9/10

Pros: "Comfortable"

Cons: "In Nevada Diesel costs more than Super unleaded..."

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 9

"I have owned Mercedes Diesel cars going back into the 70's. This has proven to be the most reliable one I have ever owned. Overall cost of ownership is simple the recommended routine services... Very easy on tires & brakes... Super comfortable. This is a great touring car... Smooth shifting 7 speed automatic..."

1 person out of 2 found this review helpful

Simply the best value supercar on the planet

By on Tuesday, September 16, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 30,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"No where can you find 500 hp in a luxury car for 30 grand. Mine has 30k miles and it basically mint. It's is simply the best."

4 people out of 7 found this review helpful

tough on the keester if driving more than 30 miles

By on Saturday, August 30, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 37,000

10 5.0
overall rating 5 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
5/10
Value
8/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
8/10
Styling
8/10
Comfort
4/10

Pros: "prestigious appreance"

Cons: "actually not any better than a volvo"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 8

"love the car, hate the driver's seat cushion. not so wonderful on fuel economy but didn't really expect it to be.over rated but only those who actually own one will know, everyone else just envies it."

6 people out of 12 found this review helpful

This performance vehicle rocks

By on Sunday, August 10, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 107,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
8/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Awesome performance, very solid and safe."

Cons: "Mileage and expensive for bigger repairs"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"Driving this car is so fun. It has so much power and feels very solid. I have enough space for 3 teenagers and my 9 year old. It is terrific in the snow but it's worth it to put on very good tires as an extra layer of protection. Lots of trunk space too. Drawbacks are that it uses a lot of gas for a sedan because it has such a big engine. I also had to lay out $1100 to repair the suspension which was painful. I get regular servicing at a local shop but anything to do w/ the computer system goes to the dealer. Overall I really love this car and would highly recommend as a great car to drive. And I drive a lot."

12 people out of 18 found this review helpful

very clean, well maintained. 90% highway miles

By on Wednesday, July 16, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 270,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
8/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "very reliable"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"car maintained by dealership. excellent finish and exception interior"

8 people out of 12 found this review helpful

Best auto ever owned

By on Friday, June 20, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 97,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Dream to drive"

Cons: "Now getting a little behind the electronics."

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 9

"Difficult to overstate the pleasure I find in driving this fine automobile. The lines of this wagon endure, although now 10 years plus. Wagon is rarer in US , compared to Europe, but so useful."

6 people out of 13 found this review helpful

Had a few issues otherwise great vehicle

By on Thursday, June 12, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 106,000

10 7.0
overall rating 7 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
7/10
Value
8/10
Reliability
6/10
Quality
8/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
8/10

Pros: "Comfort and Performance"

Cons: "Expensive to maintain and repair"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 7

"This vehicle has been fairly reliable for this year Mercedes. There were issues with the braking system designed by Bosch and used in this vehicle however, Mercedes stepped up and fixed the problem. Car is a pleasure to drive and is very comfortable. It has plenty of power and gets fairly decent mileage. The one thing I would recommend to anyone in the market for a Mercedes is to have the vehicle serviced at the Mercedes Service Centers, due to the complexity of the vehicles and the training that the Mercedes Technicians receive coupled with the computer systems both on board the vehicle and the one the Technicians use which is specific to the Mercedes Service Centers it would be difficult for an independent shop to get to the specific problems that come up with these cars. Another bit of advice if you are looking for a vehicle that is economical to maintain and repair should you have a problem, Mercedes should not be your vehicle of choice. We have enjoyed the vehicle and it is hard to beat the comfort and performance of a Mercedes. Overall it has been a good vehicle."

14 people out of 19 found this review helpful

Great fuel economy and very comfortable

By on Wednesday, June 04, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 94,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
6/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"The only reason I want a newer Mercedes is because I want a voice activated GPS and phone. I am a realtor and use both of those functions constantly. It has 130,000 mile warranty on it. Has been consistently serviced at the proper intervals. Has 4 new tires since has service. It is silver"

1 person out of 5 found this review helpful

Best Mercedes I have ever owned - out of 17

By on Tuesday, May 27, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 83,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "fun to drive in either comfort mode or sport"

Cons: "wish I had mp3 player"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"Quick, low maintenance, solid, reliable, good looking, comfortable. This car is very cheap to own, gets great mileage (36 to 39 MPG), and allows you to feel fresh as a daisy after a very long trip. Both my wife and I love it. I only wish I had gotten keyless go and a light color (ours is black). Car is beautiful, but as with all black cars it is hard to keep clean."

11 people out of 16 found this review helpful

A MUST SEE!

By on Tuesday, May 20, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 90,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Great car"

Cons: "None"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

">Uses as a second vehicle. Sundays for church and special days.... > Maintenance kept up. > interior and exterior excellent condition."

6 people out of 9 found this review helpful

fantastic automobile

By on Sunday, May 18, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 72,000

10 8.0
overall rating 8 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
8/10
Value
8/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
9/10

Pros: "A really excellent car"

Cons: "none"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 9

"2005 Mercedes E320 sedan white/wbeige interior command navigation, harmon kardon sound system four new tires heated front seats all power elec/sunroof elec rear sunshade luxury edition excellent condition inside and out 72,000 miles clean title"

3 people out of 3 found this review helpful

MY GUILTY PLEASURE

By on Wednesday, May 07, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 112,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"I have 112k miles and have only dealt with normal wear and tear. I'm okay with premium gas, that the price you pay for luxury. This is my 4th or 5th Mercedes e-class and it has not failed me."

4 people out of 7 found this review helpful

Great driving car, but too many unusual repairs.

By on Wednesday, May 07, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 127,000

10 7.0
overall rating 7 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
7/10
Value
8/10
Reliability
7/10
Quality
8/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
8/10

Pros: "Great driving car, very comfortable front seats."

Cons: "Too many expensive repairs."

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 5

"Love driving the car, cross between sports car and luxury sedan. However, not having intermittent wipers you can control (rain sensors do not work), and not being able to control fan speed on defrosters strikes me engineers exerting control over drivers. Have also had repairs that have never occurred on other vehicles; broken front spring at three years, cam shaft sensors, and several other electronic part malfunctions, most occurring after the warranty was up."

4 people out of 6 found this review helpful

White beauty

By on Wednesday, May 07, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 61,150

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
9/10

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 9

"This car is a beauty White with beige interior runs and look like new. 4Matic made it very easy to get around this winter.It has Nav system and great stero."

1 person out of 2 found this review helpful

Very expensive to maintain & run

By on Wednesday, April 30, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 70,000

10 2.0
overall rating 2 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
2/10
Value
1/10
Reliability
1/10
Quality
5/10
Performance
5/10
Styling
5/10
Comfort
6/10

Pros: "Mercedes cachet"

Cons: "Everything when compared to a MAZDA 6"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 1

"Premiun oil, gas & $$$ maintenance. Tires last 25K miles only. very expensive to run. Dealers charge killer prices. Better get a Mazda for 25% of the price. This car will empty your wallet, all of it."

4 people out of 5 found this review helpful

Great Vehicle, feels like new!

By on Tuesday, April 29, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 50,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Elegant, but sporty, love driving it!"

Cons: "Wish rear headrest went up/down w/push of button"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"Just purchased a 2006 E500 with 49,000 miles, white, beige interior and panoramic roof. I am in love. Had a 1997 MB E420 made it to 252k miles and it could have gone further. This car rides so smooth and comfortable. Know I'm still 8 years behind but folks who see it don't know what year it is and many think it's a much newer model. Vehicle handles well, love the interior, everything is easy to access. It's new to me and I adore this car. Plan to keep it for a VERY LONG TIME!"

3 people out of 5 found this review helpful

Great balance of sport, comfort and space

By on Wednesday, April 23, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 77,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
9/10

Pros: "Classic look, handless well, roomy"

Cons: "Mediocre Navigation, pricey scheduled maintenance"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"Roomy for family, friends and luggage, Agile, handles well, but comfortable for trips. Nice features, has been rock solid in 5 years of daily use. Mercedes scheduled maintenance is pricey as expected, but infrequent at least."

3 people out of 4 found this review helpful

Sort Reviews by: 
Per Page:  5 | 10 | 25
Previous | 1 2 3 ... 25 | Next
Find Deals Near You vehicles for sale matching Mercedes-Benz E-Class near Honolulu. See local deals