Advertisement

Why ads?
Popular at KBB.com
  • 10 Best Sedans Under $25,000
  • 12 Best Family Cars of 2014
  • 10 Most Affordable Cars of 2014
  • 10 Best Luxury Cars Under $40,000
Go

1999 Mercedes-Benz E-Class

Style:

Consumer Reviews & Ratings

Overall Rating
8.6
Out of 10

Based on 494 Ratings for the 1996 - 2002 models.

Review this car
more rating details
  • Value
    8.7/10
    Quality
    8.9/10
  • Reliability
    8.9/10
    Performance
    9.1/10
  • Comfort
    9.1/10
    Styling
    9.0/10
Sort Reviews by: 
Per Page:  5 | 10 | 25

I feel so safe in this car!

By on Wednesday, January 14, 2015

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 170,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Classy, Quick, Safe & Comfortable."

Cons: "i don't have a drink holder in the front seat"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"I love my car. I've never felt so safe in a vehicle. Last month someone decided to get off the freeway directly from the third lane i was passing the exit in the first lane. So, from 65mph (probably more like 70-75) to a dead stop to avoid the moron - I'm not going to lie. I was scared. Every other vehicle I've had would've maybe tried to stop, but ended up smashing that dude. My mercedes came to a solid, safe & secure stop, on a dime. It was fantastic! Gotta love that German engineering!"

1 person out of 2 found this review helpful

Best Mercedes I've ever owned.

By on Wednesday, January 14, 2015

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 242,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Reliable, leather interior, comfortable car riding"

Cons: "Needs new clear coat."

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"This 1996 Mercedes diesel is a real trooper. Taupe exterior, leather seats, Sunroof, A/C, large trunk, I have personally logged over 220,000 miles in this car. I bought the E300D from my West Palm Beach Mercedes dealer. I average about 32 MPG. I will give the buyer all of the service records. The only needed repairs is new paint and a couple of rust spots. I have an estimate of $2500 for the paint and rust. $4500."

3 people out of 4 found this review helpful

this a great car .having been driven in winter.

By on Sunday, January 11, 2015

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 75,000

10 8.0
overall rating 8 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
8/10
Value
8/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
8/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
7/10

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 9

"none"

My worst expentiture for a car in 53 yrs.

By on Friday, January 09, 2015

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 180,000

10 3.0
overall rating 3 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
3/10
Value
2/10
Reliability
6/10
Quality
2/10
Performance
5/10
Styling
8/10
Comfort
8/10

Pros: "Style is nice."

Cons: "Cost of ownership"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 1

"Some of the problems I had: 1)Front strut separated from frame. It was actually attached to sheet metal not the frame. 2)Glow plugs had to be replaced numerous times. 3)When the car kept stalling I took it to the dealer for repair. Paid $400 dollars for a diagnostic and another $2200 for repairs. Drove the car for a half mile after picking it up and it stalled again. Turned out to be a fuel relay which I replaced my self. 4)When the injector pump began to leak the dealer advised me that it was "unserviceable" and a new one would cost $5600.00. I found an O-ring kit on the internet for twenty bucks and repaired it myself. 5)Even though it was garaged, every quarter panel and doors are rusted in multiple spots. I'd keep going but I'm running out of room here but I hope you get the picture. So much for Mercedes quality and their dependable dealerships."

1 person out of 2 found this review helpful

Vary Nice Lux. Car to own, Now I need to move have

By on Thursday, January 08, 2015

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 83,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
8/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
10/10

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 9

"This is vary good car I own, I bought the car, 5-6 years ago, I am second own, this car only has 83,000 Miles on it, MB is world #one car maker, it not have any comparison for other cars, even 2014 new car, it is much more comfortable to ride on this car, also it has vary good gas mileage 20/27. older car cost more cheaper on Insurance too"

1 person out of 3 found this review helpful

1999 e320 so happy with my purchase

By on Friday, December 12, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 131,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
8/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
8/10

Pros: "ride, gas milege, comfort, Great driving car"

Cons: "a/c repair and needs an updated radio"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 9

"I thought the car was off, The engine is so quiet.I just came from a 2012 Caddy, This car drives circles around it for comfort, power,room, I don't keep hitting my head when I get in.I cannot believe how cushy the ride is on the highway.The steering radius is excellent. Did I mention the compliments in white. I did good research on the car, always Florida driven with 2 previous owners and the car came with Michellin tires in good tread. Overall very happy with it. Only problem is a/c But it's winter so it's not a problem now. Did I mention I got over 500 miles on adistance drive. And I use a mixture of octanes with no knocking"

11 people out of 16 found this review helpful

Best car in a long time

By on Monday, December 08, 2014

I owned and sold this car
Reason: bought another car

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
8/10
Comfort
8/10

Pros: "very reliable"

Cons: "The cup holder is a cheezy design"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 8

"Last of the Mercedes quality cars."

2 people out of 2 found this review helpful

Excellent car to refurbish and have your classic.

By on Sunday, November 30, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 143,000

10 8.0
overall rating 8 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
8/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
8/10
Quality
8/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
7/10
Comfort
9/10

Pros: "Good solid road car - fun to cruise in."

Cons: "Needs some work on a/c and "engine electronics"."

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 8

"Solid car with need of a little TLC. 1996 1st year this model line."

2 people out of 3 found this review helpful

Car has served us well for a long time,but repairs

By on Wednesday, November 26, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 155,000

10 8.0
overall rating 8 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
8/10
Value
Not Rated
Reliability
7/10
Quality
6/10
Performance
8/10
Styling
6/10
Comfort
6/10

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 9

"great handling car, pricey repairs. Sheet metal seemed pron to rusting. Outstanding motor"

for a older luxery type car mindblowing n a steal!

By on Wednesday, November 05, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 219

10 7.0
overall rating 7 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
7/10
Value
5/10
Reliability
7/10
Quality
8/10
Performance
7/10
Styling
6/10
Comfort
7/10

Pros: "drives n rides smooth like its brand new!"

Cons: "no ac, cant figure it out"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 7

"me, personally, thinks it is a pretty good real reliable luxery kinda car! for the the year n how old it is n the mileage that is on it, have to say it runs pretty freakin good n if u seen it with ur own eyes n drove it yourself i may think n believe that u would agree with me n think the same thing as i do! not too much rust or anything with the paint, has some real nice shiny crome wheels n real good tires, moon roof, electric everything, real big trunk space, its got pretty much everything for stock wise that is, spacious, clean, smooth, its alright on gas kinda, good heat, the only thing that we dont have or we just cant figure it out is the AC...it says n has an option for air conditioning but it doesnt really work n it rides so smooth on the highway too!! just like a bird in the wind n just sailing or flying through the air!! overall, all im trying to say is that i was not expecting to see the car in such good condition as it is in or how it drives n rides once u get behind the wheel, especially for the mileage thats on it for it being a 97', almost 20 yrs old already n its still runs n treats u good like it was a brand new mercedes!! dont have any pics online right now but if u in the area u have to look in person to believe me when i tell u that its a real good car for it being an older mercedes!! u will be suprised to see what it looks like n see what im telling u just like i was when i first seen it so come check it out n see for yourself!!"

3 people out of 9 found this review helpful

No complaints in 16 years!

By on Wednesday, October 22, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 120,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Comfortable, agile, powerful, fuel efficient"

Cons: "Expensive replacement parts"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"In 30 years of driving and 20 cars owned, this is the best car I have ever owned. The ride is comfortable, the handling is great for a sedan. It is powerful and agile yet still fuel efficient. V8 power with 28mpg. The Harmon Kardon/Bose sound system coupled with an interior void of road noise is unparalleled. I will definitely buy another Benz."

8 people out of 15 found this review helpful

It has been a delightful and dependable car.

By on Thursday, October 16, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 99,700

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Good all-round car for town and highway."

Cons: "None really. Larger trunk would be good."

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 9

"Bought new in July 1996. Our daily driver and long-distance traveler until wee started traveling in our Porsche Cayman. It has been a great car. Start decision to get. Glad we got the big V-8 engine. Get reasonable mpg, but it does take premium fuel."

3 people out of 6 found this review helpful

Best vehicle for what you pay

By on Friday, September 26, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 121,000

10 8.0
overall rating 8 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
8/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
8/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
7/10
Comfort
7/10

Pros: "Fast, handles great and great gas mileage"

Cons: "Keep it. Poor trade in value"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

Shines like the star it is.

"I've had this car for a year. At 121000 miles it's like it's just breaking in. No major problems at all and actually rates 22 city and 27 hiway on gas mileage. 24 combo. Great handling, easy to work on, and classy. I still turn heads with it. If you want one, just make sure it was maintained properly or you could run into some costly replairs."

9 people out of 10 found this review helpful

Shines like the star it is.

Exceptional Vehicle with flawless V8 engine,

By on Saturday, September 13, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 180,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"This vehicle has been owned by from New, and it has performed flawlessly, with only normal servicing at regular periods."

6 people out of 10 found this review helpful

One Owner Car Mercedes Benz

By on Saturday, September 13, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 128,613

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
6/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
7/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Rides smoothly and spacious, quite"

Cons: "Only shows wear on center console and drivers seat"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"My Mom has reach the age where she doesn't want to drive anymore. Too many extras to mention. No Accidents"

4 people out of 7 found this review helpful

Like this car so much I bought another!

By on Thursday, August 28, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 129,500

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "All the Space you'll ever need. Powerful 6-cyl."

Cons: "Somewhat low clearance."

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"Cried when purchased and crying to sell...but...can't drive two cars. Like everything about this car....especially the burgundy color. You don't see these around much. Driving 500 miles home after a long weekend is effortless. Own this car!"

2 people out of 2 found this review helpful

Great elegant, comfortable car

By on Monday, August 25, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 136,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
7/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Cons: "No CD player"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 7

"Owned this car for 11 years. Sturdy,spacious, elegant and very reliable."

2 people out of 4 found this review helpful

best car you can buy

By on Friday, August 01, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 211,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
7/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
9/10

Pros: "fun to drive"

Cons: "aux pugs"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"I;ve drove this car for almost three years, it has the power,style,comfort you can ask for,a really great car"

6 people out of 7 found this review helpful

Best vehicle ever, great hwy driving.

By on Monday, July 07, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 130,000

10 4.0
overall rating 4 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
4/10
Value
4/10
Reliability
5/10
Quality
6/10
Performance
4/10
Styling
5/10
Comfort
5/10

Pros: "fun to drive"

Cons: "Usual wear and tear of a used car of this age"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"This vehicle still looks good and drives great. It holds the road."

3 people out of 4 found this review helpful

great, comfortable, powerful cruiser

By on Wednesday, July 02, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 165,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
9/10

Pros: "classy, comfortable, powerful, safe, practical."

Cons: "mileage isn't great, good shops aren't always easy"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 8

"A great car with fantastic value on the used market."

1 person out of 1 found this review helpful

Super Reliable Diesel

By on Saturday, June 14, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 135,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
8/10
Performance
8/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
7/10

Pros: "Fuel mileage, comfort, reliability, parts"

Cons: "underpowered"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"Love this car! A bit underpowered, but I'm claiming 30-38 mpg :). Cruising down the highway is a comfort at any speed, it enjoys 75 beautifully. I couldn't be happier with my 300."

6 people out of 10 found this review helpful

best car

By on Friday, May 16, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 116,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
7/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
8/10
Comfort
Not Rated

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 9

"very good"

3 people out of 5 found this review helpful

Great bang for the buck (if you can find one)

By on Friday, May 02, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 117,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
8/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
8/10
Comfort
9/10

Pros: "Fast, fun, comfortable, and very safe."

Cons: "Not very well suited for cold weather, snow/ice."

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 9

"E55's are great cars. Powerful, fast, handle great, very comfortable and quiet. I bought this car mainly due to its safety. Definitely one of the safest vehicles built, out rank almost every other car out there. These cars are quite fast from the factory. They're hot-rods disguised as a family sedan. They run 13.0-13.5 bone stock from the factory. They corner like they're on rails, and stop on a dime due to the humongous brakes. Surprisingly, some parts are REALLY cheap right from the dealer (mainly suspension parts), other parts aren't quite as cheap. Front brakes cost $1k to do, however, you do them only once every 100k. The ride is firm yet doesn't jar you like a sports car does. The ride is further enhanced by the air filled seats (super comfortable). The interior layout is fairly simple and aesthetically pleasing with the dark wood finish. The only drawback for some people may be the COMAND (nav/radio) unit. It will take some getting used to. The ride is VERY quiet. The loudest thing on the car are the tires, which aren't really all that loud. The activated charcoal filters filter out any undesired smells, allergens and so forth. You can drive behind a truck spewing diesel smoke and not smell it. They have very few issues mechanically, however, if you can't fix it yourself, it may cost you a pretty penny to get it repaired (shops see the MB star and immediately want to charge you an arm and a leg). Being a professional mechanic, the more I work on this car, the more I realize the beauty of its simplicity to repair. It's actually quite easy to work on. All in all, a great car for the money."

13 people out of 13 found this review helpful

So much fun. So reliable. A classic!

By on Wednesday, April 30, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 200,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
9/10

Pros: "Fun to drive. Classic look. Great paint."

Cons: "At 10 years old the air cannot be inexpensively re"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"Totally worth the money. We are hard on cars and our Mercedes E320 is lasting through all the wear and tear. The repair cost vs the mileage is remarkable. Our air is out and not worth fixing, but I would drive cross country on a cool day in a minute... No worries! I expect it to work past 300,000 miles just keep up with oil changes."

12 people out of 12 found this review helpful

I love my car

By on Wednesday, April 23, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 185,000

10 8.0
overall rating 8 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
8/10
Value
6/10
Reliability
8/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
9/10

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 8

"I have owned this turbo-diesel for several years now. It is my first car besides hand-me-down loaners from family and it has been and is a great car. It drives great, is like a tank and gets surprisingly good mileage for how heavy and old it is (25-28 mpg). I love the quirky features like the pop-up cup holder and the keypad radio buttons that allow you to type in a particular station. There is even a button to drop all three rear seat headrests; so random. I even like the tape deck because it allows me to use a tape converter for my iPhone that has greater sound fidelity than the over the radio adapters. It has a comfortable ride and handles great even at 15 years old."

5 people out of 7 found this review helpful

Sort Reviews by: 
Per Page:  5 | 10 | 25
Find Deals Near You vehicles for sale matching Mercedes-Benz E-Class near Honolulu. See local deals