Advertisement

Why ads?
Popular at KBB.com
  • 10 Best Luxury Cars Under $40,000
  • 2014 Small Luxury Sedan Buyer's Guide
  • Class of 2015: New Vehicles Ready to Roll
  • 10 Best Midsize SUVs
Go

1999 Mercedes-Benz E-Class

Style:

Consumer Reviews & Ratings

Overall Rating
8.7
Out of 10

Based on 481 Ratings for the 1996 - 2002 models.

Review this car
more rating details
  • Value
    8.8/10
    Quality
    9.0/10
  • Reliability
    8.9/10
    Performance
    9.1/10
  • Comfort
    9.1/10
    Styling
    9.0/10
Sort Reviews by: 
Per Page:  5 | 10 | 25
Previous | 1 ... 16 17 18 ... 20 | Next

Makes me smile

By on Saturday, September 22, 2007

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

"I ordered my 2001 E55 and after some 18months took delivery of it in October 2000. It currently has 30,000 miles on it and it is an absolute joy to drive. I've owned several Porsche's, 2 Corvettes including a 1966 427 and a 1971 454, a Shelby and 11 other MB's. This E55 is the cream of the crop. I can and have driven 1100 miles in a day and didn't have to swallow a bunch of aspirn. The absence of a wing or other "police magnets" make it a stealth automobile. At today's market price of less than $29,000, it makes buying a "Economy" sedan a joke. While I would rate other MB's as better values as far as holding their value, this is a great car."

By on Saturday, September 22, 2007

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
9/10

This customer did not provide a text review.

Stay Away

By on Saturday, September 22, 2007

10 3.0
overall rating 3 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
3/10
Value
5/10
Reliability
1/10
Quality
3/10
Performance
6/10
Styling
6/10
Comfort
7/10

"Worst car I have ever owned, constantly in the shop. Right rear taillight panel gone out...had to be totally replaced, MB dealer said this is common, entire driveshaft snapped in two during rush hour on interstate...took forever to get fixed because parts are hard to get, sunroof has quit working twice now, opens but won't close. Constant electrical problems that can't seem to be fixed, ABS, EAS other numerous idiot lights come on and go off at random. I hate the fact you can't even buy a replacement bulb for taillight, etc at AutoZone or any other parts store, must get from dealership. Cost of oil change has gone from $49.99 to $79.99 in past year. VERY EXPENSIVE TO MAINTAIN."

5 people out of 5 found this review helpful

Great AWD vehicle

By on Friday, September 21, 2007

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

"Handles better than my 4WD truck in the snow. Great to know all 4 wheels are pulling even at 80+ on the highway. Tipronic downshift excellent at all speeds and makes you feel like you're in control, without constantly braking. Wish they made a diesel like this."

Great Car for great people

By on Thursday, September 20, 2007

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

"I have owned my E430 since I first purchased in 1998 brand new. I only drive to see clients and special occassion events. Today, it has 51,000 miles and I have only completed 2 major work done on the car as outlined in the owner's manual. I had 4 tires changed at 46,000 miles and battery replaced at 35,000 miles. 2nd new brake sets installed this year. Eventhough the costs that incurred for these 9 1/2 years were somewhat considered high, if compared to other luxury cars, I think my E430 has treated me good with respect to maintenance costs. Driving overall has been great. I don't make much money but when it comes to driving my E430, people really respect me....as you have heard many reviews.....Mr. this and Ms. that....I am Mr. Wonderful."

2 people out of 2 found this review helpful

Fast comfortable sleeper

By on Wednesday, September 19, 2007

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

"The E55 is Reliable, fast, fun, well built, comfortable, and did I say fast?"

comfort and class

By on Wednesday, September 19, 2007

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
10/10

"MY 99 e320 AWD delivers great performance and comfort in a very attractive package."

2 people out of 2 found this review helpful

By on Tuesday, September 18, 2007

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

This customer did not provide a text review.

By on Thursday, September 13, 2007

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

"I have had this car since it was new, never any major problems. Low maint. for a Mercedez"

1 person out of 1 found this review helpful

Reliable luxureous elegance

By on Thursday, September 13, 2007

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

"Has to be the best used car I have ever owned. Looks and drives like a dream. Almost 2 years of everyday use and not 1 issue or repair other than normal maitenence....and its a 10year old car! Highly recommended!"

By on Wednesday, September 12, 2007

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
10/10

This customer did not provide a text review.

E430

By on Wednesday, September 12, 2007

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

"Great car. No problems."

I love my e320

By on Monday, September 10, 2007

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
10/10

"I have a 99 e320 and it is a nice handling powerful sedan with all kinds of luxury crammed into it. I put 20 inch wheels on it and tinted the windows and now people think I'm rich! LOL Drive one you will feel safe in it's well constructed body and will fall in love instantly!"

2 people out of 2 found this review helpful

By on Monday, September 10, 2007

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

This customer did not provide a text review.

e 320 4 matic

By on Sunday, September 09, 2007

10 8.0
overall rating 8 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
8/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
8/10
Performance
8/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
8/10

"Nice car overall.Tons of toys.Good value for the money.Rides tight,good power.Car bucks around turns at lower speeds(scary sometimes)I think some anti skid thing."

Everytime you drive it, u'll Love it.....

By on Saturday, September 08, 2007

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

"I have a Mercedes-Benz E320.... which i think is the ultimate car ever..... i've had a W124 model B4 this one and absoloutely was in love with it, but then i switched to a BMW 740i which was a nice car but still the quality and the comfort that you find in a Mercedes is just the best for me.... I bought the car brand new with 0 Mileage..... and now my car has hit 83000 miles, but still it drives like a brand new car..... Everytime i see the car i want to go for a drive and Everytime i Drive the Car, I fall in love with it..... it still looks brand new when clean..... its like a baby to me and the best car in the world..... I personally suggest this car to everyone as IF YOU CAN AFFORD IT, JUST BUY IT.... YOU WILL NOT REGRET IT....."

2 people out of 2 found this review helpful

By on Monday, September 03, 2007

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
10/10

This customer did not provide a text review.

1 person out of 1 found this review helpful

You've lost that lovin feelin'

By on Sunday, September 02, 2007

10 2.0
overall rating 2 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
2/10
Value
1/10
Reliability
1/10
Quality
1/10
Performance
1/10
Styling
6/10
Comfort
7/10

"This car is my third and last MB. The 85 and the 92 MB were shining examples of excellent engineering but the 2000 is junk. I can't even start to list all of the problems. Not only have there been annual repeated mechanical problems with the car but it started rusting through after only four years. Mercedes Benz USA told me I was out of warranty! I spent $5000 in 2005 to fix the rust and this spring (07) it started rusting through in other spots. In june of this year the cat converters started going and I was told by the dealer that I was not covered ($2200 repair) and the front end needed another $1000 because it rattled worse than my first 1960 Chevy! I've called MBUSA many times but they won't do anything and forget about even getting a call back if you leave a message. I think their "customer care" people learned how to treat customers at the motor vehicle department. Most of my friends that owned MBs have sold theirs and gone to other more reliable brands. As one of them said "well I got the German car bug out of my system the hard way" Rather than fix the cats, the rust and the front end I traded the car for a Japanese lux sedan. I'd rather be audited be the IRS than own another MB. Mercedes: "Expensive and built to stay that way""

6 people out of 6 found this review helpful

!172,000 and counting

By on Sunday, September 02, 2007

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

"I really enjoy this car. I have over 172,000 miles on it and it still runs great. The car does NOT use oil and it still runs GREAT. The only thing I wish that Mecedes would have put the Tele Aid in this model. I owm the best car on the road. the Mercedes that paid for and does not give me any problems."

1 person out of 1 found this review helpful

TEXAN MBZ

By on Monday, August 27, 2007

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
9/10

"I really like the car however in comparison to the GS Lexus the car falls a little short. The Benz seems a little tempermental. It seems that some people with this car have problems and others don't. the only complaints are the ac is not as cold as the Lexus the steering not as tight and the ride not as smooth along with the interior being a little less plush. The lexus does stand toe to toe with the E-Class. I do howver love me benz and the feel frome the solid sound closing the door to the performance and overal feel that is so secure. My testimony is that in previous cars on a country road passing a big truck would rattle the car not the benz. You don't even feel the vehicle passing you. i highly recommend the benz if you like that german kinda car."

2 people out of 2 found this review helpful

this is the best vehicle I have

By on Sunday, August 26, 2007

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

"I have 1999 E 320 and this is best vehicle I have and will recommend to buy."

1 person out of 1 found this review helpful

bad tranny

By on Sunday, August 26, 2007

10 4.0
overall rating 4 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
4/10
Value
3/10
Reliability
3/10
Quality
6/10
Performance
6/10
Styling
6/10
Comfort
6/10

"The vehicle has been plagued with issues.It has been a money pit for the last three years. Now the transmission has gone bad, and its going to cost 5000 dollars to replace. And I,m told by the mechanic this has been an ongoing problem with Mercedes."

1 person out of 1 found this review helpful

Rear seats are awesome!

By on Thursday, August 23, 2007

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

"back rear seats makes this a mini-van type without the min-van image. love the vehicle and great for family or business."

By on Wednesday, August 22, 2007

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
10/10

This customer did not provide a text review.

Best versatile vehicle

By on Tuesday, August 21, 2007

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

"This is our second Mercedes Wagon. We love it! It's so versatile: holds 7 ADULTS comfortably; transports stuff like an enclosed pick up; rides like a Mercedes sedan (comfy); handles like a dream and turns circles around anything on the road--so easy to maneuver."

Sort Reviews by: 
Per Page:  5 | 10 | 25
Previous | 1 ... 16 17 18 ... 20 | Next
Find Deals Near You vehicles for sale matching Mercedes-Benz E-Class near Honolulu. See local deals