Advertisement

Why ads?
Popular at KBB.com
  • 10 Best Luxury Cars Under $40,000
  • Small Luxury Sedan Buyer's Guide
  • Class of 2015: New Vehicles Ready to Roll
  • 10 Best Midsize SUVs
Go

1998 Mercedes-Benz E-Class

Style:

Consumer Reviews & Ratings

Overall Rating
8.7
Out of 10

Based on 495 Ratings for the 1996 - 2002 models.

Review this car
more rating details
  • Value
    8.7/10
    Quality
    8.9/10
  • Reliability
    8.9/10
    Performance
    9.1/10
  • Comfort
    9.1/10
    Styling
    9.0/10
Sort Reviews by: 
Per Page:  5 | 10 | 25
Previous | 1 2 3 ... 20 | Next

Drives and looks like new even after 155K miles

By on Thursday, December 19, 2013

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 155,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
8/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
9/10

Pros: "most comfortable ride. Totally quiet for a diesel"

Cons: "Wish I had ordered heated front seats"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 9

There she is

"She is my 4th diesel MB. Every one of them went beyond 300K with no trouble. I take good care of them and serviced regularly every 5k miles. Though expensive, each one was worth the price. Once you experience its ride, you will never like another type of car. My 1999 TD has no bad qualities. The engine and transmission are flawless. Retiring, and moving overseas, where I cannot take her. Sad to part with my friend for 14 years. She still looks like just came out of the showroom! A beautiful car."

1 person out of 2 found this review helpful

There she is

Best buy for my money

By on Thursday, December 12, 2013

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 150,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
8/10
Styling
8/10
Comfort
9/10

Pros: "well made, intuitive design, comfortable ride"

Cons: "no seat warmers, no lrg cups, should be garaged"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"I had a 1993 S420 which, by far, is the best car I've ever had. The E320 is not that car, but it is a very good vehicle for my purposes. It takes the road at the drop of a hat, & even if I miss a maintainence date it so well engineered that it does not make me pay a higher than usual price to get the necessary work done. This is a solid vehicle that takes better care of me than I have of it. That being said, I would definitely own another E320, and certainly would recommend it to anyone looking to purchase a M-B."

1 person out of 1 found this review helpful

E 430 SPORT 1999, HAS 150000 MILES ON IT.

By on Wednesday, December 04, 2013

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 150,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
10/10

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"E 430 SPORT 1999, HAS 150000 MILES ON IT. $ FOR $ THIS IS THE BEST CAR AND CLASS THAT MERCEDES HAS TO OFFER IT DRIVES LIKE A DREAM AND I AM THE ORIGINAL OWNER. LOVE THIS CAR. AMAZING"

without a doubt the best car I ever owned

By on Monday, November 25, 2013

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 135,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"This MB E320, inline six, was purchased new in Jun '97 with 3 miles on it, now has 135000 trouble free miles, very minor repairs over the years I have owned it. The car still drives and rides like new, even the original factory installed battery lasted 14 years. Can you believe it? I have owned Cadillac, 2 prior MB's, 2 Audi's, Volkswagen, Ford and GM, and still own another MB. Interior spotless, Exterior no nicks or damages. Excellent all the way around. And, no the car is not for sale."

Still bank-vault solid after 15 years.

By on Sunday, November 24, 2013

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 160,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
9/10

Pros: "smooth quiet ride, intuitive controls and handling"

Cons: "cracks in dash, minor wheel-well rust"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 9

"I've driven many other makes/models (including newer models of this car)and nothing compares to the smooth high quality driving experience that my '99 E320 sedan provides. Repairs have been as expected for a car this age/mileage but definitely not excessive or unreasonably expensive. Still no interior rattles/squeaks and the car tracks quietly down the highway with precision. Ride is almost as smooth and quiet as the air suspension found in the S-Class (without the expensive maintenance issues). I expect to keep this car for several more years and many more miles to come."

Best vehicle for the city and freeway driving.

By on Monday, October 14, 2013

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 67,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
8/10
Performance
8/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
9/10

Pros: "Comfort and luxury"

Cons: "None"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 9

"I have owned many Mercedes Benz cars and SUVs, to be exact 17 vehicles. In my opinion, 2002 E320 is great for compact parking spaces, is comfortable, quiet, reliable and fuel efficient. Thanks"

2 people out of 3 found this review helpful

Nice car but too expensive for what you get

By on Sunday, August 11, 2013

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 150,000

10 5.0
overall rating 5 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
5/10
Value
5/10
Reliability
6/10
Quality
5/10
Performance
8/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
7/10

Pros: "great fuel economy"

Cons: "very expensive to repair/maintain. Freq repairs"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 1

"Really like car but you can get something just as good for thousands less. The car is not bullet proof like the older Mercedes. It was frequently in the shop and repair cost are out of this world.Even if you can afford the car why, the dealers rip you off every time they see you. Save some grief and cash, buy a Chevy or Ford."

7 people out of 10 found this review helpful

It is clean, runs good, inside looks clean

By on Friday, May 24, 2013

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 200,000

10 5.0
overall rating 5 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
5/10
Value
5/10
Reliability
5/10
Quality
6/10
Performance
6/10
Styling
7/10
Comfort
5/10

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 6

"The car is very neat and drives good"

2 people out of 4 found this review helpful

Great car.

By on Tuesday, May 21, 2013

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 151,365

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
8/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
8/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Drives like a sports car, with a 4 door sedan body"

Cons: "None...this car does everything."

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 9

"This car is very reliable. It is very fast for a 4 door luxury car. Even though it has a V-8 engine, this car gets excellent gas mileage (27-31 mpg hwy) It is extremely comfortable on long trips. Repair costs are slightly higher than a normal car, as long as you know where to take it. Some garages will try to rake you over the coals for labor charges. If they say that your labor charges are going to be a higher rate than an average car, do not have it fixed there....that only means that thay do not know how to work on German cars...or they are crooks because they think you can afford more."

14 people out of 15 found this review helpful

Benz '02 E320

By on Wednesday, April 24, 2013

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 80,000

10 8.0
overall rating 8 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
8/10
Value
7/10
Reliability
7/10
Quality
7/10
Performance
8/10
Styling
8/10
Comfort
8/10

Pros: "Great drive"

Cons: "Stereo system is not up to par"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 9

"After 10+ years of owning the car, I've changed the tires 4 times (Bridgestone Serinity are my favs), dash electronics (ie-temp and time led out), CD player doesn't work, and the roof liner has a noise. Simply things that could drive one crazy but..I love this car and I'd buy it again knowing what I know."

7 people out of 8 found this review helpful

Has been a great car

By on Wednesday, April 10, 2013

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 98,000

10 5.0
overall rating 5 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
5/10
Value
5/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
6/10
Performance
8/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Still a great cruiser. Classic look. Turn radius +"

Cons: "Radio and sound needs som work. Body needs some wk"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 4

"This is a low mileage E320 with 98,000 miles I bough new in '98. Obsidian with beige interior. I yr old tires. Need body work for a few small dents and some paint. Headlight need to be re finished or replaced. Sound system needs some work on volume. Regular service with records. Clean title"

4 people out of 9 found this review helpful

Great car

By on Monday, February 11, 2013

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 140,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Rides great"

Cons: "None"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"I couldn't ask for a better car I have had it for many years now, and its my favorite car I have ever owned, if I sale this car I would just get one a few years newer"

9 people out of 10 found this review helpful

I LOVE THIS CAR

By on Thursday, December 06, 2012

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 129,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
8/10

Pros: "Fun to drive and handles well"

Cons: "No good cup holders the only bad thing i can say"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 9

"This is my second car my first is a 240d but this one is awesome as it handles great good acceleration as well as reliable. I would recommend this car to anyone love love love this car."

9 people out of 11 found this review helpful

Best car I've ever owned.

By on Monday, November 19, 2012

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 160,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
8/10
Styling
8/10
Comfort
8/10

Pros: "Excellent ride, solid feel, great performance"

Cons: "Price new"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"This car was my second Mercedes. The first one was excellent but a little too small for my liking. It was sold with 246,000 miles and still running and driving well on original drive train. The E Class W210 rides excellent, has good power and gets decent miliage especially on the highway. It still looks only a couple of years old and people are amazed when they learn it's a 1999! The most important fact is the safety of a Mercedes Benz. They are the leaders in safety and innovation for well over 100 years. Trust your family in nothing else! Will buy another one someday, but for now I feel I have another 100,000 miles to go in this one."

10 people out of 11 found this review helpful

Saved my life

By on Sunday, October 14, 2012

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 100,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
8/10
Comfort
9/10

Pros: "Extremely safe. Very comfortable. Heated seats!"

Cons: "No coffee cup holder"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"The earlier E-Series saved my life when I was rear-ended at high speed twice (Two cars each misjudged and slammed into the back of my stopped Mercedes). Middle driver in a Lexus SUV very badly injured. I had not even a bruise. This car at 100,000 miles is just as nice a ride as when I bought it used at 30,000 miles. I have driven it in snow, sleet, driving rains, etc. Handles all well. Very comfortable interior. This is not a sports car, it is a car to get you from A to B -- wherever you drive -- and do so safely and in luxury. I buy my Mercedes used and I am very loyal since my previous E class saved my life. I own many cars, since I have a large family and many American cars. The Mercedes are always in a class by themselves. My only complaint for the 2002 Mercedes is that it needed more coffee holders. Thank you Mercedes Benz."

20 people out of 20 found this review helpful

saved my life

By on Saturday, September 29, 2012

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 83,338

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Good reliability and value"

Cons: "flimsy cupholders"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 9

"I had an 2002 E-320 4matic with 158,000 miles on it, I rear ended somebody and it got totaled, but the safety features saved my life, the hood folded up and the engine mount went downwards, I was able to find another 2002 E-320 RWD with 84000. miles on it and it drives like new, I definitely would recommend this line of Mercedes Benz."

10 people out of 10 found this review helpful

I love this car

By on Friday, September 28, 2012

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 76,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Acceration, comfort, handling, gas mileage"

Cons: "Dealer repairs can be pricey."

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"Every time I think I want a new car I ask myself why I would want to get rid of this one? Is very quick with the V-8, get 24mpg+ on the highway, handles very well. Is comfortable, quiet, and a great long distance runner. If I trade it, it will be for another one."

5 people out of 5 found this review helpful

Best car I have ever own for the money.

By on Tuesday, September 25, 2012

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 200,118

10 8.0
overall rating 8 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
8/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
7/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
8/10

Pros: "Very dependable"

Cons: "Costly repairs but not that often."

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 8

"I've owned several high end cars and usually trade them in before I get close to +80k miles. But this car even now drives and performs like a newer car. I often wondered why I would see several older models on the road now I know why they don't quite. Repairs are on the high end but not as often. Well worth the money I paid new."

7 people out of 7 found this review helpful

Would buy again in a heartbeat (and plan to)

By on Wednesday, August 22, 2012

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 135,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "reasonable mileage, few maintenance issues"

Cons: "None"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"I bought this 99 E320 in 2007 with ~110k on it. Drove it for the past 5 years with fewer problems than its American counterparts with fewer miles. No major mechanical problems, no failures of major components in the 5 years. Replaced tires and serpentine belt only. Strongly considering replacing it with a newer E320 just due to age of the vehicle. Still beautiful to look at and fun to drive...100% Mercedes."

14 people out of 14 found this review helpful

Love it!!

By on Monday, August 20, 2012

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 281,200

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
8/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Secure feeling when driving"

Cons: "do not realize how fast you are going"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"I bought a 1999 E320 AWD and have loved this car! My car has over 281100 miles on it and has only needed an alternator and a water pump. Great gas mileage and comfort! I will have a tear in my eye when I trade it in we have done a lot of road time together!!"

11 people out of 11 found this review helpful

Best ever--no repairs. Low maintenance.

By on Saturday, July 07, 2012

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 105,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Reliable and virtually carefree. Gets 24mpg."

Cons: "Not at all trendy; requires premium gas."

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"Reliable, comfortable, luxurious, safe, spacious, AWD is great in snow."

2 people out of 2 found this review helpful

A great car!

By on Friday, July 06, 2012

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 118,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
9/10

Pros: "Quality, nimble handling, reliability."

Cons: "I can't think of any."

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"I bought this car new in 1998 and have loved it ever since. I'm considering getting a newer car for the more recent safety and technology advances, and it will have to be another Mercedes E-class!"

7 people out of 7 found this review helpful

best car i have owned

By on Saturday, June 23, 2012

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 165,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Cons: "it is costly to operate"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 9

"i had to do some repairs put i get 17 to 20 milles in the city and 23 to 26 on the highway. It is fun to drive"

2 people out of 2 found this review helpful

The finest i've owned(E320 4matic)

By on Wednesday, May 09, 2012

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 190,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "cheaper to maintain than most people think."

Cons: "The interior could use some updating."

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"By far the smoothest car i ever owned, this is my third E, and i,d recommend that you test drive one. with some savvy online parts shopping you can beat the dreaded cost of maintenance, its cheaper to maintain than my Honda.It will run just fine on regular gasoline."

10 people out of 13 found this review helpful

Very comfortable and turns heads

By on Sunday, April 08, 2012

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 123,500

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
6/10
Styling
8/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "comfortable, tons of features, powerful, stylish"

Cons: "some parts are expensive"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"Very comfortable car, has every feature you can imagine, powerful V8 with the sports package is a nice combination, and decent fuel economy for a V8 on the Highway, very reliable and stable car, sure makes people look twice and stare because its a good looking ride... cost of ownership is above average because of parts but i am a DIY'er so i saved a lot of money that way, its not that hard of a car to work on thanks to the mercedes forums."

4 people out of 4 found this review helpful

Sort Reviews by: 
Per Page:  5 | 10 | 25
Previous | 1 2 3 ... 20 | Next
Find Deals Near You vehicles for sale matching Mercedes-Benz E-Class near Honolulu. See local deals