Advertisement

Why ads?
Popular at KBB.com
  • 10 Best Luxury Cars Under $40,000
  • Small Luxury Sedan Buyer's Guide
  • Class of 2015: New Vehicles Ready to Roll
  • 10 Best Midsize SUVs
Go

1998 Mercedes-Benz E-Class

Style:

Consumer Reviews & Ratings

Overall Rating
8.7
Out of 10

Based on 489 Ratings for the 1996 - 2002 models.

Review this car
more rating details
  • Value
    8.8/10
    Quality
    8.9/10
  • Reliability
    8.9/10
    Performance
    9.1/10
  • Comfort
    9.1/10
    Styling
    9.0/10
Sort Reviews by: 
Per Page:  5 | 10 | 25
Previous | 1 ... 16 17 18 ... 20 | Next

By on Thursday, October 04, 2007

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

This customer did not provide a text review.

By on Wednesday, October 03, 2007

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

This customer did not provide a text review.

Smoking hot

By on Tuesday, October 02, 2007

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

"Great Car with many qualities. It is tough and reliable with minimal problems and visits to the mechanic. An executive muscle car!"

Going strong

By on Saturday, September 29, 2007

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
9/10

"I'm the original owner and it's been an excellent, reliable car. It's been through two crashes and still functions great."

One of the best

By on Friday, September 28, 2007

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

"Purchased used. Have owned for 18 months. Minimal problems, great performace and comfort. Still looks like a new car inside and out."

1 person out of 1 found this review helpful

Good car for its time

By on Monday, September 24, 2007

10 8.0
overall rating 8 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
8/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
8/10
Performance
8/10
Styling
8/10
Comfort
7/10

"I have a 2002 4matic special edition. This MB has been trouble free and to this day looks new inside and out. I do drive this car everyday but it is kept in a garage. After 71,000 trouble free miles it is time to go. While others seem to have had problems with their E-Class sedans that has not been true for me. I live in the Northeast and drive in the snow and rain and still no hint of rust or rattles. This has been a fine car, but I would like to get something a bit more comfortable with some modern electronics such as Bluetooth Navigation ect.. Based on my history this is a very reliable car with a good track record. It's replacement will not be a MB due to problems with other MB's in the recent past."

1 person out of 1 found this review helpful

Terrific automobile

By on Sunday, September 23, 2007

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
9/10

"7 years old and runs perfectly. Great car"

5 people out of 6 found this review helpful

excellent riding car

By on Saturday, September 22, 2007

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

"This car is in excellent shape with low mileage, runs very well."

Makes me smile

By on Saturday, September 22, 2007

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

"I ordered my 2001 E55 and after some 18months took delivery of it in October 2000. It currently has 30,000 miles on it and it is an absolute joy to drive. I've owned several Porsche's, 2 Corvettes including a 1966 427 and a 1971 454, a Shelby and 11 other MB's. This E55 is the cream of the crop. I can and have driven 1100 miles in a day and didn't have to swallow a bunch of aspirn. The absence of a wing or other "police magnets" make it a stealth automobile. At today's market price of less than $29,000, it makes buying a "Economy" sedan a joke. While I would rate other MB's as better values as far as holding their value, this is a great car."

By on Saturday, September 22, 2007

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
9/10

This customer did not provide a text review.

Stay Away

By on Saturday, September 22, 2007

10 3.0
overall rating 3 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
3/10
Value
5/10
Reliability
1/10
Quality
3/10
Performance
6/10
Styling
6/10
Comfort
7/10

"Worst car I have ever owned, constantly in the shop. Right rear taillight panel gone out...had to be totally replaced, MB dealer said this is common, entire driveshaft snapped in two during rush hour on interstate...took forever to get fixed because parts are hard to get, sunroof has quit working twice now, opens but won't close. Constant electrical problems that can't seem to be fixed, ABS, EAS other numerous idiot lights come on and go off at random. I hate the fact you can't even buy a replacement bulb for taillight, etc at AutoZone or any other parts store, must get from dealership. Cost of oil change has gone from $49.99 to $79.99 in past year. VERY EXPENSIVE TO MAINTAIN."

5 people out of 5 found this review helpful

Great AWD vehicle

By on Friday, September 21, 2007

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

"Handles better than my 4WD truck in the snow. Great to know all 4 wheels are pulling even at 80+ on the highway. Tipronic downshift excellent at all speeds and makes you feel like you're in control, without constantly braking. Wish they made a diesel like this."

Great Car for great people

By on Thursday, September 20, 2007

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

"I have owned my E430 since I first purchased in 1998 brand new. I only drive to see clients and special occassion events. Today, it has 51,000 miles and I have only completed 2 major work done on the car as outlined in the owner's manual. I had 4 tires changed at 46,000 miles and battery replaced at 35,000 miles. 2nd new brake sets installed this year. Eventhough the costs that incurred for these 9 1/2 years were somewhat considered high, if compared to other luxury cars, I think my E430 has treated me good with respect to maintenance costs. Driving overall has been great. I don't make much money but when it comes to driving my E430, people really respect me....as you have heard many reviews.....Mr. this and Ms. that....I am Mr. Wonderful."

2 people out of 2 found this review helpful

Fast comfortable sleeper

By on Wednesday, September 19, 2007

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

"The E55 is Reliable, fast, fun, well built, comfortable, and did I say fast?"

comfort and class

By on Wednesday, September 19, 2007

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
10/10

"MY 99 e320 AWD delivers great performance and comfort in a very attractive package."

2 people out of 2 found this review helpful

By on Tuesday, September 18, 2007

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

This customer did not provide a text review.

By on Thursday, September 13, 2007

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

"I have had this car since it was new, never any major problems. Low maint. for a Mercedez"

1 person out of 1 found this review helpful

Reliable luxureous elegance

By on Thursday, September 13, 2007

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

"Has to be the best used car I have ever owned. Looks and drives like a dream. Almost 2 years of everyday use and not 1 issue or repair other than normal maitenence....and its a 10year old car! Highly recommended!"

By on Wednesday, September 12, 2007

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
10/10

This customer did not provide a text review.

E430

By on Wednesday, September 12, 2007

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

"Great car. No problems."

I love my e320

By on Monday, September 10, 2007

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
10/10

"I have a 99 e320 and it is a nice handling powerful sedan with all kinds of luxury crammed into it. I put 20 inch wheels on it and tinted the windows and now people think I'm rich! LOL Drive one you will feel safe in it's well constructed body and will fall in love instantly!"

2 people out of 2 found this review helpful

By on Monday, September 10, 2007

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

This customer did not provide a text review.

e 320 4 matic

By on Sunday, September 09, 2007

10 8.0
overall rating 8 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
8/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
8/10
Performance
8/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
8/10

"Nice car overall.Tons of toys.Good value for the money.Rides tight,good power.Car bucks around turns at lower speeds(scary sometimes)I think some anti skid thing."

Everytime you drive it, u'll Love it.....

By on Saturday, September 08, 2007

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

"I have a Mercedes-Benz E320.... which i think is the ultimate car ever..... i've had a W124 model B4 this one and absoloutely was in love with it, but then i switched to a BMW 740i which was a nice car but still the quality and the comfort that you find in a Mercedes is just the best for me.... I bought the car brand new with 0 Mileage..... and now my car has hit 83000 miles, but still it drives like a brand new car..... Everytime i see the car i want to go for a drive and Everytime i Drive the Car, I fall in love with it..... it still looks brand new when clean..... its like a baby to me and the best car in the world..... I personally suggest this car to everyone as IF YOU CAN AFFORD IT, JUST BUY IT.... YOU WILL NOT REGRET IT....."

2 people out of 2 found this review helpful

By on Monday, September 03, 2007

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
10/10

This customer did not provide a text review.

1 person out of 1 found this review helpful

Sort Reviews by: 
Per Page:  5 | 10 | 25
Previous | 1 ... 16 17 18 ... 20 | Next
Find Deals Near You vehicles for sale matching Mercedes-Benz E-Class near Honolulu. See local deals