Advertisement

Why ads?
Popular at KBB.com
  • 10 Best Luxury Cars Under $40,000
  • 2014 Small Luxury Sedan Buyer's Guide
  • Class of 2015: New Vehicles Ready to Roll
  • 10 Best Midsize SUVs
Go

1998 Mercedes-Benz E-Class

Style:

Consumer Reviews & Ratings

Overall Rating
8.7
Out of 10

Based on 483 Ratings for the 1996 - 2002 models.

Review this car
more rating details
  • Value
    8.8/10
    Quality
    9.0/10
  • Reliability
    8.9/10
    Performance
    9.1/10
  • Comfort
    9.1/10
    Styling
    9.0/10
Sort Reviews by: 
Per Page:  5 | 10 | 25
Previous | 1 2 3 ... 49 | Next

It has been a delightful and dependable car.

By on Thursday, October 16, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 99,700

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Good all-round car for town and highway."

Cons: "None really. Larger trunk would be good."

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 9

"Bought new in July 1996. Our daily driver and long-distance traveler until wee started traveling in our Porsche Cayman. It has been a great car. Start decision to get. Glad we got the big V-8 engine. Get reasonable mpg, but it does take premium fuel."

1 person out of 2 found this review helpful

Best vehicle for what you pay

By on Friday, September 26, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 121,000

10 8.0
overall rating 8 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
8/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
8/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
7/10
Comfort
7/10

Pros: "Fast, handles great and great gas mileage"

Cons: "Keep it. Poor trade in value"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

Shines like the star it is.

"I've had this car for a year. At 121000 miles it's like it's just breaking in. No major problems at all and actually rates 22 city and 27 hiway on gas mileage. 24 combo. Great handling, easy to work on, and classy. I still turn heads with it. If you want one, just make sure it was maintained properly or you could run into some costly replairs."

6 people out of 7 found this review helpful

Shines like the star it is.

Exceptional Vehicle with flawless V8 engine,

By on Saturday, September 13, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 180,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"This vehicle has been owned by from New, and it has performed flawlessly, with only normal servicing at regular periods."

2 people out of 3 found this review helpful

One Owner Car Mercedes Benz

By on Saturday, September 13, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 128,613

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
6/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
7/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Rides smoothly and spacious, quite"

Cons: "Only shows wear on center console and drivers seat"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"My Mom has reach the age where she doesn't want to drive anymore. Too many extras to mention. No Accidents"

1 person out of 2 found this review helpful

Like this car so much I bought another!

By on Thursday, August 28, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 129,500

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "All the Space you'll ever need. Powerful 6-cyl."

Cons: "Somewhat low clearance."

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"Cried when purchased and crying to sell...but...can't drive two cars. Like everything about this car....especially the burgundy color. You don't see these around much. Driving 500 miles home after a long weekend is effortless. Own this car!"

2 people out of 2 found this review helpful

Great elegant, comfortable car

By on Monday, August 25, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 136,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
7/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Cons: "No CD player"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 7

"Owned this car for 11 years. Sturdy,spacious, elegant and very reliable."

2 people out of 4 found this review helpful

best car you can buy

By on Friday, August 01, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 211,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
7/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
9/10

Pros: "fun to drive"

Cons: "aux pugs"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"I;ve drove this car for almost three years, it has the power,style,comfort you can ask for,a really great car"

5 people out of 6 found this review helpful

Best vehicle ever, great hwy driving.

By on Monday, July 07, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 130,000

10 4.0
overall rating 4 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
4/10
Value
4/10
Reliability
5/10
Quality
6/10
Performance
4/10
Styling
5/10
Comfort
5/10

Pros: "fun to drive"

Cons: "Usual wear and tear of a used car of this age"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"This vehicle still looks good and drives great. It holds the road."

3 people out of 4 found this review helpful

great, comfortable, powerful cruiser

By on Wednesday, July 02, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 165,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
9/10

Pros: "classy, comfortable, powerful, safe, practical."

Cons: "mileage isn't great, good shops aren't always easy"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 8

"A great car with fantastic value on the used market."

1 person out of 1 found this review helpful

Super Reliable Diesel

By on Saturday, June 14, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 135,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
8/10
Performance
8/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
7/10

Pros: "Fuel mileage, comfort, reliability, parts"

Cons: "underpowered"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"Love this car! A bit underpowered, but I'm claiming 30-38 mpg :). Cruising down the highway is a comfort at any speed, it enjoys 75 beautifully. I couldn't be happier with my 300."

6 people out of 10 found this review helpful

Sort Reviews by: 
Per Page:  5 | 10 | 25
Previous | 1 2 3 ... 49 | Next
Find Deals Near You vehicles for sale matching Mercedes-Benz E-Class near Honolulu. See local deals