Advertisement

Why ads?
Popular at KBB.com
  • Midsize Sedan Buyer's Guide
  • 10 Best Sedans Under $25,000
  • Compact Car Buyer's Guide
  • 10 Best Luxury Cars Under $35,000
Go

1998 Mercedes-Benz E-Class

Style:

Consumer Reviews & Ratings

Overall Rating
8.7
Out of 10

Based on 495 Ratings for the 1996 - 2002 models.

Review this car
more rating details
  • Value
    8.7/10
    Quality
    8.9/10
  • Reliability
    8.9/10
    Performance
    9.1/10
  • Comfort
    9.1/10
    Styling
    9.0/10
Sort Reviews by: 
Per Page:  5 | 10 | 25

Great car, sold on Mercedes

By on Tuesday, March 03, 2015

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 105,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Solid car"

Cons: "diesel clatter"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 9

"Needed a 4-door sedan, got a good price on a '97 300D, very low mileage. A luxury level car, especially since Diesels are usually plain. Wife likes the leather, moonroof etc. I like the solid smooth ride, tight transmission, very low road noise, super adjustable seats. Only drawback is that diesels don't have super acceleration, fine with me. Good fuel mileage. There is just nothing like a Mercedes for great engineering and detail, and nothing I've ever driven compares to the E-class."

3 people out of 3 found this review helpful

I feel so safe in this car!

By on Wednesday, January 14, 2015

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 170,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Classy, Quick, Safe & Comfortable."

Cons: "i don't have a drink holder in the front seat"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"I love my car. I've never felt so safe in a vehicle. Last month someone decided to get off the freeway directly from the third lane i was passing the exit in the first lane. So, from 65mph (probably more like 70-75) to a dead stop to avoid the moron - I'm not going to lie. I was scared. Every other vehicle I've had would've maybe tried to stop, but ended up smashing that dude. My mercedes came to a solid, safe & secure stop, on a dime. It was fantastic! Gotta love that German engineering!"

5 people out of 8 found this review helpful

Best Mercedes I've ever owned.

By on Wednesday, January 14, 2015

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 242,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Reliable, leather interior, comfortable car riding"

Cons: "Needs new clear coat."

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"This 1996 Mercedes diesel is a real trooper. Taupe exterior, leather seats, Sunroof, A/C, large trunk, I have personally logged over 220,000 miles in this car. I bought the E300D from my West Palm Beach Mercedes dealer. I average about 32 MPG. I will give the buyer all of the service records. The only needed repairs is new paint and a couple of rust spots. I have an estimate of $2500 for the paint and rust. $4500."

4 people out of 6 found this review helpful

this a great car .having been driven in winter.

By on Sunday, January 11, 2015

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 75,000

10 8.0
overall rating 8 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
8/10
Value
8/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
8/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
7/10

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 9

"none"

My worst expentiture for a car in 53 yrs.

By on Friday, January 09, 2015

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 180,000

10 3.0
overall rating 3 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
3/10
Value
2/10
Reliability
6/10
Quality
2/10
Performance
5/10
Styling
8/10
Comfort
8/10

Pros: "Style is nice."

Cons: "Cost of ownership"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 1

"Some of the problems I had: 1)Front strut separated from frame. It was actually attached to sheet metal not the frame. 2)Glow plugs had to be replaced numerous times. 3)When the car kept stalling I took it to the dealer for repair. Paid $400 dollars for a diagnostic and another $2200 for repairs. Drove the car for a half mile after picking it up and it stalled again. Turned out to be a fuel relay which I replaced my self. 4)When the injector pump began to leak the dealer advised me that it was "unserviceable" and a new one would cost $5600.00. I found an O-ring kit on the internet for twenty bucks and repaired it myself. 5)Even though it was garaged, every quarter panel and doors are rusted in multiple spots. I'd keep going but I'm running out of room here but I hope you get the picture. So much for Mercedes quality and their dependable dealerships."

2 people out of 4 found this review helpful

Vary Nice Lux. Car to own, Now I need to move have

By on Thursday, January 08, 2015

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 83,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
8/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
10/10

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 9

"This is vary good car I own, I bought the car, 5-6 years ago, I am second own, this car only has 83,000 Miles on it, MB is world #one car maker, it not have any comparison for other cars, even 2014 new car, it is much more comfortable to ride on this car, also it has vary good gas mileage 20/27. older car cost more cheaper on Insurance too"

2 people out of 5 found this review helpful

1999 e320 so happy with my purchase

By on Friday, December 12, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 131,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
8/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
8/10

Pros: "ride, gas milege, comfort, Great driving car"

Cons: "a/c repair and needs an updated radio"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 9

"I thought the car was off, The engine is so quiet.I just came from a 2012 Caddy, This car drives circles around it for comfort, power,room, I don't keep hitting my head when I get in.I cannot believe how cushy the ride is on the highway.The steering radius is excellent. Did I mention the compliments in white. I did good research on the car, always Florida driven with 2 previous owners and the car came with Michellin tires in good tread. Overall very happy with it. Only problem is a/c But it's winter so it's not a problem now. Did I mention I got over 500 miles on adistance drive. And I use a mixture of octanes with no knocking"

11 people out of 18 found this review helpful

Best car in a long time

By on Monday, December 08, 2014

I owned and sold this car
Reason: bought another car

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
8/10
Comfort
8/10

Pros: "very reliable"

Cons: "The cup holder is a cheezy design"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 8

"Last of the Mercedes quality cars."

2 people out of 2 found this review helpful

Excellent car to refurbish and have your classic.

By on Sunday, November 30, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 143,000

10 8.0
overall rating 8 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
8/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
8/10
Quality
8/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
7/10
Comfort
9/10

Pros: "Good solid road car - fun to cruise in."

Cons: "Needs some work on a/c and "engine electronics"."

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 8

"Solid car with need of a little TLC. 1996 1st year this model line."

2 people out of 3 found this review helpful

Car has served us well for a long time,but repairs

By on Wednesday, November 26, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 155,000

10 8.0
overall rating 8 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
8/10
Value
Not Rated
Reliability
7/10
Quality
6/10
Performance
8/10
Styling
6/10
Comfort
6/10

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 9

"great handling car, pricey repairs. Sheet metal seemed pron to rusting. Outstanding motor"

Sort Reviews by: 
Per Page:  5 | 10 | 25
Find Deals Near You vehicles for sale matching Mercedes-Benz E-Class near Honolulu. See local deals