Advertisement

Why ads?
Popular at KBB.com
  • 10 Best Luxury Cars Under $40,000
  • 2014 Small Luxury Sedan Buyer's Guide
  • Class of 2015: New Vehicles Ready to Roll
  • 10 Best Midsize SUVs
Go

1996 Mercedes-Benz E-Class

Style:

Consumer Reviews & Ratings

Overall Rating
8.7
Out of 10

Based on 481 Ratings for the 1996 - 2002 models.

Review this car
more rating details
  • Value
    8.8/10
    Quality
    9.0/10
  • Reliability
    8.9/10
    Performance
    9.1/10
  • Comfort
    9.1/10
    Styling
    9.0/10
Sort Reviews by: 
Per Page:  5 | 10 | 25
Previous | 1 2 3 ... 49 | Next

Exceptional Vehicle with flawless V8 engine,

By on Saturday, September 13, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 180,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"This vehicle has been owned by from New, and it has performed flawlessly, with only normal servicing at regular periods."

1 person out of 2 found this review helpful

One Owner Car Mercedes Benz

By on Saturday, September 13, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 128,613

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
6/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
7/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Rides smoothly and spacious, quite"

Cons: "Only shows wear on center console and drivers seat"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"My Mom has reach the age where she doesn't want to drive anymore. Too many extras to mention. No Accidents"

1 person out of 2 found this review helpful

Like this car so much I bought another!

By on Thursday, August 28, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 129,500

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "All the Space you'll ever need. Powerful 6-cyl."

Cons: "Somewhat low clearance."

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"Cried when purchased and crying to sell...but...can't drive two cars. Like everything about this car....especially the burgundy color. You don't see these around much. Driving 500 miles home after a long weekend is effortless. Own this car!"

2 people out of 2 found this review helpful

Great elegant, comfortable car

By on Monday, August 25, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 136,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
7/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Cons: "No CD player"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 7

"Owned this car for 11 years. Sturdy,spacious, elegant and very reliable."

2 people out of 4 found this review helpful

best car you can buy

By on Friday, August 01, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 211,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
7/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
9/10

Pros: "fun to drive"

Cons: "aux pugs"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"I;ve drove this car for almost three years, it has the power,style,comfort you can ask for,a really great car"

5 people out of 6 found this review helpful

Best vehicle ever, great hwy driving.

By on Monday, July 07, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 130,000

10 4.0
overall rating 4 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
4/10
Value
4/10
Reliability
5/10
Quality
6/10
Performance
4/10
Styling
5/10
Comfort
5/10

Pros: "fun to drive"

Cons: "Usual wear and tear of a used car of this age"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"This vehicle still looks good and drives great. It holds the road."

3 people out of 4 found this review helpful

great, comfortable, powerful cruiser

By on Wednesday, July 02, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 165,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
9/10

Pros: "classy, comfortable, powerful, safe, practical."

Cons: "mileage isn't great, good shops aren't always easy"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 8

"A great car with fantastic value on the used market."

1 person out of 1 found this review helpful

Super Reliable Diesel

By on Saturday, June 14, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 135,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
8/10
Performance
8/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
7/10

Pros: "Fuel mileage, comfort, reliability, parts"

Cons: "underpowered"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"Love this car! A bit underpowered, but I'm claiming 30-38 mpg :). Cruising down the highway is a comfort at any speed, it enjoys 75 beautifully. I couldn't be happier with my 300."

6 people out of 10 found this review helpful

best car

By on Friday, May 16, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 116,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
7/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
8/10
Comfort
Not Rated

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 9

"very good"

3 people out of 5 found this review helpful

Great bang for the buck (if you can find one)

By on Friday, May 02, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 117,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
8/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
8/10
Comfort
9/10

Pros: "Fast, fun, comfortable, and very safe."

Cons: "Not very well suited for cold weather, snow/ice."

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 9

"E55's are great cars. Powerful, fast, handle great, very comfortable and quiet. I bought this car mainly due to its safety. Definitely one of the safest vehicles built, out rank almost every other car out there. These cars are quite fast from the factory. They're hot-rods disguised as a family sedan. They run 13.0-13.5 bone stock from the factory. They corner like they're on rails, and stop on a dime due to the humongous brakes. Surprisingly, some parts are REALLY cheap right from the dealer (mainly suspension parts), other parts aren't quite as cheap. Front brakes cost $1k to do, however, you do them only once every 100k. The ride is firm yet doesn't jar you like a sports car does. The ride is further enhanced by the air filled seats (super comfortable). The interior layout is fairly simple and aesthetically pleasing with the dark wood finish. The only drawback for some people may be the COMAND (nav/radio) unit. It will take some getting used to. The ride is VERY quiet. The loudest thing on the car are the tires, which aren't really all that loud. The activated charcoal filters filter out any undesired smells, allergens and so forth. You can drive behind a truck spewing diesel smoke and not smell it. They have very few issues mechanically, however, if you can't fix it yourself, it may cost you a pretty penny to get it repaired (shops see the MB star and immediately want to charge you an arm and a leg). Being a professional mechanic, the more I work on this car, the more I realize the beauty of its simplicity to repair. It's actually quite easy to work on. All in all, a great car for the money."

13 people out of 13 found this review helpful

Sort Reviews by: 
Per Page:  5 | 10 | 25
Previous | 1 2 3 ... 49 | Next
Find Deals Near You vehicles for sale matching Mercedes-Benz E-Class near Honolulu. See local deals